Dundas BI Reviews

Dundas BI Reviews

Dundas BI

Business Intelligence and Data Visualization Software

4.52/5 (54 reviews)
474     1,083

Corvin Timofte

Few steps ahead

10/03/2017

Like a good joke. No need to be explained. ...and always few steps ahead competitors

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
samer Suayfan

Dundas BI leading

08/03/2017

After working with different BI tools, i believe the best one i dealt with is Dundas BI. It is a very intelligence tool easy to use and customer friendly. It has a multiple features that is not there in other BI tools, most of the functionalities that you need is there already built in inside the tool and in case it is not there you have the flexibility to write scripts in order to achieve whatever you need. their customer support team are so professionals and supportive. the customers always like the look and feel that dundas BI gives them other than other tools which lack of that visualizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Hoffman

Quality product exceptional service

03/03/2017

After a little learning Dundas BI is a powerful tool with enough functionality for most enterprise environments. Easy to deploy with a simple architecture.

Pros

Speed of deployment is a real plus. Customized white labeling, multitenancy, and a simple administration interface make this a powerful tool.

Cons

Does take a little learning and needs a big server Ram for in memory processing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony Gallucci

Awesome BI Product!

03/03/2017

Excellent Visualizations and integration possibilities.

Pros

Integrates into your existing business systems in no time!

Cons

programming/scripting knowledge for advanced functionality

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Crystal Hoffmann

Loving Dundas so far . . .

01/03/2017

We have had a great first week learning and building. It has been challenging in the most productive ways and our trainer is amazing! We are all enjoying how interactive and hands on the training is and we appreciate all of the best practice advice up front.

Pros

Data Cube creation is seamless

Cons

No snapping feature

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shachar Hallas

Good one

01/03/2017

We checked several products and this one fit us the most.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kris Brady

Verified Reviewer

Dundas BI - If you don't have it, get it...

02/11/2016

We have been a partner with Dundas BI for almost two years, since the initial release of the product. We were searching for a BI offering to present to our clients and stumbled upon Dundas almost by accident. Good thing we did. In hindsight, choosing any product other than Dundas BI would have been the wrong choice. The architecture of Dundas BI uses HTML5, CSS and JavaScript - no legacy technology here. The product is can be deployed on-premise or in the cloud, includes multi-tenant functionality, includes out-of-the-box connectors to an array of data sources, allows for ETL in the application, gives developers granular control over most design elements, the dashboard features are almost limitless and the support team is outstanding.

Pros

Flexibility and functionality.

Cons

I'll never fully exploit the capabilities of the software - it's simply too massive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Get. It. Now.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Moath Dohman

flexibility and more

02/11/2016

Flexibility - Ability to customize , extend and integrate with one fully programmable platform for data integration , reporting , dashboards and analysis Innovation – Easy to use BI solution designed with flexibility and customization in mind including data integration , self-service data discovery , unified single experience and powerful visualizations Enterprise-ready – Ease of management with full control . Security and governance needed for large-scale integration and deployment Trusted Partner – Strong history in data visualization with loyal customer base. Professional services and support – We focus on our customers Business needs through a consultative and best practice , end-to-end solutions approach.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mohammad Khalili

Verified Reviewer

End to End Enterprise BI Solution

01/11/2016

I used Dundas BI for almost the last two years, Dundas BI is Enterprise end to end solution where you can connect to your data through wide range of data sources available and the ability to add extra data sources through its open API, Dundas BI contain embedded ETL engine to transform the data and it allows for multiple data access options (Datawarehouse, In memory analysis and direct connection to data). by using Dundas BI you can build your dashboards, reports and scorecard with friendly interface and with rich library of visualization charts from bar and pie charts and ending with relationship chart and histogram chart. Also Dundas BI allow business users to do their self service analysis with referring back to IT people, I cannot forget their customer support, they have well trained team to support their customers from incidents and issues and service request like helping us in writing Java codes to do amazing things in the solution. The tools is completely open and it is build over JS and HTML5, this is so amazing since Dundas BI is fully supported on mobiles with all mobile features like pinch to zoom and others. As Dundas BI have full Java and .Net APIs then it is very easy to integrated Dundas and embedded it in other portals and it has out the box integration with SharePoint.

