Bluebeam Revu Reviews

Bluebeam Revu

PDF editing & markup on the go with collaboration built-in

4.68/5 (727 reviews)

Anonymous

Best PDF Editing/Reviewing Tool for Construction

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-24
Review Source: Capterra

Great option for our company as a whole. Eliminates the need to train employees on multiple platforms, streamlines operations.

Pros
This is a great suite allowing a professional to review submittals, documents and make secured signatures without needing to purchase several pieces of software.

Cons
The newest version of the software changes the platform radically. They say its more efficient, but i'm not so sure. Buttons are in odd places and you no longer have the blue "tab" to quickly load in/out the side and bottom controls.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Dan Huibers

My go to pdf reader/editor

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-10
Review Source: Capterra

BlueBeam Revu's features have made it so scaling and editing pdf's take us a fraction of the time we spent in the past with other methods.

Pros
The amount of features that this program offers for scaling, editing, reading pdf files is astounding. I have yet to run into a feature I needed that this software didn't offer.

Cons
I have very few complaints with the software but there are several default shortcut keys that can not be reassigned. I would prefer to have the ability to set a custom key to any shortcut in the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Aaron Wagner

FINALLY a document tool for AEC by AEC professionals

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

The developers really do care about and understand the AEC industry, and have made a tool that's immediately relevant to every company's workflow.

Pros
Bluebeam has instantly become a staple for us in our daily workflows. It's more than a PDF reader; it's a building design documentation tool. We utilize markups, calculations, and the highly-collaborative Studio for CDE, checkin/outs, etc.

Cons
Not directly integrated with authoring software. It would be helpful if the markups and calculations directly translated to/from Bluebeam.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anthony Fiorentino II

Powerful tool, efficient

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-01-04
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Bluebeam has eliminated two programs and increased efficiency and collaboration tremendously!

Pros
It is able to replace multiple programs. allows the user to perform pdf edits, quantity takeoff, and document review all in one. Easily organize and re-label large drawing sets with ease! Customizable tool best for takeoffs/edits.

Cons
The studio session should be more collaborative, allowing leaders to edit others measurements and takeoffs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Antonina Chebotaryova

Bluebeam revu

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-12
Review Source: Capterra

Overall good experience and cost, definitely recommend, can negotiate discounts on volume as well

Pros
Our company switched from Adobe pro to use Bluebeam, it is less expensive and easy to use, we use on most IPads as well, manage with Mobileiron. Cost was the main plus , almost twice less expensive for computers and IPads than Adobe pro

Cons
When setup first time , not very user friendly, users confused where to update server in Settings and where to agree to terms and conditions so it allows to sign in

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Marcus Baxter

Great for editing

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2020-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

I use this now for every document i need to edit or make remarks on.

Pros
The thing I like most about this software is ease and amount of tools available for editing documents.

Cons
I use this now on every document I need to edit. The one hard part about it was learning evwrything you could do with it. It was a lot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Daniel Bejarano

Great tool to examine and edit PDFs, with lots of useful "batch" features that save time

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-06-12
Review Source: Capterra

One-stop shop to read, edit, and create PDFs. You don't need to complement with any other software.

Pros
It's a one stop shop for almost any work you'd like to perform on a PDF. Bluebeam is very simple to use and it has a wide range of features that range from making small edits and annotations to automatized processes such as posting new pages that replace old ones, or finding text and adding hyperlinks to it.

Cons
It's not a dislike of something in particular, since this is not what the software is intended for, but it would be nice to have a "Word" functionality where you could add pages that are treated like a text page, just like a Microsoft Word document

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Miguel Rocha

PDF software with super powers

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-15
Review Source: Capterra

All in one software solution, before Bluebeam I would have needed two or three different applications or more complicated menus to work with. The only thing I use by a separate software now is convert PDF to DWG, could be a nice addition for future versions.

Pros
Adds advanced features to a PDF document which make work a lot easier. Features are easy to find, all in one place, adds collaboration for large projects with the use of the studio features.

Cons
When dealing with large files can get heavy for my PC, moreover when multiple files are open. Either an optimized software, me changing my pc for a more powerful one. Not at all a showstopper for me, will use Bluebeam over any other software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Keith Case

Dynamite for architectural fields

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-07
Review Source: Capterra

We use Revu to edit and compile PDFs, as well as review PDFs from consultants and measure existing drawings.

