App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BMC Helix ITSM Logo

BMC Helix ITSM

IT service and IT asset management software

see alternatives

(1)

BMC Helix ITSM Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great incident handling tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great incident handling tool. Can only be access if you have internetz

Pros

Great incident handling tool. Capable of following the ITIL procedures and process. Good for tracking SLAs

Cons

Confusing to use at first. Training is needed prior to using the peogram but its overall great. Can be access only if you have internet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

BMC ITSM is a great software and moneysaver

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using BMC ITSM apps for last 6 years in few companies and my general experience is very good. Starting with user interface and end user experience, then with admin and developer environments but with customization tasks as well, I can compare those ITSM application with many others I have tried to work with. BMC ITSM covers all needed ITIL processes and offers lot of functionalities. Also, BMC ITSM software is always involved in business processes improvement but also improves it's tools for admins, developers and end users. I would definitely like to continue to use BMC ITSM software and recommend it to other companies.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

There are better ticketing systems

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

One of the initial ticketing systems, lot of fields for customization.

Cons

Old & Static. Not so dynamic and flexible

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Government contract

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The program is very robust with options to do all sorts of crazy things in the information service.

Cons

It can be quite clunky with all the options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complex product with a lot of flexibility

Reviewed 7 years ago

The State of Minnesota has owned the product for 3+ years. One of the agencies implemented 3 years ago. My agency was onboarded this year. We used BMC consulting. The consultants were very knowledgeable. The implementation of the change and asset management pieces went very smoothly. The implementation of the incident piece has been more difficult, mostly because we are not using SRMs. We could have planned better to make the transition go more smoothly, but overall, I am happy with how Remedy is working. One of my biggest pain points is that the system is in the cloud, so we are not able to make changes that we need.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Trouble ticketing system

Reviewed 3 years ago

It allows us to keep our day to day operation in order.

Pros

It allows integration from many other softwares through webservice API. We could open/update/close tickets easily with no issue.

Cons

We had a hard time installing the software on window server. I believe it should be easier to do it on a linux OS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Remedy

Reviewed 8 years ago

I guess there a lot of changes to make Remedy better. The first one, migrations, delta data, between environments, upgrades, all can be simplified, Why not use some log o sql querys capture to reply in others environment. So you can take you sql querys and update info, developments, etc. Support, Centralized some ticket number around world, including partners, so BMC also can track and keep an eye on how partner attends. Communications, Inform everybody about fix, common mayor issues, no to wait we face the problem. Customization, Allow to add, or change some behavior thru parameter settings, no only thru development.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Comprehensive Solution Flexible to Meet Unique Demands

Reviewed 8 years ago

Remedy features a solid set of ITSM functions. One can use straight out of the box or customize to meet the most demanding requirements. It is easy to get loss in all the possibilities of the product. We are now showing how IT provides value to the business. I have enjoyed the support from BMC in developing a robust ITSM solution. They have able to revolve various challenges we have encountered. The one area that has been a challenge is integrating Remedy AR into RemedyForce. The tools have not been perfect as would be expected. They are resolved eventually but would expect better coordination between the two products.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A robust suite for all types of businesses

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have worked on Remedy ITSM and found it robust and secure which can offer huge benefits to organisation investing in this solution either for their own use internally or when serving other clients. The suite is bundled with Incident Management, Change Management, Release Management, Problem Management, Knowledge Management, Asset Management et where you can take control of all your infrastructure. The tool offers onsite and remote access so you could basically access it from any where with the advantage of access via smart devices. A total solution which is highly recommended, easy to learn and configure.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Deliver great improvements with BMC Remedy

Reviewed 8 years ago

We're using the on-premise version of Remedy. As we don't allow (and the good thing is, it's also not needed) any customization, we're saving a lot of money in Remedy operations and can easy participate from every new release. The reliability is outstanding, we don't had any outage for 4 years in a row now. Process maturity is very high and we have ISO 20000 auditors who check this every second year. The end-user experience (self-service) could be improved. Even that the process flow and option are very good, the UI is not state of the art. Some out-of-the-box reportings could be improved / be more flexible.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Breaking the mold!

Reviewed 7 years ago

For the first time BMC Remedy has a proven track record and a cutting edge "Head Turner" software. The design has been rethought and had a complete face lift. Typically you don't see a software suite of this magnitude make this many changes and improvements in one version. Like: The long awaited Smart Reporting which provides extensive reporting capabilities into your environment. A interface that used to resemble Filemaker pro now looks like Facebook providing intuitive user interaction. The only thing I see development wise still remaining is for SmartIT to support all customizations and workflows.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best service management tool on the market?