Pros

Flexible tool where you can do what ever you want, I beleive that 95% of use cases can be build in Dundas BI as quick-wins and the rest is possible through JS and HTML5.

Cons

I wish Dundas BI to have out the box integration with web-services as this will be helpful and currently not available but it can be done through programming,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

I recommend to watch all videos on Dundas website before trying the tool as this will help the user to get the value of the tool

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Carita

Verified Reviewer

Easy to use with great visualizations

01/11/2016

We have been using Dundas products for a number of years. We wanted the ability to get our users away from Excel based reporting and into the world of interactive dashboards. Dundas has made this very simple with DundasBI. We have been able to quickly bring complex reports into the hands of our end users to provide incite into the business and assist with decision making.

Pros

Built in ETL process. Many visualizations to choose from. Very flexible, open API. Customer service is the best I have worked with, they are always quick to provide answers and will work with you to hep find the right solution

Cons

I don't have any complaint about the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

I would suggest getting the trial and using it. This of the most complex dashboard you would need and build it. That will tell you what it can do out of the box and what needs to be scripted, if anything.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry Bell

Programmer Review of Dundas BI

01/11/2016

I am still somewhat new to this product, but have enjoyed using it so far. It's ease of usability spearheaded by its drag and drop methodology makes it easy to pick right up and start visualizing your data. I continue to find new and improved possibilities over past products used - so the future is looking bright with Dundas BI.

Pros

The easy to use drag and drop capabilities. Also, often forgotten, and also in many instances - a pain, the easy to use Update wizard is a breeze with DundasBI... makes the updates that Dundas pushes very exciting.

Cons

Not much on this side yet, but have had a couple nuances that Dundas has found to be bugs - but none that their customer support team hasn't already relayed to their developers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

SO far cant imagine another Data Visualization Tool that would out perform what DundasBI has to offer.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samer Eseifan

Dundas BI Amazing tool

27/10/2016

I was fresh graduate when i started with my company, they assigned me to work with Dundas BI as it was the new tool in the department for the new guy, so i started the self learning journey watching videos , reading articles, doing samples and the tool was user friendly it was easy to use and entertaining i liked it very much and wanted to learn more and more about it. and now i am the Dundas BI expert and consultant in my company

Pros

Flexibility, easy to use, Functionality

Cons

Nothing till now

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Moath Dohman

Features & Functionality

17/10/2016

Flexibility - Ability to customize , extend and integrate with one fully programmable platform for data integration , reporting , dashboards and analysis Innovation ¿ Easy to use BI solution designed with flexibility and customization in mind including data integration , self-service data discovery , unified single experience and powerful visualizations Enterprise-ready ¿ Ease of management with full control . Security and governance needed for large-scale integration and deployment Trusted Partner ¿ Strong history in data visualization with loyal customer base. Professional services and support ¿ We focus on our customers Business needs through a consultative and best practice , end-to-end solutions approach.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Corey Page

Easy and Quick BI experience

14/10/2016

I have had a great experience with Dundas BI so far. The standard controls and features are great, and being able to leverage Javascript alongside the built in tools has enabled us to do some really cool things with our dashboards. I am still a beginner as far as BI goes, but I've been able to pick up Dundas BI and build several dashboards so far without any problems.

Pros

It is simple to use, but has a lot of great features and customization options.

Cons

Some parts of the program took some getting used to since there are so many options available, but once you get used to where to find certain options it isn't that bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Just give it a try and you won't be disappointed.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Glaeser

New life and light for the dark side of information

12/10/2016

We are a privately held company with multiple locations using shared services for administration, accounting, HR, risk management, acquisitions and mergers. Our ERP uses IBM DB2, and Dundas letting us tap into a wealth of details that would otherwise be buried in thousand-page reports. Never before has the ability to profile previous periods and events had such speed and accuracy (our data goes back over 15 years). The access and sumarization of this data is revealing patterns and insight to the business processes. We've only just begun and are excited about our game-changing experiences!

