SAS BI & Analytics Reviews

SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

4.29/5 (31 reviews)

Tapan Jain

SAS BI - Scalable and Comprehensive BI Tool

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's Visual Data Exploration capabilities to visualize the data and find patterns quickly is amazing. The features such as heat maps helps us understand where most of the traffic for an advertiser is coming from and helps the advertiser to target the customers more effectively. Creating Dashboards doesn't require a lot of technical know how and anyone can start making dashboards. Also, these dashboards and reports simplifies collaboration as different people are able to share their comments by directly commenting on the visuals or charts. Another feature which interests me is that it allows to integrate with other open source platforms like R.

Cons
Such a comprehensive set of features with a brand like SAS obviously comes with a price but I find the price to be over the top for the small and medium organizations. Only a few open source platforms are supported and lot of common ones used by a lot of smaller organizations have been left out. Further, user interface looks dated and needs a facelift to match other players like Tableau.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Donald Wildeboer

Very powerful, flexible, and works with all third parties we need.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-23
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Pros
The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Cons
The complexity and inconstancy of the product is not always the most desirable. Often times doing similar things requires very different approaches. SAS Business Intelligence has been around for such a long time that different "procs", as they are called in their system, often have extreme variance in syntax.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

My job is to test the best BI software and make sales advice,this program is suitable for the market

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-04-10
Review Source: Capterra

It is one of the most intuitive software I've ever tried, very user friendly and very efficient (both usability and ease)

Pros
Excellent visualization tools such as heat maps, all in all is an easy software because it does not require long training sessions (for the front end is very intuitive), everyone can do dashboard autonomously (once the programmer has prepared the cloud data and standard fields). Excellent feature that allows users to share comments directly on the charts (on the Qlik suite is not possible for example)

Cons
It would be interesting to add the tool to create stories, or dynamic presentations (such as power point), obviously the price is high (like the most BI software), so it makes the software suitable only for large companies. The minimum requirements for accommodating the engine on the server are high

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

powerful tool for data analytics and data visualization

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-16
Review Source: GetApp

I have a great experience with this tool as this is very easy to use and EDA(Exploratory Data Analysis) through charts are very much effective and attractive

Pros
Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high.

Cons
Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

Powerful but dated

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-05
Review Source: Capterra

Good stuff. Dated but works. Nothing to brag about, but checks all the right boxes

Pros
SAS is what started the party. It's so much faster than the legacy of Cobol and mainframe based packages. Love the advanced features and the power.

Cons
Licences are expensive. If you are using SQL you miss Moss of the raw power. SAS procs arenot the most I tuitive. And most importantly, newer packages re after 10x or more quicker. Eg. IBM aginity netezza

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Piyush Gambhir

SAS Business Intelligence Suite is an extra ordinary software to deal with everythng related to data

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

It is complete BI suite. You can do everything with Data.

Pros
I am using this since last 8 years and you can do everything with data using SAS BI. I have used it for ETL, reports and for modelling but we can created dashboards and so many other other things.

Cons
Biggest disadvantage is cost factor. SAS is quite costly and small organisations cannot really afford it. Now we have freewares in market like python and R replacing SAS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

SAS VA is very easy to use. Drag and drop interface to create charts and tables.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-07-23
Review Source: Capterra

Better decision making. Getting more from our data. Do not need to think about all the possibilities before publishing charts and tables: let the user decide.

Pros
Very easy to use. All necessary charts are there, and more. It is very simple to add data and then to add more calculated fields. Since data is in memory, everything is fast. You make a change to a filter and your new chart is there. You can start with the Visual Analytics module, and grow from there.

Cons
The security features, which seems more than adequate, are sometimes harder to use. It is not easy to see what amount of storage your are currently using with all the stocked data.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

Its Usable

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-03
Review Source: Capterra

its has various functions, however, its is not easy to use

Pros
- SAS provides advanced analytics of data in an organization - It can also provide predictive analytics of data - It can be used to monitor money laundering in a financial system - Users can setup alerts when suspicious transactions are identified

Cons
- It is not easy to use. Too complicated for new users to understand without help - Integration to an organisations system takes time

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Larry Burns

The best of the best

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-15
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support.

Cons
I cannot think of many cons for this product. The only thing that might be considered a con is the server architecture required.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Akash gupta

A treat to the eyes while looking upon the pretty dashboards

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-13
Review Source: Software Advice

A better deal in comparison to MS Excel. Also better than Tableau reader but somewhat lesser than Tableau full package.

