App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Thortspace Logo

Cloud-based & on-premise strategic planning tool for teams.

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Thortspace Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

21

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.29/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

monday-com
smartsheet

Pros and cons

The software is very easy to use and has a pleasant interface, and the form of online collaboration is very simple. 3D learning is fantastic, it is worth taking a chance.
This is innovative, specially designed software that does the job. What I like mainly is the fact that the software has improved a lot, the graphics are just excellent, especially on PC.
I had never seen a software like this in order to think about a complicated issue. When i was using i started to find some good solutions and then i saw that it is much more than solving a problem.
Integration with Android can be a problem, it has some flaws. In addition, the learning videos are small, it could have more tutorial content.
Lately it does not work well on Android, the application closes by itself during use.
Managing the pallet is not intuitive. Pasting an image from the clipboard directly to a thort is a glaringly missing feature.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arbaz N.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Collaboration was never so easy!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The multiple features that the tool offers that drive innovation as well as revenue growth within the organization. The 3D modelling is top class and allows multiple stakeholders to get involved.

Cons

The pricing is a little on the higher side. Also, the platform does become buggy at times due to certain server issues.

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing Thortspace.

DR
AvatarImg

Dasaratha R.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

What can you do with Thortspace?

Reviewed 5 years ago

The software is easy to use, engaging, and looks good when shared in social media. The appearance of spheres on social media is a key factor that drives my use of Thortspace. The Thortspace team is responsive, and many ideas are shared by the user community.

Pros

It is a visually engaging software. I have experimented with many tools over the years, and use Thortspace for the following reasons: 1) the distinctive look of connected spheres, 2) how spheres look when shared on Facebook, Twitter etc., 3) support for multiple ways of categorizing same information, 4) selecting and organizing information into journeys for users. Unlike users who fill the sphere...

Cons

While I do not need bi-directional links for all uses, there are situations when I would have liked to have that functionality. I would like to be able to specify colors using codes rather than just selecting from a set of pre-defined colors. Finally, being able to edit thorts in web browser would be very useful in some applications that I would like to develop.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for reviewing Thortspace mindmap mind mapping software. That is very helpful and kind of you.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rohit R.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The 3D Mind Mapping Giant

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1. It's intuitive and easy to use. 2. Leaning mind mapping has never been that easy. 3. It's available in almost all platforms (including Android) 4. Gives free trials

Cons

There isn't anything particular I don't like about this software but I think the UI could have been improved and there should be more stress on letting the user learn how to use the application. It's sometimes too complicated to grasp what's happening.

Vendor response

Ok. Thanks.

JT
AvatarImg

Janet T.

Primary/Secondary Education, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thortspace Multi Uses

Reviewed 5 years ago

I started using Thortspace as I was looking for a mindmapping tool to use personally and in my work with children. It is a platform full of wonderful surprises.

Pros

Thortspace is a great multi purpose platform. I have discovered lots of creative ways to use it including : creating space in my mind and feeling less overwhelmed by writing ideas in the thorts, typing in simple family menu plans created by my children, thus reducing family stress! dictating ideas for stories when out and about which allows for wider and deeper thinking working collaboratively...

Cons

It takes time to get used to. Fluency develops with practice. It is best to begin with simple ideas and then build on the skills to create visually interesting and thortful arrays and stories. There are short and simple training videos to assist

Vendor response

Thank you very much for reviewing Thortspace ! :-)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Create perfect ideas

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use thorthspace for anything that i need to think about. It is really a useful application.

Pros

I like to use thortspace, it is an amazing application. Thortspace provides to collect and see all the ideas together, make relations between them and also let for recognising relations that you have never thought. The application helps to think and see troigh different windows, and open new windows in the mind.

Cons

I dont want to say it doesnt worth but the price looks expensive. Out of this, i dont have any dislike.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Grace B.

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An excellent mind map's tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

In my company helps me train new employees in the marketing sector, allows me to build a 3D mapping of all the study modules I must teach, is very easy to use and helps understand complex projects to see a general mapping of these.

