This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ERwin Data Modeler

Data modeling and visualization solution for businesses

see alternatives

ERwin Data Modeler Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


8 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use data modeling tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are trying to build a enterprise data model for commercial product which acts as a reference point for 7 different databases. It helps us analyze business requirement and the flow of data between multiple systems. I like the workgroup version of Erwin as it lets you work with multiple people on your team at the same time with the version control options and check-in and check-out option.

Pros

Its a great tool for generating ddl scripts which can directly be used to deploy to databases. Also can be used to compare multiple model and merge the files in multiple format like you can compare Erwin files, DDL files etc. It gives you lot of options for reporting like you can choose report designer to create reports on any level like at subject area level or entity level etc.I really like the reverse engineer option of Erwin which can help you generate data model from existing database.

Cons

I think the ability to generate larger model reports is little harder as it takes lot of time and some times the application crashes with which you might loose certain changes. For larger model to get the reports get little tough as the tool becomes slow and some improvement in that area would really help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is a very usefull tool to model data, I used it to extract data model from differents DB

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used reverse engineering with this software to generate data model from Data Bases already created that had haven´t a previos model.

Pros

The most I like about Erwin Data Model is that it´s very easy to use to model a new data base, to modify a data base model already created and you can conect to a data base and generate a data model using reverse engineerig.

Cons

I like a lot this software and It has everything I need to generate a data model, so I dont have anything to dislike about it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The Erwin institutional data modeler is well suited for developing multilevel abstractions of data

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software allows the data models to be created and managed easily and with a decent amount of control

Pros

The Erwin data modeler is well suited for describing multiple levels of data abstractions. This includes modeling data layers from the logical layers of entity relationships down to the physical levels. Its ability to interact with other popular configuration management software allows versioning of the models to be tracked properly.

Cons

There is not as much control over the visual diagramming as there might be, keeping the visual representations of the data models from being as detailed and informative as they could be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is a very good software for modeling data at the enterprise level

Reviewed 3 years ago

I learned to model relational databases, generate data dictionary, and generate SQL code

Pros

It was one of my first programs in the world of computer science, I learned to model data from relational databases, it is very complete and generates code for different databases, it is very detailed and easy to use

Cons

good thing about this software, is that it is not free despite having a trial version, and only serves to model databases

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Erwin Data Modeler

Reviewed a year ago

It is a must for everyone starting with data modelling, even if they shift to different ones later.

Pros

It is one of the most profound software products used for teaching data modelling. It provides a wide range of functionalities and can be used to suit various architectural models.

Cons

The interface is not as user friendly as one would expect. But, to be honest, most of the data modelling toold would feel to be similar.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Industry standard

Reviewed 4 years ago

Been using this product for years for basic data modelling and upwards in various companies. They have some exciting plans after their acquisition of Corso and Casewise for data governance.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very robust data modeling tool.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Helped created a data warehouse.

Pros

Importing and integration of this tool with other tools so you're not repeating work. Good point and click interface.

Cons

Pretty technical tool and requires a good understanding on data modeling. Not for an amateur, if you are not trained in schema development.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good software for modelling ERP models.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Best thing about erWin is that it is incredibly easy to use and consists of all the features that you will need

Cons

There is nothing I dislike as there are no obvious negatives about erWin as it has all you can possibly need and more.