This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Oracle Aconex Logo

Oracle Aconex

Construction Project Management Software

see alternatives

Oracle Aconex Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


197 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is the best exercise to upgrade my knowledge and makes it more easier.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use to manage my documents very well and our client is happy with its performance. helps us to organized our documents before inputting to the system. It changes our way keeping and managing our own files and adopting to non aconex projects.

Pros

Easy to understand and straight forward. Save search helps users to identify easily their documents. Confidentiality of records makes the management feel happy that they can keep the conversation on a level of management.

Cons

Accounts per project location need to be consider. and the Global ID interface must be develop. some administrators of aconex forgot to match the numbering as per project vs the auto generation of document number. some of the columns has no option to sort.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Aconex is easy to use due to unlimited upload and downloads file for official submission.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It helps to reduce times and make works easier.

Pros

The workflow submission is very practical and suitable for project engineering. It reduce paper usage and helps to monitor the progress. The uploads and downloads file is unlimited which is very good for drawing submission in CAD format. It is also summarized the submission status because every submission is reviewed by many trades. Good job Aconex.

Cons

During workflow submission process, there is a bug which appear unidentified codes. It required to refresh page but it will return to the beginning and we have to start all over again. Aconex should fix these issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Consistency makes for efficeincy

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excellent

Pros

The consistent way that each project is set up, makes for a good user experience generally.

Cons

Some PMs don’t use the tools properly. It is becoming impossible to work out what your actual tasks really are. RFIs get sent to everyone on the project team. Queries are more like statements, it takes longer to work out what the question really is, than it does to work out the answer. People should think about who they are sending queries “to” and who is just cc’d. Using the please respond by options should mean there is an extra onus on the initiator to close it out, or chase it up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and great functionality.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Aconex helps us work on a global scale with many clients

Pros

Provides a global platform that allows many user to work together. Easy to add new files to the system. All mail is kept in the Mail module and it can't be erased, so you can't lose any correspondence. Easy to create workflow templates. Easy to run reports on workflows and RFI's. No size limit on the files. It functions like it was advertised and more.

Cons

Have to use the mail form titles that Aconex has pre-loaded into the system. Sometimes can get confused when working in the backend of the system where you might need to make a change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Document Management System

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use it daily to upload documents that are transmitted to the Client and Vendor. It will also be used for auditing purposes, reporting and permanent document storage.

Pros

That most Clients and Vendors/Customers are beginning to see the value of this software and will use it making it an easy way to transmit and receive documents. Another great thing about this software is I can log in from anywhere, not just my workplace.

Cons

I am not sure there is anything I don't like about this software. I guess if the system is down is what I may like least but it is usually back up and running in a short amount of time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Successfully configured and implemented Aconex on several large programs.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is the solid single-point-of-truth for large, complex programs. It integrates information flow (correspondence), documents, packaged deliverables, cost, field inspections and BIM together very well. It span from bid/tender phase all the way through design, construction, test/commissioning and close-out. If implemented properly with industry best practice processes, it can significantly reduce risk on large, complex programs, especially those with multiple contract and technical interfaces.

Cons

Some of the administration features are somewhat cumbersome on implementations with a large number of users, especially at the organizational administration level. As with any software implementation, training and institutionalization is one of the hardest and most important aspects to be successful. There are a few features (like RFI closeout) that make it a little more difficult to institutionalize such that report data remains in tact.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Provided easy access to design documentation for review and keeping track of record.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Benefits are many as described earlier. Be able to have a process flow of all projects saving time, reducing cost, be able to identify issues and commenting of design documentation.

Pros

Be able to retrieve documentation easily and support from Aconex is great. It also offered process flow in project delivery which is clear to project teams. The email like within the software is easy to understand for all users and if that person knows how to send an email he or she knows Aconex.

