Adaptive Discovery Reviews

Adaptive Discovery Reviews

Adaptive Discovery

Cloud-based dashboard and data visualization solution

4.52/5 (132 reviews)
3,739

Nick Chrzan

Adaptive has created a tool that is easy to use and provides value almost instantly.

01/08/2017

Pros

I love the ease of creating a budget and the ability to quickly create a new forecast. Adaptive has created a formula wizard that is similar to excel, which makes it easy for excel based planners to easily adapt. Adaptive also has an excel interface for reporting, OfficeConnect which makes reporting even easier. They have also created an upload feature to easily maintain your hierarchy, dimensions and attributes. For a company as large as ours it makes the maintenance of the system easier. Since Adaptive is Cloud based there is no sharing excel files. I can work with anyone in my organization from anywhere and we are all able to access the same file. Since everything is housed in Adaptive we are able to collaborate easier and make better decisions.

Cons

There is always room for improvement and Adaptive is always listening to its customers. There are some features that make reporting a little clunky, rollups. They recently updated the reporting tool within Adaptive, but it doesn't seem as user friendly as the older version. Hopefully over time it will be easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melanie Twa

Good basic functionality for financial planning & reporting

18/07/2017

Pros

Pros: ease of use in that the software is cloud-based. It was also relatively easy to implement with approximately 50 users. Good customer support.

Cons

Cons: sometimes pages take too long to load, which is frustrating to users. But otherwise there are few complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zachary Morrow

Adaptive Insights is a powerful, impactful, and affordable FP&A software solution

10/07/2017

Pros

The software has amazing customization capabilities in the implementation phases. In addition, many reconciliation routes are available to ensure data and structures are input correctly. Intuitive reporting and excellent data visualization significantly impact financial decision making, resulting in higher levels of confidence and transparency throughout the forecasting process.

Cons

Some idiosyncrasies required rework or reformatting of data in the implementation phase. Also, access/roles could be more customizable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Billy Mak

High learning curve; good product for reporting and planning

27/06/2017

Pros

it could integrate with database, and have live data. It has feature like discovery to produce dashboard. Has regular new features rolled out.

Cons

the setup takes a long time, and it is not very good for non-profit. lack of update/training for customer to learn new features

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Butler

Easy to implement, ongoing support, frequent updates to make experience better

26/06/2017

Dynamic planning, scenario analysis, administrative time reduction

Pros

The quick time to value. Out of the box we were able to get immediate value, and over time we have been customizing our experience to our unique business needs.

Cons

A little bit rigid sometimes. There are a few simple functions that are possible, but require workarounds that are not really intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christy Bonham

I don't use it as often as I need to.

09/06/2017

Tracking salaries and department budget.

Pros

I find it hard to navigate. Not the user friendly tool I was hoping for. I don't go in and use it as much as I should because it is difficult to get comfortable with it.

Cons

Navigation through the tool. It doesn't make sense to me. Perhaps I need to have more access rights.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Boardman

Overall positive

01/06/2017

Pros

Version control is extremely important in FP&A. I love how easy is it to control our docs and to see when changes have been made.

Cons

The modeling aspect can be a bit challenging. I often times find it easier to work out of excel when working with heavier modeling.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Dunkley

Easy collaboration while building out the year's model was key to improving our efficiency.

19/05/2017

Faster build and modify time of my model. Easier buy in from contributors to the model because they had access to build their part directly in the system.

Pros

Easy to gather, audit, and lock down inputs from key contributors. It was also very easy to create multiple versions and scenarios.

Cons

Struggled a little to get it to connect the way we wanted with our ERP, but that had to do with both sides. Not just Adaptive. It also does take a little time to understand how to build things out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Thomas

Adaptive is easy to use and has lots of functionality that scales with your business.

18/05/2017

Fantastic planning capabilities that is live with our business. It changes as the business changes and is not static.

Pros

Ease of use is my favorite thing about the software. It is super easy to use and training new employees is a breeze.