Pros
It is easy to use and very handy. One can make stunning dashboards using it without much expertise. It is equally good for novice and pro. Data connection process is smooth. Overall 4/5

Cons
Support is not up to the mark. Installation is messy but that is only for single time. Interface doesn't look that good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Scott Bellefeuille

Incredible

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-02-28
Review Source: Capterra

This product is the best there is. very user friendly. and very efficient. The ui is so easy to use. Love this product.

Pros
easy

Cons
Nothing yet, but I will certainly be vocal, if I have a bad experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Jason Laso

SAS Enterprise Guide

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-12-29
Review Source: Capterra

Great for building process flows for projects and managing data.

Pros
Great for building process flows. Easy to use for people with no programming background.

Cons
For as nice as it is for people without a programming background, it can also be a hindrance for those of us who do. Sometimes the flexibility to do things is not there.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

martino basso

I used this platform for some years in my previous work experience as administrator/developer user.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- a real user friendly tool - wide range of software and different types of installation - great customer support

Cons
- Considering the costs, maybe not so accessible (quite high license price) compared to other statistical software but anyway the quality of the tools is really high.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Steven Kohl

Sas for business analytics

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-05
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using SAS since the 1980's We like it, but find it pricy for a small firm such as ourselves

Pros
Feature rich

Cons
Tough to learn

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Prajakta Dhanawade

BI with Analytics

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-01-27
Review Source: Software Advice

SAS visual analytics is a great tool. The quality of analytics is way better than the competitors like power bi, qlikview and others, along with decent visualizations.

Pros
Amazing Analytics

Cons
Can have better visualizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Onur Polat

SAS : Kind of heavy analytical tool

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-10
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
It has lots of out-of-box packages. Before open-source era it was some kind of industry standart. It plays well with big data.

Cons
Open source platforms are becoming popular. It's still too expensive. Post-sales support is not good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Richard Bemile

sas base review

Reviewed 2017-02-28
Review Source: Capterra

It's really been awesome. As I can remember, I told a colleague sometime back, before I got into SAS that, his problem would have been better solved if i had a package with programming abilities, as he wanted me to do some analysis for him. I found out later when I got into SAS that, it was exactly the package I was talking about. I haven't regretted at all using SAS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Nadia Mendieta

Top software for big data analytics

Reviewed 2017-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

SAS has a wide range of products, making it kind of complex, but at the same time powerful and adaptive. now they're moving to the cloud, and that it's going to make things faster,and lighter. I 've worked with them for many years, and I wouldn't change. Also service support is more than great here in Spain.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

SAS a good tool?

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-19
Review Source: Capterra

Good tool and should be used.

Pros
The Best thing about this tool is you can almost all sort of analysis even if you don`t have an IT background. Powerful in visualization. Easy to use. Great customer support team.

Cons
As compared to R and python its use is limited. I can do much more accurate analysis with R. Also there is cost factor too. Its price is very high.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Henry Martinez

Prepare dashboard and reports for ongoing campaigns

Reviewed 2016-09-15
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The analytical power of the multiple options linked to different modules

Cons
It is expensive and the product itself is far from the top ones on its category. the graphics look like created in excel and the interface is not the most user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

A W

SAS is a Great Tool, but Lacks Compared to Other Products

Reviewed 2016-10-12
Review Source: Capterra

SAS is a great statistical software tool, but really lacks compared to other software out there. I find R and Python to be just as easy to use and are available for free. Looking at cost, R is superior to SAS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Olayinka Awoyemi

Excellent with no objection

Reviewed 2017-02-28
Review Source: Capterra

This software is excellent in relation to every segment of business intelligence. It covers every aspect of our business and provides the opportunity synergize.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Anonymous

SAS

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2018-11-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use, interface, powerful and effective

Cons
Very high price, need more cheaper package s

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Prabh jot Singh

SAS Visual Analytics

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Software Advice

I use SAS visual analytics tool and it is really handy. It offers a lot of functionalities like analytics which is limited in other BI Tools.

Pros
Great for analytics

Cons
There can be improvements on the analytics front.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS

Barry Koklefsky

Capacity for Huge Data Sets Good for Actuaries

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-02-01
Review Source: Software Advice

SAS has the capacity to handle large amounts of data from disparate sources and process that data seamlessly. Data sets of one billion records can be handled routinely by SAS. Further, the power of SAS's statistical tools is invaluable for actuaries that require a Business Intelligence tool to go beyond the 'sales by region' data visualization to provide predictive modeling functionality.

Pros
The commitment to quality and innovation by the SAS organization that stands behind the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SAS BI & Analytics

A suite of integrated BI and Analytics solutions from SAS