App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Azure Active Directory Logo

Cloud-based identity and access management (IAM) software

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Azure Active Directory Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

40

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.98/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

jumpcloud-daas
bitwarden
lastpass

Pros and cons

Azure is a very good cloud platform, their UI is really amazing and they have great customer support, always on hand to provide support.
The AAD is a great and excellent feature that allows you to manage your organization users, computer etc in cloud. The hybrid feature also allows you easily manage your existing on prem servers.
Ease of deployment and support from Microsoft is key to a successful deployment in AAD.
If we have an outage and can't conenct to Azure AD as has happened in the past, we lose access to other systems such as Office, Microsoft Teams etc. This can obviously lead to productivity issues.
With the dizzying array of permissions available, it might be difficult to determine which one(s) to apply for a specific use case.
Azure AD keeps improving each day and Microsoft has yet to fail in this area. I have not seen yet a con in this ssoftware.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kavindu Githsara K.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The All-In-One Corporate Identity Manager - Azure AD

Reviewed a year ago

In conclusion, overall, I highly recommend Azure Active Directory for any company looking to streamline their identity and access management processes and enhance the security of their IT systems. While there may be some challenges associated with setting up and configuring the software, the benefits are well worth the investment.

Pros

As an administrator of Azure Active Directory in my company, I have found it to be a valuable asset to our overall IT infrastructure. The software offers a range of features that have made our identity and access management processes more efficient and secure. One of the key benefits of using Azure Active Directory is its integration with other Microsoft services, such as Office 365 and Microsoft Teams....

Cons

However, there are also a few cons to consider. One issue I have faced is the learning curve associated with setting up and configuring the software, especially for those who are not familiar with Microsoft's IT infrastructure. Additionally, some users have reported challenges with integrating Azure Active Directory with non-Microsoft systems.

BC
AvatarImg

Brian C.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Inexpensive, Many Integrations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Cost was affordable and it provided an easy way to migrate from on prem domain controller to Azure AD. It also integrated with a number of the other SAAS applications we used making setting up integrated authentication easy.

Cons

When you move a computer from Joined to a local AD over to Azure AD you lose some of the management options (GPO).

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent access management and identity management service

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's simple to use and straightforward, and because it's housed in the cloud, there's rarely any downtime. Groups and users can be created in seconds, and some more complex features, such as conditional access restrictions, make controlling access and implementing multi-factor authentication quite simple. Azure AD aided us in integrating several technologies, managing access, and securing our identities. We suffered from service availability when utilizing Active Directory.

Cons

Troubleshooting technical difficulties by the Microsoft team may take some time, and obtaining the appropriate technical help may be challenging. With the dizzying array of permissions available, it might be difficult to determine which one(s) to apply for a specific use case.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Airlines/Aviation, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AD-Review 2023

Reviewed 9 months ago

Recomended dearly to all buissness to work with Azure ad and especially AD users and managment

Pros

Functionality wellWorking fast, easy login, very safeSync with Microsoft products cloud services

Cons

Access only from server, rather then cloud based web

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mo F.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best solution for a Microsoft-heavy company.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the main dashboard gives you alerts on upcoming major changes and remediation to avoid service interruptions. There is the seamless integration with on premise Active Directory that makes it easy to sync and migrate. The monitoring blade is great to show access with details on time, user, application, remote IP Address, location and MFA. I also like the separation and ease to create service principals or applications and lock them down to specific roles. I also like the feature of setting accounts as Guest so that you can furter restrict non company users. Overall one of the best ID management solutions for Microsoft shops. Great API and powershell documentation

Cons

No compains but I wish more security features that are hidden are brought and promoted in the GUI.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Johnnie J.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AAD for the Win!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have noticed a marked skills gap in receiving qualified support engineers. However, in a critical situation, we have found the support chain to be fast moving and very knowledgeable in ways that get the business back to functional in times of urgent need.

Pros

Ease of deployment and support from Microsoft is key to a successful deployment in AAD. Making sure you have reached out to AAD Support prior to deploying can make getting to Best Practices much easier in the long run.

Cons

There can be a 40,000 league difference from getting a good support engineer and receiving sub par support that takes longer than necessary

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert D.

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An absolute requirement for any M365 tenant

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had Office 365 licecnes but were not using them due to being a Lotus Notes environment. Moving off this to Outlook/teams/sharepoint meant having a away to configure users to be able to access these easily. It meant group based sercurity and access, it meant SSO and MFA. All configured easily through AAD.

Pros

Being able to sync form my on premise AD means i can configure and provision users in one place and have their details available for M365 applications and powerfull tools such as password self service, MFA and SSO.

