App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BlackBerry CylancePROTECT Logo

BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Threat detection and endpoint protection platform

see alternatives

(0)

BlackBerry CylancePROTECT Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.6

/5

62
89%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.86/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Our compliance team has been happy, and the coverage is comforting to the security management.
THe ease of use and updating agent so seamless.
Ease at the time of download constant maintenance in security and protection of equipment protecting them from constant threats of viruses, accessible and competitive value.
Some users report problems with support. They have problems because it is necessary for the support to have more information (more technical notes are missing).
You can't quarantine the actual device if it gets hit by a nasty; you need to rely on your network infrastructure hw and/or sw to block the device/user.
It can sometimes be a bit overzealous, quarantining legitimate tools and files that seem suspicious just because it's not in their database or otherwise "PUP.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


62 reviews

Recommended

AL
AvatarImg

Aaron L.

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Antivirus

Reviewed 4 years ago

Keeping network and computers protected throughout

Pros

Easy to manage and have not seen as many infections come through. Keeps out a lot of unwanted programs out

Cons

It blocks a lot of admin tools and there are a lot of config settings on admin side but this also is useful

SE
AvatarImg

Sebastien E.

Verified reviewer

Research, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comprehensice enterprise protection

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Seems very effective so far. I like being able to manage and monitor suspicious activity or whitelist for all the machines that I admin. Not too intrusive and resource friendly

Cons

Took a little while to tune in order to not block too many things. Some apps required help from support and took a few days to figure out why they were blocked.

TP
AvatarImg

Thomas P.

Investment Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cylance leads in end point protection

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It has the highest protection rating out of all other products that were tested.

Cons

Very difficult to explain to auditors how this works.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great enterprise endpoint security solution

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

CylancePROTECT is cloud managed and eases the administration tasks when having hundreds or thousands of assets to configure/check.

Cons

There is nothing remarkable to say here at this moment. Maybe the notifications might be improved when something happens and needs your attention.

SB
AvatarImg

Sean B.

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great AntiVirus product that takes some configuration

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cylance has been a great product for us. It's done a great job catching potentially malicious programs and processes. The oversight with the console is also very useful.

Pros

Cylance protect is a great next gen antivirus product. The console is really easy to use and the device policies are highly configurable.

Cons

The device policies are highly configurable but the options are not terribly straight forward. The process for putting in waivers for memory protection and execution control is a bit confusing.

DG
AvatarImg

Doug G.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

works great!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I would recommend CylancePROTECT to others.

Pros

CylancePROTECT is a fairly light program so it jsut seem sto do it's job without bogging down my computer.

Cons

I wish CylanceProtect had an easier to use file and folder function scan component like other comperable software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kelly Speers I.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cylance Protect with Optics for security

Reviewed 3 years ago

we have been very impressed with Cylance and will continue to recommend and use.

Pros

The software is lightweight and does not bog the system down.

Cons

there was a bit of a learning curve but the support was great at helping us out.

JL
AvatarImg

Jasmina L.

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Antivirus

Reviewed 4 years ago

Allowed us to better protect network and computers from threats

Pros

It does not allow in many threats to network/computers if you deploy to all PC's

Cons

There are many settings to be configured when setting up admin side

EC
AvatarImg

Eric C.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have not had to lear in fear of Cryptolocker infections since we started using this

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to install and configure. We have not had any virus infections or ransom ware since we started using Cylance.

Cons

It's an AV client and we've all had problems with them, but this one has been pretty painless for us.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust Endpoint Security

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software was easy to deploy while meeting or exceeding detection rates in competing products.

Cons

"AI" features relatively new to scene. As-yet unproven over long term use.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Replaced dated security with Cylance and glad we did.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to displace TrendMicro Deep Security as we were having trouble with it. We have a reduced amount of administration that is required with this product and all is good.

Pros

Cylance is easy to install and consumes only a small amount of resources. There is no need to monitor the definition updates and other items you need to with traditional AV. Once you get the management side of it laid out, it is really easy to work with and monitor. It is also very responsive to the cloud management changes.

Cons

It can be cumbersome to get everything configured and marked as OK/Safe depending on what the item is. Scripts are difficult to allow on a global bases and require more administration effort than they should.

GW
AvatarImg

Guy W.

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

so easy to deploy its funny

Reviewed 5 years ago

we have not recieved a virus or malware since deployment.