Pros

The flexibility. A developer (license type) can do almost anything imaginable.

Cons

The flexibility. There's a lot of details to attend to, and the complexities can lead to misinformation if you don't continuously validate the visualizations of the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Best ROI in the industry, you'll love their product, and more importantly, their customer support. They really care about my success in using Dundas BI 24x7.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luis Silva

Explore, analyze and get fast insights of your data in an easy and fast way using Dundas BI.

12/10/2016

I've been working in Business Intelligence for quite a long time and in the beginning it was hard to explore data and show information in form of data visualizations for the end users. Since I discovered Dundas BI, this task turned to be much more simple and easy to achieve! Dundas Bi has an IDE for developing Dashboards, Reports and Scorecards that uses the last technologies in web applications developments which makes your life simplier. The smart drag and drop design tools, the rich set of data visualizations customizable to the lowermost detail, the style and themes feature, turns possible to create rich and interactive dashboards in a breeze! Dundas BI comes with an ETL (Export , Transform and Load) layer, where you can clean and prepare your data, this is done using a canvas where you can drag your tables from a data source, choose the columns you want, aggregate them, join with other tables, filter and a lot of interesting features regarding the ETL process. It connects to a lot of data sources: Oracle, Microsoft SqlServer, Excel files, ... It is a collaborative tool, with scheduled reports, based on a metric or not, you can even annotate data points, writing a comment on it in a way that others can see and respond to it! Every view can be exported to excel, pdf, image and even powerpoint. The management of the software is in the form all in one! every thing is done in the application, from user creation object permissions, overall configuration, project exporting/importing and management!

Pros

The drag and drop feature for creating views is a very productive feature. The ETL is also great, it's easy to use and, for more advanced users, it evens permits to write direct sql against tha data source you choose. Regarding performance it has two possibilities, you can cache in memory or in DBI data warehouse. The collaborative feature of this tool is a must to have feature, I specially like the data driven notification option that could alert you by email when a specific metric goes behind a threshold or state.

Cons

It needs to take a step further and aboard predicted analytics!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Divya Nair

We did not install this product. Where only evaluating

14/09/2016

Pros

Visualizations and intuitive experience are very good.

Cons

This is a relatively costly product so you will need to revisit your budgets

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Yes I will recommend this product to others based on their reporting needs.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mohammad Qasim

Great BI tool

07/09/2016

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of data sources, the open API platform that allows to do non-traditional integrations with our in-house systems. Dundas support team are always on time to solve any issues or to provide any suggestions and java scripts to help our issues.

Pros

Flexibility to do whatever you want, Open API and known scripting languages like HTML5 and JS where 99% of your word can be accomplished through drag and drop including preparing the connections to database, you can do all the task which usually have to be done through SQL language by using Dundas and only drag and drop like join, sort , filter, union, aggregation and more.

Cons

The tool doesn't support the 3D Charts even it is clear that 3D charts are not professional.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

All you need is to visit Dundas website and watch the videos and step by step you will be a great developer/designer in dundas BI.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom LeBlanc

Dundas BI is a fantastic tool

07/09/2016

Dundas BI is a fully realized BI system providing beautiful data visualizations in a easy to use interface. I say system because it is more than just a chart generator. It contains user account management that integrates with ActiveDirectory, connectivity to a slew of data sources, a number of cool features I would never have expected in a web application. Dundas' support team is great.

Pros

Ease of use and beautiful data visualizations.

Cons

Nothing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elmar Hulshof

Dundas BI review

07/09/2016

Dundas BI is a very flexible tool to create the most creative dashboards and or reports. If there is something you can't figure out you can contact there support and you will always get an answer within a day.

