Bluebeam Revu Reviews

Bluebeam Revu

PDF editing & markup on the go with collaboration built-in

4.68/5 (727 reviews)

Anonymous

Must Have Program for Engineering and Construction

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-11-07
Review Source: Capterra

Bluebeam Revu was a life changer for me at work. It has allowed me to communicate better with my team (through better mark-ups) and it has saved me a ton of time and headaches through the Studio function. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who is in the A/E or Construction field.

Pros
I love how versatile and easy to use this program is. I was able to download it and begin using some of its features immediately without any training. The mark-up tools have great customization settings. I especially love the Studio. We're able to use Bluebeam to share drawing sets, RFIs, and Submittals between different team members and across companies. This allows us to mark-up and review items concurrently and it tracks every mark-up made and who made it.

Cons
To use some of the more advanced features definitely requires some training. The uses for Bluebeam are endless and you can get incredibly proficient with it through training. It was almost frustrating not knowing all the capabilities of the software!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Bluebeam has by far surpassed and "PDF Viewer" software and has made my job 10x more efficient.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-06
Review Source: Capterra

It has save a lot of time. I have also found an endless amounts of functions in this software that has been very helpful while trying to present information to clients.

Pros
I love the constant improvements but also keeping core functions that I use everyday . the shotcut keys are awesome. Combining PDFs with ease as amazing. Batch function to perform find and mark functions with hundreds of sheets in seconds is amazing.

Cons
the 3D PDF part is still a little foreign and tough to make my way around. It does seem to slow down a lot when there are more lines or layers to the PDFs as well. If there was a way to improve on that that would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Beth Larchar

Bluebeam give you more than you paid for

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-10
Review Source: Software Advice

It compliments any other software you have.

Pros
This software is by far the "most for the least." I haven't found any other software that allows for such robust examination and sharing of plans for so cheap. Bluebeam allows us to decide who can alter plans, who can flatten them (make the changes permanent), and who can just view them (like sub-contractors). Paid subscriptions are super cheap compared to other softwares that make the same claims.

Cons
Sometimes the icons can get confusing, and having to use a password all the time is a pain, but a small price to pay for a cool shareable medium for plans.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Gaby Huepenbecker

Phenomenal Markup Software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

Every construction company should be using Bluebeam as their go to mark-up software. It creates a more efficient workplace and it saves so much time going through changes, which is great for time sensitive projects that cannot allow for so many costly meetings. It also makes it so everyone doesn't have to immediately travel to the job site since everything is digital and has real time updates enabled.

Pros
So easy to use! As an architecture student, Bluebeam has been the easiest mark-up software I have used so far. The functions are similar to TurboCad, but the main use is to mark-up plans during the construction process on job sites. I works well on tablet devices as well as PCs. You can see the mark-ups done in real time so there is not a time delay when explaining changes in meetings on site and off site. It even has a dark theme option, which has been becoming popular in these types of programs!

Cons
This software does not have as many functions as TurboCad does, but it makes for that since this program is meant to be used by a variety of construction positions. Using the program on a tablet can slow down the live time functions if you are not in a good WiFi spot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Useful and Easy to Use

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

I have used this software for years, as has architectural firms I have worked for. It makes it easy to do post-production on documents and to incorporate other graphic formats into my finished documents.

Pros
I use Bluebeam multiple times per day. It is a great software for processing and editing PDFs. I use it to notate and colorize drawings, create large documents and to create proposals. The functionality is good and intuitive and there are many ways you can customize the software to meet your needs

Cons
I would like the software to be compatible with platforms such as GBCI's LEED Online and others that require an Adobe interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Stephen Schauer

Great

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Simple Interface, many features, more than simple pdf reader

Cons
memory intensive, can drag on large documents and plans

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Nicholas Dombroski

Powerful yet.....

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-13
Review Source: Software Advice

Its a great program over all to if you are currently using adobe or other software its easy to use and has ton to on-line videos if you ever get stuck and the Java scripting helps out greatly when you want to stream line work flows

Pros
What i like about this product is -how easy it is to use -adaptive for multi use in different ways to allow you to cover different work flows -the power to set up a standard for everyone to use -Support team always easy to reach and get back to you in a short period of time

Cons
-Lacking the power to go from PDF to cad -file size issues at times -limited custom options in the tool chest(swapping columns around)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Peter Cucci

Bluebeam Revu

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2020-01-03
Review Source: Capterra

We use bluebeamrevu for better collaboration between team members and to promote a higher level of quality of our documentation.

Pros
Relatively easy to use, better than Adobe. The tools within the program make it easy to collaborate between team members and outside consultants.

