App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Gainsight CS Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

43

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.97/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The reporting capabilities as very advanced, the support team is always able to help, and it's possible to get anything important in a couple of clicks. The interface is clear and easy to understand.
Easy to use and very slick to navigate and enjoy working with in it every day. I like customizing dashboard to my client needs.
I like the function where it alerts me when customers are getting overages and also when they have low usage. I also love the email function.
Don't try to use it without having studied, it will be a terrible mistake.
This needs to be improved. There are some strange glitches and lack of user alerts that can be very annoying.
Unfortunately, our implementation has been very difficult, and I have heard the same from other companies as well.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


43 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Elizabeth B.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So pleased with how effortlessly everything works

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like how simple Gainsight has been to use and implement. We have been able to accomplish more with Gainsight in 3 months than we did with Strikedeck in 3 years.

Cons

The cost is high on a per license basis. Gainsight is very heavy on the resource side when it comes to implementation.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best tool to manage your clients as a Customer Success team member

Reviewed 4 months ago

I am very happy because I can finally manage my clients in an easy way, check their customer journey status, they health, the notes from previous calls and the interactions.

Pros

It is super flexible. The reporting capabilities as very advanced, the support team is always able to help, and it's possible to get anything important in a couple of clicks. The interface is clear and easy to understand.

Cons

The tool is very powerful so it's not so easy to use at first. There are so many components that could make your life easier, and it's important to carefully go through the documentation (spending A LOT of time) to be able to understand how it works. Don't try to use it without having studied, it will be a terrible mistake

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great pairing with SFDC.

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Love the ability to document all customer communication and events all in one place so that anyone can see what has been happening with a customer.

Cons

Being able to customize things is not always the easiest. Even with having a Gainsight Admin to help with this we ran into road blocks.

PI
AvatarImg

Pranav I.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use Customer Success Management & Analytics Tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

We have integrated Gainsight for our customer success workflows, and the experience has been a mixed bag. The ability to demonstrate customer health, automate surveys, creation account plans are some of the impactful features, however, the challenges with reporting, and real-time bidirectional sync with Salesforce make a life for admins challenging.

Pros

Gainsight provides solutions for most customer success workflows like account health, advocacy, customer satisfaction surveys, NPS, and account plans. The UI is user-friendly and self-serving

Cons

The lack of real-time bidirectional sync with Salesforce and complex rules engines make life slightly challenging for admins configuring the tool

RE
AvatarImg

Rebecca E.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Gainsight for Account Management

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, Gainsight has some great features and the integration with Salesforce keeps the data accurate and easier to navigate

Pros

Gainsight is a great tool for housing all customer accounts and managing their data, tracking activities, and creating tasks and account plans.

Cons

The biggest downside of Gainsight is the reporting ability and lack of ease in creating a report. It is not user friendly to create a custom dashboard or get a customized report.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chad H.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The product delivers

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was pleased overall with the product and the service. I feel the product continues to evolve to serve the needs of CS management, the CSMs and other functions in the organization such as Sales.

Pros

I had recently rolled out Gainsight at our organization. The tool is extremely powerful and allowed us to take advantage of our unique data model to achieve business outcomes. This included getting more visibility into the health of our customers and the ability to send targetted emails with dynamic data to our customers.

Cons

The recorded training was very long and painful. This needs to be improved. There are some strange glitches and lack of user alerts that can be very annoying. The good news is that the Support and CSM team are extremely helpful.

SP
AvatarImg

Sony P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Customer Success tool

Reviewed 6 months ago

It is an excellent platform and as a CSM I live in it everyday.

Pros

Gainsight has a great user interface. It is easy to navigate and is very intuitive. Easy to use and very slick to navigate and enjoy working with in it every day. I like customizing dashboard to my client needs.

Cons

Sometimes it is a little buggy when it comes to actual data pulling from a CRM to GS. Otherwise, overall, it is an excellent platform for the CSM's.

MG
AvatarImg

Misty G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust tool, but need clear deployment plan

Reviewed 6 years ago

Gainsight has been key in getting all our customer data from Salesforce into a single view for our Customer Success team to use. Deploying really required a clear project scope, with insight in how you plan to you utilize the various aspects. You can't just assume you can build rough Call to Actions (CTAs) and the program will pay for itself. You really need to think about what you want for an...