Pros

The number of visualisations and the flexibility especially when you also start scripting

Cons

At the moment we have some difficulties with the export but that it also our own fault. We created a very complex table that we need to export.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Try the demo and see how flexible Dundas BI is

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mohammad Qasim

Flexibility in design,

06/09/2016

I am developer and implementer of Dundas BI. I rememered how we choosed dundas from 10s of options for to many aspects like flexibility to do whatever you want , variety of data sources and the open API. Moreover, the price od dundas is reasonable comparing to the features that it provides and cheaper comparing to other products in the market. Later on, our requirements increased but dundas BI was flexible enought so we did all them. In dundas BI, think what to do rather than how to do it or if it is doable or not. One year later, dundas become the central portal for every department including Executives ,IT, sales, and marketing. By giving other departments small training on dundas bi, they started to build their reports and dashboards, our role was to prepare the connection to databases and the data cubes only. Dundas Support team are great and reply to any query withen same day. I liked their support because they are ready to help in building java scripts that solve or do my requests or to to provide solutions to issues which were sometimes related to OS or the database.

Pros

Flexibility in design, variety of charts and data sources, open API and the great dundas support

Cons

No 3D charts even it is clear to me that 3D is not professional but some people just like to see it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

All you need is to get a training on dundas BI or watch the videos on dundas and steo by step you will be great developer of Dundas.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Habiba Saggar

Rapid Dashboard Development

08/08/2016

Pros

The product allows you to build dashboards quickly by providing a platform that makes it easy to integrate and visualize data from many different sources. It allows you to create aesthetically pleasing dashboards that empower users to make informed decisions. The vendor is local and very responsive to support requests. Bugs and feature requests are taken seriously and are resolved quickly in version releases.

Cons

Issues related to integration and infrastructure with other platforms are not easily resolved. I'm not sure it can be blamed on the vendor as the product itself has very few problems. It would be nice to have integration experts on their team though ot quickly troubleshoot and resolve these problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Take the product for a spin. It is easy to install and test. You are bound to fall in love with Dundas BI!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kacper Ksieski

Dundas BI is on a sharp upward trajectory, check it out!

02/08/2016

Pros

Dundas BI lets you install, prepare data, visual, and explore your data within minutes. It has a fast and intuitive user interface. No corners have been cut and the features are impressive. You can prepare data as well as a true ETL tool and prepare multi page reports as well as the big stack vendors. Finally, I want to laud their customer service. No other tech company comes close to the high standards Dundas has set for service and reliability.

Cons

There is only a small community of users compared to bigger solutions. It's not the fault of Dundas. It's a niche product and it's something to consider.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

Download the trial and get ready for incredible data discovery.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Onur ÖZEN

New generation self-BI

25/07/2016

Pros

Dundas BI is the flexible BI tool I've ever seen and quite easy to use for BI developers. For the end-users, It can be a bit confuse at the beginning. But when they learn to manage the functionality and abilities of Dundas BI they will probably really like it. They can learn it quickly with free videos and once data model ready; end-users can start to build their own report without need any technical support cause you don't need to create scripts. You can easyly create your dashboards with drags and drops. Dundas BI has also a great support team. They are always there for you. On the website you can easyly reach all the documention and examples. Dundas BI makes the complex reporting system too simple for you like version management, multi-tanency.

Cons

The product is huge ability. You can create whatever you want(I saw an example like a developer was changing the lamps with a bar of Dundas). But to manage this ability you need to have a good Java Script knowladge which i don't like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dundas BI

For product, They need to keep focus on the ease of use. I am so excited about the new verison of creating data model on dashboard. For costumers, Just download the free trial of product and see how easy to have a BI system.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Burke

Data Visualization specialists

08/07/2016

Overall it has been a great experience working with Dundas BI. We use Dundas to help our co workers be able to visually see how certain programs in our company are running, how much money is being spent and so on. Having this tool gave us the ability to do all of this. There is lots Dundas BI can and cannot do but has been progressing quickly releasing new versions of the software. Always including new features and letting users try new versions and give their feedback on how they like the new software compared to the old. Overall it is a very useful program, but for new users it may be complex to get used to.

Pros

What i like most about the software is the many different ways to be able to connect and visualize data. to be able to manipulate your data to be displayed how you want becomes very useful. if there is a way you want to visualize data, im sure dundas has a way of doing so. Their customer support is one of their top qualities, they typically respond within 24 hours and are very interested in a very helpful way.

Cons

the terminology can be pretty difficult sometimes to understand. Other than that, some of their features have minor glitches which im sure they are in the process in fixing as their customer support is tremendous.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more