App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Apache OpenOffice Calc Logo

Spreadsheet application for data visualization

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Apache OpenOffice Calc Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

50

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.28/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

monday-com
smartsheet

Pros and cons

I've been using Calc for over 10 years and it has worked well for the entire time. I love that the help documentation is actually useful, without relying on digging though sketchy support forums.
It is very good for making calculations quickly. It opens in an instant and it's not heavy at all and that's a very important thing.
Due to its open source nature and popularity, this is a good software to start using if you're starting off a small company or trying to run a business with a small team.
It is a little frustrating that I cannot copy-paste the spreadsheet content into Google Spreadsheets without losing formulas. Also the formatting is usually lost.
The worst things about this software are that it is poorly laid out and is poorly compatible with Excel.
Xslx files, even if it could open them, which was a handicap and concerned me that our reputation would be affected because it appeared we were using outdated software if only able to export as.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tigran K.

Owner

Real Estate, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Same as Excel but free

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Tigran: Hi, my name is Tigran, I'm a business owner and I give Apache OpenOffice Calc a rating of five....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sara L.

Accounting, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free Spreadsheets with a lot of potential

Reviewed 4 months ago

Used in Linux operating systems (such as Ubuntu) and in the most recent versions of Windows. Very good alternative to the Microsoft Office suite,

Pros

It meets our current needs in the company in terms of writing documents and creating and presenting reports in spreadsheets and because it is open source you can use it without restriction allowing you to save money on the purchase of licenses; its key point is that it is multiplatform and besides being lightweight you can use it without consuming many resources.

Cons

When saving you have to use the MS Office format to be able to share a document, the user interface needs a good update as it is not as striking, it does not have the option to save to the cloud as MS Office does, it lacks integration with the MS Office suite so that when you migrate a document it does not lose any functionality.

BB
AvatarImg

Barry B.

Shipbuilding, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OpenOffice Calc - The Best Features of Excel - Without the Cost!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Using OpenOffice Calc has been a very good experience overall. Though the interface is a bit different than Microsoft Excel, it is easy to learn, and the price is right.

Pros

File type compatibility, cost (free), advanced features comparable to Excel, ability to save files to Microsoft native formats such as PPT and PPTX.

Cons

Lack of templates compared to Excel, and the interface is bit less "polished" than what you would fine in Microsoft Excel; lack of export cross-support from accounting software

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Was the go-to spreadsheet app, but ceased being developed and become unstable

Reviewed 6 years ago

OpenOffice Calc helped us avoid spending on purchasing commercial software for which this was a suitable replacement for quite some time.

Pros

Calc has been great for importing various file formats and can also handle importing CSVs in a very flexible manner. It was easy to use and the forums often got me out of trouble when seeking support or a how-to guide.

Cons

Instability of the desktop app cost us a lot of time and eventually forced us to move away from it. All the while, it wasn't able to export .xslx files, even if it could open them, which was a handicap and concerned me that our reputation would be affected because it appeared we were using outdated software if only able to export as .xls.

TK
AvatarImg

Tigran K.

Real Estate, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Same as Excel but free

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great, switched once and still using it. Nice functionality and compatibility.

Pros

I am using Open Office spreadsheets daily. I like that it has almost exactly the same functionality as Microsoft Excel, but is a free product. I started using it back in 2009 when switching from Windows to Linux and continue using to this day, now on Mac. It is really nice that the content can be exported in XLS format for those using more traditional products.

Cons

It is a little frustrating that I cannot copy-paste the spreadsheet content into Google Spreadsheets without losing formulas. Also the formatting is usually lost. I use Google Spreadsheets to share the numbers with my colleagues and prospective clients.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sharon B.

Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does everything Excel does

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use this daily in my business by creating spreadsheets and other forms like timesheets, invoices, purchase orders...

Pros

It's free. I use it to replace Microsoft Excel and I have not run into anything yet that I can't do. However I only use it for time sheets, invoices, purchase orders and estimates with auto calculations.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to find out how to do something I want, but with a little perseverance I can usually find the answer.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Harsh C.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best alternative for Microsoft excel

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best and cheapest alternative for microsoft excel.

Pros

It has all that a person needs for his/her personal use when he/she cannot afford Microsoft excel's subscription. You can choose what you want to delete.

Cons

Sometimes formulas working in excel which is provided by someone doesn't work in open office calc. Calc has less chart options as compared to excel.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rafael B.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is the best option, in terms of spreadsheets, that I have used as an alternative to excel.

Reviewed 6 years ago

The biggest benefit that OpenOffice has brought me is associated with its wide compatibility with different operating systems (Linux, Windows, Mac, etc.), unlike other similar programs (like Microsoft), designed only to operate with only one type of operating system. That, added to the fact that it is free, makes its handling and installation in a good number of PC, very versatile.

Pros

Both in the case of OpenOffice and excel, I have notified the developers very specific problems with which I have found. In the case of OpenOffice the developers once they verified with the information that I sent, that the problem really existed, not only made the necessary adjustments to the program, but they contacted me back thanks for my contribution. In the case of Microsoft, that has never happened and when I have seen new versions I have verified that the problem I reported is still valid. It consumes far less machine resources than Microsoft software. (approximately half according to my estimates).