Cons

Our adaptive administrator sometimes struggles with the data integration from netsuite in some instances.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samuel Gibbs

The fastest updating planning software available

18/05/2017

Pros

I love how quickly one single change flows through all our financial statements and reports and views.

Cons

Our customer service has been a little spotty, but the software is awesome enough that I would still recommend it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sandy Arami

Adaptive is a must-have for any FP&A department!

09/05/2017

FP&A responsibilities - specifically budgeting and forecasting but also building out models and creating new versions for our analysts to use.

Pros

It has made our budgeting and forecasting process much better. We save so much time with our forecasts, which allow us to spend more time updating them meaningfully every month.

Cons

I would love to see Adaptive connect with Salesforce behind the scenes. At the moment we have to reconcile the variances between the two manually monthly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Spain

Awesome product for a great value. Takes budgeting and forecasting to a new level.

01/05/2017

There are several benefits from using this software. The biggest benefit is that once your initial model is built you get stability compared to doing your forecast in spreadsheets. When we used spreadsheets most of our time was spent making sure formulas were correct and that there were no bust in the model. With Adaptive, you have confidence that once you test your formulas you can add/takeaway/and modify data and your calculations will work. The other benefit is that if you have a champion and insist that new data be loaded as soon as possible you always have a good/latest view of what the company expects. By doing this forecasting becomes built into your processes and not the annual/quarterly drag that the organization dislikes. Information is kept in a nice concise format that is easy to read.

Pros

The product if very adaptable. We recently went through a sell process where we were sold by a public company to a private equity firm and back to a public company within a two and half year period. Adaptive was very key to providing the analysis and financial information required for the sell process. While with the private equity firm we changed to a fiscal year but they required us to report both fiscal and calendar year numbers. We also had to push the various EBITDA adjustments back into the financial statements for comparative purposes. I also like the customer service and the fact that Adaptive pushes out a couple of major releases each year to add new functionality requested by the user community.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frank Jiang

Adaptive is overall a great tool. I'd like to see the UI improved to be more on par with new tech.

01/05/2017

Makes my job a lot easier. I was able to distil the core KPIs of my business and report on those instead of simple reporting top-line and bottom-line without strong data behind these numbers

Pros

Good versioning and flexibility Import/Export is simple Easy to collaborate Nice customization options

Cons

User interface is frustrating and dated Lack of simple undo Cell history should save information from prior versions

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Bradshaw

Has been a refreshing system to use compared to its competitors

25/04/2017

I recently started at a company that has Adaptive Insights and it is way better than the system I was using at my last company. It has worked great and has been awesome for different scenarios. There are little to no glitches that I have found. It's about time that there is a system like this.

Pros

I like how you can do different scenario very easily. I like how it is clean and user friendly. I like how it helps you build a driver-based forecasting model that helps inhibit accountability.

Cons

I wish when you are comparing different scenarios you could do 12 months of scenario then see the other one but it compares it right next to the other month.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Discovery

I have really enjoyed using this software. It keeps everything neat and organized.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sandra Bennett

Flexible, User Friendly Software

12/04/2017

Our Finance team switched to Adaptive Planning from another software that was very inflexible and required both outside consultants and house IT staff on a regular basis. Adaptive Planning was a very smooth implementation. It allows great flexibility in your planning models without the heavy reliance on consultants and IT. The ad hoc reporting and additional benefit of Office Connect have been very valuable in our planning processes.

Pros

Flexible, cloud based, user friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven Fisher

Adaptive Review

02/04/2017

Adaptive has been very helpful for our finance org. We are able to use adaptive for a single source of knowledge that can be accessed across the company at any point in time. While we are currently using it only within our finance org, I can see the potential to use it across departments. The software is very easy to use to view different facts and scenarios. The exporting ability through office connect has been amazing as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa Ritchie

Customer support only one star as haven't had to use this yet.

