This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Segment Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tracking hub

Reviewed 2 years ago

Segment is great - great support & documentation. It's very reliable, covering all your third-party integrations. It saved us a lot of time and stress.

Pros

+ works like a hub (midware software) for all you tracking events/properties + reliable + great monitoring + great retry policies if destination is down + good documentation + great support

Cons

- premium features like Event segmentation only on Enterprise plan (expensive)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Segment.io

Reviewed 5 years ago

Segment.io is a customer data hub collecting data from various SaaS tools. You could also integrate Google Analytics and other web analytics tools. It could be also used over Google Tag Manager.

Pros

Easy to get all customer together. Enables to get to own your data in raw format Accessible via BI Tools like Tableau

Cons

Problems with mobile enviornment. Setup takes time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quick and practical ETL solution

Reviewed 10 months ago

Good experience overall. A great out of the box and flexible solution.

Pros

Easy to use and has great customer service and support.

Cons

Had to do manual re-syncs for certain formulaic fields.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dynamic and simple Data integration

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Segment is an amazing tool for gathering and data integration among different data sources and consumers. It allows to for easy setting up between multiple platforms with little to no code needed Good and comprehensive documentation.

Cons

The debug tools could use more features and the initial implementation requires a slight learning curve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple but powerful

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Ease of use and wide varity of destinations and sources.

Cons

Somethimes it is hard to debug or know what is happening if something goes wrong.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment is in incredibly powerful tool that allows you to stitch your analytics together seamlessly.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Segment allowed us to bring together all of our website analytics into one central, easy-to-manage place.

Pros

Segment creates a central hub for all of your analytics calls for any website or app. Instead of having to manually configure tons of analytics JavaScript libraries that all step on each other, Segment brings them all together to one place, with one central API for your customer and analytics data.

Cons

Segment is powerful but can get expensive at scale. That being said, nothing beats its easy syntax and seamless installation. It works really well all of the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A fine tool to to manage and centralise all data

Reviewed a year ago

Experience is great. It helped me by saving me a lot of time. I integrated it in a React Native app and then I was able to decide where I wanted to send all collected data, forgetting about putting every connection in the code.

Pros

The ability of centralise all data in the same tool is the best. You can forget about setting so many different tracking tool and pixels in your web or app. Just by connecting it with Segment you can decide where to send that data.

Cons

Although it has pretty neat features and connections, sometimes integrations may fail for specific events. It's not a common thing but can happens. Anyways, it is fixable and worth the trouble.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Segment works for us

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

We have many systems, this allowed us to finally combine all our information and use it in places like automated email. Without it our automations would not be as robust.

Cons

Always features that can be improved. Certain resolutions to bad data were a challenge to make work. Not always the product's problem, but features that would have improved the ease of use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A missed opportunity

Reviewed 6 months ago

We've recently trying to adopt this tool in order to automate some internal integrations, but due to the fact that some features are strictly uncustomizable, we're decided to leave. The tool looks great at all, but can't fit all the needs

Pros

It provides full detailed documentation and a few ready SDK that helps a lot of dev to quickly implement this tool inside the platform

Cons

Custom integration or customization is really hard to do, third parties implementation sometimes lack some essential feature that would become a hard blocker during the integration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Analytics ... look no further

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This tool is like none other and is AMAZING...if you are struggling with what analytic tool to use...use this one to implement your events and then skip the data off to any tool with dev involvement. SWEET!!!

Cons

There aren't really any cons here...this product hits the mark in every way!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Get your data synced to all your other SaaS tools

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simple data syncing

Pros

It's an invisible product that you don't interface with often, but it gets your data from one software synced to all the other ones including custom data points. Basically it's the easiest way to sync data from multiple apps and your own product/website.

Cons

None really. Some of their integrations are getting older . If you're in the enterprise, their data integrations basically only consist of BigQuery, PostgreSQL and Redshift which may be different than your existing data stack.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The ultimate events and analytics connector tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

A good alternative to googles free tag manager.