Cons

There are still some limitations that mane i cannot just have a fully cloud based AD platform. I still need locak AD on a server onnected with Azure AD. Hopefully soon it can go and i can have just the one.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hamzat O.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good cloud platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Azure is a very good cloud platform, their UI is really amazing and they have great customer support, always on hand to provide support. The AAD is a great and excellent feature that allows you to manage your organization users, computer etc in cloud. The hybrid feature also allows you easily manage your existing on prem servers. Azure is less complex and very user friendly. I would greatly recommend to any organization looking at onboarding cloud services.

Cons

It's a great cloud platform and works well so far. Nothing really comes to mind, i'd greatly recommend

AN
AvatarImg

Alex N.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Bonus Feature include with Office 365

Reviewed 6 months ago

Comes as part of Office 365 and is so unobtrusive that many will not even realize that they have it. Right now our company is in the process of attempting to better utilize the security features present in Azure

Pros

We were able to connect our on-premise Active Directory to the Azure Active Directory, which made setting up and maintaining it a breeze. New users are automatically transferred over and all of our on-premise roles and permissions can be utilized in Office 365. Additionally as long as your have a sing enterprise license you can use AAD for SSO on other applications.

Cons

If using Azure Active Directory in hybrid mode it can be a pain to setup two way communication between the cloud and on-premise, though a argument can be made that this is a security feature since it limits what a cracker can accomplish if they get into one of your users accounts.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Azure Active Directory - A lifesaver for User management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Azure active directory is a must have for any organization with Identity & Access management.

Pros

Azure AD helped us integrate lots of solutions and managed access and helped secure our Identities. Service availability was one area we struggled with using Active directory on Prem servers, since we integrates with Azure, it reduced the overhead and the stress managing the on Prem servers

Cons

Troubleshooting technical issues by Microsoft team could take some time and getting the right technical support could be difficult sometimes

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Besrt Model for Authenticating Active Directory

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have found it very easy to use and convenient. I enjoy the benefits of being able to manage centrally and having all systems visible and clear for me, e.g. I can check in an instant what roles are attributed to a user, what devices the user has and also can help control there being 'scope creep' in terms of users gaining more roles and access. As for the users they are afforded quick and simple access, which doesn't interrupt their workflow or productivity, while still keeping them and the organisation safe.

Pros

Microsoft Azure provides a single pane of glass where user provisioning is provided at a high granular level. There is strong authentication that helps safeguard the company's data and assets, while protecting the user from having too much access. Governance is improved through the principle of 'Least Privilege' and 'Segregation of Duty' both followed meticulously and easier to administer. Access...

Cons

If we have an outage and can't conenct to Azure AD as has happened in the past, we lose access to other systems such as Office, Microsoft Teams etc. This can obviously lead to productivity issues.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gold standard for Priveleged Access Management!

Reviewed 2 years ago

AAD is our primary access management tool and since our company has a strong SSO policy, newly onboarded applications are strictly managed via SSO only. Permissions and roles assigned to groups and not users to make sure uniform access is provided and periodic review of access management is also done to make sure to revoke unnessary access and all this can directly be done via Azure Active Directory!

Pros

1. Integration with on-prem Active Directory and even other access management tools is possible with AAD. 2. Users and groups management with AAD is super easy and even the most complex use-cases can easily be implemented. 3. SSO and SAML capabilities: are stunning. AAD can serve as a SSO identify provider for all your applications that support SSO and every user can simply login with your corporate crendentials.

Cons

There are no major flaws, or missing features from AAD. One can easily integrate third-party plugins and tools as well to bring new feature set, if required. Majorly, AAD is the gold standard, therefore, customer service is very proactive and feature sets are added frequently to serve new clients.

TM
AvatarImg

Thierry M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the most secure, compliant,and inexpensive IAM

Reviewed 3 years ago

All my company employees can access business data through streamline Authentication and Authorization. So every integrated solutions (Cloud and On-Premise) could be managed by Business Owners

Pros

It includes all latest security recommandations and best practices

Cons

When I use any Microsoft products, I can integrate easily. However, I need specific technical knowledge for other providers products. But, as a SaaS solution, it becomes more and more intuitive, especially for IT and Business Owners

DC
AvatarImg

Daniele C.

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

the best way to manage users for big companies

Reviewed a year ago

overall i think that AAD is the best user management tool for big organizations, it's high adaptability and range of integrations allow this platform to fit in almos any infrastrucutre

Pros

the integration with both AD on premise on google workspace make this tool the perfect paltform for a migration to a cloud based only organization

Cons

the interface it's very complex, created by many submenus it can take some times for an admin to get accostumed to it. another thing is that many advanced features are locked behind an additional paywall

VP
AvatarImg

Vajirapani P.

