App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Matomo Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


58 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Henry C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and easy to learn. Its got everything you need out of the box.

Cons

Google won't release their serch data to Matomo.

CR
AvatarImg

Claudio R.

Internet, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matomo miglior software per analisi web

Reviewed 2 years ago

È facile da installare e configurare ed è possibile creare dashboard, lato utente, in modo che i dati possano essere accessibili e trasparenti.

Pros

Matomo, precedentemente nominato Piwik, è un software open source che fornisce analisi dettagliate di un sito web. Con Matomo è possibile analizzare le visite dei propri utenti in particolar modo il comportamento e le sessioni. I dati raccolti sono in tempo reale, rispetta la privacy ed conforme al GDPR.

Cons

Niente da segnalare. È un software completo.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mandy P.

Building Materials, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

RGPD friendly

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

L'interface est top, dès les premiers instants d'utilisation, on sent qu'on à affaire à un logiciel intuitif et avec lequel on va pouvoir avancer vite. Les fonctionnalités sont nombreuses. Conforme RGPD

Cons

L'installation est un peu plus complexe que celle de Google Analytics par exemple.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Cosmetics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

La gran alternativa a Google Analytics

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Lo que más me gusta de Matomo, es que puedes instalarlo en tu servidor y al ser servidor propio ya no dependes de ceder información a terceros como en el caso de google Analytics y te evitas todo el tema del aviso de cookies. Lo tenemos en uno de los proyectos web y es fantástico ¡ recomendable como alternativa a google Analytics!

Cons

Cumple perfectamente su función de análisis por lo que no tiene ningún pero para mi

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

KL
AvatarImg

Krzysztof L.

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Google Analytics alternative

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.

Cons

Database swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Farshad S.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Google Analytics Redefined

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great I love it and totally recommend it. 👍

Pros

1. You get to own your data 2. It's more clear and better UX 3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server 4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing

Cons

Nothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David A. B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The alternative for in-house / intranet analytics

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We chose Piwik (Matomo) to track in-house analytics and be independent to other analytics tools.

Cons

On the 5+ years, haven't encountered a con.

ja
AvatarImg

jon a.

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

complete and user friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

easy and simple but yet enough informations

Cons

sometimes hard to find some options, the report could have more options

CB
AvatarImg

Christophe B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thanks a lot

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

A good replacement to Google Analytics that respect privacy

Cons

Nothing, it's perfect for us and for or needs

HC
AvatarImg

Henry C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Privacy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.

Cons

Not getting key words from Google searches.

LG
AvatarImg

Lav G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Analytics Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.

Cons

Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rita K.

Human Resources, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matomo outils d'Analyse de Dashboard de site site web marketing

Reviewed 9 months ago

je l'utilise pour analyse de site web et de marketing

Pros

Matomo outils d'Analyse de Dashboard de site site web marketing

Cons

pas d'inconvénients dans l'utilisateur de matomo

Showing original review in French. See translation

NB
AvatarImg

Nabil B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better than Google Analytics

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Respect data privacy and it's free of charge

Cons

In fact it's difficult to find cons. in matomo :-(

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Francois D.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Version Autohébergée

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Migration depuis Google Analytics - Statistiques complète - Schéma de base de données documentée, facilite le branchement à d'autres outils - Installation via docker - Facilité de respect du RGPD

Cons

- l'API est lente - il manque quelques éléments de caractérisation des visiteurs

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dave M.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Your data is yours

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

If you've used Google Analytics (who hasn't at this point) the process for integrating Matomo into your site and getting reports will seem very familiar. That makes it easy to move off of GA. Since you are hosting the backend, you control who has access to the data and no third party can use it.

Cons

The reporting capability is a bit weak, but you can fully export the data in order to use anything you want, anything from Tableau to Excel. Using this with a non-traditional web page such as a React app will require more work to either understand Matomo's behavior and/or generate custom events instead, but this is also true for GA.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kevin Dominik K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Open Source Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Using Matomo, then piwik, we were able to greatly improve the responsiveness of the website and react to the user experience. It also helps in defining KPIs for our Marketing.

Pros

Matomo gives you great inside into your unique visitors and their characteristics. It is great to see, how long visitors remain on the side and what actions they take.

Cons

With the number of metrics the software tends to slow down. Especially if multiple user try to evaluate different campaigns you can notice the strain on the hardware.

MH
AvatarImg

Magnus H.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your own GA - self hosted, reliable and extremely powerful

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of set-up, features & options, frequent updates which doesn't break things, fully featured tag manager, multi-site, speed of report generations.

Cons

It's written in PHP, I do most stuff in node.js

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Max G.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Un software poco conosciuto ma una piacevole scoperta

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ha tutto quello che serve per monitorare gli accessi del sito, semplice da utilizzare e intuitivo

Cons

Non ho trovato nessun contro, ho la versione a pagamento

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best open-source analytics platform

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

With matomo, you own your data, unlike every other analytics platform. You can tweak as you like, extend its functionality.

Cons

Nothing actually yet. The team loves it.

TP
AvatarImg

Tiberiu P.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great alternative to Google Analytics

Reviewed 5 years ago

I implemented matomo for my personal website because I heard about it at my previous job and decided to give it a try. Since the number of visitors is really small, I rarely use the statistics generated by matomo but it's nice to have it.

Pros

Free On premise installation Easy to update Great UI

Cons

With my limited usage of this software I found no issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Léandre K.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good experience with the tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Standalone, fully set of monitoring data and owner of data.

Cons

recurring error while trying to update or customize the tool.

MC
AvatarImg

MARTIN C.

Internet, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 5 years ago

In my case I can keep the statistic of what place in the world, as well as what type of devices, or operating system, in addition to which pages interest my visitors more.

Pros

This software is a real alternative to bring statistics to your sites.

Cons

It has nothing wrong with this software.

NH
AvatarImg

Nadir H.

Internet, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great web analytics service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have been using Matomo for over 4+ years now. Matomo is a great service! highly recommended.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons currently. If I find any cons I will rewrite the review.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Mes impression sur Matomo

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Ce que je préfère le plus sûr Matomo est le cout très accessible

Cons

L'interface utilisateur me semble trop complexe pour un débutant

Showing original review in French. See translation

AA
AvatarImg

Arnaud A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matonon an RGPD compliant sofware

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is a powerful web analytics platform that gives you 100% data ownership.

Cons

the support can be purchased separatly but is expensive.