This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Google Data Studio

Interactive dashboard reporting and data visualization tool

see alternatives

Google Data Studio Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


122 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data Studio Will Change Your Analytics Life

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Google Data Aid Studio is the best tool I've ever stumbled across. It's everything you like about Google Analytics, made better. You can literally build your own dashboard and control it by date or other filters you choose - and you can use Google Analytics as your data source. Imagine being able to filter, sort and pivot just about any Google Analytics data point. It opens up a whole new way to look at your data. You can create datasets of your own design and then look at them in a myriad of ways (charts, graphs, tables). You can add notes, create sections. It's a really powerful tool. Collaborating on reports with others is also rather easy and it's nice to be able to make real-time updates with teammates.

Cons

The one drawback is that it can get heavy and take some time for results to resolve onscreen if your report(s)/board(s) are very large.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best free BI dashboarding tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

GDS is free and that is its greatest strength. It connects easily to Google services, and supports a smattering of other data sources. It is easy to use and has some power under the hood that isn't obvious at first blush, especially with recent updates that permit better data aggregation and transformation.

Cons

It is very good for relatively simple dashboards, but if you are looking for larger scale "enterprise" tools or want more flexibility in data management, it's probably not a good fit. Maintenance of dashboards is highly manual and it is nearly impossible to create template reports or duplicate them for other similar data sources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product

Reviewed a year ago

I truly enjoy using for my presentations at work and for college.

Pros

The features that I like the most is that when you start off there's a tutorial- where it easily explains how to use the program. Then there are so many graph and outlines that you can create fro presentations- it's truly amazing!

Cons

I believe that all of the features in this product are very manageable and easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful data visualization suite

Reviewed 6 months ago

We were looking for a way to visualize mobile app analytics beyond the capabilities of Firebase: when we found out about Data Studio we were able to build data views much more tailored to our needs.

Pros

An excellent data visualization layer which plays nice with data from Google Analytics and Firebase. It has several pre-made templates for broad and vertical analysis in a large range of use cases. The interface is powerful and flexible, while at the same time revealing its complexity gradually, so the learning curve is gentle.

Cons

Having pre-set metrics and templates is helpful, but it can be a bit misleading at times, when you need to build custom metrics that have similar but different meanings to the default ones.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data Studio Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, it's great. I'm newer to the program, but I'm in it each month. It's not very user-friendly to those who are looking to learn more about data reporting, but those who have that knowledge are able to navigate it easily.

Pros

It is great once you get the hang of it. There are issues (see below), but it is great for those using an analytical approach to their job and any who have a reporting aspect. It makes for a beautiful product when complete.

Cons

The inability to leave comments is a bummer. Every other Google product you can leave comments and tag people. Why not this one? The X and Y axis are also frustrating when trying to edit them. The bottom one isn't able to be edited for percentages, which is a lot of what I work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Recommended, useful and easy

Reviewed a year ago

I enjoy using Google Data Studio and suggested it to other startups. It's easy and useful.

Pros

An easy and quick analytics dashboard can be done using Google Data Studio. Templates are life savers.

Cons

Although it is easy to pick up on how to use it, the journey is not very smooth. If it weren't for templates, it wouldn't be an easy to use app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must if you are using Google Analytics

Reviewed 8 months ago

Great so far, especially because the tools are free and is fully integrated with Google Analytics, so you don't have to code or know SQL.

Pros

As a person who doesn't work as a Data Analyst or Scientist, Data Studio allows you to create dashboards in a relatively intuitive way, as long as you have experience with Google Analytics. I really like the fact that there are standard dashboards that you can customize to show the data that you need, just by customizing the reports and graphs you can easily recognize the variables and values because it's fully integrated with GA you can even grab the segments and apply them.

Cons

Nothing, as I have never gone deeper into the functions. But If you are not a Data Analyst or you are not into data, keep it with the premade dashboards. The options and customizations can appear a little intimidating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data Studio

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience with Data Studios has been super positive

Pros

Overall I really like Data Studios. It's relatively easy to use and helps effectively visualize data. All of our clients love the reports that we are able to put together for them. It requires some up front work, but once that is done, it's fairly simple moving forward, providing real time data across multiple channels.

Cons

Some of the integrations are a bit hit or miss and it's hard to merge data together in an effective way. We run marketing campaigns across multiple channels and to pull a holistic number such as total CPA is a bit of a challenge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favorite Report Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Is my favorite platform to create reports. I just love it, it really changes the Analytics works not only for me and my team but also for my clients.

Pros

It helps me to manage, control and understand data. It´s really useful and saves me a lot of time. I can create entire campaign reports in a few hours, adding dynamic charts, text, maps and a lot of graphic elements that make my reports more attractive and easy to understand.

Cons

It took me a little bit of time understanding how it works; but once I learned everything was easier for me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect product that only misses manual entries

Reviewed a year ago

Great experience

Pros

The look and feel of the reports plus how i can combine all of my google products in one place (analytics, search console and firebase)

Cons

Manual input is super hard like if i just want to have the same UI of a square and write in it a manual number its almost impossible

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data Management Tool

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall I was very satisfied with all the features. It great to have this application in my daily use routine.

