App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Zyte Logo

Zyte

We’re the central point of entry for all your web data needs

see alternatives

(3)

Zyte Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.11/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The integration (scrapy + scrapinghub) its really good, from a simple deployment through a library or a docker makes it suitable for any need. Good support and constant improvement on the platform.
Scrapy is amazing, python api is easy to use, job dashboard is easy to understand, good documentation and code.
The effectiveness - it simply works better and is more consistent than other proxies.
There is no real-time UI that you can look whats happening inside Splash. We created few tickets about the errors we were getting, they respond after 10+ days for a single ticket.
Worst thing I have ever used in my Software Engineering career.
I know this is not the fault of scrapinghub, but it is a big pain. And I know you have a service Crawlera for this purpose, but it is quite expensive.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aminah N.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

When it just works

Reviewed 4 years ago

It makes me work really fast but still secure for my clients. I look really professional even though what I did was only suggesting and installing Crawlera. It's awesome!

Pros

It really saves my time as a web scraping specialists. I always need rotated proxies for my client needs. I keep creating a new project and it is a lot of hassle of I have to buy proxies, renew proxies, and create proxy rotation on my own. I am glad I don't even need to think about it. It just works!

Cons

Well, it's just doesn't have enough advanced documentation on Scrapy Splash combined with Crawlera. Their development team in Github is very responsive though.

TS
AvatarImg

Tushar S.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best data extraction & automated proxy service

Reviewed 9 months ago

We chose Zyte after testing all leading proxy and data extraction solutions on the web. The service is extremely reliable, rapidly scalable and has the lowest latency amongst its peers. Support teams are extremely responsive even on weekends and we've never been let down.

Pros

- Reliable & consistent (highest uptime) - Lowest latency - Lowest resolution errors - Excellent customer support

Cons

- Pricing can be improved - IP availability in non-US locations can be improved

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gennaro M.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

They don't promise what they sell.

Reviewed a year ago

I bought a $ 349 Advanced plan to get 200 concurrent requests. In their free trial, the response times are very low - about a few seconds. After purchasing the plan instead the requests together applied a delay on purpose thus canceling the potential of concurrent requests. In fact, it's like doing about 5/6 per second. After contacting their technical support, after a week, they tell me that an upgrade...

Pros

Ease of installation and integration with API

Cons

They don't respect what they communicate in the service.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Neil Joseph Y.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Relatively Easy To Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our company, whatoplay.com, aggregates data from multiple sources around the world. Since we started using Crawlera, we haven't really encountered big issues. Our common ones in the last 6 months is just reaching our limit, so we just had to increase our plan.

Pros

We're only using Crawlera for our data scraping needs and it has worked seamlessly since we started using it in 2016. When we had to upgrade to a higher limit, the transition was fast, and no dev time was wasted updating our existing codebase.

Cons

Pricing can be a bit tricky especially if your need is right in between the plans.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

🤖 Curtis B.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing product - can't get any better for speedy data mining

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience with them has been stellar, I will likely be a customer for life.

Pros

I like scalability. Sometimes we need to submit millions of requests immediately and with Scrapinghub we can really put the pedal to the metal. We rarely have downtime, and it's really allowed us to grow our company and thrive. Easy to integrate into scrapy and other python tools.

Cons

Their billing support can be moody, but the product is fantastic!!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jose Iram d.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

K-LIX

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have a good experience with scrappinhumb, in a matter of minutes I can develop and publish a new spider.

Pros

The software delivers the exactly promised result. It has a friendly interface and an efficient support.

Cons

You need a roadmap of new features and the pricing of third-party services.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review. All new features will be announced in our Support Center.(https://support.scrapinghub.com/support/home) We also have an Ideas Forum (https://support.scrapinghub.com/support/discussions/forums/22000200101) where we would love your input on ideas or new features you would like to see. We appreciate all input from our Customers to continue to help us improve our products.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carlos B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall 10

Reviewed 4 years ago

Started using it 2 years ago, learning curve totally rely on the framework because the cloud platform is pretty intuitive, self explanatory and easy to use. Whenever I needed support I have been response fast and with a favorable solution.

Pros

A full integrated platform for a framework well done for it purpose. Easy to use, based on others frameworks structure, so if you are used to web development in python then it's a piece of cake to create spiders. The integration (scrapy + scrapinghub) its really good, from a simple deployment through a library or a docker makes it suitable for any need. Good support and constant improvement on the platform. A lot of plugins and, open to any feature needed.