Pros

ease of deployment and the support we get when we call in. nothing offshore, always speaking to a support person in the US

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No reports of virus infection since we use this. No more data wipe!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

No more virus infection.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the way it works. It runs as background task without affecting the desktop performance of our users.

Cons

There is nothing i can say about cons of this software for its performance. i think the cost is the best best cons due to it is a little bit pricey.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Cylance the AV product

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is one of the best AV product in the market. i like its detection capabilities and functionalities. previously we see many false positives but not it has improved a lot

Cons

it should improve its threat detection technology.

JH
AvatarImg

James H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good antivirus, server options are pretty opaque

Reviewed 2 years ago

No uncaught infections on workstations this year, really the most important functionality.

Pros

As far as catching infections, this has been a top-notch anti-virus choice. Aggressive response to infect flash drives, email viruses, everything we tested.

Cons

However, when it decides to block individual non-malware packages or fails to update on the workstations, the server options were pretty opaque and it took us longer to adjust settings to function correctly than we would have liked.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome product!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We suffered a Ransomware attack a year ago. Since we began using Cylance, we feel much safer. The predictive technology that is in use is amazing, and we never realized how much "stuff" was actually on our network that could be harmful.

Pros

We have just begun using CylanceProtect for our 220+ endpoints. We have a weekly conference call with the vendor implementation team who helps us learn how to administer the product and helps us set up the zones and policies for our environment. Cylance is very easy to install and scripts are available to make this easier.

Cons

I think the software is one of the best products we have used and I have no real complaints.

DG
AvatarImg

Douglas G.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cylance works

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is a very light platform product in my experience.

Cons

I wish the user interface was a little easier to use.

DB
AvatarImg

Dave B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best I have ever used

Reviewed 6 years ago

Stopped viruses cold

Pros

We have not had a single virus since we deployed this. That's the first time in over a decade I've been able to say that

Cons

Nothing I can think of. They do like to have VARs sell it, but Insight sells it now. Year two I am trying to switch over to my primary vendor.

RG
AvatarImg

Robert G.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Effective, maybe a little too aggressive out of the box.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our compliance team has been happy, and the coverage is comforting to the security management. It's proven effective (if a little overbearing) in our environment with fairly minimal disruption to end-users after some tuning.

Pros

Whitelisting stuff is fairly straightforward, it does appear to be a comprehensive "advanced anti-malware" solution. I appreciate the robust reporting available. The configuration capabilities are good, as we need them relatively frequently (see Cons)

Cons

Out of the box, there were a ton of false positives. It interfered with some MS Azure monitoring tools, SolarWinds, and decided to brick SQL Management Studio for a few users.

CK
AvatarImg

Christopher K.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

utilizes minimal resources on my machine, easy to use to scan documents, install and maintenance is easy

Cons

sometimes hard to tell if it is working, sometimes it blocks needed software and it is pain to allow it through

MD
AvatarImg

Mark D.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best of the best

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is the best AV you can buy

Pros

Nothing compares to the amount of protection Cylance gives you. The best part has to be the feature where it is always scanning.

Cons

The only negative for me is how much it costs.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick Saves

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cylance is protecting all the end devices and servers.

Pros

Cylance starts working immediately. Given multiple infected computers and a cylance install we were able to retrieve necessary files and configurations before reimaging machines.

Cons

Sometimes it's too good at blocking. The program can block necessary executables. While these can be whitelisted, it really interrupts the workflow to stop and have to update the whitelist and then push it to all devices. A more comprehensive planning session before install might help.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Endpoint Security for the lone Sysadmin

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Simple and easy installation and deployment, support was very helpful

Cons

Many features are only available with a premium package

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

New AI Antivirus with some flaws

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The idea that its looking at files in new ways and checks executions wiith AI is definitely the way forward.

Cons

The Webinterface is the only way to allow, block or check Software and quarantined files. There is no way to change the language, its based on your browser setting and features ONLY work in english. Unfortunately this software is a massive cpu hog.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Delys C.

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

quiet in regards to the safety of my equipment

Reviewed 4 years ago

tranquility security and protection at low cost

Pros

ease at the time of download constant maintenance in security and protection of equipment protecting them from constant threats of viruses, accessible and competitive value

Cons

In fact, my experience has been of total satisfaction until now we have had the protection offered by the software without presenting any flaw