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JH
AvatarImg

Jenna H.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

At my prior employer we used Gainsight for our CRM.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great for customer management, as well as daily/monthly task management!

Pros

I loved the ease of the product in managing tasks. It gave the option to snooze tasks to show that you've at least made an attempt prior to closing it out. Also, the fact that the product can integrate with Salesforce is great! It makes logging call activity for all of the company to see SO easy.

Cons

I didn't really have any cons in regards to the Software. I believe it's one of the products out there that you pay for what you get - it's by far the best CRM that I've used, thus far.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good CMS Tool

Reviewed 8 months ago

Gainsight is solid for it's primary functions at our company.

Pros

Gainsight is good for onboarding customers and tracking health scores.

Cons

It's a clunky system and the salesforce integration and timing syncs can be a lot better.

Mm
AvatarImg

Megan m.

Security and Investigations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful system for customer management!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, using Gainsight has changed the way I work as an account manager. Before, I was using spreadsheets and other documents to track everything for my customer which was inefficient and cumbersome. Now, I'm able to set a plan for my customer upfront and use playbooks to follow and ensure the best experience possible for them! I will never go back to managing customers without it!

Pros

I really like using Gainsight to keep all of my customer information in one place. Daily, I use the tasks in my cockpit and success plans to keep me on task with my customer deliverables. The timeline allows me to have all of my notes, emails, and calls logged in one place. There are so many options to configure your customers C360, the options are almost endless.

Cons

I rarely have issues with using Gainsight, it really has changed the way I approach customer account management. I will say that there are times I have an issue with linking customer LinkedIn profiles, and I would love to see a more robust way to track customer org. charts. Otherwise, it's a wonderful tool!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful CRM insights, analysis and automation tool for account management operations

Reviewed 5 years ago

Gainsight has helped automate practically every step and touchpoint in our Client LifeCycle and Maturity model. Client Success can now focus exclusively on building strong relationships instead of busy work entering data into our CRM!

Pros

Gainsight offers world-class support, training and guidance on their incredibly flexible and robust platform. The feature set is impressive and the ability to set up a whole account lifecycle for automation is super powerful.

Cons

Gainsight is expensive and the learning curve is steep. Adopters should consider staffing specifically for GS administration and engagement internally.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best-in-class customer success management platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Positive. They really care about customer success.

Pros

Gainsight has been a leader in the CS space for a long time. They number of possibilities and integrations are endless. The team is knowledgable and they offer so many free resources for people starting out in customer success.

Cons

Like all CS platforms, you need to have the technical people and time commitment to onboarding. If your implementation is complex, you may consider a 3rd party.

AM
AvatarImg

Angela M.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Very difficult implementation

Reviewed 6 years ago

You will not get any value out of this product unless you map out very thoroughly all of your processes, the factors that make an account poor or healthy and you have a dedicated resource to configure the system - it is by no means a plug n play tool, and you need to know what your goals are from the beginning. Unfortunately, our implementation has been very difficult, and I have heard the same from other companies as well. The system is very tricky and requires the support of an implementation project manager in order to get most things completed. Their support team is very good, and now that I know the system pretty well I am adept at making configuration changes quickly.

Pros

ability to sync BI data and use it in Gainsight functionality; Account Scoring functionality, good for customer success teams where CSMs manage a lot of accounts

Cons

difficult to configure without support, buggy,

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Application to Keep Track of Customer Health

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Easy collaboration across multiple teams in an organization to keep track of a client - Helpful CTAs to ensure you are staying on top of an account - Can assign tasks to other members of your organization

Cons

- Steep learning curve - Very out-of-the-box implementation, not a lot that the administrator can customize - Sometimes the web application can be laggy

JR
AvatarImg

Jason R.

Veterinary, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful Customer Success Tool To Enable Deeper Engagement....

Reviewed 2 years ago

We're level-setting the effectiveness of our reps, and making their action lead to direct impacts to customer success.

Pros

The fact that the software takes the guess work out of "who should I call next" is amazing. And better yet, I can model the best practices of my most effective reps to bring all reps up to that level is amazing. No more trying to figure out what rep x did to make the customer jump 20% in revenue. I can track it.

