App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

LocationIQ Logo

LocationIQ

GIS application for mobile positioning

see alternatives

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

LocationIQ Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

130

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.55/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Im very impressed with the performance and accuracy of this product and that they allow me to test on a free account. This really is the best service i have ever had.
Nothing but good service with the best affordable price to work with maps , geocoding and routes.
It is very easy to setup and works very well. I am impressed at how Reliable LocationIQ has been for us at EnVsion.
If a location isn't found, it sometimes returns a generic match rather than indicating no results.
Also sometimes usage reports can be confusing - especially when minutely limit sees to be reached, and device is configured to send reports twice a minute.
I found no fault with the product but could have done more to throttle my calls.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


130 reviews

Recommended

JW
AvatarImg

Jakub W.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Successful Stress Test

Reviewed 4 years ago

Recently we decided to stress test our to our system for czech republic. Non czech address were reverse geocoded in LocationIQ service and there were no problem for LocationIQ to handle this test

Pros

Integration is very easy if you already used Nominatim (for reverse geocode) It has almost the same data structure

Cons

so far so good... sorry no cons to publish here

MG
AvatarImg

Matthew G.

Public Safety, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

General Purpose Geolocation API

Reviewed 3 years ago

We wanted map-able coordinates for street addresses and this does exactly what it claims to. Easy to setup and use, would recommend.

Pros

We like that this is API-compatible with Nominatim and just works. Put it in and it was ready to go just that easily.

Cons

If a location isn't found, it sometimes returns a generic match rather than indicating no results. We understand the use cases where that's the best option, it just isn't quite what we want.

ST
AvatarImg

Stuart T.

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product with great support

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good experience overall - its done what we need, support has been good when we've needed it - and the free-version is great whilst our product is in it early life.

Pros

It a cloud-based solution, so getting up and running was very straight forward Good documentation Great support Free version for start-ups or smaller use-cases

Cons

Occasionally, the behaviour of the API has subtly changed (e.g. change in HTTP code returns) which we have had to develop around. Not had the problem for 6+ months though, so hopefully their change-control has improved and this won't happen again.

GY
AvatarImg

Gafar Y.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

1 Year of useage

Reviewed a year ago

Nothing but good service with the best affordable price to work with maps , geocoding and routes.

Pros

the ease of setup and affordable prices.

Cons

the ability to handle routes and request related to it , the doc on that matter needs some improvement to ease the process

MK
AvatarImg

Markus K.

Warehousing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good product, perfekt availability

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am using it for reverse geocoding in my traccar instance for private use.

Pros

I'm using the reverse geocoding feature only for a small private installation and I'm so happy, that everything works correct and that reliable.

Cons

It was not so easy to configure it for my small server system and my application.

NK
AvatarImg

Natalia K.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good geocoding service at reasonable price

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Pretty accurate geocoding service at a reasonable price. Support is quick and helpful. Free tier is generous.

Cons

In the past I've subscribed to a paid plan but then my usage dropped and I'm back on free tier. I've noticed that the price for paid plans is now twice what it was before.

BK
AvatarImg

Bartosz K.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Strongly recommend

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy of use, accurate localization and street names

Cons

I can't find any. I love it all as it is.

PS
AvatarImg

Parth S.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Geocoding API!!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I've been using the Geocoding API extensively with my product for about 2 years and so far it has been an amazing and smooth experience. LocationIQ provides a very reliable, cheap, and well-documented API that serves my use case. I definitely recommend this product over other options.

Cons

I haven't faced any trouble using the API so far, nor there has been a downtime that I noticed.

Sb
AvatarImg

Sunil b.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Location IQ Quality

Reviewed a year ago

I always use it very well

Pros

It's good working. And typically processer of one that reliable to user

Cons

It's reliable to other and no one has quality like this to use

AR
AvatarImg

Andreas R.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for traccar usage

Reviewed a year ago

This service works 100% reliable

Pros

No fees for a suitable amount of requests.No annoying ads or mails.Best support and friendly service team. :-)

Cons

I do not see any cons. I'm glad about this service.

NM
AvatarImg

Nithin M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Affordable services, with a large enough free use quota

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Free use quota - daily 10,000 free calls - Extremely easy to set up - Easy dashboards to understand the number of calls and analytics - API endpoints were never down

Cons

- The location data is yet to catch up with the amount of information that Google has. While locationIQ is a great product, sometimes the results are not what we expect/ sometimes no result at all.

SN
AvatarImg

Stefan N.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great reverse geocoding API

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The product is very easy to use and integrates perfectly with my private Traccar server for reverse geocoding. The data is accurate and I haven't encountered any downtimes.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of, except maybe that some of the street names in my country are written in cyrillic, while other in latin.

ED
AvatarImg

Elie D.

Education Management, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Geocoding Service

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software return all the data needed about a location

Cons

Everything about this software is good nothing is least

RW
AvatarImg

Robert W.

Hospitality, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nice and easy API to get GEO Data

Reviewed 4 years ago

They're a great bunch. Are responsive to what I need and are friendly to deal with.

Pros

Free and easy to use to spit out basic maps when users need them

Cons

The free tier is fairly limited but I don't get enough users to take full advantage of the better request rates so have dialled down my usage accordingly.

HG
AvatarImg

Hrvoje G.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Highly available & fast, great replacement for google api

Cons

This software works as expected so no cons for now

FG
AvatarImg

Fidel G.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent option

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, low cost, very goood customer service

Cons

I desired app for statistics and reports

ID
AvatarImg

Ioan D.

Retail, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Because of the free tier it helps a lot new businesses and I must say that it works great!

Cons

Couldn't find any until now. We will explore more as the business grows.

AB
AvatarImg

Alexandre B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excelent API

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excelent!

Pros

It's free with lots of functionalities. We use it to get bounds of some neighborhoods.

Cons

Sometimes some neighborhoods bounds are not correct. But when I reach customer service, they fix the problem.

Fd
AvatarImg

Fred d.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great product

Pros

Easy to use and great performance. The API is easy to implement.

Cons

There are not realy additional features that I currently need.

AR
AvatarImg

Amitai R.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome API

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and its accurate results. Really enjoy it in my apps.

Cons

I can't think of anything that I don't like...

mw
AvatarImg

matt w.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent geocoding alternative to Google maps

Reviewed a year ago

joyous. simple painless reliable.

Pros

apis were super easy to access integrate and understand , quick to get set up and make use of what we needed and reliable low latency service

Cons

all good, no issues that we have come across at this stage

VP
AvatarImg

Viet P.

Market Research, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best location API out there

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Of course startup friendly pricing tiers and also User interface, documentation and ease of use.

Cons

Some of geo data like suburbs are not translated to local language.

AM
AvatarImg

Alex M.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great geocoding at fair prices

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Forward geocoding is very quick, and generally the results are of great quality.

Cons

Geocoding results, especially for airports, is in need of improvement.

TH
AvatarImg

Tim H.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great company and easy to use!

Pros

I love how precise it is! The API is easy to work with and gives great results!

Cons

it's all good! I don't have any cons for it!

ES
AvatarImg

Enrico S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An important point of reference in reverse geocoding and static maps.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very satisfied in terms of service and support.

Pros

Very easy to use and very easy to switch to.

Cons

Really nothing of particular. Switching from Nominatim, country, region and city names has been reported in english instead of local language.