Pros
This program is great, it has a ton of features that are especially well suited for the architectural and construction administration fields. Marking up drawings and measuring existing drawings is really easy. I love the cloud aspect and the ability to collaborate on live drawings.

Cons
There are a couple of tiers of software and I wish that the ability to create forms was baked into Revu.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Kyle Watkins

Blubeam Revu

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-20
Review Source: Capterra

All PDF management can be done with this software, Adobe Acrobat is a thing of the past.

Pros
This is the bee's knee's for construction/PDF management. This software allows for scaling, markups, stamp creation, collating, TOC, and much more. Everyday use of this software for all PDF items. Revu Extreme also offers form field creation and editing.

Cons
When browsing through the multitude of settings for the software, it can be daunting, but they have amazing help pages and contacts to guide you through.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Quinn Kent

Best of the Best

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

I use Bluebeam for everything from viewing to complete document control.

Pros
This is the best pdf software I have ever used. It is very easy to perform markup's, collaborate with the project team and document any changes. The pdf comparison is amazing and easy to use.

Cons
The take-off function is good but I would rather use on screen take-off for large take-off projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Margie McConnell

Excellent PDF Editor

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

More efficient PDF editing than competitors.

Pros
It performs every function that I need out of a PDF editor and has lots of great, accessible features and tools needed for construction documentation/markups. Their Help section is top notch - very easily navigable with loads of easy-to-follow video tutorials.

Cons
Every once in a while, I will run into a compatibility issue where someone has a problem opening up the file. This has only happened a couple times in my 3 years of using the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Lanita Colbert

Bluebeam Revu is fantastic in the construction industry

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It has such extensive/useful features. You can create custom stamps, rewrite, lock the editing ("flatten") when you are sending so that custom editable fields are no longer able to be edited. You can add notes, captions, links, staple several documents together, rotate, extract, reorder sheets all very very easily. toolbox is customized too.

Cons
It takes some getting used to. You need to have some training on how to navigate. Aside from that it is wonderful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Mic Woodman

A Must Have Software for Collaboration

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2020-03-02
Review Source: Capterra

Bluebeam has been a great tool to markup and edit PDF documents. This has made team and remote team collaboration possible for our company. We've had a much easier time including our remote engineers and drafters on large projects where red lining shared documents is required.

Pros
This software has replaced Adobe Pro for our company, the ease of use in marking up PDF documents is unparalleled. We also use the Bluebeam Studio functionality to create document review sessions which has been amazing when reviewing design files, letters, calcs, etc.

Cons
There is a small learning curve with the software, especially who documents are uploaded, shared, and comments are reviewed. This is nothing that can't be learned and applied after an hour or two of training.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Robert Morris

Jobsite Bluebeam Use

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

Blubeam is one of the most powerful software's I've used in the construction industry. It is quite useful for modifying drawings, vector based pdfs etc in an effortless manner. Currently, I have been using Bluebeam Revu and the Studio component to give our subcontractors access to the most current drawings and/or files. I am also using the Session function to have "live-time" marks up for onsite coordination/review and markups to help in generation of RFIs etc. I think it is an essential system to have and all employees should watch the free videos on youtube to get an idea of its capabilities.

Pros
The CAD feeling of it and the abundance of tools and features it is comprised of.

Cons
How expensive it is to upgrade to the other features.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Susan Reiner

Constructability Review using Bluebeam Revu

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

This software provides great benefits for the review of construction documents by multiple team players to enable better results on bid documents to reduce problematic change orders.

Pros
Works very well for team constructability reviews of projects plans and specifications through multiple locations that are invited to join.

Cons
Issues can arise if your internet does not have a good bandwidth in remote locations that results the loss of some of your efforts on a session.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anthony Geiger

Advanced off viewer that makes it easy to organize drawings for large construction prijects

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-12
Review Source: Capterra

Easy use of construction documents and ability to share this with contractors

Pros
The ability to group individual files into sets of drawings that can be used to view multiple sheets at one time and easily overlay superseded documents

Cons
It is not very intuitive and many of the functions take a a long time to load. The sets function coukd also be improved to string together sets it is complicated once there is above a certain number of drawings and this woild make it easier to separate the sections

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Robert Vaughn

Bluebeam Revu

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-22
Review Source: Capterra

We work with submittal documents and construction drawings on an hourly basis and use this software for assisting with submittal processing of the documents and also in conjunction with our estimating software for take-off of changes and also as-built markups. Great program. Keep up the good work and support.

