This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Google Data Studio

Interactive dashboard reporting and data visualization tool

see alternatives

Google Data Studio Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


120 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Only the imagination limits you.

Reviewed 18 days ago

It facilitates the simple presentation of data, an indispensable tool for an analyst.

Pros

Ability to combine data from multiple sources. Interface similar to all Google services. Great possibilities of personalizing reports. Ability to write your own rules and queries. Well-prepared tutorial and FAQ section.

Cons

The great number of options makes it easy to get lost. No support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for a ad hoc analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It has built in integrations for every Google product, so when Data Studio came out it enabled us to deprecate another tool and helped us to keep it simple.

Cons

It's not so straightforward to do some specific analysis, setting filters for example. The tool is limited for more complex analysis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simplified Microsoft BI

Reviewed a year ago

Its ok, i use it daily to view search engine marketing performance, can create a really detailed report compared to Google Ads custom report, faster too.

Pros

- Quick and Dirty, Easy to use (only learn from intro creation youtube and learn on the go) - Data report can be easily created matching with company branding - can connect with any data source - fast, is a google web app - easy to share - its free

Cons

- web app only and must have a google account to use. - limited pivot? I can only add like 3 data pivot per page, but can you can add - read only report, unless you share access - automated data refresh interval on some data source are quite long - limited visualization, and comparisson

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pretty Good Dashboard Tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like that it's free and the templates available do a lot of the early set up for you. It's nice to be able to replicate these dashboards across accounts. Both for Google Ads and Analytics.

Cons

I wish that it could pull in data from more sources (i.e. Marketo, Hubspot, Sharpspring, Yelp, etc). Also, I wish there were more template options, such as templates for community management dashboard or FB/Instagram ads.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why are you not using this?! A real data aggregation and report suite player.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We moved to Google Data Studio as a single place our team leaders go to view disparate data in real time.

Pros

The ability to create dashboard with disparate data in realtime and show them to any user for free has been huge for us.

Cons

Not all data connections are easy to create and sometimes the connections can be a little bug filled.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Marketers, Hard to Learn

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is excellent to have a variety of quantifiable metrics for our website. It helps us make business decisions about projects.

Pros

Data Studio provides so many valuable metrics to a team that runs a website. We have a data studio report that is constantly updating. We had to integrate data studio in the back end of our site, but once we did that we were able to track which content does best on our site, which content gets the highest engagement, which content our users spend the most time with etc. It is so valuable.

Cons

There is a huge learning curve to this software. People on our team had to take classes in order to even get started with data studio.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Studo

Reviewed a year ago

Good

Pros

Make better, faster decisions with the world's #1 operational intelligence platform. Built on Druid, scales to billions of events per day. Instant. Integrated. Accessible. Easy to get started. Types: Instant Analytics, Self-Serve BI, Fast Alerts

Cons

Long process But easy to set up that was the only problems I had

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Google Data Studio is a great option for data reporting and exposure

Reviewed 7 months ago

Google Data Studio was a great option to create powerful reports consuming data from our MySQL database.

Pros

It's easy to connect Data Studio into a variety of database systems and quickly create powerful reports.

Cons

The objects available on the user interface are limited when comparing with other options and I miss features like different fonts and sizes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data visualization without having to code

Reviewed a year ago

Data Studio is an excellent choice for individuals who are comparatively new in the world of data analytics and visualization especially the ones that are not familiar with coding. The ability to create a beautiful dashboard without having to rely on coding skills is simply brilliant. And the cherry on top is, the tool's free. The tool definitely needs improvements when it comes to data filters and data source integrations. However, there's isn't much to complain about since they're not charging a single penny for the service.

Pros

- No coding expertise required. - Really easy-to-use. - Perfect for newbies entering in the world of data analytics and visualization. - Free

Cons

- Limited analytical features. - Limited customization options. - More data source integrations required.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

How Good it is

Reviewed 2 years ago

i really like it it is really easy to use and i love it and i dont really like how people try to use u for your money and try and scam you but other than that its really helpful

Pros

i really like it it is really easy to use and i love it

Cons

i dont really like how people try to use u for your money and try and scam you

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for a start, a bit harder to master for complex dashboards

Reviewed a year ago

It's quite simple to use for a start and it gives a nice result right away. However if you want to start building more complex dashboards, it can be extremely tricky to use. I also like the fact that one can creates his own visualisation. To have this level of customisation is quite impressive.

Pros

Almost seamless integrations with BigQuery and Google Sheets. As with everything in the Google environment, if you use other tools from them, the integration is extremely easy. Overall it's very simple to create a simple dashboard that answers simple questions.

Cons

There seems to be some bugs for example when switching from two similar datasets (same dataset names, same field ids and same field types), the underlying graph definitions are somewhat altered (some graphs disappeared, for other the filter is gone, etc).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The easy-to-use dashboard maker

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is a Google software, meaning that it connects very well with other Google softwares such as Google Analytics or Google Ads. So, if you are using all these for your business, it is a great way not to get lost with the tools you are using. Google Analytics and Google Ads are great at showing results, but with the addition of Google Data Studio, you can have a powerful vision of your KPI completion in one click, saving you a great time.

