App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Runn Logo

Real-time resource management for growing businesses

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Runn Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

30

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.77/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

monday-com
resource-guru

Pros and cons

The team are helpful and responsive to feedback; the tool is good and gets better every month.
We made the great decision to start using Runn in early 2021 and it has been a blessing. Easy to set up, customize and roll out to the different teams.
Powerful and feature rich, yet easy to understand and set up. Modelling my team, projects, and resourcing took a remarkably short time and prompted one or two very good questions I hadn't considered.
Some Reports and permission levels are missing or are limited and we've had to figure out workarounds.
On last two years there were no one reason to switch to another tool.
I would say that we're missing API features, but having public roadmap of planned features would be a plus.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


30 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sam M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Professional services companies: know your expected billing

Reviewed 3 years ago

The team are helpful and responsive to feedback; the tool is good and gets better every month.

Pros

Runn is great at providing a projection of what the billings of a professional services organisation will be in months to come. It's an essential part of running an effective business which isn't as commonplace as it should be!

Cons

With a lot of pre-existing tools (time-keeping, invoicing, business intelligence), it took a bit of time to get everything integrated nicely. While they do have out-of-the-box integrations that might suit your needs well, we found our needs too specific and needed to make custom integrations. That said, their APIs have meant that we could do this integration reasonably easily.

JK
AvatarImg

Joyce K.

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for managing resource allocations and time reporting

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

This tool was so simple to implement, and it's easy to use to track what projects our resources are working on now and in the future. It gives us a good view of our cross-project metrics. I can't say enough about how customer support is very responsive to questions, issues, and feature requests. While the tool may not have every feature I want, it is a pleasure to work with this company.

Cons

While I would like better reporting, they make it easy to export data and when I have a unique reporting need I can move the data to a spreadsheet. Therefore, the biggest area of improvement I see for Runn would be more security profiles. We could benefit from more flexibility than what they provide.

KB
AvatarImg

Keval B.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Short and Sweet

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

This product for us was back to basics. Runn is very easy to use with the inclusion of all the major functionalities required to manage the project. Interface is easy to interpret!

Cons

Overall it's a good one but it will be great if we can export the custom fields data i.e. fetching the data for the custom field created for a Project along with other project details. Few other must haves are - more control on permissions - restrict backdated update for planner - saving the filtered view on report - bulk update if can be made easy

AC
AvatarImg

Albert C.

Import and Export, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Runn is THE way to manage projects and resources in 2022

Reviewed 2 years ago

We made the great decision to start using Runn in early 2021 and it has been a blessing. Easy to set up, customize and roll out to the different teams. Everything is built with care and it shows. Overall, I couldn't recommend it more. In just a few months, we are able to get better visibility and control over our services teams with a fraction of the effort.

Pros

Clean interfaces and easy-to-use software, that's what you need when you are dealing with the complexities of project and resource management. Runn delivers exactly that and keeps improving every week. Team leads now have up-to-date visibility on every front, including project financials, team utilization and beyond, without spending the entire day trying to source the updated data. it's ready for them.

Cons

Some Reports and permission levels are missing or are limited and we've had to figure out workarounds. This is something the team is working on and I am confident they'll be resolving it pretty soon.

AB
AvatarImg

Ailsa B.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Software for Software Development Agencies

Reviewed 3 years ago

Honestly, the team is amazing. They will answer your questions quickly, and offer support when needed. At one point, I spotted a bug with their dropdowns... I sent a support ticket and I had a response and a fix was deployed within two hours. Truly amazing stuff!

Pros

Runn is incredibly easy to use. It's UI is clean and makes it easy for the user to understand how to complete their tasks. Their support team is also incredibly responsive.

Cons

Runn is fairly new, so there are definitely some features we're waiting on... but the fact that the Runn team listens to every suggestion we make is amazing. I have complete confidence that Runn is going to be an incredible fit for us for a long time.

AH
AvatarImg

Alicia H.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Runn is the perfect fit for our company

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am extremely happy with Runn. They were very helpful with the initial set up. I had a recommendation for changing the scheduler page which would help my team out. Runn was able to make the change in a few weeks.

Pros

Runn was very easy to set up for our company. I can easily create schedules for our current and upcoming projects. The reporting features are great. I love how easily it shows the profitability per project and scheduled vs worked hours. We have used other software in the past and they had more features than our company needed and were complicated to use. Runn does exactly what we need it to do at a good price point.

Cons

This isn't really a con because they are working on it but there currently isn't time tracking software and we have to integrate with Clockify. I'm looking forward to Runn having their own time tracking software so we don't have to use to apps.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anne G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for a Startup needing to balance resources and costs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Quite simple UX Timesheet linked to profitability functionality Resource based view Tentative project view Affordable for start-up

Cons

Colors are not customisable Cant keep notes on projects (like Trello) Takes time to set up, can import the MS Project input

KT
AvatarImg

Karthik T.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good, but can be better

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been good, we're currently working on implementing the tool across the organization. The customer support has been helpful in getting our questions answered. Certain exports to Excel are difficult, and the current API call limit is frustrating.

Pros

It's easy to manage resources, and time management for different projects which is useful for large organizations managing hundreds of projects at the same time.

Cons

Messes up the names which has accents in them. A more effective real-time connection with Workday (our people management tool) would be helpful in ensuring names are consistent across these two different tools.

KN
AvatarImg

Kieron N.

Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great resource management and planning

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Easier to see where people and projects are at a glance, including budgets.

Cons

Sometimes I wish there were more reporting options.

DS
AvatarImg

Dan S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using Runn

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

the hours management for allocations and the API to other programs which we are using to get accurate reporting.

Cons

I would like some more features in the space of HR Management of people and their skills to be able to better use the time allocation part in conjunction with RFI/RFP answering.

