App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Alteryx Designer Logo

Empowering people to turn data into breakthroughs

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Alteryx Designer Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


94 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best user friendly analytical tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

1. Overall experience is very good as people in our organization are using this for their day to day activities. 2. It is very easy to use and overall learning curve is very less. 3. The menus and process are very self explanatory.

Pros

1. Variety in built processes which helps to transform raw data into more readable formats. 2. Best option for the visual analysts as it provides in depth analysis. 3. Having very easy installation process 4. Powerful analytics product available in market which takes the raw input files and allows analysts to apply multiple processes on it which helps the analysts to prepare valuable information from raw data.

Cons

1. Cost of this application is too high as compared to the other alternative projects. 2. Integration with other tools sometimes a big challenge. 3. Dashboard needs an improvement as compared to other products. 4. Consumes more memory and CPU 5. Enhancement required in order to smoothen the integration of python.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Designer: Making data transformation at any size accessible

Reviewed 3 years ago

Alteryx Designer has become the heart of our organisation's ETL processes. It has made it easy for us to extract and cleanse incredibly dirty and complex data from a range of legacy software. Its powerful feature-set allows us to create some really complex processes that have become essential to the integration of our drastically different components within our infrastructure.

Pros

Probably Alteryx's best selling point is accessibility. I personally learnt how to use Alteryx quite comprehensively in a matter of days without any training resources whatsoever. The intuitive UI makes it easy to construct even incredibly complex ETL processes. Alteryx's feature-set is also extremely powerful. It is really greater than the sum of its parts. With the wide range of modules it provides...

Cons

We'd love to have our team all using Alteryx, but the heavy price-tag limits us to only justifying the purchase of a couple licenses at a time. There are a number of features that are attractive to us about Alteryx Server too, but the jump in price to that product is too high to justify. Things can get awkward when it comes to automating workflows. In order to trigger workflows on demand outside of...

NB
AvatarImg

Neil B.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alteryx - Take back control of your Data.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our experience with this product is that it has transformed our ability to analyse, consume, and report on our data in a way that make sense to the business. We have been able to develop a business-centric Datawarehouse where all our cleansed data is stored and can then be queried or reported on, without the need to employ expensive data scientists or developers. Alteryx has truly revolutionised how see and use our data and this in turn has empowered the business to making the right decisions at the right time.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredible powerful analytics tool that allows users to input source data, manipulate, clean and transpose that data, then output into a Datawarehouse or other database. Despite the complexity of this product it has a great user interface and this makes it easier to learn and you are able to get up and running in a very short amount of time.

Cons

Still lacks some basic functionality, like an in-built tool for creating SQL views or a tool that can run multiple workflows in sequence (like Crew macro).

JR
AvatarImg

Joe R.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic ETL, data munging, data prep, and data processing tool

Reviewed 7 years ago

Alteryx can do so much more than I use it for, so I believe the only case where Alteryx wouldn't be needed is when a department/team had a full development team to prep data pre-analysis or already has a central data store fully stood up and standardized. Alteryx works extremely well with a multitude of BI and database solutions and would be a great fit for any team trying to speed up the typical daily grind of data prep and ETL so their analytics and data team can be more agile, accurate, and automated.

Pros

Data ingestion: Alteryx is capable of connecting with a multitude of data sources from SQL databases to cloud-hosted solutions like Salesforce, Tableau, or Google Analytics. Also supports OleDB & ODBC connections. Dynamic data munging: Alteryx has a great variety of processing tools to clean and prep data including: dedupe, formulas, joins, union, sort... Performing these functions really quickly...