Cons

Accepting the reality that most of the users (including my person) use mostly Microsoft software, it is necessary a period of adaptation to use the program, since the buttons, functions and general structure are presented with menus sometimes quite different from the excel, although we are fair: whenever you change the program, or version thereof, you need a period of adaptation to use it again efficiently. For me it is more important the fact that it "hangs up" from time to time, especially when you import and modify a document from Office. I have not asked why it happens, because it could be that it was even done on purpose, simply so that each time you use less the program of the competition, a strategy that is otherwise valid.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Maryelis B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is the best free spreadsheet software! It has everything I need for my job. It's free!

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is the best free alternative that can be found, with OpenOffice Calc you will not have problems when making your works in spreadsheets and do not worry about the compatibility with other software, it can be highly compatible. And the best thing about this is that it's free!

Pros

It works on different Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. It's assistant functions is quite friendly and similar to other softwares, you can also pivot table with a friendly assistant. It has advanced functions such as VLOOKUP and conditional formatting. Read different types of files including xls, xlsx and csv.

Cons

The visual interface I do not like, it is not updated to new trends. It has been installed with the OpenOffice suite. The graphics that are generated are of low quality. There is not much documentation of the problems, when one appears it is hard.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hesandu D.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A better open source spreadsheet software...

Reviewed 3 years ago

Apache OpenOffice Calc is a good free spreadsheet software. We used it for more than 8 months. And we switch for Microsoft Excel. We used Apache OpenOffice Calc, create for financial statements, salary statements and etc. A good free software.

Pros

We used Apache OpenOffice Calc for more than 8 months. Excellent open source spreadsheet software. Easy to use and small in size. Apache OpenOffice Calc is an absolutely free software. And this software does work on Linux systems too. A free good software.

Cons

The UI doesn't look so pretty. Sometimes hard to find what we want. Must need to become familiar with the design. But a good spreadsheet software for free.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael A.

Religious Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

free alternative to Microsoft Excel

Reviewed 5 years ago

My computer sometimes has issues where Microsoft Office fails to load (especially Excel) or be recognized by my computer, and I can easily keep working by using OpenOffice. Sure, the issue with Office clears up later, but I'd rather not have to wait to keep working.

Pros

The fact that it's free is huge, and can read files that you'd normally need paid software (whether Microsoft of Apple) to view.

Cons

It lacks as many features as the paid softwares, which is to be expected. Some of the features it shares with Excel aren't in the same place, so there's a bit of a learning curve if you switch, or if you use both.

GP
AvatarImg

Giuseppe P.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ottima alternativa a Excel, completo e di semplice utilizzo

Reviewed a year ago

Un software di produttività estremamente performante e utilissimo in ufficio per sostituire Excel in modo efficace. Ricco di funzionalità e con un'interfaccia semplice e intuitiva. Molti formati in esportazione.

Pros

Interfaccia ottimizzata, programma molto performante, flusso di lavoro fluido, molti formati in esportazione.

Cons

Praticamente nulla, qualche incertezza con file molto grandi.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

PC
AvatarImg

Paolo C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Userei tranquillamente tutti i giorni calc

Reviewed 10 months ago

L'ho usato per diverso tempo ma quando ho visto che alcune funzioni avanzate o formattazioni saltavano (tra diversi PC) ho preferito altro

Pros

La soluzione migliore ed alternativa ad excel. Ha una logica molto simile ma a volte un po' macchinosa. In ogni caso di altissimo livello

Cons

Solo alcuni problemi di compatibilità con PC che non hanno calc

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

JJ
AvatarImg

Jane J.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and easy to find answers

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Calc can do everything that Excel does. Sometimes it takes a little research to figure out how to do things but the community that supports it is awesome!

Cons

It took me a while to get used to the way of doing things that are different than Excel.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Translation and Localization, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Un software di calcolo per PC leggero, ma con tante funzionalità

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Occupa molto meno spazio nel mio PC rispetto agli altri software che ho installato in passato, ma ha tutte le funzionalità che posso desiderare nell'ambito dei calcoli, come il bottone Somma automatica. Inoltre, mi basta un solo clic per esportare il documento su cui sto lavorando in .pdf, anche se è possibile fare lo stesso con molti altri formati, incluso il xls.

Cons

Se il mio documento consiste in più fogli e lo salvo in .pdf invece che in .xls, non riesco a salvare che un solo foglio, ovvero quello che ho davanti in quel momento.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

SR
AvatarImg

Sandeep R.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best and free alternative for Microsoft Excel

Reviewed 3 years ago

Openoffice calc is free and open-source making it more technically efficient for automation scripts. But for regular usage, it needs to cope up with Excel features and functionality. Overall its a great app for handling all our spreadsheets works.

Pros

Openoffice calc is an efficient tool to open or edit spreadsheets. We use this tool especially for writing automation scripts in robot framework. It is free, open-source and loads files with lot of data instantly. It rarely crashed unlike excel or other such tools. We get the option to choose formatting of the file while launching the app every time. It easily integrates with Zephyr to export the scripts into JIRA.