Cons

Not a bad thing, but because it does so much, you have to talk a crawl, walk, run approach. You can't do everything out the gate because it's just too much. So you're forced to pick and choose your battles.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Insight into success

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Gainsight is extremely easy to use, integrates with Salesforce, and gets me the the info I need to do my job as a customer success manager.

Cons

It took me some time to find the right way to use the software, but now that I have a system down I have no complaints.

PC
AvatarImg

Peter C.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

I like the idea, has potential, but definitely room for improvement

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I like the idea of GS and what it offers. There are plenty of integrations which is great, however, it can get a bit messy when working in GS. There are a ton of tabs. I think if the layout were a bit less complex, it would be much easier to use.

Pros

I like the function where it alerts me when customers are getting overages and also when they have low usage. I also love the email function. I can use saved templates and it pulls data directly in from a separate software. It is also viewable from SalesForce.

Cons

There is not a great integration in SF between opportunity notes and the notes section in Gainsight. This causes me to have to check 2 areas for information pertaining to 1 account. I also have to copy and paste the notes from one either SF or GS and paste them in the other. My workflow would be much more efficient if I was able to have a more one-stop-shop. Also, I wish there was a better notification function that alerts me on CTA's.

TG
AvatarImg

Todd G.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very robust client success tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Gainsight can help you manage just about everything around client account management. It can help you track events, send you or clients notifications, monitor health scores, trigger various actions, provide dashboards, etc. There is functionality for anything you can think of and the integration with SFDC is key. The company also showcases a lot of thought leadership and shares some very helpful assets and articles.

Cons

Because its so robust, it takes a while to begin utilizing everything it can do. The learning curve is a challenge but the platform is fairly intuitive, so you can work through it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential for my role

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I'm satisfied with the tool. It's a required piece to the organization of my role.

Pros

I really like how this software helps me to manage my portfolio, goals for each account and track to completion.

Cons

At times, it can be complex and not as user friendly. There is so much this tool can do but the report aspect isn't as intuitive as I'd like.

RG
AvatarImg

Rosa G.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Most comprehensive CS tool out there

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall great -- even when we run into issues, they are quick to help and support

Pros

1. Highly configurable -- we are able to adapt and build just about anything with the Rules Engine 2. Helped us continue to scale with robust email campaign functionality 3. Flexible reporting 4. Fantastic strategic guidance

Cons

Can be hard to use -- definitely recommend having a designated Gainsight Admin to run the system. The advanced features like Rules Engine are pretty complex.

AL
AvatarImg

Amy L.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Customer Success Software

Reviewed 2 months ago

The Customer Success team loves the platform and it is their main CRM. For me, I perceive it's value for the team, but I wish it was more intuitive

Pros

It is good at tracking client communications and health score. By using success plans, we can proactively show ROI and we can create dashboards and reports without the need of other platforms. It also counts with Gong and Salesforce integration.

Cons

It might create lots of duplicated records and it is not so intuitive and easy to use and to create rules. The initial set up isn't so simple and Gainsight made us pay an additional consultancy service.

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Client Relations Software Around

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it is a positivive experience once you get over the learning curve. optimized for my day to day work and easy to use.

Pros

Easy way to track your clients activities and leave key notes on them. Great dashboard use and overall just a fantastic optimization of sales force for Relationship Managers and there book of business.

Cons

Sometimes can be buggy and the screen optimization needs to be fixed.

MG
AvatarImg

M G.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use showing valuable customer metrics

Reviewed 6 years ago

This is great software if you know what types of actions you want to take against the data and know how you should measure customer health. We've run into scenarios where internal users disagree about the calculation of customer health so I recommend getting agreement from executives who will support the overall ranking/rating prior to implementation. I love everyone I've met from Gainsight and look forward to upcoming enhancements!

Pros

Easy to use, nice UI

Cons

Wish it allowed more data functionality. We use IOD (Informatica) for almost everything to get to the lists/data we want.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Customizable but difficult to deploy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Gainsight is very customizable, and the team at Gainsight was helpful in the rollout, particularly once we voiced our concerns that we were going to be unable to implement due to our Salesforce setup.

Cons

I will echo what others have said about Gainsight - it was a very difficult deployment. Nothing we implemented was an easy, out-of-the-box deployment. Overall, it took us nearly two years to complete deployment and we still do not use all the features.