Pros
Ease of use, form creation for writable PDF forms, all of the bells and whistles included, measuring and counting tools and the studio sessions..

Cons
I do not know of any cons that I have came a across with this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Angelique Hamm

Can’t work without it

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

Been using Bluebeam for about 5 years now and each year for different reasons, tasks etc I honestly cannot work without it now! It’s a caveat in any hiring negotiations lol

Pros
It’s amazing The options, custom tool chests, and extensive measuring tools make light work of any type of estimating

Cons
Not getting to know the program fully before using it There are so many features that I found myself redoing things or setting a default unintentionally Spend time in the front end and get a little familiar..

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Lawrence Eric Teves

Useful Tool

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-05-04
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It makes my quantity estimates a lot efficient and more accurate that means less mistakes. You load up the pdf file and then you have to calibrate it according to the drawing scale and start measuring. It helps me a lot in calculating irregular areas and volume. Also, it gives accurate result when estimating by direct counting method and it saves a lot of time. Also, you can cut some portion of areas that is not included and you get the net area result. Ex. when computing the wall area less the windows and doors, then you can easily get the net area of the wall without the windows and doors.

Cons
it does not update the name of the part that you are estimating. For example. if you have been estimating columns and when youre done you proceed to another say, beams, the results will be seen under the columns name. Therefore you have to be aware of that, otherwise youll have to go thought the pain separating each of the item and group them into another.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jace Fogle

I use it everyday as a project engineer.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It has every tool I need to do my job. I am constantly manipulating PDF documents to put them into a submittal, RFI, communicate an issue to an owner/architect, and control the construction documents.

Cons
The cost of this software makes it very difficult to own on a personal computer. It's capabilities are great, but when using the standard version instead of the extreme, many of the features I use are not available. Specifically the studio suite and the batch tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Carol Kohan

Bluebeam is best for viewing and printing drawings!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

Making my job easier as a Project Assistant.

Pros
The application is very user friendly. It is easy to make editing changes to a PDF. It can also be used to make changes and/or additions to a PDF. I prefer Bluebeam to Adobe software. I would have loved to attend the annual seminar in California, but it didn't happen. I even wanted to use my own airfare to get there.

Cons
Probably the ability to view DWGs. There isn't too much that I would nail down as not liking about Bluebeam.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Joshua Byers

Great product but has its flaws

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-04-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Bluebeam Revu has been a wonderful product for our company. It allows us to easily look at construction drawings and make quick and accurate markups and takeoffs. It is very user friendly and have a lot of amazing features that make it sore over its competitors like adobe.

Pros
Easy to use Many options for markups and notes Ability to combine multiple trade drawings into one set

Cons
The set's ability is an amazing function but after being out for 5 years, it still hasn't made it to the iPad version yet Customer service takes a while to respond and doesn't fully assist with issues. It's almost like they blow off your issues. Overlays and comparisons still have the same bugs they had a couple years ago.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Jacob Cain

An effective tool to facilitate review of construction drawings.

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-15
Review Source: Capterra

It has streamlined many of our project and construction drawing reviews. Saved a lot of labor hours and allowed for more efficient and effective projects.

Pros
Tracking of comments on construction drawings is quite a challenge. Bluebeam is great at getting notices out to people and letting them know that drawings need to be reviewed. You can set due dates, it tracks comments that are made and by whom, you can even follow comments in real time as they are being made by others. The software is simple enough to get into and get started without too much difficulty.

Cons
There are a lot of advance features for the software and with advanced features usually comes confusion and lack of clarity on how to execute certain actions. I think the ability to administer a drawing review and get it setup has a number of options that can be confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Billy Kay

Always Open on my desktop!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Every morning when I boot up my computer, Bluebeam is the first to open on my left screen monitor (work from 3 screens). This software is a must for anyone in construction. I have been a user for over seven years and my production rate gets better and better with the ease of use associated with this program. Thank you for make all my pre-construction task the best part of my day!

Pros
Snapshot - get it done and sent to all Team members in less than 1 second.

Cons
None that I can think of at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review