Cons

So far there is nothing I dislike about it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mikhail K.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Why do you need that title?

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use and recommend that platform for years for my customers which need production-ready enterprise-grade data scraping systems.

Pros

- Original and flexible technology - No vendor-lock - Easy to use for professionals - Pretty convenient API system for integration with third-party solutions

Cons

- Not so easy to use by non-professional IT person that still wants to use data scraping - Lack of ability to create some kind of simple and clear user interface for such a persons - No simple solution for distributed/high-volume crawling - Lack of monitoring and alerting, non convenient logging system - Overpriced Crawlera

Vendor response

Thank you for your review we appreciate all customer feedback. We do have a managed service offering for non IT professional who want access to the Data without having any scraping skills.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mikko G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love Crawlera

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am very happy with Scrapinghub. Whenever I need to run a small scraper that I can't run on my laptop (since I don't leave it turned on 24/7), I just run it on Scrapy Cloud. Meanwhile, Crawlera is just the best!

Pros

I have been using Scrapy and Scrapinghub's services since 2013 and I'm so far very satisfied with their services. Crawlera, their proxy service, works very well! I don't have to setup a proxy farm anymore or configure my scrapers to point to thousands of proxy services as they do all the grunt work for you (it's all automated).

Cons

Minor hiccups from time to time on the dashboard. It only affects me when I want to see historical stats but this problem doesn't affect functionality.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris B.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Scrapinghub allows me to do things other proxy servers don't do.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Scrapinghub gives my business higher quality raw data so my clients get better results.

Pros

This software allows me to access 97% of the web resources I need. Other proxy servers I have used gave me 75% maximum.

Cons

That its a time based subscription. I would prefer being able to buy a certain number of requests and renew when those run out.

Vendor response

Thanks you for your review and input on our pricing model - we appreciate all customer feedback and have fed this into our product team for review.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, reliable and powerful service

Reviewed 4 years ago

Never had a problem, and customer services always replied to our requests promptly, and with attention to detail.

Pros

We are very happy with Crawlera. It works like a charm with our Scrapy projects, just adding a few lines of code we completely forgot about proxies that ended up failing anyway.

Cons

Some requests end up being very slow, but good news is most of them end up going through.

KK
AvatarImg

Kristopher K.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic If You Know How To Use It

Reviewed 4 years ago

Portia aside, I highly recommend this platform. It's cheap and works really well. If you know how to use Scrapy, this is easier than launching a bunch of VMs, etc. and relatively inexpensive. I knock Portia because I wanted it to work, and it will with A LOT of patience, but, if you know your way around Python and Scrapy, this is the scraping cloud platform for you! Again, there technical support has been great for me. Most of my issues have been stupid mistakes by me, but they are happy to help in a reasonable time frame (usually under 24 hours/ under 8 hours in my experience).

Pros

- Works perfectly as long as you do not need Portia - Fast - Many available features in one place - It fulfills my scraping needs well - EXCELLENT technical support

Cons

- Portia (beta) is almost unusable. I got a couple very basic programs out of it before I taught myself how to use Scrapy. Still, if you are looking for a value and have time to deal with the lag/hiccups in Portia, it is by far the best value for a simple point and click scrapying platform that I found. You can make it work, you will just want to put your head through the screen before you are done...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

scrapy review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Scrapinghub has enabled us to streamline the scraping process for our company and sets the foundation for future scaling. I like the fact that scrapyhub handles the "Ops" part of scraping like provisioning cloud resources, staging data, and rotating IP addresses.

Pros

Scrapy is amazing, python api is easy to use, job dashboard is easy to understand, good documentation and code.

Cons

Dynamic pages sometimes hard to scrape, nothing wrong with lua (for splash) as a language, but can be minor barrier to entry for python/javascript users.

JR
AvatarImg

Jim R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Zyte is Helpful

Reviewed a year ago

Great company and solid people.

Pros

We love everything about Zyte. The only flaw is that the "back end" is very closed and debugging can be difficult.

Cons

Not easy to "get to details". The back end of the processing is very closed.

GG
AvatarImg

Gil Gbzy I.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for scraping

Reviewed 4 years ago

The best out there for any kind of scraping need. They new AI based scraping api is a game changer

Pros

The best out there for any kind of scraping need. They new AI based scraping api is a game changer

Cons

Nothing bad about it. Beats the competition out of the water

SF
AvatarImg

Stefano F.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing crawling solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

Coming from a "legacy" environment where everything was build from scratch I have to say that my experience with Scrapinghub is really positive. I started using some more advanced features such as ItemLoaders, Middleware etc.