Cons

I've had issues with the scheduler tool getting frozen or stuck in previous versions. For about the last 2-3 months the latest software version has been much more reliable. Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving. Some of the connectors, like the Tableau Online connector, should become supported by Alteryx. The online community is fantastic and has created a ton of useful macros and it would be great if Alteryx would adopt, support, and enhance some of the most widely used and useful.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Griffin B.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is like SAS but WAYYY Better!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Alteryx Designer is an excellent piece of software. Very well-designed! Previously, I had used SAS Enterprise Guide for similar data cleansing/ETL processing and that software was a complete trainwreck. It was very clunky in every way and ran very unreliably. But Alteryx has taken the same concept of building out data processes, step by step, visually (which makes it very easy to tweak later on), only they have all of the best infrastructure to support reliable runtimes, etc. Using Alteryx Designer is a breeze and I could not be more satisfied with this software solution!

Pros

I love how simple it is to cleanse data in Alteryx. You can build linear workflows using their myriad of icons. I love how each icon has a built-in tutorial example that will show you how to use the function. I also really love how you someone with limited SQL knowledge (my colleagues) could use Alteryx to import and refine data to get the exact results they desire. It really is a very intuitive...

Cons

The parts I found most difficult to use were the neural networking/forecasting & macro/automation widgets & tools. The forecasting/neural networking wasn't very straightforward and seemed to really be more of an art than a science. I would have expected there to be more tutorials on how to effectively use these tools, but I think you would need to have a degree in these arts to really master them. We are probably still too early into this new science. The macro & automation functions really blew my mind and I never learned how to use them--for example, to loop through processes. I would have liked to, but I just didn't have the patience to figure it out on my own and it wasn't high enough of a priority.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy, Pricy but Worth it

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm a Technology Consultant, using ALteryx for ETL projects where analyse the data is a critical job and the size of the data, wouldn't allow me to use tools like excel . Alteryx it has been a great tool for all my jobs, let in me stand out with fast and quality solution.

Pros

The most i like is the Easy drag and drop function that the application has. The design and how visual it is to keep the Information flow, makes Alteryx a great app for data analysis, formatting and design. Built in tool like time Formaters, filters and Joins facilitate the work of doing data cleansing and data prepping for any ETL job. Another great area is how flexible it is input and output formats. It lets you join CSV files with XLS or even TXT.

Cons

The least I like is the price and the latency when loading the data. Because is a strong and powerful Tool, it is a bit pricey in one hand, is not a tool for one day job, is more for enterprise and daily jobs. When loading the data, depending where is located the document, it will take longer than usual.

AE
AvatarImg

Alaa E.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A tool that provides us with enough flexibility to prepare and analyze data

Reviewed 2 years ago

Alteryx has enabled us to achieve a greater understanding of the various analytics processes and even what we considered too complex in the past, which enabled us to achieve positive results that were directly reflected in our operations.

Pros

I appreciate how Alteryx helps me to get a lot of solutions especially with regards to complex data transformation, which previously required us a lot of effort to check and document it. I love the fact that there are so many tools built into Alteryx that enable us to customize fields in a faster way. The dashboard provides an overview of the data being tracked so that all team members at all levels can get a fuller understanding of all the processes and analytics, and the unique presentation of the data helps So, it makes everyone on the same path while monitoring the transmission of data at all stages.

Cons

Not many negatives, as Alteryx is generally easy to use, and team members only need to get clarifications about performing some functions. It should also be given more flexibility that enables us to convert data into PDF files easily, as well as work on improving reports and graphs so that they become More modern.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for Detailed and Ad-hoc Data Shaping

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's a great tool for complex ETL and data shaping task and has lots of intuitive tools/features. Unless you buy the server package for a high up-front fee, you don't get much schedule or automation unfortunately.

Pros

Very user friendly and feature rich for data shaping and manipulation. It is the best ETL tool for non technical users to be able to build very complex data manipulation and blending workflows.

Cons

I wish they had a pay per use pricing model vs. fixed fee for desktop licenses. It would also help if it could run in the cloud so it could efficiently access large amounts of data in S3 or Blob storage. It also

MK
AvatarImg

Meylis K.