Cons

Cannot think of any. However, the cost of the software might be a little pricey. One improvement that I would like to see with the software is a better tagging routine that is able to tagged files and become searchable. Currently searches are still very rudimentary. The BIM viewver tab should also could be improved adding more features to it or better still have a full feature BIM viewer and could reconize RVT as well as Bently 3D files without having to convert to IFCs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Aconex is very much user friendly. easy to maintain

Reviewed 4 years ago

As i am working in a field of Document management . This software will help me a lot in my future job profile.

Pros

As i am frequent user on Aconex. helping me much easiest way to handle the document how i required. Document search and bulk upload option is much easier to handle

Cons

There is still more clarification or home work required on report taking. For example in supplier module, if we required to get a report of Document received date and document return back from supplier/Subcontractor/Designer in one step it is not possible - here we get the result only if we search the document with history. - for one document this option is ok but we need to search large number of document it will take a lot of time to get the actual report

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Convenient and reliable

Reviewed 4 years ago

Aconex is one of the useful tool in document control. If used with full efficiency, we can trace the history of not just the document but the project itself. It already has the workflow and its own transmittal

Pros

We can access anywhere. We can show traceability on the history of each document. We can conveniently create transmittal to transmi the document. The workflow is functional and worl well in the project.

Cons

Like the other software it is also has its downtime, sometimes it is slow, sometime some functionality is not working especially when doing the bulk upload.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Software works well, however loading issues occur frequently

Reviewed 4 years ago

Collation and capture of specific information is far easier than ordinary email systems.

Pros

Ability to track and locate correspondence is probably the most useful aspect of Aconex, storage of documents is reasonably straightforward.

Cons

Reports cannot be tailored to suit my requirements as they cannot be specific enough. One problem is the RFI trails, once someone has responded there is a danger then as this becomes no longer overdue or outstanding. This is most critical if the response is an automated one. There needs to be a method to reverse it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Large international project with multiple specialties

Reviewed 4 years ago

Used Aconex on a project where the project team were located in multiple time zones and countries - made it easy to share information without worrying about the size of the files.

Pros

1) Internet based, Project material can be access by multiple teams simultaneously from anywhere in the world 2) Ability to upload, share and store large files

Cons

1) The search feature is very particular - could be improved 2) Takes multiple steps to upload and attach files/drawings

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Working with Aconex has made my work to run smoothly without any hindrance

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software benefited me in simplifying my work and making sure that all the data is secured and available and easy to use.

Pros

The most interesting or I like most in this software is the Search engine. Whatever you are finding in the software is very easy to get by only using a specific word related to the item to be searched.

Cons

What I least like in Aconex is when you loose internet connection where you become stranded waiting or hold on what your are doing until the connection gets back. But this is common with all internet dependent software's.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is a good apps to deal with in organizing docs and monitor workflow approval processes.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to use

Pros

This SW make my project activities easy when communicating, monitoring and organizing materials, documents and workflows. The other good thing about this SW, is that, you can access or login into the apps anywhere and anytime.

Cons

I can only say one bad thing about the SW, is the directory. I know, this depend on the administrator. But the contact details must be the person's unique contact number. You cannot rely in the lists if the default goes to aconex call centre, which cannot assist finding the person.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its Graet Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Saving a lot of paper works and old method of tracking any Engineering ,design documents, save much space, specially for Mega project like Riyadh metro project, tracking the previous Eng. Design , site , letters, much much documents , you canot track without this great and rich software., really I appreciate this software and strongly recommend, specially for Big /Mega projects like I did.

Pros

Actually Aconex Software is Easy to use , downloading speed is fast, search ability tool is rich,

Cons

Its Great software, but Some times goes out and other rear times get hanging, and goes out without saving .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

User friendly, easy to access information between parties, no rooms for duplication of docs.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Speed up the workflow and gives no rooms for duplications of works/ documents for the entire project. User-friendly platform and controlled environment of this software gives everyone involved a distinctive edge. Searching of any documents as well as the reporting features helped me a lot in my career.

Cons

Keyboard short cuts; if the keyboard short cuts are enabled in this software, it will be benefited by document controllers a lot. Required additional search query options to search documents.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

worked on a number of large complex projects using Aconex and it was very useful.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I think the best thing about Aconex is the document registry. All drawings in one place and you can see previous versions of the same drawing and how it has progressed. Also being able to see emails on a specific subject and tracking RFIs is a very good option.

