App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

SAS Visual Analytics Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

40

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.12/10

Reviews by rating

Top 3 alternatives

Pros and cons

I have a great experience with this tool as this is very easy to use and EDA(Exploratory Data Analysis) through charts are very much effective and attractive.
This software is excellent in relation to every segment of business intelligence. It covers every aspect of our business and provides the opportunity synergize.
Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high.
The SAS team stated our original technical onboarding person had an illness or emergency and then we didn't hear back with a new contact [SENSITIVE CONTENT] until about a month later.
However, it is just functional. Any customization on plots are difficult and requires you to understand intricacies of SAS Graph package.
I came from non-coding back ground so it was very tough for me. when i learnt R, I was worried more and then shifted to SAS.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Donald W.

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very powerful, flexible, and works with all third parties we need.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Pros

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Cons

The complexity and inconstancy of the product is not always the most desirable. Often times doing similar things requires very different approaches. SAS Business Intelligence has been around for such a long time that different "procs", as they are called in their system, often have extreme variance in syntax.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tapan J.

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SAS BI - Scalable and Comprehensive BI Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's Visual Data Exploration capabilities to visualize the data and find patterns quickly is amazing. The features such as heat maps helps us understand where most of the traffic for an advertiser is coming from and helps the advertiser to target the customers more effectively. Creating Dashboards doesn't require a lot of technical know how and anyone can start making dashboards. Also, these dashboards and reports simplifies collaboration as different people are able to share their comments by directly commenting on the visuals or charts. Another feature which interests me is that it allows to integrate with other open source platforms like R.

Cons

Such a comprehensive set of features with a brand like SAS obviously comes with a price but I find the price to be over the top for the small and medium organizations. Only a few open source platforms are supported and lot of common ones used by a lot of smaller organizations have been left out. Further, user interface looks dated and needs a facelift to match other players like Tableau.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brad C.

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SAS Visual Analytics Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I like the ability to quickly pick up the software and gain insights about our data, as well as its ability to plug seamlessly with the SAS products used by our institution. The dashboard canvas is easy to navigate in a minimal amount of time and easy-to-find tutorials teach advanced functions.

Cons

I dislike the adaptive canvas sometimes. In other BI tools, the canvas resizes reasonable to the end-users resolution but there are times that SAS VA makes images used on these canvas' either too small or too large.

SS
AvatarImg

Sai S.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

SAS Misrepresentative Sales Team

Reviewed 7 months ago

We love the software, however our experience with the sales team and return on our price point has been very negative.

Pros

The software itself is very versatile and is extremely equipped for Cloud Based setup and use.

Cons

We are a women and minority owned small business who were extremely excited to become SAS software users in 2021. In spite of the high upfront cost to our small business (we paid $14,000+ for a year or use), we received a notification our software would be expiring less than five months after we had been connected to our technical setup representatives and had the software for less than six months....

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share a business review; your feedback is important to us. We're so sorry you weren't satisfied with your SAS experience and want to follow up if you'd like to email SAS_Cares@sas.com to ensure you receive the support you need. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our customer experience and look forward to assisting you.

DM
AvatarImg

David M.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wuss drm

Reviewed 3 months ago

Very positive

Pros

Very intuative interface and functionality makes sense

Cons

Costly my not be getting good value for pirice

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SAS for data wrangling

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am working as a full-time SAS developer in my current organization. SAS is easy to use and good for data wrangling purposes. If your primary goal if to work on model development I would prefer other languages like python and R which has numerous libraries and free to use.

Pros

I worked as a Data wrangler and data scientist in my current organization. I like the ecosystem and customer support of SAS. It is easy to learn if you have basics SQL knowledge. It is faster than python/R. Preferred over open source if data privacy is a concern.

Cons

The user community is not so great as compared with another open-source. SAS is pretty expensive so companies are now switching to open sources like python and R.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful but dated

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good stuff. Dated but works. Nothing to brag about, but checks all the right boxes

Pros

SAS is what started the party. It's so much faster than the legacy of Cobol and mainframe based packages. Love the advanced features and the power.

Cons

Licences are expensive. If you are using SQL you miss Moss of the raw power. SAS procs arenot the most I tuitive. And most importantly, newer packages re after 10x or more quicker. Eg. IBM aginity netezza

PG
AvatarImg

Piyush G.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SAS Business Intelligence Suite is an extra ordinary software to deal with everythng related to data

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is complete BI suite. You can do everything with Data.

Pros

I am using this since last 8 years and you can do everything with data using SAS BI. I have used it for ETL, reports and for modelling but we can created dashboards and so many other other things.

Cons

Biggest disadvantage is cost factor. SAS is quite costly and small organisations cannot really afford it. Now we have freewares in market like python and R replacing SAS.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason L.

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SAS Enterprise Guide

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great for building process flows for projects and managing data.

Pros

Great for building process flows. Easy to use for people with no programming background.

Cons

For as nice as it is for people without a programming background, it can also be a hindrance for those of us who do. Sometimes the flexibility to do things is not there.

AT
AvatarImg

Ahmed T.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing software!