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use Data Software

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall i’m happy with Alteryx, except for my manager, who has to pay enormous license fee. For that reason we will be switching to other product in Microsoft suite.

Pros

It’s easy to use, even for people who don’t understand much in coding. All the elements in data preparation and cleaning are seen visually in icon format, which makes overall process picture easy to understand.

Cons

When process is too complicated, visual map might be a bit overwhelming, with so many steps/icons. Especially if you are looking at the workflow that was built by someone else.

RW
AvatarImg

Robert W.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Tool for Mashing Data

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Alteryx to combine multiple sources of data (from databases, excel workbooks, and others), clean, calculate, sort and provide an output that is easily digested. It allows me to provide analysis in a simple way, be creative in how I manipulate the data and even create automated running of the workflow. It saves me at least 8 hours a week.

Pros

Alteryx has a fantastic interface, using function blocks that you can drag and drop to create a workflow. This makes it simple to use and provides the ability to create complex workflows.

Cons

The license cost for the tool is very high, which means not everyone can use it. I find very little other cons with the program.

MG
AvatarImg

Mithun G.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Most Advanced Business Data Processing Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall very much satisfied with the software and its customer support.

Pros

Alteryx has a lot of Data Connections and Toolkits already built in which helps speed up the Data Processing and ETL for IT as well as Business people. With little to no knowledge of programming language and SQL one can easily build a pipeline for data transformation. The speed and ease of development is the main pros of the software.

Cons

There has to be more AI ML features on this software. The visualization and data exploration capabilities need to be enhanced.

WT
AvatarImg

Waqas T.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Would be great if there is a free version just to view alteryx workflows (and not alteryx server)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It does not require coding skills like python i.e, easier to get started with and do basic data analysis in matter of minutes

Cons

Once a workflow is created, it cannot be viewed or executed by anyone who does not posses a copy of alteryx software which is expensive to buy just for execution of workflows. However, there is a separate product which is called alteryx server where workflows can be executed free of cost. The biggest problem is that behaviour of workflows on designer and server is different. Many tools do not work on server and there is no way of showing intermediate results on server. As these are two different products, one can't even file a ticket of improvement on designer's customer support. In complex workflows things get even more frustrating when server is unable to do what alteryx workflow suppose to do.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel D.

Facilities Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We started using Alteryx in a pilot project in November 2017, which resulted in immediate success

Reviewed 6 years ago

Massive time saving on Analytical function as well as improvement in accuracy with data from disparate data sources

Pros

Ease of implementation, fantastic product support. Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project. Workshops ran in business helped getting a number of other business functions exposed and on board in support of the product. Willingness to negotiate on price...

Cons

The cost initially seems exorbitant - especially as there are alternatives such as KNIME & Rapid Miner. Value delivered however overcame this barrier.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Atheer A.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Daily user

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, am a happy user, ALteryx saved time and effort on daily basis and opened many horizons for me to clean he data in a timely manner. If you work in a dynamic environment where quick steps in data cleaning and wranglning are required in no time then ALteryx is your first option.

Pros

Not so steep learning curve, Alteryx is built around the human common sense. The fact that you can (View/Process) the data as a branch at any stage of the processing is really useful, and the way the software designed allows you to go backward and see what happened.

Cons

The limitation of some tools and the high barrier to developing new functionality.

VM
AvatarImg

Virginia M.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick and easy way to move from data exploration and blending to analysis and insight

Reviewed 7 years ago

This software, especially the predictive analytics piece, gave me new insight into my data. I saved time during the process of merging and cleansing data that could then be put to better use exploring, analyzing, and making decisions with the data. The work that previously required collaboration between several people to complete could be done by one person in a fraction of the time, which benefited everyone.

Pros

Alteryx has the full package starting with excellent customer service and continuing with an straightforward drag-and-drop interface. An abundance of available nodes make it simple to pull in data from many different sources, merge, union, filter, sort, and even perform statistical or predictive analysis on your data, and then disseminate it to the proper stakeholders. The visual nature of the product...