Pros

Thortspace is an excellent mind map's tool. It has large buttons and the cursor, allows you to easily arm and position the spheres. It is far superior to other mind mapping software. I like to be able to zoom in when I want the structural view to the global view to see the whole image and be able to study it better before any modification.

Cons

There's nothing I don't like, it's a very useful and intuitive software.

Vendor response

Thank you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing projects with thortspace..

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

When i have met first time with thortspace, i was in shock. I had never seen a software like this in order to think about a complicated issue. When i was using i started to find some good solutions and then i saw that it is much more than solving a problem. Can be created everything. I love to see everthing that i think in thortspace spheres. It is like my mind is on the screen. And also it is possible to use on mobile.

Cons

I love thortspace. Till now it is already more than one year i am using it and i have never get a problem.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review. I hope Thortspace continues to provide value.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ingrid B.

Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I completely recommend this software

Reviewed 3 years ago

it is good software with good prospects. Although it is not stable on Android at this time, technical support is still available.

Pros

This is innovative, specially designed software that does the job. What I like mainly is the fact that the software has improved a lot, the graphics are just excellent, especially on PC.

Cons

Lately it does not work well on Android, the application closes by itself during use.

MJ
AvatarImg

Michael J.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An awesome presentation tool.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It solve the problem of communicating that we have global reach in an informal network. I haven't found another tool that allows people to see the details of any franchise and still be able to see the global picture. That is possible by rotating and zooming.

Pros

The three dimensional appearing interface. The ability to draw connections between spheres and to create spheres with edges touching to group. I really like the structural view to get close in and the global view to see the whole picture.

Cons

The fact that it still doesn't run Chrome.I have to depend on members of my team to create the TS. That is not a real disadvantage as we work as a team with different specialties. My focus is bus development.

Vendor response

Very kind of you to write a review of Thortspace. Thank you very much.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Caroline E.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

3D Mind Mapping Makes “Thinking” Easy

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Thortspace in my daily life to organize and visualize my thoughts, to do lists, and more. This allows me to manage what would otherwise be an overwhelming amount of information in my head, especially as someone who struggles with ADHD.

Pros

As someone that is easily distracted and racing, sporadic thoughts- mind mapping is a huge lifesaver when organizing thoughts and to do lists. Between work, school, and home life- being able to map and visualize (especially in “3D”) my thoughts makes managing everything seem much less daunting.

Cons

The user interface is somewhat older looking and could use a facelift. On the mobile app, it can be somewhat overwhelming learning how to use the features and figuring out where to find where the features are in the app when first starting with the app.

Vendor response

Thank you for your very thorough, balanced and fair review.

RC
AvatarImg

Robert C.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cartoonish, but Poignant

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall the workflow creates organic structures that aid in understanding complex topics and provide context to attach details to in subjectively relevant locations that contribute to knowledge retention. It creates the most organic-looking results among mind-mapping tools that I've considered. Being required to break down content so atomically forces the user to distill information to its essential...

Pros

Thortspace is the only mind-mapping software available with any 3D capabilities. It's really 2 1/2 D, mapping everything on spheres instead of flat pages. But spheres can be chained together in 3D to create clouds of related topics. Sacrifices were made to enable the paradigm. All content must be broken down into sub-tweet-sized "thorts", shown as text-laiden bubbles. Thorts are then categorized...

Cons

The user interface was designed by the psychology department, not the usual software engineering folk. Controls are all present and functional, but not where a sane user would expect to find them, nor is everything entirely labeled sensibly. "Search" for example really acts more like "File", switching among and managing your inventory of spheres. It all makes sense if you're willing to adopt a certain level of psychosis. The image handling features need some streamlining, but they are functional if you're willing to wrestle them. Specifically Thortspace imports image files into its available catalog, and then allows thorts to be painted from its image pallet. Managing the pallet is not intuitive. Pasting an image from the clipboard directly to a thort is a glaringly missing feature.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for reviewing Thortspace so thoroughly and both honestly and charitably. We are working hard every day to make Thortspace better, and the encouragement of reviews like this make that task much more compelling.

eh
AvatarImg

edward h.

