App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Logo

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Self-service business intelligence (BI) platform

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

234

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.02/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

This product give us the ability to pull reports with ease. Once you have successfully composed a report, you are able to build on the structure as needed.
It's easy to use, the cost is less as compared to tableau or other BI products in the market and customer care is good.
Love how quick and easy it is to use this program. A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly.
I think this is more of how poorly our company rolled this product out, but we are struggling to get through it.
As with any new product there are bugs and errors. I have been frustrated at times with the newer software and sometimes even the more mature software can be frustrating.
Sometimes the layout of things was a little confusing or too cluttered for my taste. I would probably change the layout.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


234 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kevin R.

Product owner

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Old but easy to use and teach

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Kevin: This is Kevin. I'm a product owner. I give SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence rating of...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

KADir T.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SAP Business Objects Intelligience

Reviewed a year ago

SAP Business object is quite usefull follow up tool to track KPIs

Pros

KPI review is showing daily life of performance linked to IOT activities in the Industry 4.0 times

Cons

Due to re-planning of tasks , targets would be change in the operation. Follow up of changes and tracking of trend must be more visible with reasons why target is changed and until when old target was valid.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool for report automization, analysis and calculation

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's a very powerful tool to download data, however, requires some trainings for users.

Pros

It's intergrated in Microsoft Excel, so I can use all function of Excel on the data download by SAP Business Object. Normally we have to go to the web version of the reporting tool and download report one by one, but with SAP business Object (Analysis Office), we can insert the data source one time, format it, do calculation with it (using all other Excel function). The next time when you need to update the data. Just simply refresh data source in your formatted file. All data are refreshed while your calculation/format are still there. You can even write Excel VBA to load data with Analysis Office. It saves you a lot of time to download all reports based on different filter criterion.

Cons

First, it takes time to load if the data is too bid Second, there is a limit (55 000 lines) on Excel. You can, of course, change the limit, but not everybody knows how to do it (or allowed to do it) Thirdly, the prompts are not so well-designed and user-friendly. I normally have to scroll down a lot to find the filter. (imagine you have 10 different sheet, scrolling down will take long time). Fourthly, VBA and Analysis Office are quite complicated to use and the trouble-shooting is quite annoying.

AH
AvatarImg

Aaron H.

Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

SAP BusinessObjects for Administrators

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The system is able to interface and pull data from a very wide variety of data sources once configured and setup. The reports that come out from the system are very customization and the end users seem able to learn to write them fairly easily.

Cons

The amount of updates and complications of installing, configuring and getting the servers up and running can be time consuming. Updates are also a very tedious process ... these are all normal with a software package this large. The most end-user complaint would be the size of the PDF files, they can be quite large depending on the contents of the reports, which can quickly fill up an inbox.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The CRM (Customer Relationship Management) you need

Reviewed a year ago

in general SAP is a tool that combines both reliability and performance with a reactive customer support, wide functional coverage and it is rather scalable

Pros

The publication of certain financial and logistical information is very fast because all the data is available almost in real time.

Cons

Management tool requiring a relatively high learning curve

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence - Good Visualization tool for SAP Eco System

Reviewed a year ago

This tool served really well for ad-hoc reporting scenarios where its WebI component provided some very easy to use features to create ad-hoc reports on the data sets that were connected to Business Objects. Creating dashboards and other visualizations was fairly easy as well.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence connects seamlessly with SAP backend. It can connect very well to SAP BW, SAP ECC etc which is always a challenge for other non SAP tools.

Cons

Connecting to Non SAP databases need some additional efforts.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SAP BO BI Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is definitely a good tool for self service analytics and good for data preparation

Pros

For an SAP environment, this is best tool for reporting, since it can be connected effectively with SAP

Cons

The connectivity of this tool with non SAP tools is not straight forward or simple

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Front-end

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Using BOBJ has been light years better than previous database front-ends that I utilized, it is full of functions andhas a much more user friendly interface.

