This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


127 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Intuitive BI and Reporting Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good enterprise product for business intelligence and trend analysis

Pros

We have used IBM Cognos to create customer insights and patterns to help in our marketing and targeting campaigns. The dashboards and graphs have multiple styles and formats and can be scheduled to be generated at specific times

Cons

Larger reports tend to be slow to generate from the report studio. Installation can also be challenging and may require purchase of vendor support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Cognos Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

I utilize Cognos for dashboard and custom reports and the ease of creating and storing reports is fairly simple. The organization of files is a bit confusing and the ability of seeing other employee folders tends to be complication for sharing. The availability to send out reports is much easier though.

Pros

The ability to create custom reports makes it user friendly for anyone to figure out

Cons

the cubes tend to be confusing for file storage

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust product with more options for customization. SDK should be free

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Customization and more options to tune performance improvements. Many ways to connect databases like FM. Direct datasource, usage of stored procedure, and usage of database trigger is good.

Cons

SDK has to be bought as separate package, whereas it should be given free.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best BI tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Enterprise level BI implementation can be with less customizations. Can build robustic solution using product.

Cons

Most of small and medium size will not prefer this product because of the cost. Real time analytics will not be available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Business intelligence for the novice users.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The flexibility of the product and scalability of the solution.

Cons

Enterprise offerings are a bit pricey. For SMBs it can be a difficult conversation to justify the costs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IBM Cognos Business Power

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This software is very flexible and extensive enough to meet almost any of your needs. The reporting engine allows for complex queries and views that far surpass standard reporting methods.

Cons

While I was not involved in the purchase of the software it is my understanding the cost was a little high and this is not designed for novice users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Reporting at its best

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love that you can report off any field and get results. There are calculations and graphs and so many tools to create any type of report for any data.

Cons

I struggle with all the information and fields and calculations. I'm old school!!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IBM Cognos Analytics Review

Reviewed a year ago

It is AI driven, improves the business outcomes.It enhances decision making.Overall it improves business agility.

Pros

The best thing is "Quality reports can be run at any time and by any representative with a substantial log-in " at IBM Cognos Analytics.The AI enabled exploration and dashboard capabilities are easy to use and exceed expectations

Cons

It is not simple to use. User has to get the formal training to utilise it to maximum extent. Report pulling is not that much fast. It take quite some time to load and display.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best report generating tools

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is easy to generate reports. Customized dashboards can be created for quick and usage. On demand menus for access to full capabilities. Easy to use. It is a good product.

Pros

Easy to create report

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Expensive but Good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This product will do just about anything you want it to do. It does take more of a skilled employee in order to create things. However, anyone can run things once they are created.

Cons

This product is pricey, especially for a mid range company. It takes a lot of training and setup to get the product going as one would like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cognos Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

My prior firm switched from the other software to Cognos to leverage the data contained in our Pivotal database. This software was far easier to use to create reports on the fly.

Pros

I like the ability to create reports on the fly.

Cons

I do not have any dislikes other than the staged rollout of pieces of my prior firm's datamart.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Powerful but complicated

Reviewed 2 years ago

Implementing the tool is painful but once is running is great.

Pros

Being a IBM product it pack quality. great functionalities and features that defeat the competition.

Cons

It's hard to setup. Installation and configuration process is a pain. The space usage for this software is to high. The IBM Windows services is slow on startup and service errors can be very difficult to diagnose due to bad log structure or description.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cognos Experience

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I like the easy access, great UI, and several ways to interpret data.

Cons

It still needs to catch up with other advanced tools in this field.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Almost unworkable product

Reviewed 5 years ago

A reporting framework that can be used to access back end data.

Pros

Unfortunately, there is not much to write in this section. The only possible "pro" in all cases would be the flexibility offered in the product as far as setting up the framework. Other than that, not much to like.

Cons

User interface was slow and clumsy. The user experience was not smooth at all. There was no ease of use whatsoever. The retrieval times from the back end were even worse. We had to retrofit an existing n-tier system to use the reporting side of this software and it was a disaster. There is no way I would recommend to anyone to purchase this system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great BI tool but difficult to learn

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is a very good tool for analytics and for reporting. The tool has plenty of features. The drag and drop feature is very useful.

Cons

Though this tool has many features, this is not exactly easy to learn tool. Report generation could have been faster.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cognos Developer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Cognos is a great tool for reporting. The visuals are not awesome but there is a lot of customization you can do for reporting.

Cons

It can be difficult to learn at first. It is not as easy to pick up as Tabeau. Googling for solutions can be tough.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

COGNOS review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Cognos has performed splendidly, met and went well past our expectations. We use it for modeling, budgets, and forecasts. We exist in a sector with a lot volatility, so being flexible is everything.The architecture of the application can be tiered nicely for performance. This allows us to scale the application to support our growing user base. Cognos' mobile features are mature and we do use that as well.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Expensive product comparatively with other latest BI products in the market and revolving around BIG DATA.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IBM Cognos Analytics Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are currently using it in our project for reporting purpose.

Pros

Its is a wonderful tool to make the reports.It has many functionalities and we can make different type of reports like PIE , BAR and many more. It has cool functionality, Good security features. we can connect to different types of databases.

Cons

Some times we were unable to save the reports.Rest all good. High pricing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Congos With BI

Reviewed 6 years ago

Business intelligence tools (BI tools) are a way for companies to monitor data and generate business insights – necessary components in making smarter, better decisions that drive results. But once you start research and compare BI software, you realize there are many types, from business analytics and big data statistics to reporting tools and dashboards that offer at-a-glance information across indicators.

Pros

Very Powerfull

Cons

It' Great Product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data at your fingertips

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I'm pretty happy with Cognos. It's a pretty phenominal tool for engineers and developers.

Pros

I like that Cognos is incredibly intuitive. I can easily navigate through the program to finish coding and changing anything I need.

Cons

I sometimes struggle with coordinating upgrades and running up against other software/products. Some of that though is me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used by team members across the world and in different markets worldwide

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

standard reports are great to pull from the system and tbhe user interface allows us to easily create new reports

Cons

file size get pretty large due to the data and the other info it needs to pull and regenerate charts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ok tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I had used the IBM Cognod Sales Compensation tool while working a global high tech company. It took a while to learn the system but once you figure it out then it was easy to use and configure the plans.

Cons

The only issue I had at the time was the very long time it would take to run a calculations. Average was an hour.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good send User Experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

My limited experience and exposure has been good. Works well for a casual user (assuming an admin did a good job setting up and maintaining)

Pros

Once set up, the end user can easily get into advanced reports and simply navigate as needed to get information in a repeatable manner.

Cons

There are some odd, not intuitive quirks; however, I presume that’s a consequence of an organizations configuration and less about the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for FP&A work accross many users within the organization

Reviewed 6 years ago

Cognos was great for controlling the FP&A budget being used and having it update in real-time for a number of users to use. Could add ease of copying and pasting within to enhance the product.

Pros

Easy to use across an organization to keep things updated in real-time and organized.

Cons

System does run slow at times when multiple users are editing a number of workbooks or sheets within the workbook.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worst of all modern BI tools I've worked with

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cognos is years behind the modern BI tools like Qlikview/Sense, Power BI and Tableau. I will hopefully never again have to work with Cognos products in the future.

Pros

Customizeable, if you know how to code. Probably could be a good tool if you have a team of trained Cognos experts that deliver all the reports and dashboards in very old-school Enterprise way.

Cons

Very very bad UI, unintuitive, messy and buggy. Very fiddly to get things right when creating reports.