This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Hotjar Reviews - Page 17

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


428 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing, Great Data, Simple

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I can see exactly how my customers and site visitors interact with my copy & advertising. Data collection is a breeze.

Cons

I wish the funnel setup were better optimized for Shopify. Because URL's are randomized, it is near impossible to set up some funnels.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Nice to have but not that useful in the end

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Nice dashboard with interesting insights.

Cons

Ultimately quite gimmicky and doesn't give the most actionable insights.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to get started with. Really like the poll feature. Awesome that you can track clicks on individual screen elements.

Cons

Ironically that they add a lot of polls/surveys in their own app :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A huge help to evaluating your website performance

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Hotjar was very eye-opening. It showed me how people interact with my site, what they like, what they don't like. And what I need to work on to make better.

Cons

It's not the easiest to set up but still manageable. That's the only downside I can think of.

Vendor response

Hey Megan, Thanks so much for reviewing us - it's great to read that Hotjar has been a huge help with understanding your website performance. What aspect of the setup did you find challenging? We'd love to get your feedback :) Best Alex

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Surveys

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it is one of the best tools to use for polls/surveys and allows you to visualize all of the data as well.

Pros

The software is great to use for surveys, recordings, polls, etc.

Cons

No cons, it is very easy to use and helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Brilliant for understanding your audience journey

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

This is so simple to use and gives great insight into users habits on our website. Its easy to locate drop off points, and therefore make changes to the site.

Cons

I dont have a huge amount to say about what I didnt like. Sometimes it's hard to tell whether someone is legitimately on your site, so data can be skewed in terms of drop off and heatmaps etc. I.e. has someone accidently clicked on an advert, ended up on my site and then just having a look round, rather than a potential engaged reader.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have used this software as a trial to keep tracking of our user experience on our site

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Overall features of the trial that I had the opportunity to test was good. Although we did not manage to integrate it with the technology that we use to develop on our company.

Cons

Unfortunately as I have said before we did not manage to check for the fulll capabilities of the software because it does not manage to get the CSS of our application so we have decided to choose another software that did the same thing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The tool is useful to get data on the use of a website, and some features are great.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say at the moment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Setup - Easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very User friendly, easy tag setup, price is fantastic

Cons

We were between tiers of pricing, so we had to bump up a tier, but the price was still great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice tool to know your Visitors

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Its a very nice tool to get you to know how your Visitor thinks about your products. best analytical tool.

Cons

Support is good and i dont think any bad feature about Hotjar

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A decent heat map

Reviewed a year ago

Very neutral. It was not the best heat map platform ever but also definitely not the worst.

Pros

The UX of Hotjar is very easy to navigate, so it's easy to find what you are looking for. You can toggle between different devices and click maps vs scroll maps.

Cons

The heat maps were occasionally buggy especially when switching between desktop and mobile views.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Visual solution to better understand your users

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's light, works with your platform of choice and the record function is just amazing.

Cons

Nothing to complain about really, i never had an issue with it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy but lazy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Hotjar is an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. Feedback section is an added value comparison to most usability tools.

Cons

It's a very basic tool, with no chance to segment the traffic to analyze heatmaps. The absence of a possible automatic reactivation of the reports, once the set threshold is reached, makes the use of the tool quite frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great heatmapping tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've used HotJar on a few different sites, it's been awesome.

Cons

Pricing is pretty steep for small business sites.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This is a good software to identify patterns in our application

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our design team is now capable of understanding everything that our customers are doing and improve their usability.

Pros

With Hotjar we can easily record a session on someone session and identify patterns in all the application that some users are doing and could be improved.

Cons

We had some issues trying to do the integration with our existing system and it was hard to load the CSS on hotjar save issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Know your visitor

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Hotjar is a best tool to know how visitor see and what they like about your service and products

Cons

Nothing Hotjar provides everything such as heatmap and recordings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good for easy analytics

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to setup and we now have a deeper understanding of what people do on our website.

Pros

The recordings and heatmaps feature is very good and we use these features often. We get on very well with the free plan and the interface is fast and modern. When you click an option it happens instantly unlike some other options.

Cons

Nothing really, very happy with everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Budget app for website performance stats

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

They have recording for visitors even you are on basic version. This allows you to know what your visitors are doing.

Cons

There is no customized for the feedback widget on your website. It makes our users a bit confused with what "hotjar" is when they would like to submit their feedback on the website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really helpful for analyzing web traffic

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were able to make some good design decisions about where to place the forms on our landing pages thanks to Hotjar.

Pros

The heat map. It really helped my team build better landing pages! Especially for mobile.

Cons

I actually don't have any complaints.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very useful marketing software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Provides heatmaps of your website pages visits, records videos of user activity on your website, which has been a great insight.

Cons

I think this software can evolve a lot and have more features. Obviously, it's not a flaw, just an observation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Hotjar is a must to know what people do on your website

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

You can see how your users use your website so you can adapt your content to it

Cons

It is a bit repetitive and sometime, there are little bugs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review