Pros

It’s a great hub to connect all your tooling with each other and manage events and other analytics.

Cons

It’s quite expensive. And setting up things might be a bit tricky if you’re a newcomer in the world of analytics/JavaScript.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Love it!

Pros

Comprehensiveness, debugger, connectors.

Cons

Update information on creating sessions and stitching users across devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Segment - ETL for customer data collection

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The number of integrations it provides both for source and destinations

Cons

very expensive for startups specially to use add on products

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Segment.io for collect data

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Centralise analytics data, both sent by client and server sides of my applications, in a unique data store. Our data science analysts can consume and work on that data easily.

Cons

There is not client server library available for Elixir or Erlang, my team need to use a third party library to communicate with Segmento.io analytics API.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great service, truly valuable

Reviewed 10 months ago

We mainly use it to learn about our users' engagement with our software.

Pros

Setting new events is easy and the software is very intuitive. The real-time debugger view is super helpful during software development.

Cons

I can't extract the list of events in order to review them offline (in order to manage which to keep and which to disable).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall, works as advertised. But expensive.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up, saves developer time from installing 30 different libraries and maintaining those libraries.

Cons

It gets really expensive really quickly. You'll be surprised how quickly you hit your event limit often, the tradeoff means it's actually worth having some technical debt.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good tool but extremely expensive when needs are growing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience has been quite frustrating so far. Hopefully this will change as it looks like this tool has great capabilities!

Pros

It's quite easy to connect your tools together. UI is very intuitive. For a quick solution out of the box, Segment is almost perfect.

Cons

Pricing. It can get extremely expensive and extremely fast. Some basic functionalities seem to be missing (such as "select/deselect all" when choosing what to connect). Support never reached back when I contacted them... It would also be nice to be able to sync all historical data (it seems to be possible but as I mentioned before, support never reached out when I contacted them).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love the simplicity and functionality of Segment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Segment has some of the strongest and most useful lists of integrations for any SaaS product. Hooking all sorts of data sources into one javascript implementation and then to channel it into your selected analytics system is an oversimplified explanation of what makes this product great.

Cons

There are some limitations that aren't on segment's side of things. Make sure you check out each integration as to how it plays with Segment - especially data sources!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

All the analytics in one place

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the concept of Segment - write data once, funnel it to multiple places for any type of analytics you might imagine. Works seamlessly. Very stable and reliable platform.

Cons

At first it can be slighlty overwhelming, but once you get a hang of it - you're not going to regret investing your time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ease of use and great software for marketing analytics

Reviewed 2 years ago

Segment helps us provide breakdown analysis of the users using our software using simple and highly defined charts

Pros

Good tools for creating chart diagrams, flowcharts for users

Cons

I liked everything about this software, it was also very easy to use for novice users

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A real game changer

Reviewed 6 years ago

Introducing Segment in our business is a real game changer. We can easily outsource super complicated aspects of our business to the myriad services Segment connects us to.

Pros

Easy to setup, great customer support, excellent choice of services, simply amazing.

Cons

Renaming events once they're already sent would be an awesome feature, although I'm not quite sure if it can be done at all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Analytics plus science

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It lets you track a ton of metrics, and identifies users across their lifecycle. You can actually track real metrics.

Cons

It's not perfect. You get some users that can't get matched down stream, and i still see plenty of couldn't track events.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Makes things easier

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use segment to pipe all our tracking codes to our marketing site, it works well and keeps the code clean.

Cons

None really, we are pretty happy with it so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great data collector

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We have a ton of data that many of the products and software that we use day to day simply can't support/would run incredibly slowly with that much data piping through them. It's a great intermediary tool, which is what we use it for.

Cons

Segment isn't the easiest to update. I wouldn't say this is a fault of the program in general, but with that much data it can be tricky to integrate it seamlessly into our other programs.