App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BMC Helix ITSM Logo

BMC Helix ITSM

IT service and IT asset management software

see alternatives

(1)

BMC Helix ITSM Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Former RAC and BMC Accredited Administrator AR System

Reviewed 5 years ago

Using the BMC ITSM you can consolidate in a Suite the major task of the ITSM support staff based on ITIL best practices.

Pros

The Remedy ITSM Suites cover the main processs of the ITSM aligned to ITIL best practices. All the Application are integrated as part of the ITSM Suite in order to manage the different scenarios that normally needs to be handled by the support staff. Using the AR System Server as base the ITSM applications can be customized in order to give to the organizations complete and achieve thier functionality requierements. The license model of floating write licenses, lets the organization to share licenses pool.

Cons

BMC Remedy ITSM was born as an On premise solution, the cloud option is in the process to be a mature option. In Remedy you could achieve many thing but you need a lot experience with the product to complete it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Set the record straight!

Reviewed a year ago

Once installed/upgraded it is super easy to develop, manage and it is very easy to have to tool fit your processes. The automation and ability for it to assign, push workflow to other systems and automatically close is awesome. The intelligent integration for event management (off the shelf and event management system that can consume WSDLs or REST, can take advantage of this two-way BSR utility; it’s a game changer!

Pros

I’m not sure where this site is getting it’s information but it is wrong. BMC Software ITSM has mobile solutions built in for any html5 device and apps that can be downloaded from the Google or Apple store and connected to any instance. This system is incredibly robust to the extent that if you do not have mature processes and you do not manage IT well this system will become your mortal enemy....

Cons

Upgrades and installs are the absolute worst! You cannot just go download the package and run setup. There’s literally 50 installs you need to perform plus a checksum between each and everything has to be installed in a specific order and BMC Software doesn’t make it easy on the customers to comprehend this because every tool has a separate website in their DOCs and it’s up to you to understand what needs to come before and after. I suspect they’re making it difficult because they want to sell subscriptions to their SaaS. Additionally, BMC Software ignores their onPrem customers, whom by the way made this company who they are today and they chose to release everything formSaaS and not pay attention to their onPrem customers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Ticket management tool

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The software has auto refresh feature where the view is automatically refreshed with new tickets. The reporting feature is cool. We can do reports to identify and handle tickets per teams which is very useful for Project management.

Cons

Could have more appealing UI and customization feature that can help different teams to manage the LOVs as needed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Remedy Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I wouldn't recommend Remedy for IT Service Management. I believe there are better solutions available that are user friendly while also being visually appealing.

Pros

This software has a very simple layout that makes tracking information down an easy task. The filtering within the application is great and allows for extremely specified results. I like the priority emails that are given based on open tickets. This process allows teams to stay on track to complete requirements and continuously close open tickets.

Cons

I don't enjoy how the UI visually looks. The application has a very outdated look that doesn't appeal to you visually. I have found difficulty when trying to close Incidents because of status issues. This has been my biggest issue because Remedy will want me to enter twenty different status boxes in order to close a ticket or I will receive multiple errors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

After 5+ years i still dont like it

Reviewed 2 years ago

Neutral, it works stable when you give the system enormous resources. System is quite complicated from licencing perspective, user handling, reporting, creating autoassigments, maintaing knowledgebase, problem management handling etc. Actualy when you try alternatives you figure out that system is not that bad. But in 2020 it looks like it's from last decade from perspective of resources, flexibilty...

Pros

Robust, ITSM compliant, fairly great integration posibilites

Cons

Where do i begin? Database structure is nightmare for maintating, creating reports and to actually understad inner workings of system. Reporting sofware lacks some basic stuff. Upgrading production system is a 14 days nightmare. Some basic stuff like creating user level reports based on who did what in which time are imposible. It has almost no room for adjusting, user interface is upgraded from version 7.5, 8.1 until version 9.1 but is substandard compared with cloud based solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Complete Helpdesk and IT service management solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is a single repository/database for incidents, assets, change requests and knowledge You can easily track old tickets as well as you can figure out the approval chain, pending tickets and followup on tasks done and has to be done.

Pros

We upgraded to cloud based Remedy system which saved us the hassle of supporting the solaris server. Web-based and integrated with SSO solution The software is highly customizable. BMC's customer support are very responsive. All branches of IT department use it for incident management, change management, asset management and knowledge management. The approval workflows are easy to set and update.