Apparel & Fashion, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Azure Active Directory

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

we are as a company highly depend on this application to manage day today user creations and multi factor authentications. its cloud based and easy to access from anywhere and it really help me as an IT Administrator. and single sign on SSO is really help to manage all in one place. even you can check the login attempts by users with the location to take actions. granting rights and removing it from user is so easy with this. i highly recommend this app, it will really make your life easy. and the deployment of the rights taking effect to client in seconds which make our IT department look so efficient.

Cons

actually i didn't see any drawbacks or any least like areas on this application. this is worth for what you pay.

JG
AvatarImg

Jack G.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Azure Active Directory is the best way to manage your users accounts

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's intuitive and easy to use, it's hosted in the cloud so there is rarely any downtime (if ever!). Groups and users can be set up in a matter of seconds and there are some more advanced settings such as conditional access policies, which make restricting access and enforcing multi-factor authentication very straightforward.

Cons

Azure AD can be expensive, especially if you have a lot of users and a large infastructure to manage and maintain.

FP
AvatarImg

Faith P.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Worth the cost!

Reviewed a year ago

We solved an issue with reporting accurate data on employees' current department and transfer date. With Azure AD connecting with UKG, that data is updated in real-time.

Pros

Seamless integration with M365 controlling MFA for employees and our external customer users, and integration with 3rd party apps (UKG, Jira, Jira Service Management, Confluence, Internal Apps)

Cons

Being a M365 company, we were locked into going with Azure AD when we added our Azure environment.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesomely Integrated for a Microsoft Shop

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love AAD for its integration into the rest of the O365 & M365 suite. Whilst a business could still get plenty of use with a cloud directory like AAD on its own (and also at like a tenth the cost of the competition), in our environment its integration is insanely useful.

Cons

The only thing I can really say *isn't* great about Microsoft is their support. Often times contacting support ends in an endless loop of blame-shifting (if we get a response at all), and I often get much more information on outages and issues from r/sysadmin instead of Microsoft directly. However - the software itself is much better than these issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nicholas B.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great access management and identity service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great, we extensively use both Azure, the Microsoft Stack, Power BI and the Office 365 graph so AAD was a natural fit

Pros

Easy to configure, assign roles (or groups) to persons and/or apps. This case be easily reproduced using the API otherwise the front end is just as good.

Cons

In terms of the dizzying amount of permissions it can be tricky at times to know exactly which one/s you should apply for a given use case

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Binny B.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most widely adopted identity managerment solution for cloud!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have a seemless integration of on-prem windows identities to cloud via this Azure Actively Directory.Totally secure and private environment is provided.

Pros

Serverless server is here, irony is that cloud stands for serverless capabilities and still provides server architecture features like Active Directory.Not just that you get many option of acess control and policies to execise of each user. Multiple factor authentication via app, sms and call are available. Admin can also check the location for which the authorization is requested. We can setup custom logo and also we can restrict users to login on untrusted devices. Isn't that the great feature? I love it and totally impressed with the new capabilities.

Cons

There are no cons at all. Microsoft is very innovative to develop such a practical usage platform.

LJ
AvatarImg

Luca J.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Azure active Directory

Reviewed 10 months ago

Insgesamt ist Azure Active Directory ist ein sehr gut designed Software, mit vielen Möglichkeiten unterschiedlichste Software anzubinden

Pros

Es ist sehr schnell, hat viele API Schnittstellen und gute Zugriffsmöglichkeiten

Cons

Das es an die Cloud/Internet angebunden ist so das eine aktive Verbindung erforderlich ist

Showing original review in German. See translation

MH
AvatarImg

Mohammed H.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Go-to Choice for SSO

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of implementationSupported by most partnersEasy to use

Cons

Forget passwordOccasional outages of service worldwide

DR
AvatarImg

Daniyal R.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Review - Azure AD

Reviewed 2 years ago

it's nice and easy way to manage users

Pros

- Easy to use - simplified and unified solution for user management - SSO - Identity management

Cons

- user synchronization is not so good - very confusing options with same name type

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alexander N.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bonus that comes with Office 365

Reviewed 6 months ago

Considering the basic version is included with a Office 365 subscription it has been an unexpected bonus. It has given our company a chance to experiment with a cloud based directory without having to fully abandon the setup that has work for years and most employees are familiar with.

Pros

Previous to signing up for Office 365 we used a on-premise active directory, using the tools provide it was easy to transfer our directory information over to the Azure Active Directory and have them work together in a hybrid mode. We have been able to slowly decrease the amount of on-premise servers had transition to cloud only at a pace we control due to this.

Cons

If you are using hybrid mode it can be a bit of a pain to set two way communication between Azure back to On-premise.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mick Jagtfelt N.

Food Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A foundation of a Microsoft infrastructure

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Well documented, easy to navigate and easy to implement needed solutions.

Cons

None really - works as intended and is constantly changed and new features added.