Cons

Many of the functions are at a more basic level and require you learning their program to be able to nest them together and get the results you're looking for.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tushar D.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Its has really good BI suite

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is good, main things is all five modules to taken care.

Pros

The Best 5 main modules : 1. Payable Accounts 2.Ledger 3.Cash Management 4.Assets generally Fixed. 5.Receivable Accounts

Cons

It has no such least like thing but, takes more time in database updates.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Nice Way to Interface with Data

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

SAP Business Objects provides a nice way to interface with data, allowing both power and flexibility through its structure.

Cons

With each new version there seems to be some flaw that needs to be corrected or feature that should be added and at an enterprise level it becomes difficult to continuously deploy the updates.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Olive t.

Food Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence review KPI monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

At first, the software is looking complicated, but using it very easier after passing an induction allow exporting data to another tool for further exploitation, good data cleaning and KPI monitoring easy to set up , handle and customize

Cons

the cost of the license is as high as it cant allow small-scale business to buy and use

PL
AvatarImg

Patrick L.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SAB BO Administration

Reviewed 5 years ago

Check every the status of all the services. Publish and schedule a report Create a report with Crystal Report Create triggers

Pros

Possibility to schedule a report with different parameter and send it by mail to different user. You can send a report in many format (xlsx, Pdf, etc) Triggers features when you schedule a report

Cons

Administration is not easy, many services to check every day. Consume a lot of Memory and CPU. In case of crash, the reinstallation is very difficult and too long.

DJ
AvatarImg

Dhruv J.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sap business object overall review

Reviewed 8 years ago

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise reciepent.

Pros

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise recipient.

Cons

Sap business object , for create the universe need knowldge of database and query and fundametals.

GG
AvatarImg

Guido G.

Furniture, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The perfect B.I. for mid-size companies

Reviewed a year ago

It has been used as main reporting tool of the company: all the teams used to receive the automatic reports in the morning and all teams had the capability to generate on-demand reports.

Pros

I appreciate above all its flexibility when I need to create ad hoc reports.It's very powerful, even if a bit complicated at the begining, and it really allows business users to drill down into data and get the information they need.

Cons

It requires an adequate training in order to use it at its best.It's a bit complicated, especially to understand all its functionalities and reporting capabilities.

PS
AvatarImg

Pawan S.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool for developing reports, but not quite nimble enough

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The overall architecture of BO XI (with UDT v14.2.7.3130) is intuitive to understand. Most of my experience, however, has been using it with derived tables for more flexibility in the clinical trial space. This is one of the features that I like because it allows me to not only deliver custom reports but also standardized reports that integrate data from different sources.

Cons

I think that BO's lack of OLAP functionality could use some beefing up. In my company, it's usually BO, Spotfire or Tableau that are used for reporting. If BO had OLAP capabilities, processes within the company that rely heavily on other tools may also change to account for that.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

powerful and customizable analytics

Reviewed 5 years ago

Establishing a culture of self service analytics within the organization with initial training and support as and when required.

Pros

SAP business objects is an easy to learn and use analytical tool especially in the context of self service analytics by end users. One is able to re-use the same query and also share the query with other users as well and modify the query at any given time for customization purposes. It is also fast.

Cons

As with any new tool, there is an initial learning curve to get ramped up - however there is fairly good documentation available for this purpose. In addition, need good network bandwidth especially when there are multiple users trying to run queries at the same time

BC
AvatarImg

Brittany C.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Used as Central Management Console

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We use SAP Business Objects in conjunction with Crystal Reports to provide web based links for our employees to run on their own within the constraints of the parameters. I like that it is easy to navigate and sort by file name. The organization of information is clear and straightforward and it is easy to customize how you want to see things.

Cons

I wish there were options to add certain columns to your view. For example if I want to sort by name or last update, I can, no problem. But if i want to get any details on frequency or last time a user ran a report, i have to either go into the settings or run a report.

MG
AvatarImg

Mithun G.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Cost Effective Simple Reporting Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I am having a mixed feeling with respect to Business Object Intelligence. I am neither satisfied nor dissatisfied.

Pros

In Business Objects the way you can build Universe and expose that as a self service tool for users to build their own reports gives it a cutting edge compared to other reporting tools. Being a SAP tool the customer support is good and it integrates well with other cloud platforms.

Cons

The look and feel is not that great and it cannot match the dashboard features which are present in other reporting tools like for example Tableau.

AT
AvatarImg

Ashmit T.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient Reporting

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Business Objects is one of the most efficient reporting software out there. It is fast, and its UI design makes use of any knowledge use the tool. It has its own server and file management tool which make using this software more productive.

Cons

To report using business objects, you have to have universes those are needed to be developed by your designers. There is a lack of functionality where the user can directly query off from SQL tables. The updates and patches those are rolled out by SAP are very slow.

IV
AvatarImg

Irv V.

Facilities Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, fast, and powerful software that has been an amazing asset for my team

Reviewed 7 years ago

The main benefit is a great UX interface that makes building queries easy, repeatable, and amazingly quick. The ability to run queries in the background as well as scheduled daily/weekly queries is a major selling point as well. You can act as your own data analyst for a small business without having to manually update your reports.

Pros

Much faster than manual queries and data pulls from our internal software The ability to build off of a saved query expedites all future queries Features including reoccurring queries and running queries in the background so it does not interfere with your current work

Cons

There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries, so there is some training involved Some of the "result objects" do not pull data but that may be our data sources, not the program itself

rs
AvatarImg

raphael s.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome platform to store information

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love SAP CRM, its very clear and detailed layout helps me work, however I wish it would stop crashing and run more effectively.

Pros

This is an Awesome platform to store information. It's easy to use and straightforward, and has information displayed very clearly which helps save lots of time when analyzing information.

Cons

This program often crashes or runs very slowly. Its frustrating at times because as we're trying the work, often times i cannot meet my objectives because the client becomes impatient and leaves.

LN
AvatarImg

Laurie N.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Business Objects embedded capabilities

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used Business Objects over nearly 10 years at 2 different corporations and generally was able to accomplish what I set out to do with it. Customer Service was usually able to point us in the right direction to resolve issues we ran into. I also like the Universe concept that facilitates combining the business and data layer for self-service reporting.

Pros

I liked that it could be embedded with single sign on with a transactional application in a SaaS environment. This enables companies to build the software they have domain knowledge in and take advantage of reporting capabilities that tools like Business Objects has.

Cons

It can sometimes be difficult to work through navigation issues when embedding the software. It requires someone to understand how to get into the toolkit, which has a learning curve.

SR
AvatarImg

Shiva R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is a very good transaction level analytical took that can be used in enterprises

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

facilitates self service and is user friendly to write queries with basic training of users thereby reducing reliance on central IT. Also data can be exported to excel/pdf etc.

Cons

This product works well when there is a data warehouse and data is regularly uploaded to the data warehouse so that users can write query and generate data from the query.

NU
AvatarImg

Navid U.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Enterprises Package

Reviewed 7 years ago

SAP Business Objects is a complete package that suits a large enterprises. From designing to visualization and delivering real time reports. This tool is always stands at top.

Pros

Easy to visualize raw data. Efficient in scheduling Reporting Low maintenance Worth for money

Cons

As other BI tools avaible in the market, this also lacks at some features and functionality

BS
AvatarImg

BARBIE S.

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

versatile program

Reviewed 4 years ago

overall it has been a game changer for our company

Pros

Love how quick and easy it is to use this program . A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly

Cons

sometimes the layout of things was a little confusing or too cluttered for my taste. i would probably change the layout

AS
AvatarImg

Aubree S.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Business Intelligence Solution for all sizes

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create reports on multiple business parameters from multiple external data sources.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects allows the company to integrate with external systems, such as SIMS Claims and Microsoft Office and combine data from these for business analytics and reporting functions. There is a drag-and-drop interface which allows you to create custom reports using the perimeters you want.

Cons

The drag-and-drop interface is sometimes difficult to use especially when working with a large amount of data. Once you use this program more, it seems to get easier to use.