This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


127 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An easy-going tool for every day analysis

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Its similarities with Excel, and the possibility to export data with ease. It has been extremely useful for the day to day analysis.

Cons

It feels lacking, and the analysis that can be performed are limited; it is not a stand-alone tool, it requires Excel for the most complex tasks. Also to learn how to use it is an adventure by itself

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best review

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with the software was very good and productive

Pros

The software was very productive and have very professional support . It was very useful and fast

Cons

The cons was pricing and overall learning curve of the software . But once the software was up and running it really was productive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cognos BI is best for large projects..

Reviewed 6 years ago

Using Cognos ,We can develop diff types of reports.It is suitable for big projects and it have so many new features and products like Cognos BI,Cognos Express,Cognos Tm1 aand etc..

Pros

It is suitable for Huge data projects.

Cons

Expensive and difficult to understand

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Get Data for Any Type of Report You Want

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

What I like best about Cognos BI is the ability to use the Analytics reports to easily create whatever kind of analytical view I want and to change it on the fly. It is so easy to use. The Cube dimensions, levels, categories, and measures give me the power that I need to run any report I want and to create new ones as the business changes.

Cons

There is a lot to the installation of this product, but it's worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product with new and improved features every release

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Active Reports, Dynamic Cubes and Prompt APIs are some of the features that are helping a lot for meeting visualization. Latest introduction of RAVE added a lot of visualization that helped streaming and better visualization.

Cons

Workspace needs to be more integrated and advanced as of today. Flashy UI and customization needs to be provided within the tool itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IBM Cognos Business Intelligence

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Mobile app is great, can create customized reports, easy to use. Users are able to analyze, share and collaborate on content in one dashboard which is a plus.

Cons

Not able to work offline since this is a completely web based system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our agency has used cogging for two years and has found it to be very user-friendly. It has the capability of generating training certificates for our employees and has a wide variety of training available. We have found the price to be very reasonable for what our agency needed to a training site. We would recommend this product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Title your review

Reviewed 5 years ago

All around good product. Compares well with others in the space (Power BI, Tableau...)

Pros

Feature set, visualizations

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is the reporting system our payroll company provides us with for weekly reports, its not easy to use and is frustrating. They do have a lot of options for running the report but its difficult to get the report to run.

Pros

If you can figure out how to make the reports run you can create nice reports with lots of information.

Cons

Not easy to create a report, some reports will stop working for no reason, they just will spin and not generate. Difficult to change the layout and information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful software; steeper learning cure

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use this to analyze sales for our company by region, part, etc.

Pros

Once this software is set up and you know how to use it, it is great! There is so much data that can be sorted and presented with Cognos and you can really customize how you are viewing the data.

Cons

We have a team that set up reports for us and without them, I don't think this would be useful at all. You also need to know what you are doing for this to work. There are not helpful troubleshooting messages to help you correct errors, so it can get really frustrating if you get stuck and don't have a team to support you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complicated but powerful

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

-can pretty much do anything you need -backed by the mega corporation that is ibm -has unlimited configurations

Cons

Very complicated to understand/ huge learning curve Isn't able to accurately forecast how long it should take to run

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Much easier to use than the other version we were on.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is more picture oriented rather than words. It gives picture grids to choose from rather than a list.

Cons

Still have a lot to choose from which may also be a pro. The lists/categories can still be very challenging if you don't know what you are looking for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not bad app

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Not bad app for visualization as it get nice result in little time and such have nice features and prefomance

Cons

The ui and design is not bad as it has a lot of click to get result that mean the system clickable..

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

functional solution and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very functional solution, the new version brings great capabilities also with the inclusion of workspace

Cons

the cons are summarized in IBM customer support, ist very poor (the resolution time and customer services).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ease of integration

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The thing I like most about the product is its integration with other custom APIs.

Cons

I didn't like that fact that it can't integrate with the Oracle database.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Before leaving their Web version, they had a very good desktop application

Reviewed 4 years ago

with it we can visualize in a more comfortable way our information of DW and cubes

Pros

Before leaving their Web version, they had a very good desktop application, but they discontinued it. is a powerful tool, with ease for the reporter

Cons

it is traumatic for its administration, it depends on the active directory, which can be an advantage, but in other cases it makes it cumbersome

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cognos Sucks!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Cognos has some good time based accounting features that allow you to go back and look at how much was booked and when.

Cons

Getting the Cognos reports to match up. Some reports update once a week others are daily. This makes it difficult to see how much is actually going to be spent. Having to pull multiple reports to get the information that is needed wastes time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cognos is quite good tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like it because of its visualization, 3D graphs wich is not available in Tableau. With the help of Cognos, we have created a lot of dashboards.

Cons

I don't have any concern with Cognos. Thanks, Cognos, I really like the features of Cognos.... Thanks to being a such a nice tool Cognos team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Beauty is in details

Reviewed 4 years ago

In overall, it is one of the best reporting tools.Definitely in the top 3.

Pros

What I like about IBM Cognos is that it has so many features implemented in both reporting and analysis topics. You can pretty much do anything thanks to its strong flexibility.

Cons

Complicated and its ability to build reports from its smallest details will land some heavy consequences: Creating a report will take longer than expected and also some features such as linking 2 reports are really hard to implement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for quick and visual reporting

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Being able to quickly look up calls and sales related to campaign telephone numbers

Cons

The filtering doesn't always stick, which causes you to have to re-apply otherwise your reporting is inaccurate. this particularly happens with the copy/paste of TFNs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not great, lots of delayed data

Reviewed 2 years ago

Would not recommend this to anyone in media/advertising as it is really difficult to work with as far as real time data.

Pros

Pretty basic and easy to use UI. Reporting metrics show lots of good data and information. Support for the product is sufficient

Cons

Always seemed to be a delay in getting data. IBM seems to really like to have lots of control over its "proprietary" metrics. Frustrating to work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One stop shop data

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like being able to pull data from various data warehouse sources and being able to pull from cognos for reporting.

Cons

Reporting studio can be a little tricky to figure out at first but once I did it was a great tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A bland looking reporting toll that just works

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great reporting toll that gives you what you need without any bells and whistles to go though. Bland interface which is fine. This is a top 3 reporting toll available.

Cons

There is a learning curve to understand each screen and what it dos. Some of the labels from drop downs could be a bit better named. Larger reports can take longer than expected time to run.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The newest BI tool on the stage

Reviewed 4 years ago

Schedule an upgrade to newest version. you'll fly away with your Cognos BI

Pros

I tried IBM analytics in order to update several Cognos 10 installations and the new version is ANOTHER PLANET. Forget huge definitions, forget reports, just analyze !!

Cons

The instalation with "on-premise" customers is not so easy; you should pay attention in te environment set-up

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IBM COGNOS

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very interesting software, it can install on any hardware with relatively less issues during installation, very interactive

Cons

Easy of use Very interesting software, it can install on any hardware with relatively less issues during installation, very interactive