Cons

It doesn't have all the features like excel. Copy, paste isn't as smooth as compared to MS excel. It works great on open-source OS such as Linux or Ubuntu, but doesn't work good on MacOS. It hangs a lot on MacOS.

DL
AvatarImg

Delphine L.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

La suite bureautique gratuite et complète d'OpenOffice

Reviewed a year ago

J'utilise cette suite pour mon travail d'enseignante, notamment pour la production de flyers et d'affiches car les fonctions de dessin sont très abouties

Pros

Apache OpenOffice Calc est une suite de productivité efficace et polyvalente qui permet de créer de nombreux types de documents, de la feuille de calcul à la présentation multimédia. Très facile d'utilisation, intuitive, complète et totalement gratuite, cette suite réunit dans une seule et unique application, les outils essentiels au traitement de texte, au calcul, au dessin et à la présentation. Par sa polyvalence et ses multiples fonctionnalités, Apache OpenOffice Calc répond aussi bien aux besoins des particuliers qu’à ceux des entreprises.

Cons

La rubrique Aide n'est pas très développée et les fonctionnalités du programme sont moins avancées que celles de certaines autres suites professionnelles payantes. Par ailleurs, le logiciel rencontre parfois certains problèmes de compatibilité

Showing original review in French. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hoja de cálculo fácil de manejar

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Que es muy cómodo de manejar y con un interfaces agradable a la vista. No es tan potente y completo como el Excel de Office pero cumple su cometido.

Cons

Echo de menos algunas características que tiene el Excel, pero solo eso.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Office Software that competes with the different worksheets existing in the market

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is an alternative to solve the needs of office in the company, although it lacks much improvement to obtain greater performance. Very low cost, provides a robust security for the company, giving it peace of mind and confidence

Pros

It is multiplatform and totally free, the software plugins are fully compatible with private packages, it has a large number of formulas, it arranges data with great ease and it is possible to work with dynamic tables, you can create graphics in an easy way, the sheet Calculation has a visual basic editor where you can adapt the program to the needs of the user, you can export the files to PDF very quickly.

Cons

It is a bit slow, sometimes it hangs, its environment is not attractive, it consumes much more resources than other office automation packages, it is not reliable to handle very large spreadsheets, when opening the documents in a package different from the openoffice damage the equations, the files are saved by default under the .odf format which can not be opened in proprietary software, the support for the application is mostly in the forums.

MB
AvatarImg

Mauro B.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A valid alternative to excel

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is very good for making calculations quickly. It opens in an instant and it's not heavy at all and that's a very important thing

Pros

It is very similar to Microsoft excel but it is free. The features are very similar and I use it daily

Cons

There are additional features that maybe Microsoft Excel does not have, but this is to do better than Microsoft, the software is already very good

CT
AvatarImg

Christine T.

Translation and Localization, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best tools

Reviewed 6 years ago

Open Calc gives me the opportunity to enter data as a part of my job. Each working sheet can be saved in the format of odt, that is the open office format, or MS Excel, etc. I find it very easy to use. I would definitely recommend it.

Pros

It is easy to learn and use, free to download and can be easily installed.

Cons

There isn't anything that I do not like about this software. Instead, I would definitely recommend it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael J N.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent free spreadsheet software solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

Does what I need it to do, supports very large spreadsheets without any performance problems.

Pros

Let's me create and edit my spreadsheets with ease. Great import functionality for CSV and Excel file formats.

Cons

The graphing and visualization features are not as well developed as the most recent versions of Microsoft Excel.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniela M.

Food Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free your imagination

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The first thing is this software is free and a powerful tool. It's an alternative to the private software and in the same way you can open the file of a private software with OpenOffice Calc.

Cons

The truth, I don't have any disappointment for this software. I think it's easy for use and very complete for make whatever calc.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Hojas de cálculo para todos !

Reviewed a year ago

Probé a dejar de utilizar de un software de pago muy conocído por las hojas de cálculo Calc y he de decir que si te acostumbras no te acuerdas de Excel para nada .... Una maravilla y gratis

Pros

Me parece que ser software libre es su mayor ventaja. Teniendo muchas funcionalidades idénticas a otros software de pago.

Cons

Es posible que la adaptación de otro software a este no sea la más sencilla por qué te acostumbras a funciones que son algo diferente y puede costar el cambio pero después es genial.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

BP
AvatarImg

Ben P.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A fine spreadsheet tool for most, but you may as well use LibreOffice Calc

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Works fine for the most part, and does import all the usual web file formats for organised data

Cons

It doesn't open the latest MS Office .*x files, and it's much more out of date then the equivalent LibreOffice Calc

JO
AvatarImg

Juan O.

Warehousing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Experiencia con apache openoffice calc

Reviewed 2 years ago

Muy buena experiencia con el software, es muy ultil.

Pros

El software, es muy eficiente, completo y veloz

Cons

El sofware no se integra facilmente c9n sofwares mas conocidos como excel.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation