App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

AutoCAD LT Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

220

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.41/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

autodesk-construction-cloud
sage-construction-suite
simsolid

Pros and cons

Very Good Features Like Layer Management And Property Manager, File Recovery. This Software is Very Good For Engineering Companies.
It's an excellent piece of software which essentially strips down the standard Autocad version by removing a few features like 3D modelling.
It's a weapon of choice for anyone working in the architectural and design fields. It offers a host of excellent tools that allow you to crate accurate drawings for architectural purposes.
The downside of the product is that it lags after a lot of hatches and annotations are added to it.
The only downside that I can think of is that the software crashes every now and then, which can be aggravating when you are working on a tight deadline.
The software provides single-user licensing, so it may be difficult to use as a business organization.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


220 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Evgenia B.

Architecture & Planning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent stripped down version of Autocad with attractive pricing

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's an excellent piece of software which essentially strips down the standard Autocad version by removing a few features like 3D modelling. It's enough to accomplish most design tasks and the pricing is a lot more attractive.

Pros

It's a weapon of choice for anyone working in the architectural and design fields. It offers a host of excellent tools that allow you to crate accurate drawings for architectural purposes.

Cons

I haven't found any since this version is a lot lighter than the standard Autocad, hence it runs smoother and I'm able to accomplish my tasks a lot faster.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Program but some glitches need to be fixed

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is my number one program, I am in the design field, I have used this program for almost everything. Greating banners, files for laser cutting, shop drawings, 3d rendering. etc.

Pros

This program is great for anyone in the design industry. It helps create accurate drawings for architectural purpose, interior design purpose and generally anything that needs measurements. It is easy to use, and the commands are accessed easily by just entering first few letters. EG line command, just type in L and you will see a little box pop up asking you if you are trying to make a line.

Cons

Finding that trying to change the work space to a custom work space causes the CAD to crash. So it would be great to fix that glitch, as every individual works differently on CAD and likes to have certain sets of command tools on there model space.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Libio L.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent digitizer

Reviewed 6 years ago

You can generate building plans quickly, in the same way you can design the plans of the houses complying with the established standards. Generate scale plans for decision making regarding the creation of adequate housing.

Pros

It allows me to digitize plans quickly and safely, I can identify each element in the plane by creating its attributes individually. I can also associate the information with an existing database. Your final product is usually compatible with other CAD programs. For the cartographic production it is excellent, since I can easily manipulate all the symbols and regroup them on the map individually.

Cons

It takes a lot of memory on the computer for processing. The acquisition of the license is very expensive. It is portable to us. High performance computers are required to work comfortably. It does not allow the georeferencing of satellite images.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jessica S.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for drafting in 2D, for a fraction of the cost of a full AutoCAD subscription. Love it!

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software is widely used in the drafting industry, so it is easy to send and receive project files between employees/companies.

Pros

This still has everything I need for 2D drafting, without all the extra frills that I'll never use. It's easy to use once you know all the tools/shortcuts/commands, but there are a lot of them.

Cons

The only downside that I can think of is that the software crashes every now and then, which can be aggravating when you are working on a tight deadline.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Smita A.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Autocad LT Review- Rejuvenating 2D Work

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The most striking aspect of this software is its seamless workflow. With Autocad LT version, you comprehensively get all the required assests to work on 2D Drawings. The ease of navigation and selection is amazing and the interface is extremely intriguing to work with.

Cons

The downside of the product is that it lags after a lot of hatches and annotations are added to it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pete P.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quarter of the cost

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am a dedicated Autodesk AutoCAD user. I started sing R-13 and I still use Autodesk CAD software to this day

Pros

What I like the most about AutoCAD Lt is its cost. A years subscription can be up to twenty five percent of the original program.

Cons

It has a lot of features and commands. However it does not have all of the commands that the full version has.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Morgan T.

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The lighter version of AutoCAD

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Most of us don't use all of the tools that AutoCAD has to offer. The 3D portion of it and the rendering capabilities. This was never AutoCADs strong point anyways so AutoCAD lT is a more efficient package. If you are doing simply construction documents this is a cheaper and adequate program to get the job done. Its the tried and true drafting program that everyone in the Architecture and Engineering industry use.

Cons

The only cons are its limited 3D capabilities, which in todays world is pretty necessary. BIM is the way to go and is a much better way to be building nowadays anyways. If you can pony up the extra money, go for Revit.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wagner M.

Machinery, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Autocad LT does the job

Reviewed 3 years ago

I work with electrical schematics and layout of electrical panels. Autocad LT really does the job. Excellent software for engineering.

Pros

The basic functions of the tool are very easy to use. It has many features, really complete and the help system of the software explains very well how to carry out the commands. Although it is a "simpler" version than the full version, as it is not possible to make 3D drawings, it is a very complete tool for 2D works. Really great software.

Cons

I do not have any. It is an easy-to-use program, much smoother to work with, you don't need a very powerful PC to perform the basic tasks.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raquel A.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A 2D awesome software for design

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

For people who only likes to work in two dimensions this is the best choice. Another version of Autocad are very heavy and has all that options of 3D and rendering that I never use, but this one is perfect for me. In Autocad LT I can manage a huge range of tools for design any kind of plans, it has also a very easy interphase to work that do not require command line to work, in this version you can use PDF files and Bing maps which is very useful in some cases. The import of PDF files is secure and precise, and has a better objet selection tio improve your work. This is version is what I person like me needs to do plans and excellent designs in two dimensions.

Cons

The software ahs a lot of details, but with some practice you can handle perfectly, this is not a software for people who loves rendering and 3D models, this is for professionals who make plans in two with accuracy and detail.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wahid S.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Recommended for Engineers

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

One of the most used softwares as a design engineer. A lot to learn but once you do it's very useful. Plenty of key shortcuts.

Cons

The software does require a fairly high spec PC in order to run the more detailed designs more smoothly otherwise the experience is aweful.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

For me ... The best Soft !

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

AutoCAD develops an arsenal of features to perform 2D sketches, drawings and annotations. To do this, it proposes a revision cloud that summarizes all the new modifications around a drawing. Functions related to scoring, benchmarks and tables are also provided. Also known for its 3D modeling capabilities, AutoCAD is powerful in 3D modeling and photorealistic rendering of solids, surfaces and many meshes. This solution also offers a wide range of 3D visualization and navigation tools to present designs. One of AutoCAD's strengths is its connection to Autodesk 360. This connectivity allows you to synchronize your work online so as not to lose it, but also to simplify a possible change of machine or to share your work for example.

Cons

The subscription cost is quite expensive, but it is the price to pay to use the best software on the market

rr
AvatarImg

ramon r.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Autocad LT for 2D Cad drawings

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy to use, intuative program, also very stable software

Pros

It has all the standar autocad functions and, you don`t need more for making 2D drawings

Cons

Licence activation Didn`t word correctely and we had to contact our dealer for support, (was fixed within the hour)

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

What CAN'T you do?

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've been using AutoCAD for many years and there are still many things to learn. I don't believe a single person will ever be able to learn all there is for AutoCAD to offer in their lifetime. Once you learn the basics, it is easy to use.

Pros

There's so much you can do on this program. This is mainly a 2D drawing program and in that line of work, the possibilities are endless. It's highly recommended if you are drawing electrical. It works great for home floorplans.

Cons

This is not the AutoCAD capable of drawing in 3D. This is specifically a 2D drawing program. That is the difference between AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT. LT is 2D. This is very important when choosing programs.

SH
AvatarImg

Stuart H.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

The industry standard, but expensive

Reviewed 6 years ago

I'm an architect, and I use this software for all my drawings. It's a fluid design and presentation tool that simply works.

Pros

I've been working with AutoCAD LT for many years, and have tried the other standard options (Microstation and Vectorworks). AutoCAD LT is hands down the most accurate, quickest to draw with, and most likely to be compatible with everything else.