Cons

customization of the application was a very long process specially if you need to use the most of it. But once it is running, it is worth the pain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great ITSM Tool!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Remedy ITSM has been great to implement our Service Desk Service from Scratch. With it we can keep track of the ticket´s progress, and improve our Support Platform 100%.

Pros

Remedy ITSM is great for Service Desk administration due to it´s great flexibility and customization. It has everything you need to fine tune your Support Service, and keep track of the process with all the Reports functions it offers. It being design for Backlog Management, Problem, Knowledge, Incident and Request Managing with a very reliable platform and server

Cons

At this point, Remedy ITSM could feel outdated along the amount of others ITSM options out there. It´s not very easy to use therefore it needs a Learning curve. When the ammount of tickets on the database gets huge, it could be somewhat slow to pull out old tickets and to process some reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A decent alternative in ITSM domain

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

BMC Helix is a decent alternative when it comes to managing service requests, incidents and trouble tickets. Belonging to a huge brand which is number 1 in OSS area in telecommunications, it is pricy; but provides good support for enterprise solutions.

Cons

Not the best front end programming. Very hard to build RPA automations around. Floating licenses are problemmatic sometimes, blocking the user for some time when trying to log in from different IPs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good ITSM tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use this software withing ITSM and we use it to track tickets, problems and trends within service and its impact on business.

Pros

It gathers Incident, problem and knowledge management in one software and it doing it good. Tickets can be assigned ongoing change management items.

Cons

There is quite high entry level, so it takes some extra time to use it quickly and efficiently to support your business needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

incident management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

All the demands of you, which need to be met by technicians, are registered in ars remedy, there are two ways to perform the registration. Via the web, having access to the tool, or contacting the helpdesk, the first level technician records the customer demand, this demand is received by the responsible area that continues the service. The process is correct and follows the itil methodology, but the tool is outdated and problematic.

Pros

The tool centralizes all of the company's IT demands, and that's a high point. We have a preview of all upcoming and upcoming incidents, changes in progress,

Cons

The tool has constant problems. In basically all areas, from browser interface to architecture issues. Bus error, requests, database information retrieval

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used it for 3 years in our corporation now and it has been great for tracking change and incidents

Reviewed 7 years ago

Enterprise level, very powerful software which is very easy to use. As of Remedy 7.6x, you can make your own customizations to the application or even create applications of your own with their customized Eclipse tool. While a lot of OOTB features worked very well for us, we still needed the ability to customize and create our own forms and processes or even the ability to perform automation...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall Adequate Functionality

Reviewed 3 years ago

Remedy enables our organization to track incidents and change requests in a single system of record.

Pros

I like that change requests can be linked to incidents and tasks. This is very helpful when quantifying impact.

Cons

Reporting is quite difficult, at least in our organization. Also extracting data is not easy and adding additional fields to assist with data analysis of incidents does not appear to be easy to accomodate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Love Remedy ITSM 8.1.01

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been a Remedy developer since 1998. I was an early deplorer of 7.6 and 8.0 AND love ITSM 81.01. I deployed 8.1.01 in January 2015. Installing email to use Outlook was missed because the install was not clearly understood. The same happened with Web Services. Correcting these deficits caused an outage shortly after Go Live. Incident, Change, Knowledge, Asset & Release Management are deployed....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Remedy Service Desk Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It suited us fine as an ITIL centric Incident, Problem, Change Management tool. We considered other options to add Config and Asset management but all were similarly hard to implement on an established nationwide network.

Pros

The ability to create customer scheduled reports from within the software without integrations to other external third party tools.

Cons

Configuration and asset management was hard to implement on a very large nationwide existing network. Discovery tools basically required you to define the network to Remedy instead of full discovery. There were third party integrations available for network discovery.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

All-in-one asset management under a single app

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have consolidated all our ITOM operations under a single app, readily accessible across the organization.

Pros

Remedy Asset Management handles the complete IT lifecycle of endpoints and IT devices in general. What makes it more comprehensive is that, unlike other asset managers, it includes literally the COMPLETE lifecycle, including non-IT processes such as Procurement, Inventory, up to Depreciation and EOL (decommission or disposal). Being part of the BMC Remedy family, it also seamlessly integrate and expadn its capabilities with other related products such as Remedy ITSM and Remedy CMDB. Having said that, what I Iike most of it is the integration of all ITAM (IT Asset Management) steps in a single suite, and the representation, mapping and auditing of all assets in a single place. Normally you would resource to several different tools to achieve this.