Reviewed 6 years ago

With 20 years of ITSM implementation experience over a variety of tools including IBM, HP, BMC, AXIOS, and Service Now I can say that this tool has above average leadership in terms of implementation. Key qualities are; 1. simplicity of OOB installs 2. completeness of ITIL processes and functions 3. flexibility of configuration without coding. 4. excellent user interfaces Potential pitfalls of the solution are that you can easily get into coding, create a customized system and damage your upgrade path. At all costs, you do not want to code customizations.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its good software to capture asset information and Tracking devices

Reviewed 5 years ago

Pros

Easy to capture asset information and helpful at audit timing. Easy to split site, department, user wise

Cons

Its taking long time to generate and fetch asset information's and Some time applications are not responding

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I use Remedy Service Desk as a working tool.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I really enjoyed Remedy Service Desk because of the Mult Cloud Features, Cloud Provider Release, and Automated Actions.

Cons

I have not found any problems at Remedy Service Desk so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Outstanding software that greatly enhances our business effectiveness

Reviewed 7 years ago

We rely on this software for a variety of customer support areas including incident management, problem management, and reporting. We will soon move into asset management (CMDB) and change management. Software has been easy to train new users, easy to search for information within the Remedy system, and straightforward for developing reports. We have not had many incidents with the software itself becoming unavailable due to software issues such as Tomcat services hanging or other issues.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Please Run.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is probably my least favorite program. Our office adopted it as a ticketing system, and I couldn't wait to get off. It's less than user-friendly, crashes constantly, and ran slower than bearable. Maybe it was built to support much smaller offices, but it was nothing short of a headache most days.

Pros

The graphics are fine, and the color scheme is alright. (Sadly, I don't have a lot of nice things to say about this one.)

Cons

Where to begin: - The internal search engine is one of the worst I've ever seen - Slow (very unfortunate for a system built for efficiency) - Crashes easily

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Remedy ITSM Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

The Remedy ITSM Suite has enabled our organization to accomplish a lot in the Incident, Service Request, and Change spaces. The tool is incredibly flexible which allows us to meet our particular business needs. On the downside, a lot of times it feels like there are a lot of different tools involved but little in the way of instruction on proper use. The new Smart IT interface has done a lot to fix that issue, but it has the trade-off of reducing flexibility to adapt our own business processes.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

All in one tool for service desk

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We can manage many type of service desk request into the same platform

Cons

Hard to do searches, we need to use type the exact ticket number for example.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Remedy Good but not Great

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Has mobile tools to help be productive anywhere.

Cons

The customer self service portal isn’t as friendly & well laid out as it could be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Process Flow Bar is fantastic

Reviewed 8 years ago

A grt product to use. I think we, and our customers like the process flow at the top of each module as this reduces requirements to fully understand an end-to-end process, As a reseller, I think BMC could do better with the data-load spreadsheets. Feedback from customers is that they are not that intuitive and therefore we (and them) spend a long time ensuring they understand what is required, and the implications of getting this wrong.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ITSM 8 - Slowly getting there

Reviewed 8 years ago

BMC Remedy ITSM has made some great progress towards a platform that allows a support user to easily navigate around the application. Once can easily say that great progress has been made in usability in ITSM which has increased adoption of the application. Personally, I think we need to do more. Countless times I get told that the BMC applications look very old school, this is in relation to field...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ITSM 8.x has some great features and capabilities

Reviewed 7 years ago

The concepts and processes behind the ITSM application are very useful and intuitive, but as a developer of Remedy there are a lot of disconnects in the code which make the application somewhat inefficient. Just as the user interface is being streamlined for ease of use (such as MyIT and Smart IT), so should the underlying code/workflow to improve performance and customizability.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Remedy ITSM

Reviewed 8 years ago

Pros: Ease on integration, development, configuration. Cons: Slow Performance of Web interface as compare to other tools Incident, Change Problem UI are too bulky, most of the attributes are not used. Upgrades are reall Admin dont have thick client now No Pre-built maintenance page or similar kind of pages. Report creations are not to easy for end user prespective

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid ITSM Application with a platform to grow on

Reviewed 6 years ago

Using Remedy ITSM gave us the flexibility to use some out of the box features to launch quickly while combining an intuitive platform to develop our custom needs. Having the rest of the BMC suite available for easy integration was helpful as well.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ITSM - Prime Time

Reviewed 8 years ago

After reviewing ITSM 8.X I am impressed, it is easier to use, has better performance and is more intuitive. Much improvement over previous versions, will be rolling out pilot this year, looking forward to using it and additional things in the pipeline for next release.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review