Cons

The automatic numbering system of documents is not very useful. I wonder if this option can be changed from within the system. In my company we have a very specific way of naming files so it's not very useful to have automatic naming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use Aconex on every major project in the office.

Reviewed 4 years ago

this software has allowed us to achieve better project outcomes by minimising the amount of admin required to track and file project correspondence and coordination.

Pros

The ability to coordinate complex projects across multiple discipline is aided by the use of aconex. The accountability of each of the consultant team is critical in ensuring successful project delivery.

Cons

The most painful process that Aconex has is its document register and performing bulk supersedes through from pre-tender issues to tender documentation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

5 year user, easy to use, adaptable to project needs.

Reviewed 4 years ago

With automated workflows, I am no longer manually routing documents for review, leaving more time for other tasks.

Pros

I like the multitude of options it provides at a faster speed than most document control software available.

Cons

I least like that there is no out of office function. If someone is on vacation, there is not an automated way to divert any workflows sent to them at that time. If someone leaves the project, there is not an automated way to remove them from existing workflows. I have found work arounds.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Safe storage and access to project documentation from anywhere

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1- Fast upload and download of documents from anywhere in the world. 2- Peace of mind by ensuring that all project documentation is archived safely. 3- Regular update and development 4- In-house training to users

Cons

When searching for a subject yields more than one page and I move from one page to another searching for a particular document, I would like to clearly see the current search page highlighted to enable me to go to the next or previous page without losing track.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The overall use is great for a building site and organising documentation and correspondence.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Being organised

Pros

Documentation and correspondence control. Able to track old correspondence by topic. Able to see who was issued what documentation and when.

Cons

Sometimes unstable to use and crashes. It doesn't go back to the same spot if you go back a page. If you have multiple pages open and you search say architectural in one and hydraulic in another. When you go back to the previously used one it changes to the former format. It doesn't stay on the one it was opened too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Aconex has cut our document processing time in half and provides easy access from anywhere.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Unlimited file size, the information/documents is always received and never lost. Easy to search for documents and able to track changes. Support Central is always available and provide excellent assistance. It is cloud based software which is accessible from any location.

Cons

Modules do not interact. Limitations to download multiple files at once. Mail Forms - characters are limited. Bulk Uploads - can't copy file names to Excel without the use of SharePoint.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Aconex is intuitive and user friendly, fast and efficient.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Aconex is so intuitive that most people do not need formal training prior to using the application. Support Central is very helpful for those who need to use it extensively. From a Document Control perspective, the best feature is the ability to upload and send hundreds of files in a matter of minutes.

Cons

The main improvement I would like to see is that both a native file and pdf can be kept in the one record as opposed to requiring 2 separate records.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very reliable and easy program to use.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Online database which tracks projects and correspondence in real time.

Pros

Reliable source of documentation. Easy to track, find and share documents. It's great to have a database that everyone can obtain easily and effectively.

Cons

Could do with a couple extra features to simplify use. Selecting bulk drawings by individually ticking is a real pain and hassle especially when transmitting large amounts of drawings. Also after bulk superseding, there should be a transmit all feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Aconex - your valuable tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has allowed us to keep greedy contractors under control with proof of communications and directions - it has allowed us to minimise fake claims against our project

Pros

It provides a safe and efficient way of keeping all our records and communications safe - yet recorded for later use if needed. It has allowed us to 'keep the greedy contractors' under control commercially.

Cons

in recent times there has been several outages or slow running - frustrating when you need the system every day

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Daily transmittals.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Saves Time flexible input methods easy to understand easy to train new users unlimited uploads

Pros

Flexibility and convenient to use. I am using Aconex for over 8 years I found it is very flexible and convenient . when ever I faced issues I get immediate help and guidance from Customer Support

Cons

Initially I faced issues . I don't remember what kind of issues. I remember calling the customer support they mentioned there is limitation for that particular request I asked for.