Pros

The feature I liked the most about this application is that it makes it easy to create charts, visualization, dashboards, the connection between a large amount of data, and organized it to do proper research out of it. You also need no experienced to understand the feature of the application.

Cons

Some tools have limited features like visualization. Sometimes applications get slower which makes it difficult while handling a large amount of data. Overall there is no bug I found in the application

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Your one stop for all Repoerting + Automation!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I happily took the initiative to move our company to have all automated reports coming out of Google Data Studio. - Reports are modern, visual yet insightful. - Almost all the needed metrics are offers. - Linking to your Ads, Analytics is simple, takes minutes. - Setting up automation is easy, takes less to none practice!

Cons

I wish there was a way to link Bing Ads account to have reporting come from Google Data Studio!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes Our Reports Look Professional

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I LOVE Data Studio because it makes all our clients' reports look professional and easy to read. You can combine multiple data sources on a single dashboard, you can have multiple pages, and puts it into one dashboard that I can customize. We use supermetrics and the data pulls in from Facebook, Google Ads, Bing, LinkedIn, and Twitter with ease. Our clients LOVE their dashboards.

Cons

The data sources sometimes break and you have to go in and re-create another data source. Also, their customer support is non-existent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data Visualisation made easy

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Google data studio is a good platform with necessary tools used for visualising data in our company, also the interface is really nice and easy to understand

Cons

It is kind of rigid and support for this platform is a bit small

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Complex but useful

Reviewed 6 months ago

If you can devote some time to experimenting with it, and learning the ropes, Google Data Studio can be highly beneficial to a workplace looking to improve its digital presence.

Pros

Once you work out how to use Google Data Studio, it becomes extremely helpful, as it can produce real-time reports of website activity.

Cons

There's very little useful training available on how to use it. So many features, but limited instructions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

This is everything

Reviewed a year ago

Yeah, i realized that the better thing doesn't overall that always be a better thing.

Pros

The voice assistant, such a good thing to do with your voice.

Cons

About my private in this software, that this software always saved a "HISTORY".

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great For Reports ... When It Works

Reviewed 9 months ago

If you are looking to make a report of basic queries pulled from Google Analytics Data, this is a great tool to make clean looking reports. If you are looking for more complex data insights, you will constantly have to verify numbers and may or may not be able to resolve the issue.

Pros

Google Data Studio is an easy way to create clean looking reports for my team. It allows you to pull data from multiple platforms, there's lots of customization and you can schedule the reports to send out as needed. The final product looks clean and professional.

Cons

I regularly experience issues with data not matching Google Analytics. When the data is correct the tool is great but I spend a lot of time resetting the same search criteria in Google Analytics, only to find out the numbers are different and that I can't use the report. The more complicated your queries are, the more you will dislike this tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data studio review

Reviewed a year ago

Not bad. Needs minor updates.

Pros

Very accessible, options are clear and to the point.

Cons

It is hard to maneuver the editing tool

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great value for a free tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Considering GDS is free, it's a great value. The platform has come a long way since it's inception, and in my time using it, has continued to evolve in the right direction.

Cons

There are still a number of functions which can be done in GA which are difficult or impossible in GDS. Make sure you map out your reporting before setting out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Not always the easiest

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Easy to share with clients to show always most current results

Cons

Not always easy to create proper cross results

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Adds value

Reviewed 8 months ago

We use it regularly and get business value from it

Pros

Love the way that data is aggregated and presented in data studio. Clearly not as deep as Big Data tools like Tableau, but does add significant value with reports that you can build.

Cons

Not easy to set up all the reports and access all the data you want,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Not a Tableau alternative, but it’s getting there

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Pricing (it’s free) Native integration with Google Ads and Analytics New features are being added very frequently Good UX

Cons

Quite complicated to create your own functions Weak templating Can’t move files to Team Drives Separation between data and visualization is confusing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Data studio Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Only reason not using this is it takes lot of time to load when files are huge.

Pros

Very good at collating data and presenting with multiple graphs and layout. Best for daily reporting and checking stats.

Cons

Very slow at loading data when file size is huge. Need more features with respect to pivots & more sorting options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Bit of a Learning Curve - But Great Once It Gets Going

Reviewed 10 months ago

The fact that Google provides it at no additional cost and that it integrates with most digital platforms such as Facebook/Instagram is the reason we continue to use Data Studio.

Pros

Data Studio is an acquired taste for me. As with most other Google tools, there are way too many features and functionalities packed into this. This is both good and bad for new users as one can quickly get overwhelmed. But once the reports are setup and all the metrics are tracking, the reports look beautiful and presenting results to a group or a team is a breeze. Supermetrics is an important integration for Data Studio which one should keep in mind and try to utilise if you are handling mutliple Google Ads, Analytics and Facebook accounts.

Cons

If you do not change the data sources when copying a report, if you change it later, the original report will also get affected which became a cause for embarrassment for us at one time. So be mindful of that. And be patient with yourself when working with data studio. It looks like quite the beast but it gets easier once you have a few report templates going - saves literally hours and hours of reporting time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data Studio as a teacher

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's been a blast helping out students learn about data, Data studio helps make it easy to learn as well as teach

Cons

No cons, this product is amazing. Maybe having something along the lines of trying to increase the amount of instruction available to students would help.