This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

MicroStrategy Analytics

Comprehensive platform for enterprise analytics and mobility

see alternatives

MicroStrategy Analytics Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


47 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really Improved with recent updates

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I used to not be a fan of microstrategy’s analytics / BI software, but they seem to really listen to their customers and improve their software with every release. I especially like the enhancements to the geographic data features and visualizations in their recent release. Turning GIS data into an aesthetic map chart is simple now.

Cons

While microstrategy’s software has improved greatly in recent releases, I still think the forecasting functionality could be improved. You can’t do as much with forecasting in this software than you can in some competing software.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A well organized and useful software that could use some aesthetic improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago

MicroStrategy is a powerful analytic tool that we use to pull anything from lab data to customer service performance stats. It is customizeable and has a great multitude of functions.

Pros

I use this software to run reports on DNA samples that I process at my job. It is intuitive and well organized. I learned how to use it very quickly. It has convenient features such as labels that appear when you hover over an icon. I also have not had any issues with it such as lagging or crashing or other functional failures.

Cons

The only room for improvement is the web design. Adding some colors, bigger icons, and reorganizing the display of options would make it easier on the eyes and brain and more delightful to use.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Numbers mean everything

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I enjoy having the ability to run custom reports that help me understand how my staff is behaving on the phones. Exporting that data is a breeze, overall a great product.

Cons

It can be intimidating for new users, better integration of help functions would be appreciated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A comprehensive but complex BI tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Microstrategy is a world leader when it comes to BI and analytics. The tool is great for large-scale deployments where many aspects of the business need to be considered.

Cons

While catering to all potential BI and analytics needs, Microstrategy seriously lacks when it comes to ease of use. Competitors like Power BI and Sisense have made deployment of BI tool extremely easy and in comparison, Microstrategy feels lacklustre.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool, free desktop was a bonus!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Using this tool, to learn and get into enterprise analytics was fun. The free desktop version also allowed folks to analyze excel and other data sources. this gave them some useful utility to look their own data and seeing trends.

Pros

quick to learn and start using from no experience. The videos on you-tube also helped pickup some of the concepts. The free desktop tool, also had a good guide and videos to get started.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Helpful tool for Business Analytics

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall experience was good. I used it for about 1 year while I was working for Business Analytics.

Pros

I like the desktop version of it more. Its very easy to create metrics and use them in different reports. Multiple people can work together on a particular project.

Cons

Get small bugs that really trouble sometimes. Also, the customer support is not very robust. There are forums but cannot find trusted answers to all the problem-related queries.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for reporting

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This tool is very dependable and easy to customize, has great visualization and very user friendly interface. It is very good for reporting.

Cons

Its installation was not the easiest and took quite some time. It is also quite pricey.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Business Intelligence software

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am using the Microstrategy platform in order to generate reports for forecast, orders, invoices, scorecards and dashboards so that I could have a complete overview of the business.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very powerful data gathering, takes awhile to master

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love how powerful this program is. You can gather data from different applications and compile it all into microstrategy. You can then organize and display the data in many ways to fit your needs.

Cons

This software is not very user friendly. There are many different attributes you can assign but the definitions and understanding on how each behaves is difficult to master.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good presentation but it is slow

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is good for weekly usage but slow for daily usage

Pros

Visual effects and graphics were brilliant

Cons

But it processeed data very slowly getting a report for an analysis was time consuming

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Strong mobile reporting platform

Reviewed 4 years ago

Microstrategy is a great platform for mobile analytics and offers a lot of functionality out of the box. If you are looking for a solution that will cover 80% of your needs when it comes to mobile reporting then seriously consider Microstrategy.

Pros

Depth and breadth of OLAP functions and detailed users guides. Beautiful mobile reports and growing library of visualizations.

Cons

Microstrategy has a steep learning curve and we have had performance challenges with large datasets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Micro Strategy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the simple ease of being able to bring the data in and make something useful from it.

Cons

Not everything is very straightforward. Definitely takes some getting used to. Once you do there is so much that can be done.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Does its job well

Reviewed 2 years ago

We tried MicroStrategy on a trial basis. We experimented with the same dashboard designs we frequent in our current subscription software.

Pros

It's not difficult to use on a basic level. I can certainly build a basic dashboard that my bosses would find satisfactory.

Cons

I found the learning curve to be a lot less forgiving than some of its competitors.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Microstrategy Enterprise Analytics: A decent BI solution

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Microstrategy is very similar to using excel with macros. You can click to add parameters, define relationships in a jiffy. In essence, once you have a bit of hands-on, you can quickly prepare reports and dashboard,

Cons

The UI is clearly dated and is not very pleasing to the eye. Also, it lags in terms of the number of features and functionalities in comparison to the latest offerings in the market.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Reporting made easy for the business user.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Insight into operations and licensing without needing the internal data warehouse knowledge

Pros

The software is very easy to use with an uncluttered interface and generating reports is a breeze. The option to share and schedule reports helps to be on top of business, across multiple users and teams.

Cons

The app could use some UI modernization. A mobile app to look at reports and dashboards would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good BI solution for big data work

Reviewed 3 years ago

- Allowed me to query big data

Pros

Microstrategy has the ability to integrate with multiple data sources across the board from all channels of your companies data streams.

Cons

It is definitely not as easy to learn as tableu. The learning curve is a little steep but people switching from tableau should face couple of weeks of challenges.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Good analysis, bad softward

Reviewed 2 years ago

Improve the UX

Pros

Generates good reports - but little analysis. The word limit is pushing me to write longer review which is not needed

Cons

Hard to download The download experience reminded with computers in late 1990s. Also, my work firewall did not recognise it as safe software, so I am using this app from my home with my personal laptop... This is not a normal business experience

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It's not bad

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It has some good graphs, and you can add your own ones. Intelligent Cubes are the only unique feature I've seen it in this BI tool. It has a good community.

Cons

Dealing with SQL queries, and Microsoft Access was difficult, and probably result in an error. Even though the query was 100% correct. It generates wrong values for the query I used. I think I prefer another tool.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Version 10.x is really powerful

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been testing the latest version 10 and it is really good, it has new features to create dashboards in an easy and quickly way more similar to what the market for self service BI is requiring

Pros

Good design, easy to use, development is really fast letting you select the data and object that you want to visualize and therefore just create a dashboard within seconds.

Cons

The best is to have a well designed data model first or a data warehouse to pull the data and just do some of the latest transformation with the tool, that way you can get the most of it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

MicroStrategy Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Used for BI reporting capabilities. We were able to generate dynamic reports utilizing a plethora of fields determined by the business. Ability to drag and drop fields into columns or rows, drill down/expand, and export information as needed.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

My team uses MicroStrategy analytics to measure our success and create dashboards.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We can easily create new reports and dashboards, as well as visualizations that enable us to understand how our team is performing and where we can improve our results.

Cons

Some of the dashboards take quite a while to create. While they look beautiful when they are done, it takes too long to get them done, by which time some of the data is outdated.

Overall Rating
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review