24/03/2017

Initially, when first using the application I found the ease of use to be quite daunting. however using it everyday you quickly start to reap the benefits of Adaptive. This application is used by many different groups in my company for planning, budgeting, outlooking and reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Panagiota Mahendru

Adaptive (Non-Profit)

17/03/2017

We are implementing Adaptive planning and forecasting in order to automate the process of quarterly forecast and connecting a complicated expense driven model along with Grant Management. Although it is complicated to set up, the end result is value for money.

Pros

AUTOMATIONS AND DASHBOARD

Cons

COMPLICATED TO SET UP

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Discovery

You have to dedicate an experienced analyst in order to be successful.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
georgeta precup

flow and transparency for FP&A

24/02/2017

I've been using Adaptive since 2011, and I am fully satisfied with the Adaptive suit. Every year they are improving and developing the suit of services and product. I might be biased but the ease of use of the platform is really what's important for me. The flow and transparency of the data is equally important. I don't think I could be as good as I am when it comes to FP&A and reporting if it wasn't for using Adaptive.

Pros

everything- ease of use

Cons

none

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Discovery

n/a

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Flavio  Santos

Good product ignore you are a serious user.

23/02/2017

Extremely flexible planning and reporting tool. Requires good knowledgeable about (I) the business, (ii) company's finance and accounting practices and (iii) ERP and ancillary systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Fulmer

Great software once you learn how to use it.

01/02/2017

I've been using Adaptive for about 6 months now. I'm using a model that was created by my predecessor, so I had to learn how things were set up by them. Once you get the hang of it, it's not a bad tool to use, but it's not always intuitive. I think I would have a better time if I had implemented the original model myself, but I'm getting used to it. They recently moved away from Java based reporting, which has improved the reporting system interface.

Pros

Create as simple or as complex models as you desire. Custom reporting Roadmap with new features coming in 2017

Cons

Not excel based Complicated variables and formulas

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Parker

Adaptive Discovery Highs and Lows

08/12/2016

Discovery is a great visualization tool that allows for quick analytics. There are still constraints on user friendliness and errors. Once Adaptive Insights fixes all the current glitches to include, scheduled snapshot errors, and load times to name a few. It's great to use when it is working efficiently.

Pros

Visual.

Cons

Glitches.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jose Velez

If you are not using Adaptive Planning, you should be.

30/11/2016

We are in the process of completing our rollout and implementation of Adaptive Planning within the organization and the feedback has been great. Not only has the FP&A team been able to streamline their work, they have been empowered to offer more in terms of custom requests and shorter lead times.

Pros

The ease of use and ability to work from any device.

Cons

The reports need work and better support for custom formulas.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Discovery

Just dig in and you will see the benefits!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Lurie

Adaptive Insights is a powerful tool to manage your business that remains easy to use

22/11/2016

We evaluated many of the SaaS software options available before settling on Adaptive Insights (Host Analystics, Anaplan, Tidemark, etc). None of them matched the value, ease of use, and results of Adaptive. If you are looking to move away from spreadsheets and have one source for your financial data and reporting data, I highly suggest looking into Adaptive Planning. It has all the features you would expect in your financial tool and they are constantly upgrading and adding addiitonal features. Customer support has been excellent and they actually seem to care about their customers. Highly recommended!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Werner

AI Review

15/11/2016

This tool enables the user easily develop (with minimal time) a nicely tailored template for what-if and Actual situational planning, forecasting and reporting of a variety of metrics. Project / performance management is assisted greatly through liberal use of intuitive dashboards and analytical tools.

Pros

> Strong, secure environment - clearly developed with an appreciation of how to treat company sensitive data. > Appropriate security levels are easily established and maintained. > Cloud-based connectivity is the only way to go - AI does a nice job of leveraging this platform.

Cons

> Some effort is required for setup as programming keys are built on a one-by-one basis and thus training is essential for the new user. > From an international perspective, the consolidation of multiple currency / FX data needs additional development. > MS Office connectivity is too limited and the user is tempted to use other sw apps where integration is superior to AI architecture.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Discovery

Don't try to 'boil the ocean' initially. Suggest a slow build up as the user learns how the software strengths and limitations with a complex project.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more