Cons

the connection between other Google tools is, however, not generous. Most of the time in your business, with your own KPI, you will find yourself defining your own parameters in Google Analytics. Those customs parameters cannot be extracted to Google Data Studio at the time this review is written. You can only access to the default Google Analytics parameters, which can be very frustrating when trying to create valuable dashboards.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Easy Dashboarding solution

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and can collect data from a lot of sources with basic connectors.

Cons

No native connector to facebook, we need to extract data into Google Spreadsheet and then link the SS has a new data source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best free tool for marketing data visualization

Reviewed a year ago

Data studio gives back what you put in. The more you learn the more you get out of it. I can’t recommend this product enough.

Pros

I love Google Data Studio. I have automated 90% of my Google Analytics and Google Search Console tasks by just building dashboards with all of my relevant data. I can’t speak highly enough about this product.

Cons

I think more custom data sets can require Some technical or at least some spreadsheet skills. If you don’;t have those it can be difficult to troubleshoot this product. That said, anyone can learn those skills and I highly recommend they do!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best free reporting tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best part of it is that I no longer have to spend hours on making reports for our clients. You just make a template, create a data source and it's done. It's one of the best tools Google came up with in the last years. It's very easy to use and extremely intuitive.

Cons

Could use a couple more integration (Facebook for exemple) but hey it's FREE and it's very very good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GDS makes nice reusable dashboards without the need to log in to GA

Reviewed 6 months ago

My go-to tool for creating packaged dashboards. It's then easy to re-use them as templates for other organisations and not just for that particular website

Pros

The dashboards are more user-friendly and appealing than many of the other competitors out there. This can be important when trying to win over less tech savvy business colleagues who want a more colourful and easy to use view. Especially if all they require is a scheduled email containing a PDF.

Cons

Occasionally a certain tweak to a dashboard isn't possible, e.g. customising a bar graph's labels so they show the percentages rather than the absolute values. In this example you have to choose a less-preferred pie chart instead.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Exceptional Tool To Create Reports Using Your Own Data Sources

Reviewed 2 years ago

Loved having the ability to add our data sources to create intelligent and aesthetically pleasing charts. 10/10!

Pros

Great job to Google's team for making this wonderful tool! Data studio is an amazing platform that helps us in terms of creating data reports that are otherwise quite difficult to create on your own when you have multiple data sources at once, this solves that problem rather efficiently. Now we just assign the source for our tables or charts into the data studio and it makes professional reports for us on the go!

Cons

Nothing to dislike as this has only helped in creating reports that are rather time consuming if you were to create them manually in excel or word

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy data reporting for anyone.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Major pro is the quick and easy ability display data. Love it for my sales team and reporting to other departments

Cons

Can be tricky to blend data and build formulas.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beginner Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Data Studio is a helpful data visualization tool that allows you to pipe in data from a number of data sources and display that information in a straight forward and clean manner. This tool has helped increase transparency and communication between me and my team.

Cons

Data Studio can sometimes be slow in presenting piped in data. The UI is also clunky and not very user friendly and support (outside of a forum) is nearly non-existant.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for integrating with Google Analytics for client reporting!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Would definitely recommend for agencies! There's a lot more that Google Data Studio can do - we haven't scratched the surface yet!

Pros

Ability to create custom reports from Google Analytics data. Ability to style/format reports as you wish - fonts/colours/graphics etc.

Cons

Can be tricky to pull in the right data at a first glance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best app on the market

Reviewed 2 months ago

Amazing

Pros

The information and reliable resources it offers

Cons

The adds that continually pops us when searching

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Google Data Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall I would recommend this software to business owners with small to medium sized businesses.

Pros

The efficiency of the app is impeccable. I love how it makes my everyday takes effortless .

Cons

The software tends to glitch when there are too many users on it at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing reporting

Reviewed 7 months ago

One of the best reporting tool we have use in the company

Pros

Excellent tool, it allows you analyze any time of data and plot it into different types of widget, charts, tables, etc. It is amazing what you can do and all the options you have to do a drill down in the data shown. Dashboards can be share with all the team at any time

Cons

Nothing at the time, we have get the most of the application. Too many options can be scary but then you understand all, you can report anything you want

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data analytics tool in the cloud- a blessing for G-suite users

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a good tool without much hassle or any installation required. Directly runs in cloud and gets your work done straight away! We use for some monthly dashboards and the usual one or two visualization requirements. Would certainly recommend for it's value for money benefit.

Pros

One of the most productive feature is the ability to link with Google sheets and its integration with the Google platform/products. The collaboration features of G-suite are also evident in Data studio. It is simple at the moment, but gets the work done for quick and small-medium projects.

Cons

The Geo-mapping is not great as compared to a tool like Tableau. The Data visualization is not completely customizable which leaves something to desire. You need a google account to work on it, so not for everyone.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data Studio Will Change Your Analytics Life

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Google Data Aid Studio is the best tool I've ever stumbled across. It's everything you like about Google Analytics, made better. You can literally build your own dashboard and control it by date or other filters you choose - and you can use Google Analytics as your data source. Imagine being able to filter, sort and pivot just about any Google Analytics data point. It opens up a whole new way to look at your data. You can create datasets of your own design and then look at them in a myriad of ways (charts, graphs, tables). You can add notes, create sections. It's a really powerful tool. Collaborating on reports with others is also rather easy and it's nice to be able to make real-time updates with teammates.

Cons

The one drawback is that it can get heavy and take some time for results to resolve onscreen if your report(s)/board(s) are very large.