Cons

The cost - the change to a subscription model is understandable, but it screws over those of us who invested in perpetual licences with maintenance. It's also still pretty hopeless at references, which make any file irritatingly slow.

xx
AvatarImg

xoli x.

Environmental Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD LT: Among the Best Draughting Softwares

Reviewed a year ago

Since the beginning, the experience has been positive. I was used to working with AutoCAD, but it's much more expensive than the LT version, and thus far I haven't had any problems.

Pros

The library function for all sections, which makes it simpler to discover information within the application itself, is to me AutoCAD LT's extra strong point.Another strength is the quick answers and accurate development of projects and drawings.

Cons

Simpler introduction techniques would be ideal because it's crucial that users comprehend it and don't just interact with the software as a program operator.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value for simpler projects

Reviewed 4 years ago

Much more cost effective way to use AutoCAD than the full suite. Would not work on larger projects but suits our needs perfectly

Pros

Runs faster due to no 3d elements - great if not using Revit or 3d elements like AutoCAD Architecture

Cons

No complaints, UI is like every other AutoCad version and runs much faster. Only would be a negative if you needed 3d components.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD LT for Interior Designers

Reviewed 6 years ago

AutoCAD LT has allowed me to use all the necessary functions of autocad to perform my daily tasks as an interior designer. While I didn’t learn autocad using LT, I found that it was an extremely easy transition and that it really allows me to do everything I need to do.

Pros

Easy to use, works well on MacBook. Works well for what I need to do on a daily basis as an interior designer.. covers the basics!

Cons

Freezes occassionally and restoring isn’t as easy as I’d like. I wish it Autosaved!

RK
AvatarImg

Rodrigo K.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent app

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall the experience is very good, we use it daily in our office, developing projects quickly and lightly.

Pros

Excellent application, offers the possibility of 2D drawings without complications in a lighter way than Autocad, intuitive interface, main resources available in the main tab

Cons

The application does not allow 3d drawing and visualization

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Complete solution for 2D designing

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software has all the necessary features for my design work of road networks. Although its a little bit costly, the value for money is acceptable.

Pros

It has basic functionalities like creating polygons and advanced features like creating complex network of nodes. Built-in templates of common accessories make my work very easy. Besides, its detailed help page explains every features very thoroughly.

Cons

I can't create 3D designs from the 2D ones. Besides, it still doesn’t have an android app for design management on-the-go.

Me
AvatarImg

Mostafa e.

Architecture & Planning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent program

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

A program that helps me in my work in a distinctive way, and helps me to show my work in a decent and organized manner, an accurate program. It is a wonderful program, one of the best programs, but rather the best programs .

Cons

Please add after the features for surveying engineers

LB
AvatarImg

Laura B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good program for 2D Drafting

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

ACAD LT has most of the features like Sheet Set Manager and AD Center that are useful for drawing production purposes.

Cons

ACAD LT oesn't have the same 3D capabilities as ACAD Architecture, so you can't open some blocks which are 3D. There are some bugs but every version update gets better.

CA
AvatarImg

Ciprian A.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Affordable solution that will get the job done

Reviewed 7 years ago

got the job done

Pros

Best bang for your money as long as you don't need the 3D and other features from the more expensive editions.

Cons

Somewhat limited functionality which can get frustrating at times. Make sure you go over the features to ensure that it will fit your needs.

SC
AvatarImg

Seth C.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the Best CAD Products Out There

Reviewed 6 years ago

Helps us do CAD and save money as it is cheaper than the full version.

Pros

Love AutoCAD LT. It’s a cheaper alternative to the full blown version, and works great.

Cons

It would be nice to have some of the features in full blown AutoCAD.

SR
AvatarImg

Stephane R.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best 2d program

Reviewed 7 years ago

Fast to draw any concept you have in mind.

Pros

What I like the most about this program is how easy it is to use. There is a lot to learn but easy to use in the long term. It is simply the best you can use for any aspect.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AL
AvatarImg

Alexandrea L.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Extremely Useful

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is incredibly easy to navigate and use. It allows incredibly accurate measurements and can easily edited.

Cons

I am not familiar with a few of the features.