Pros

Scrapinghub is so easy to use. With few setups you're ready to build your first spider. The integration with github and other addons (such as crawlera) makes things even easier to manage code deploy and proxy network management. Support for Python 3 is also a great improvement

Cons

I'm still in early days with scrapinghub and at the moment did not see any big issues to take into account. One things that comes in my mind to be improved is the documentation.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review we appreciate all customer feedback and are constantly looking to have better documentation with continuous improvements underway. If you see any issues in our current documentation we would love to hear from you. Please submit via our Support Center.(https://support.scrapinghub.com/support/home)

iz
AvatarImg

isaac z.

Insurance, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

good for scraping

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

it helps a lot to avoid the self-hosted spiders, this is the primary reason I like it. and I know it is developing to make it more ease to use, like github integration, however I have set up the CI tools to publish the spider automatically for every code change, so I don't use it.

Cons

however it is always a pain that it is more difficult to bypass the bot detection, especially for big website, like amazon, and the other websites protected by Distil. I know this is not the fault of scrapinghub, but it is a big pain. and I know you have a service Crawlera for this purpose, but it is quite expensive.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review we appreciate all customer feedback. We agree and antibot research is something we are also focused on to help our customers.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great proxy and scraping utils with superb support

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I use the crawlera proxy system from Scarpinghub. It is very straightforward to use and results are great.

Cons

No cons until now. Once in a while a server/IP gets banned but they have a big pool of IPs to serve you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Scrapinghub

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I use the Python scrapy module to write crawlers to monitor competitors prices. The integration with Github makes it real easy to deploy code to the hub. The dashboards are very useful to monitor progress and schedule jobs. Really happy with this offering.

Cons

In the beginning it was somewhat cumbersome to automate data extraction. Once I started using Python scrapinghub module life became easy. So also a pro!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alfredo J.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Still leading on a more competitive space

Reviewed 8 months ago

It just works, except on cloudflare protected sites, you will need to add more expensive services or tricks. Tech support is very helpful and keep improving with new services.

Pros

Their cloud proxy service, combined with scrapy is still a just-works, with ip rotation from different geolocations.

Cons

Their other offers are expensive, even with the increasing competition. It needs a lot of work for many sites using cloud flare protection.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Diego E.

Program Development, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Shub Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

From what I've used (basic spiders) it has been great, the page is really easy to use and the cli makes deploying easy.

Pros

Open source, well documented and very efficient.

Cons

Splash needs to be migrated to another tool IMO. I don't find LUA easy to work with as a developer; not because of the language but debugging and maintaining code is really hard. If you use scrapy-splash there is a black box that cannot interact with. I think going mainstream with javascript or python whilst unifying browser scrapping and scrapy itself would be an amazing decision. So, overall I would love to see a merge between scrapy and a browser scraper.

BD
AvatarImg

BRUNO D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best crawler service plataform

Reviewed 4 years ago

Crawlera is a great platform for crawler. I used it for 2 years in my business and jobs.

Pros

Your reliability an trust about proxy ip list.

Cons

You payment method just accept international credit cards. I used it from Brazil.

TR
AvatarImg

Tim R.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just Eat Client

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good, they are responsive and professional. Would recommend.

Pros

As a business once you hit a certain size it makes sense outsourcing webscraping. Scrapinghub has the required specialism to do a good job.

Cons

Still needs involved work from the client side to ensure data quality and consistency.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review we appreciate all customer feedback. We agree and data quality is very important to us as well. We are constantly looking to improving our QA framework and working with our customers to ensure consistent data quality.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aris G.

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Scrapinghub for Scalable Scraping

Reviewed 2 years ago

Providing data, analytics, visualizations and reports of the competitors and the local market competitors to our customers as a service thanks to Crawlera.

Pros

We use Crawlera to scrape data and provide data analytics and limited search results to some of our customers that want data from their competitors, as well as the price changes of their competitors on product price comparing platforms. Fortunately we don't have to worry about proxies because Crawler handles all that for us.

Cons

The prices are not affordable for smaller companies. For a big company that manages big data the prices are fine.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex S.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best way to host your scrapers

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use. Great dashboards for monitoring jobs. Very competitive pricing. Friendly customer service.

Cons

There's very little to complain about with Scrapinghub - it's genuinely a really great product!