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thortspace review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Absolutely brilliant - a best in the world for collaborative interactive multi-lingual visual thinking in 3D.

Pros

Easy and quick to use. Mind-engaging. Brilliant for collaboration.

Cons

Navigation can take a little getting used to.

Vendor response

Thank you !

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mindmapping but different

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I've used various versions of mind mapping before but Thortspace certainly is in a league of it's own. The interface initially feels a bit funny, specifically the large buttons and cursor, but then you kind of get hooked into creating new spheres and all. It certainly feels easier than your average Mindmapping tool. If you don't mind not linking to your co-workers, it's free! I can see how team collaboration would become really powerful this way.

Cons

The interface can feel a little dated and clunky It would be great if the actions bit was integrated with some common tools such as Asana or Slack. This would be incredibly powerful if the software could assist in fact finding based on the comments one puts in (not actually a lack but just a great future addition)

Vendor response

This is a tremendously helpful review from someone who has obviously "been around, you know" and yet managed to keep an open mind in respect of new possibilities of what software could be or what software could become in the future. Every day we are working to make Thortspace simpler, less annoying, more robust and more complete. Thank you very much for your encouragement with that.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thortspace is the future of online collaboration.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is very easy to use and has a pleasant interface, and the form of online collaboration is very simple. 3D learning is fantastic, it is worth taking a chance.

Cons

Integration with Android can be a problem, it has some flaws. In addition, the learning videos are small, it could have more tutorial content.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sandro Roberto L.

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Colaboração de pensamentos, ideias e ótimo trabalho é o lema do Thortspace

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Intuitivo, fácil de utilizar, consegue englobar todos os funcionários da instituição na busca de um melhor direcionamento, ideias, motivação, fazendo com que o trabalho mais motivador. O mapa 3D dos pensamentos construtivos é incrível, tornando esse processo de colaboração inovador e desafiador ao mesmo tempo. Temos tidos excelentes ideias, contribuições, motivação no trabalho. Pensando juntos temos construído o nosso futuro, graças ao Thortspace

Cons

No momento tem sido excelente e não há nada que não goste nele

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

LM
AvatarImg

Lucas M.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nice

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It is an excellent service, I recommend it to everyone.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brainstorming turned visual

Reviewed 4 years ago

I really enjoy using Thortspace. It has been a great way to organize thoughts and brainstorm

Pros

While I find the UI to be a bit dated, I loved the ability to be able to put my thoughts and line of thinking into a graphical interface. I have been using the tool for hobbies and other personal items; however, I may be brining it to some collaborative teams at my office.

Cons

The user interface is very usable, but I do not find it to be intuitive or overly visually appealing. The functionality and flexibility of the product far outweighs this “con”, for me.

Vendor response

Thank you.

QM
AvatarImg

Quinn M.

Music, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cool looking software!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Trying the software, I find that it's really to get into right off the bat. It's really easy to organize my thoughts and they look great in this 3d environment which is a plus for presentability.

Cons

Not much I can complain about. The software did what I needed it to do.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the review, and for trying out the Thortspace App. We are continually working to improve Thortspace, so if you'd like to follow along with our progress you are very welcome to join the Thortspace group on facebook or follow us on Twitter... Follow the social media links from our website or Medium.com publication.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thortspace Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and is available in all platforms.

Cons

So far I have had no negative consideration for the product.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good experience so far.

Pros

It is easy to use. It is very visual, as promised. Also offers some quick introductory videos on how to use it.

Cons

Design could be improved for the app. Looks a little old school.

KS
AvatarImg

Karen S.

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is a great tool to use when you are trying to get a presentation done. It gathers all your thoughts and information together and sorts in groups that make sense.

Pros

I loved how it gathers information for me. When I was trying to put a presentation together.

Cons

I don't think there was anything that I didn't like about it

Vendor response

Thank you.