WD
AvatarImg

Warren D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lets you manage complexity with ease.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Global view of people and projects. Ease of bringing people in and spotting when people will be free is essential. Project and functional reporting is straight forward and insightful.

Cons

All features that I thought were missing have since been added. A very active development team.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roman R.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A perfect Resource Planning instrument

Reviewed 2 years ago

My team is very happy. On last two years there were no one reason to switch to another tool.

Pros

My team is very happy about resource management, tracking projects, utilization, financial metrics and permissions features. Since we had invited very different groups of people (finance, PMs, delivery, sales, etc), everyone has set of features they like, and everything is working very smoothly.

Cons

We have pretty complex business intelligence tool to gather finance and project metrics, and we're using API sometimes. I would say that we're missing API features, but having public roadmap of planned features would be a plus.

NI
AvatarImg

Nicolas I.

Management Consulting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Runn changed our way to manage people and projects

Reviewed 2 years ago

After starting to use runn, we could improve our precision for the time allocation per person and project.

Pros

we are using runn on a day-to-day basis to manage our consulting projects and where our employees are located. We use all features related to project management and reporting.

Cons

Things that we would like to see in the tool is a better way to manage access per user role, it would be useful for us.

GB
AvatarImg

Gavin B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive, magnificent value, addressed every single one of our needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

In addition to meeting ever one of our use cases, the time between initial evaluation, demonstrations to our leadership team, and having key stakeholders up and running using the tool productively was minimal. The intuitiveness and ease of use are off the charts.

Pros

It addressed literally every set of asks we had in the domain of Resource Management (Capacity, Forecasting, Utilization) and Project Metrics (Role/Person Assignment, Burndown, and profitability). It had the added benefit of being able to retire a dedicated time tracking tool as well.

Cons

If there were one thing, just one thing I could change, it would be: Nothing. Joking aside, I genuinely don't have anything I dislike about this tool. In fact, the more we use it, the more cool features we discover.

KS
AvatarImg

Kyle S.

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We're off and RUNNing....

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really good!

Pros

I can teach someone to use it in 5 minutes. It is graphically intuitive and simple to display utilization. I like the tentative toggle.

Cons

It's a new platform. The team are responsive to new features. We would like a few more categories as discussed for billing/non-billing and the team have this in their roadmap.

WS
AvatarImg

Wojciech S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Brief opinion

Reviewed 2 years ago

Faster decision making process and future capacity planning overview

Pros

User friendly, easy to manage and great Customer support

Cons

Desired features which can't be customized quickly due to many customer requests

DK
AvatarImg

Danish K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Discovery for project working

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

this app is so helpful for my small project. we can use it easily . Time saving.

Cons

Runn is fairly new, so there are definitely some features we're waiting on.

KS
AvatarImg

Khilan S.

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RUNN review

Reviewed 2 years ago

all well similar to Maven link

Pros

the features are user friendly but it could do with a slight update of colour

Cons

need to be colour friendly for tentativeness like maybe put in shading

IF
AvatarImg

Iain F.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Value for Money, Great Customer Service, and Solid Understanding of the Use Case

Reviewed 3 years ago

Aside from the high quality and highly usable software, Runn's customer service has been exception - very impressed

Pros

Powerful and feature rich, yet easy to understand and set up. Modelling my team, projects, and resourcing took a remarkably short time and prompted one or two very good questions I hadn't considered.

Cons

Very little that is an out an out con; initially resourcing by percentage wasn't available but this has been added. Managing public holidays is a little fussy, as is the resulting treatment of longer term resourcing but neither of these are a big deal.

JD
AvatarImg

Jeremie D.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Runn for Project Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Runn is an effective tool for PM's to easily Plan projects, Track resourcing schedule and I can produce desired results without wasting my time.

Pros

Runn is very easy to navigate and very useful for efficient planning, especially if you are managing multiple projects.

Cons

Nothing I can think of, the product is user-friendly to be honest

CD
AvatarImg

Cj D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Drives our operation

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Runn to plan and view all of our projects highlighting where people are needed and when. It helps provide a birds eye view of our team and the business.

Pros

Runn is really easy to set up, add projects, place holders and teams to giving us a clear picture of our capacity and timelines.

Cons

It would be great to integrate with our team holiday calendar

YL
AvatarImg

Yvonne L.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Runnio is easy to use and friendly to new user

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Runnio is not complicated and friendly to new user, you can easily learn how to use it. It helps a lot when we're doing resource planning , we can know who is overutilized and do needful

Cons

I'll recommend to add more feature like bulk updating resources leave time and auto set the public holidays. and it will be great if we can filter by location and employee ID

AC
AvatarImg

Andrii C.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great resource scheduling tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Runn is a great tool that fits almost all my needs with resource scheduling

Pros

- Easy to use - Simple entities, that fits all my neads - Great API, so that I can populate all my data with ease from another source

Cons

1. I'd like to have the possibility to add part-time vacation 2. I'd like to have vacation resolution strategies available through API 3. I'd like to filter only projects that have placeholder

AJ
AvatarImg

Andrejs J.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Much more than just resource planning

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Runn provides the ability to plan and manage your workloads, but it also helps track the project's financials in a very easy and intuitive manner. Special thanks to a customer success team for a quick response and flexibility!

Cons

More like a nice to have feature - to have the ability to see project tasks from tools like Asana and be able to plan them across resources in a calendar view.

MF
AvatarImg

Matthew F.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why didn't we use Runn sooner?!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

*Incredibly simple and intuitive UI *Ability to adjust resources in real time and see the impact is incredibly helpful *Built in filters, graphs and reports *Ability to import/export data to support integrations *Incredibly responsive support team and constant new features/improvements

Cons

*Really need an undo button *Would be incredibly helpful to include version control