Cons
Very little cons. The biggest thing is learning the software and trial by error. Once you get past the initial startup it’s reliable and functional

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Donnie Bogle-Boesiger

GREAT VALUE! Flexible software that is very scale-able for any company

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-10
Review Source: Capterra

The value is unbeatable! If you wanted to, you could run an entire project directly out of Blubeam. The possibilities are endless using Bluebeam...

Pros
This software is phenomenal for any document management in construction. Bluebeam is the lifeblood of my everyday work. I use it daily to manipulate, markup, and compare documents. They also have training videos and a vast array of forum topics that people have posted online to any issue that you're having in the software.

Cons
Sometimes it can be a little too complex. There's so much that you can do in the software... it can be hard to find how to do what you want to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Bluebeam

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-06
Review Source: Capterra

We use bluebeam to keep project documents circulating in an up-to-date way so that field and office teams are using the same information and talking about the same problems. We use the studio sessions to maintain current sets of project documents.

Pros
Bluebeam is the swiss army knife of construction documents. It allows us to collaborate, edit and mark up documents seamlessly and flexibly depending on what suits our needs. Excellent software.

Cons
The newest release has slowed down considerably. I like the new interface, but it's not worth the reduced speed of the software. Everyone in my offices are experiencing the same problem.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Bluebeam Revu

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-12-12
Review Source: Capterra

10/10 experience - there is literally nothing I can think of that bluebeam can't do that I would want it to do.

Pros
Document control is simple using Bluebeam, we use this to communicate all plans, ASIs, submittals, RFIs and more to our subs. Very easy to mark up a drawing and communicate changes in plans/site layouts/etc. Very functional with a ton of well thought out features.

Cons
It does freeze from time to time but restarting the software is manageable. The reason being is that Bluebeam saves your work as you go so I've never lost data due to the software crashing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Pat DeGrauwe

Bluebeam Revu Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-02-20
Review Source: Capterra

in one word, Accuracy. This is the only necessity in estimating.

Pros
This software, in my opinion, is necessary for estimating. There is no room for error in estimating and every measurement must be the upmost accurate. Bluebeam delivers the accuracy necessary and helps minimize your exposure to making mistakes, to the max.

Cons
This is an advanced software that is only user friendly if you know what you are doing. A user tutorial is absolutely necessary. This is only a con if, as a user, you are looking for instant gratification. You must take the time to learn how it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

PDF viewer on steroids

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-12-10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been good. It is great tool for estimating and to view architectural plans.

Pros
Easy to learn how to use. Modifying tools to needs. Being able to split screens to view multiple documents at the same time. Being able to create viewpoints as measurement scales can vary from page to page.

Cons
The software is consistently legging when working in split screen mode. When in viewpoint the measurements are being calculated incorrectly. When trying to fix the problem and do a recalculate, it doesn’t recalculate. No grid lines or rulers to help measure out images or page sizes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Superior to Adobe for engineers

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-01-07
Review Source: Capterra

I believe Bluebeam offers more functionality for professional engineers. It is an effective way to compile large documents for report submissions and is useful for creating displays, making markups easily readable and is simpler to use than Adobe's products.

Pros
I love the capabilities in Bluebeam for marking up PDFs. It is a great way to share comments back and forth when reviewing calculations and drawings.

Cons
I don't have any dislikes for the software. I would find it more functional if there were a way to automatically set the scale to match your drawing scale instead of having to do it manually with the measuring tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Quinn Kent

Bluebeam works great

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-04
Review Source: Capterra

Love it! When I have needed support, they have been very professional and knowledgeable. Bluebeam has increased productivity and helps me provide better documentation to the client.

Pros
It is very intuitive and has well thought out templates. The features are great and make documentation much easier.

Cons
I haven't had any problems with blue beam yet and I have been using it since 2012. The only thing i would suggest improvements is the Take-Off portion of the software. At times my take-off can get a bit messy or overrun. I think i just need to take some time to learn this portion of the program a bit better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jon Quincy

PDF for the Construction Enviorment

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a good experience with Bluebeam Revu. the install went very easy and we moved our engineers over to it without much trouble. Some of the collaboration workflows took a bit to get set up but once up and running we have had few if any problems.

Pros
We have used Adobe Acrobat Pro for years and still do, but when it comes to needing to work with our construction drawings and collaborating with our engineers or other companies Bluebeam has the features we need hands down better than Adobe.

Cons
While BlueBeam is a typical PDF document viewer and editor, and on the the surface works much like the Adobe products we have grown accustom too, many of the more advanced features work differently and there is a learning curve to trying to figure out how everything works.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Luke Payne

Fantastic document review program

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-13
Review Source: Software Advice

If you need a document editing/viewing software, this is it.

Pros
Bluebeam can handle everything I throw at it. I can convert from almost any format to a PDF, images, office docs, websites, you name it. Not only that, it can backwards convert to most file types. I can take an image of text and convert it to a word document, or take a matrix on a set of plans and go to excel.

