App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Optimizely Logo

Optimizely

Website optimization platform with A/B & multivariate tests

see alternatives

(26)

Optimizely Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

97

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.97/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.
It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing.
Really enjoyed using Optimizely prior to their shift to enterprise. Found their platform very useful and some really good graphs that prevented me from ending split tests too early.
Is very basic ... when major changes are required, it starts to fail and the price is too high compared to the rest of the market for the product they offer.
Overwhelming amount of settings and dials to mess about with make it a little overkill for what we need.
The problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


97 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

tim S.

Marketing technology consultant

Online Media, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Ferrari of AB Testing Platforms

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Tim S.: Hi, my name's Tim, I'm a Web Analyst Manager. I give Optimizely four out of five stars. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Crystal I.

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Optimizely is the tool taught in CRO classes

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I took a CRO course this past year and Optimizely was the go-to A/B testing software. Here's why: #1: Super easy to use. You do not need to know how to code, anyone can set up a test and launch it same-day. #2: Super easy to understand data. Optimizely essentially analyzes your data for you. Obviously, you should know your stuff when it comes to statistical significance when to stop a test (hint:...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

catherine c.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent AB testing tool!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

With this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code. The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.

Cons

This software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Do not get it!

Reviewed a month ago

Terrible customer service. Tying you in to a 12-month contract plus 3 month notice period. So if you decide to stop using the platform in September 22, they make you pay until December 23. Surely this is not legal?

Pros

Nothing of note. It was a waste of money.

Cons

Too complicated to use. We have wasted our money getting it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chad W.

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest A/B Testing Platform Out There

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using Optimizely for over 2 years now. In my previous role I used another testing and targeting tool that was much more complex to use. Optimizely's user interface is intuitive and the statistical algorithms give you confidence in selecting a winner. The best part about Optimizely is it's support. They have a support line and they will work tirelessly until your issue is resolved. I recommend Optimizely's platform to anyone looking to increase web conversions or provide more personal web experiences.

Pros

- Easy to use - Support - Great UI - Statistical modeling - Large optimization community

Cons

The price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Optimizely Review great!

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our primary use for A/B testing on our website is to determine which experience leads to the highest number of leads submitted. We're also including it into the site's personalisation. We've used it in the past for last-minute updates when we didn't have the engineering resources to do so immediately.

Pros

With Optimizely, we've been able to conduct A/B tests without the assistance of our developer staff. After a brief period of acclimatization, you'll be ready to go.

Cons

The price is significantly higher than some of our direct competitors. In addition, doing a large number of tests at once might be time-consuming.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steven S.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MVT concepts and phase release features

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Optimizely primarily for data and headline testing. We have also used Optimizely to release in a phased manner to allow control testing of new features on a smaller section of users.

Pros

Ability to segment users based on attributes (such as age, location, and platform) and evaulate interface concepts, data and headline changes, as well as phased deployment of completed features. Rich dashboard to monitor experiments and provide data snapshots during a campaign.

Cons

App integration is more challenging than the script used for web, though there are client libraries in Swift, Java, and other languages to make this easier.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Art B.

Verified reviewer

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

optimizely - when you want to take AB testing to the next level.

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

I love how much you are able to change by yourself without asking developers for any help. small changes can make a big effort!

Cons

its not as good integrated with GA as GO.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zsolt M.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most advanced in its class

Reviewed 6 years ago

Optimizely is definitely the most advanced and widely referred to as "industry standard" conversion optimization tool currently on the market. It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.

Pros

Robust, trustworthy, flexible, huge user base, huge knowledge base

Cons

Expensive, but only if you're not using it to its full potential.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alexandra D.

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Still requires some features

Reviewed 3 years ago

A product you can rely on. Good documentation and fact customer support

Pros

Easy to use, reliable and an overall well though product. I use it daily and it is my to go recommandation for AB testing

Cons

The fact that the metrics can't be filtered down by propertries and that you can't create your custom metrics based on existing metrics and properties in the Full Stack version

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eric S.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Optimizely Simplifies the A/B Testing Process

Reviewed 5 years ago

Optimizely is a great software solution to address A/B testing and to improve your website!

Pros

In a previous job, I used Optimizely a little bit to A/B test our content (especially on our website) and it provided great insight into how people were interacting with our website and was vital to make necessary web and text changes.

Cons

Since I didn't know as much about A/B testing when I used Optimizely, I didn't completely know how to best use Optimizely's full range of features and I felt overwhelmed (which wouldn't be the case now).

