App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Alteryx Designer Logo

Alteryx Designer

Empowering people to turn data into breakthroughs

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Alteryx Designer Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

94

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.95/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The online portal is excellent as well; there's a whole community ready and willing to assist and help you get better at using Alteryx. Very impressive software.
Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project.
No coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation.
The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.
Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one.
Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


94 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So many uses!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Alteryx has been great! It solved our business need plus so much more. The number of users in my company has been expanding since we first started using it.

Pros

You can do so much with Alteryx! We acquired the software for one specific project but I find myself using it for so many other things, from day to day data work to other large projects. It has great features like fuzzy matching, data normalization, and join capabilities. It is great for working with large data sets that can't be easily managed in excel or access and for allowing multiple data sources to interact with each other.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. However, once you understand how it all works its easy. Also there are so many tools and more than one way to achieve the same thing. It can be hard to know how to approach new projects.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Go With The Flow - Automation using Alteryx Designer

Reviewed 5 years ago

As an analyst in the Finance dept of a large financial institution, my work is largely cyclical in nature. I need to produce the same output on a monthly basis and a lot of my processes require several manual steps which can take hours. With Alteryx Designer, I have been able to convert many of these processes to automated workflows which can achieve the same results in literally seconds. With the power of automation, I have more time for analyzing results instead of spending a great deal of time generating reports.

Pros

Alteryx Designer is a very intuitive way to map out a process in a step by step visual workflow which can be then executed with the click of a button. Tedious manual tasks can be automated with ease. Traditionally, programming required drawing out ones algorithm in a flowchart and then having to translate that into computer code. With Alteryx, the flowchart itself is the code. It features a vast...

Cons

Alteryx Designer is excellent for data mining/wrangling for eventual output to be used for reporting but it's internal report generation and presentation tools are not as robust as others when it comes to publishing a polished presentation. I prefer to use Designer to produce my final data result set and export to Excel where I can then take advantage of Microsoft Office formatting and presentation options.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Alteryx

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like Alteryx as a data mulipulation tool but it's also very diffult to learn.

Pros

With Alteryx, you're creating a workflow to alter the data, rather than altering the data directly. Because you're creating the workflow, each of the steps are easily auditable and you can swap out the source files when it changes. This is a huge bonus and time saver as data will tend to change.

Cons

Alteryx has a huge learning curve. It's hard to get started without some sort of live tutorial from someone that has been using it for a long time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Designer

Reviewed 5 years ago

Alteryx is one of the fastest & easiest softwares to use for data processing, data modeling, and data visualization.

Pros

Ease of use & speed of use. Very user friendly and intuitive. Processes massive amounts of data very quickly, even on a desktop/laptop.

Cons

With the frequent releases, there seems to be more (minor) bugs than in the past when releases weren't so frequent.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Postive 100%

Pros

This application has no limits as it relates to everything data. With Alteryx, I have been able to automate my data cleansing / loading activites within hours and now runs within SECONDS daily. Truly remarkable product, and quite frankly scares me at times how well it works.

Cons

Price for the premium packages. However, the price points are accurate and justified based on what the application can do.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favorite data science tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I would argue that this is the number one product for data science. I have change my entire analytics department for the better with using alteryx.

Cons

No major complaints on this software, my team loves it!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty good data analytics software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Business problems like considation, analytics, dashboard and reporting can be made very convenient

Pros

Easy to use You can see data as it passes through each tool. Seamless integration with excel, database other sources Good reporting options

Cons

Lack of customer service Not able to read excel files with macro enables format correctly

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great cleaning tool.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Alteryx has overall been a very useful tool for data analysis and manipulation. It helps clean data, and make things easier to read for once you get to the visualization stage of the data analysis process.

Pros

I like being able to quickly manipulate data and create new rows and columns with ease, making the data easier to read as well as adding new factors into data sets.

Cons

I dislike how it can be at time cumbersome when one creates complex workflows that take over an hour to load just once.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data preparation made easy with alteryx

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its ability tto blend multiple data sources and build data pipeline for cleaning and preparation for reporting and analysis.

Cons

I fell in love with this software, it is super easy to use and efficient. Nothing to dislike.

CP
AvatarImg

Ck P.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for data management

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It has a lot of out-of-the-box integrations with pretty much any data source you can imagine. It connects flawlessly with on-prem and SaaS sources as well. The designer UI is very easy to work with. Drag and drop functionality makes it convenient for non-programmer/business users, while scripting support allows for powerful transformations and data processing. Additionally, data prepping/cleaning, ETL operations, visualization, etc. are super easy to learn and implement. Also, there is a big user community that makes finding help and support easy.

Cons

This is an expensive product. Even at the enterprise level, it's a significant cost, so you need to think about the trade-offs before committing to it. It can be slow sometimes if other users are running resource-intensive tasks. You may have to wait for others to complete their tasks or add more resources, which again can be costly. Storage options are also lacking especially cloud-based ones. Although, the vendor is considering support for this in the future releases.