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Ease of use makes it top of the list in the industry

Cons

Not as optimized as preferred, hopefully it gets more efficient

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My job is to test the best BI software and make sales advice,this program is suitable for the market

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is one of the most intuitive software I've ever tried, very user friendly and very efficient (both usability and ease)

Pros

Excellent visualization tools such as heat maps, all in all is an easy software because it does not require long training sessions (for the front end is very intuitive), everyone can do dashboard autonomously (once the programmer has prepared the cloud data and standard fields). Excellent feature that allows users to share comments directly on the charts (on the Qlik suite is not possible for example)

Cons

It would be interesting to add the tool to create stories, or dynamic presentations (such as power point), obviously the price is high (like the most BI software), so it makes the software suitable only for large companies. The minimum requirements for accommodating the engine on the server are high

km
AvatarImg

kala mallik m.

Fishery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

user friendly software

Reviewed a year ago

i came from non-coding back ground so it was very tough for me. when i learnt R, I was worried more and then shifted to SAS. The SAS is very easy to use and user friendly, no need to type every line unlike R software. Easy to analyze the large data, easy to recognize the mistakes and it took very less time to learn compared to R. I would recommend SAS for software analysis and data visualization. This is the best software in terms of analyzing the data expeditiously.

Pros

No need to type every code like R software. sas is helpful in predicting the codes and very easy to operate when compared to R software. Also its very easy to identify the mistake in case if we g wrong.

Cons

there is no cons, easy to start, follow the instructions, user friendly.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

powerful tool for data analytics and data visualization

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have a great experience with this tool as this is very easy to use and EDA(Exploratory Data Analysis) through charts are very much effective and attractive

Pros

Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high.

Cons

Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SAS VA is very easy to use. Drag and drop interface to create charts and tables.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Better decision making. Getting more from our data. Do not need to think about all the possibilities before publishing charts and tables: let the user decide.

Pros

Very easy to use. All necessary charts are there, and more. It is very simple to add data and then to add more calculated fields. Since data is in memory, everything is fast. You make a change to a filter and your new chart is there. You can start with the Visual Analytics module, and grow from there.

Cons

The security features, which seems more than adequate, are sometimes harder to use. It is not easy to see what amount of storage your are currently using with all the stocked data.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Its Usable

Reviewed 4 years ago

its has various functions, however, its is not easy to use

Pros

- SAS provides advanced analytics of data in an organization - It can also provide predictive analytics of data - It can be used to monitor money laundering in a financial system - Users can setup alerts when suspicious transactions are identified

Cons

- It is not easy to use. Too complicated for new users to understand without help - Integration to an organisations system takes time

LB
AvatarImg

Larry B.

Primary/Secondary Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best of the best

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support.

Cons

I cannot think of many cons for this product. The only thing that might be considered a con is the server architecture required.

pc
AvatarImg

prathibha c.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was okay tool. The data queries built using data builder will break in UI, if you update the underlinig code.

Pros

Free customer support. Reports load fast using Visual analytics, because the data is readily available in the memory

Cons

Installation or configuration can never be fully automated, as it always involves manual steps. Sometimes hotfixes/patches might not come in timely manner

Ag
AvatarImg

Akash g.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A treat to the eyes while looking upon the pretty dashboards

Reviewed 5 years ago

A better deal in comparison to MS Excel. Also better than Tableau reader but somewhat lesser than Tableau full package.

Pros

It is easy to use and very handy. One can make stunning dashboards using it without much expertise. It is equally good for novice and pro. Data connection process is smooth. Overall 4/5

Cons

Support is not up to the mark. Installation is messy but that is only for single time. Interface doesn't look that good.

SB
AvatarImg

Scott B.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredible

Reviewed 6 years ago

This product is the best there is. very user friendly. and very efficient. The ui is so easy to use. Love this product.

Pros

easy

Cons

Nothing yet, but I will certainly be vocal, if I have a bad experience.

mb
AvatarImg

martino b.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I used this platform for some years in my previous work experience as administrator/developer user.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- a real user friendly tool - wide range of software and different types of installation - great customer support

Cons

- Considering the costs, maybe not so accessible (quite high license price) compared to other statistical software but anyway the quality of the tools is really high.

SK
AvatarImg

Steven K.

Warehousing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Sas for business analytics

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been using SAS since the 1980's We like it, but find it pricy for a small firm such as ourselves

Pros

Feature rich

Cons

Tough to learn

PD
AvatarImg

Prajakta D.

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BI with Analytics

Reviewed 6 years ago

SAS visual analytics is a great tool. The quality of analytics is way better than the competitors like power bi, qlikview and others, along with decent visualizations.

Pros

Amazing Analytics

Cons

Can have better visualizations.

OP
AvatarImg

Onur P.

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

SAS : Kind of heavy analytical tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It has lots of out-of-box packages. Before open-source era it was some kind of industry standart. It plays well with big data.

Cons

Open source platforms are becoming popular. It's still too expensive. Post-sales support is not good.

RB
AvatarImg

Richard B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

sas base review

Reviewed 6 years ago

It's really been awesome. As I can remember, I told a colleague sometime back, before I got into SAS that, his problem would have been better solved if i had a package with programming abilities, as he wanted me to do some analysis for him. I found out later when I got into SAS that, it was exactly the package I was talking about. I haven't regretted at all using SAS.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

NM
AvatarImg

Nadia M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Top software for big data analytics

Reviewed 6 years ago

SAS has a wide range of products, making it kind of complex, but at the same time powerful and adaptive. now they're moving to the cloud, and that it's going to make things faster,and lighter. I 've worked with them for many years, and I wouldn't change. Also service support is more than great here in Spain.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review