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Airlines/Aviation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Optimizely is the easiest yet powerful A/B testing tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have ran optimizely for more than 2 years and getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, We have made some great sucessful test and started changing (more likely, creating) the testing culture. Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes to your website without knowing to much about web development. Overall its a great tool

Pros

Ease of use Customer support Code edition allowed CSS changing allowed Complete traffic control Results with statistical significance

Cons

Not reporting incremental revenue per product (just total revenue) Editor loading can be hard to get with proxy activated

CP
AvatarImg

Ciprian P.

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best A/B testing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best A/B testing tool in my opinion. Light footprint, no screen flickering for variants, experiments easy to set up using the integrated editor and code IDE.

Cons

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this software.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very powerful A/B Split Testing software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Optimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it. It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.

Pros

Their tech is flawless. They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data. Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.

Cons

It's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.

Cons

We had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great testing tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Optimizely is one heck of a tool that every marketer should use. Recommended.

Pros

As a marketer, I love Optimizely for several reasons. 1. It makes testing a piece of cake. 2. Optimizing a website or any landing page for conversions is one of the best things Optimizely offers you with. 3. It is extremely easy-to-use. 4. Real-time a/b testing lets you monitor any two landing pages for conversions, clicks, and more. 5. User-interface is amazingly intuitive.

Cons

1. It is expensive. Lowering the price a bit will make it affordable and a lot of startups and small businesses will then be able to use it. 2. It might hurt your site load time which will impact SERPs. So make sure what you prefer.

GJ
AvatarImg

Geoffrey J.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

No particular edge that justify the current pricing

Reviewed 9 months ago

It seems that it was at the top of it's game a few years ago. After testing a lot of the current solutions on the market, I can tell it's not true anymore. Sure, it's still an easy and robust solution to get started. But it's painful to setup advanced tests and you quickly get limited by the amount of tech you want to deal with. Support doesn't seem very helpful in those scenarios, which doesn't really help justify the pricing.

Pros

It's a fairly easy to use tool for split-testing your pages : Just install the code, edit your pages in the WYSIWYG editor directly then share your reports with a link for your team. There is also the API that looks interesting even though we couldn't put it to use in production during our trial. They have a great training library to get started or sharpen your CRO skills.

Cons

I couldn't find anything special that justified the high-end pricing (there are alternatives providing better bang for your bucks). Anything more advanced than text/image variations were hard to test (like dynamic elements, or different offer components, popups). Debugging the API is a nightmare, there are no clear error message and support can't really help on that matter.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Expensive, but does its job well

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

If you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.

Cons

Their test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).

TG
AvatarImg

Tim G.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product for mid to large sized web businesses

Reviewed 6 years ago

Optimizely is very easy to implement, and anyone can start experimenting with the product. To get the most value out of the product you will need to invest in managing a test backlog, test plans, and documenting the results of each experiment. It also helps to have someone with strong front-end development and JS skills to implement experiments as it opens up the capabilities of the product dramatically.

Pros

Easy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available

Cons

Hard to get to all the functionality without investing development resources

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ferrari of AB Testing Platforms

Reviewed a year ago

It's a good product, although I do believe they over sold it based on ease of use. Most tests we deploy require a developer since the GUI doesn't work well with the JS frameworks we utilize.

Pros

This product is really robust and you can do a number of things with it such as multivariate, A/B, and feature rollouts.

Cons

Optimizely is not cheap so you need to make sure you use it regularly to get the value out of it.

LW
AvatarImg

Laura W.

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.

Cons

I'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User-friendly AB Testing Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great AB Testing platform. Easy to integrate

Pros

We used the standard version of Optimizely for our website and campaign landing pages. It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing

Cons

The pricing model is too high as compared to other competitor products in the market. We did not renew our subscription after a year owing to this fact

JR
AvatarImg

Justin R.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services.

Reviewed 5 years ago

The ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!

Pros

Allows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.

Cons

For an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Absolutely the best solution in market... until they went enterprise focused

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall was a great platform and I miss using it since they've gone up market.

Pros

Really enjoyed using Optimizely prior to their shift to enterprise. Found their platform very useful and some really good graphs that prevented me from ending split tests too early!!

Cons

Too expensive now. I don't know anyone using it for this reason. Hard to justify the cost with other solutions in market like google optimize now.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

General usage of Optimizely

Reviewed 6 years ago

We're using Optimizely to confirm our improvement hypothesises and our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.

Pros

- Test setup is fast and easy, without using lots of time and effort. - Customisable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance. - Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms. - Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.

Cons

- The previews often never load - this could just be our network. - Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gianni G.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Optimizely is a great experimentation platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Optimizely makes it very easy to create the most appealing site for customers, because you can test several scenarios and determine the setup that has the highest conversion rate.

Cons

The problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.