TS
AvatarImg

TARANDEEP S.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Means Work Done

Reviewed 5 years ago

Alteryx is a tool which can increase your productivity, at the same time providing you facility to re run again, schedule and automate easily. Best Feature is plug and play feature in statistical models too...It gives alot of feature like data profiling,quality ,scheduling and automation.

Pros

Easiness to use,PLug and play,For non technical poeple this is amazing tool.Time Saver.

Cons

I heard from Admin that license is expensive

OS
AvatarImg

Omkar S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool for making pipeline with multiple source

Reviewed 2 years ago

Able to build a robust pipeline for multiple features involving Data Analytics, AI-based solutions to data visualization dashboard

Pros

Easiness to make a pipeline with a variety of data sources. The data source was from a text file to a cloud database. Also it has good integration with python, which enable to writing the script to filter data very quickly and easily

Cons

The cost is on very high side. It would be good if its cost can be reduced

LZ
AvatarImg

Lu Z.

Accounting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software is easy to learn and efficient for data wrangling

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall experience is good. Even can build app and help with data automation.

Pros

It is easy to learn and efficient to do data preparation. Can deal with big volume of data that Excel cannot.

Cons

More machine learning and prediction tools can be developed and make them user friendly to non data science people.

AC
AvatarImg

Adam C.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is a great self selfservice ETL tool for non-coders

Reviewed 6 years ago

great customer service

Pros

no coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation

Cons

pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people

RG
AvatarImg

ROMARIO G.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An extraordinarily ETL tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

Pros

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

Cons

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jesse M.

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The future of ETL is here. No coding needed

Reviewed 5 years ago

The possibilities are endless and the future is bright

Pros

The ease of use to prep, blend, transform, wrangle, etc is awesome. The learning curve is not that challenging. This is the future of development. There are a lot of connectors inherently built in.

Cons

Some of the connectors can be finicky. Support can be a little slow to respond

SB
AvatarImg

Sampath B.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alteryx designer is good Desktop tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Alteryx is good for desktop users and Workflow is good.

Pros

Alteryx execution of Workflows. Alteryx recording and execute feature

Cons

Automation testing is very tough with other desktop tools like AutoIt, UIPath and Winappdriver.

UR
AvatarImg

Umang R.

Packaging and Containers, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Data cleansing, mining & analytics Tool

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

- Blend large sets of data - Faster processing - Output is easy to understand - Saves hours of manual work

Cons

- Initial training and set up so, non-technical person can quickly grasp

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emeka O.

Higher Education,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is a great data analysis and prediction software.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love the easy interface and the various options for different data analysis and prediction techniques. The flexibility is top-notch.

Cons

You might have to pay extra for extra features. It's not a big deal but it's not entirely convenient.

JS
AvatarImg

Jenifer S.

Marketing and Advertising,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is the most frequently used software at my office.

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

The inputs are easy to use, the tools are easily understood and well described in the help files and they easily connect with one another. Writing neat output files is made easy regardless of file type. The ability to use R within the module has made a lot of analyses much easier.

Cons

The transition to newer versions of Alteryx is much too complicated when you have to skip a few of the in-between versions, which my company often does.

DK
AvatarImg

Divya K.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool - Excel but with a better data capacity

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

1. Works with large size data - I have used 10GB files as well! 2. Easy to clean and modify data - moreover, gives you option to save workflow so that you don't have to repeat the same steps again and again

Cons

1. Whenever I run alteryx flow, numbers become string when I open them in excel. So everytime I have to remember to add one more step to change them back to numeric which is a little cumbersome 2. A few features are difficult to understand - help topics could have been more elaborate

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome no-code (if you want) ETL tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use Alteryx primarily to validate solutions to our data models before they are pushed into production to be absolutely sure that they will maintain structural data integrity as well as quality. Sure, you could also code your own ETL but if you're just getting started or want to fire up a quick simulation this isn't bad at all for the amount of effort you need to put in.

Pros

Alteryx is very easy to use, you have a repository of tools and what is true is that the sky really is the limit. This tool will be as simple or as complex/powerful as you want or need.

Cons

Okay, here's a personal gripe: there's not a lot of learning available online for Alteryx and the "trainings" in the website are actually somewhat lackluster. What is available on Udemy is not as specialized as one might hope.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Top tier point-and-click analytics tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This tool's ease of use allows our non-analytical teammates to easily do basic data analysis by themselves, freeing up our analytics team for more technical questions

Cons

For those who are unfamiliar with self-serve/point-and-click analytics tools, the software can be a little overwhelming for the first few hours

CL
AvatarImg

Cristy L.

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall, I enjoy using Alteryx and love the futurist type look it has with it's icons.

Pros

I love the icons. I am very visual and enjoy knowing what I am doing by simply looking at the icons. This software can be as technical and as user friendly as you make it. The drag and drop of request allows users to play around with the files, data and request without being afraid of braking a formula like in Excel.

Cons

I don't like whenever I get a "null" error and it does not allow me to correct it. I manipulate the data, remove filters and the null remains visible. Perhaps having a pop up to show where the error lies in your work.