Cons

Alteryx may be better suited to fields other than education; however, I can still find good use cases for it in my job.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael W.

Human Resources, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is all you need to advance BI

Reviewed 5 years ago

I can't really discuss use cases due to proprietary information, but let me tell you- Alteryx elevates your entire organization and is a extremely versatile product to add to an analysts toolkit.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredibly easy to use tool that creates and automates data workflows with a click and drag toolbox. Passed R, Python and JSON code through the workflow so you can get technical tasks done without a developer.

Cons

Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!

VB
AvatarImg

Vikesh B.

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have tool for analysts

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

1. Drag and drop based UI interface 2. Ability to import data from and export data into variety of data sources 3. Re-usuability of workflows 4. Full feature trial license

Cons

1. Lack of (or limited) visualisation capability. 2.machine dependent licensed(it should had license key Linked to email ID, making it easier to port licensed from one system to another) 3. Expensive license

DM
AvatarImg

Debarpan M.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data Management Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have automated report generation with Alteryx and this has enhanced the efficiency of the project. Next, we have ingested data from multiple sources with ease to create workflows. Also, we have used other tools such as tableau with alteryx for data analysis. On top of these, we have used the no-code capability to perform machine learning and intelligent data analysis to enable businesses to make better decisions.

Pros

Multiple data sources support - A plethora of data sources are supported making the tool very versatile Analysis - Data preparation, blending, analysing of different types of files is possible Intuitive interface workflow - The workflow interface is quite convenient to use No code required - QUite simple working without any code Transformation functionalities - data cleansing, filtering, data ingestion, standardisation possible Customization - macros

Cons

Interactive dashboard sharing - there should be a convenient method to share the reports with users outside the development environment, or with new clients Workflow scheduling functionality improvement

RN
AvatarImg

Raghu N.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A simple yet powerful ETL tool

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use UI, just drag and drop tools and start your data modelling. Geo spatial data for spatial analysis Blending data from different sources is quite easy. Create and schedule data models and it will run automatically.

Cons

Integration with other tools are less compared to its competitor tools such as Informatica .etc. Reporting option could be improved.

YP
AvatarImg

Yazir P.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful and simple

Reviewed 6 years ago

This is a great data handling software. Half the company runs on this.

Pros

There is basically a module for doing everything Connectivity in both inputs and outputs is simply superb

Cons

Output to PDF to export reports might need better capabilities Documentation of less used features might be insufficient compared to most commonly used features

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jaehoon L.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Reviewed 5 years ago

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

adel g.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing self service analytics tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Amazing tool for crunching big amount of data. Very easy to learn and very powerful when you take the time to dig deap. The community is also great.

Pros

Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create

Cons

The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it

DS
AvatarImg

Drew S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great analytics and overall tool

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great.

Cons

We have issues at times with it hanging or shutting down but customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues.

BW
AvatarImg

Brock W.

Machinery, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool!

Reviewed 7 months ago

Great tool but hard to get broader adoption with high cost

Pros

Easy to use and understand the drag and drop flow layout is really nice

Cons

The cost of this software is prohibitive for using more broadly

RK
AvatarImg

Robin K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes data prep and predictive analysis a breeze

Reviewed 8 years ago

We used to spend a lot of time in Excel and SQL queries trying to get the data right for reporting, plus if there was anything more complex involved such as forecasting or predictive model building to do, we'd have to find an R expert which really slows the process down. Alteryx changed all that and building workflows that preps the data and spits out a clean dataset or report complete with forecasts etc. can all be done without coding and in a visual way that anyone can understand and see what's been done and where leading to the greater confidence the data is right.

Pros

Easy to use interface, extremely flexible for data analysis tasks, self-documenting, very fast on large data sets

Cons

Automating workflow is an additional cost