Cons

One thing definitely open to imporvement is the reporting module. The reporting module could be definitely improved to add more options of building and scheduling reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One of best tool that tracks the status of the tickets that are being raised as part of request

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The remedy tool is very cool and helpful in tracking the problem resolution status on various tickets that are being raised. It keeps holds of all the members that are being worked on this it provides us the space to comment on the satisfactory level of problem resolution.Overall this has a very powerful features like tracking the status of year back old tickets and it has graphical representation of the ticket status.The BMC is linked with various MNC's who are using this now.

Cons

There is nothing least about this but if BMC can concentrate on the UI make the components which are required keep available on the screen which are not much needed please locate them in seperate location and help us in navigating to it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool for Resolving Dockets - Customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using Remedy on a daily basis to resolve customer tickets...very easy to keep track of the issues, customer can revert back as well , so that we can provide optimum solution to the issues raised through remedy dockets..

Pros

It is very helpful for resolving the dockets, almost all the attributes are self explanatory, easy to use, what i like the most is reports are generated with all the details like when the docket is raised, when it is resolved, average time duration, and also we can customize the reports...It makes life easy

Cons

So far everything is useful and good about Remedy

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I missed it, once we migrated to a different system. I still do. Great software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Work satisfaction and quality in performing daily tasks.

Pros

It was bulletproof. Rarely overloaded. Always running smoothly. Remedy is for people who value professional work. It's almost impossible to make mistakes when routing. Data extraction is also possible and is actually pretty good, although a bit complex.

Cons

Exchanged with other systems is always flawed for some reason. I worked so far with 3 different systems exchanged with Remedy and the exchange was always problematic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Large Datacenter

Reviewed 3 years ago

we use Remedy incident and change management every single day as my team is a the datacenter support staff. It's crucial that we get notified immediately about incoming tickets and can access them quickly. Remedy does this for us and keeps our response time very low!

Pros

easy management for my team's incident ticket queue. can access from anywhere without a client app now

Cons

we frequently need to print incidents and change tickets to get all the info so we can travel to the datacenter and troubleshoot issues

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A simple change management tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Use the 80/20 rule. It does meet most needs, however you will spend 80% of your time reaching the last 20% of your needs if you let it. Think outside the box and use integrations.

Pros

It has a simple interface.Easy to navigate around.We can access it via a web portal which makes it all the more easy and Id say more accessible anytime anywhere.You can trace the change easily which is a huge plus unlike some complex interfaces.

Cons

At times if we have a complex process i.e dealing with multiple user information can get a bit tedious.I wish I could export search results too since i always had a problem of copying and pasting stuff which was annoying.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential and User Friendly Tool used for ticketing purpose

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best Ticketing tool for business purpose. Gives us wide range of options to customize from. breadth of services. Easily understandable Can generate reports according to requirement Able to link tickets to one another easily

Pros

Able to create. update, resolve tickets easily Able to calculate SLA. Good process work flow Able to link Incidents to problem and change requests

Cons

Too many fields are needed to be filled up for raising a ticket, thus its a bit time consuming for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

incident management tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is a very good tool to manage incidents within your company, very useful when it comes to putting details in each affectation, even if you want to download the data already stored for a while and the details you want

Cons

It really is an excellent tool, but at the time of programming and managing it can be a bit complicated for the end user, that is, you will need a specialist to be able to start up your tool 100%

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Decent SD tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Room for improvement for User experience and interface for making it simple to new or non technical work force

Pros

Decent Service desk tool for logging, tracking and monitoring of incident, change and problem tickets in a IT service management environment

Cons

It could be more user friendly and intuitive in terms of the user interface and user experience for non technical workforce who are new to ITSM or service desk environment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Provides complete lifecycle management of your IT assets, from procurement to end-of-life.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software licenses management helps you avoid audit costs. Proactively identify contract infringements and purchasing opportunities. Know where your assets are located, who is using them, and how many there are. Make informed decisions about IT changes.

Cons

It is possible that there are areas where it is not applicable, but in general it will cover the needs of the company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the Best Incident Trackers!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I worked 3.5 years for 1-800-WAL-MART and used this software to track every single customer incident that happened in Walmart stores in the U.S. and beyond.

Pros

I love how intuitive it is. The software flows just like you'd expect.

Cons

It was something I used at Walmart corporate office when I worked there. No complaints at all ... even from a user at the largest company in the world.