Cons
Some of the more advanced features are a pain to figure out. There is so much functionality built into the program that I've actually had to relearn things because they are buried in menus and options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Frank OMalley

An excellent scale-able platform to use

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

you can quickly perform many different functions and the color coding helps to keep every item identifiable on your condition list. Quantities are easily obtained which makes creating material list and purchase orders possible.

Pros
creating your templates, you can really customize to meet all of your needs, you can add in just about any scenario and incorporate to just about about any condition that suites your needs, it's high scale able.

Cons
It's a little bit challenging to get the help you need with this program. there are tutorials but they also can be c confusing to use, you have to really be specific in your search's as i have found i was misdirected to other sites by the search engine. It takes time and practice to learn all of this programs features which are too many to list. A throughout understanding and knowledge of the trades your performing is required, you absolutely need to know your products that your working with in order to build workable templates.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

kenia Sarricueta

The BEAT overall program its an all in one PLUS!!!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

it has been exceptional. Ive self taught myself and have loved each and every bit of it!!! easy to use, figure out and teach others.

Pros
this program takes power point, adobe acrobat, auto cad, and GoToMyPc... all in one. you can export to power point, combine create edit and MORE than acrobat, draw n design create just as well if not better than auto cad, and communicate with each other as a group live!!

Cons
Takes time to learn all the functions, BUT they have easy to follow videos you can watch and it doesnt cost a penny!! like most others do!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Marcin Niemczewski

Bluebeam makes reviewing and marking up documents extremely quick and simple!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-13
Review Source: Capterra

We have successfully uploaded thousands of PDF files for subcontractors to utilize on a daily basis. In addition any mark-ups have been saved and shared with the project team to ensure that all parties are on the same page at all times.

Pros
Using the Studio aspect of the program, our project team is able to upload virtually any document to an online server. From here any other party can view and download these files without requesting them from the project team. Makes file sharing efficient.

Cons
It becomes difficult to track documents in the software as the logging option is difficult to learn and time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Jesse Jones

The best PDF editor for anyone who wants more than simple markups

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
The markups are as flexible as you could possibly want, including totally customizable stamps, etc. It supports 360 camera images embedded into the files, all kinds of grouping options, and easy control of arrangement (front to back of the document). The ability to flatten markups before sharing is great, too.

Cons
I believe they just massively updated their cost, though I'm not in the group reviewing that in detail. If you don't flatten markups before emailing or sharing them, Apple devices very often don't display the markups at all, which is bad

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Morgan Thompson, AIA

A necessary architectural and construction tool!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

This program allows us to get that much closer to becoming paper free. We can do most everything digitally and quickly with this program.

Pros
Allows me as an architect to markup PDFs so that other people can make corrections to drawings. The studio is awesome and allows multiple people to access the software at once. Reviewing and stamping drawings digitally is a great feature also. Very intuitive.

Cons
There is definitely a learning curve, because it is not a simple software. The ipad app that comes with this doesn't work very well, especially if you are using large drawing sets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Natalie Grundtner

Bluebeam Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-28
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with Bluebeam is positive. I think it is a great product for really any business. I would definitely recommend this software.

Pros
I really like that there are so many features in bluebeam. I am constantly viewing and editing PDF documents and this software makes it so easy to make adjustments without having to go back into the word format. I really enjoying the text editing tool, fill able form tool, highlight tool and signature tool.

Cons
My least favorite part about this software is the fact that there are so many different tools and options, that it can get overwhelming if you haven't used the software before. However, that being said, once you learn how to use Bluebeam, it will be a very valuable software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Boyd Black

Functional though not necessarily intuitive

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
There is much you can do with this software. The learning curve is long for this program but it is quite functional.

Cons
When you save a document the save window takes up the entire screen. There is no way to reduce the size of the window or even move it to my second monitor. I am typically multitasking and not being able to minimize or move the save screen is problematic. How do you delete a stamp from the drop down list? Many of the stamps I have created are now obsolete but there is no obvious way to delete them or even rename them. What about a back button to reverse an action done in error? This function does not appear to be available. These are just a few examples of challenges to using this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

CHRISTOPHER WINKLER

Go to PDF software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-02
Review Source: Capterra

Used daily from project markups and consultant coordination. Periodic use for final CD packages for collating 100s of pages of drawings and 1000s of pages of specs.

Pros
Compiling, marking-up, and editing PDF docs is wayyy more User friendly with Bluebeam. Bluebeam Studio allows for multiple authors to edit and note documents at the same time, saving project teams time and keeping everyone updated during the coordination and documentation process.

Cons
Newest version is much sleeker looking and some of the tool locations have shifted... not really a com, just some getting used to

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review