App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Brightidea Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


107 reviews

Recommended

JC
AvatarImg

Joseph C.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideation software with built in features that you won't know you need until later

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are a very large company and have been working with Bright Idea for 4+ years. Overall, the experience has been a very positive one with teams using the Ideation software for initiatives such as Process, manufacturing, patient and other areas of improvement. There are tangible benefits to the Ideation process and Bright Idea goes a long way in helping us receive those benefits.

Pros

Having been an Enterprise Admin for 2 years; there are 4 general areas of focus in considering what I like best about Bright Idea. First, the end-user experience, those that come to a Challenge to submit, vote or comment on ideas. The interface is very straightforward and intuitive. I have yet to receive an end-user inquiry about how to use or what to do. Grade: A+ The next areas is Site (or Campaign)...

Cons

As an Enterprise Administrator there is a learning curve for many functional options that can take awhile to understand. Also, I am not a fan of some of the terminology such as "webstorm".

LO
AvatarImg

Larry O.

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation Platform!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The experience with Brightidea has been great so far! I believe we made an excellent choice as a company for choosing Brightidea 2 years ago. The fact that Brightidea is also evolving and willing to take on suggestions as a means of continuous improvement of their platform is quite commendable. The company lives and breathes innovation par excellence!

Pros

I have found the customization features relatively easy to use compared to previous platforms that we adopted. The ability to add steps and create rules in the innovation pipeline set up helps to create the various dynamics that we needed as we shape our relatively complex innovation and product development process. Integration with our processes was a bit challenging at first, but overtime we found ways to adapt the platform to meet our needs.

Cons

The ability to have all the functionalities we enjoy on the desktop version within the mobile app option would definitely be a good improvement.

CF
AvatarImg

Claudia F.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good experience but the software has some limits that can be improved

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Flexibility in terms of customized pipeline, different evaluations tools, open to external and business model canvas and business impact that allow digitalizing some activities. Customization in terms of look & feel.

Cons

No possibility to assign an idea to a specific evaluator (some clients ask this functionality in particular when they start to use the platform). The activation of the workspace is centralized and permitted only to the admin (a high effort to innovation team). The absence of a project management tool (the functionality in the workspace is really poor). The low flexibility of the dashboard (in particular...

TS
AvatarImg

Timothy S.

Consumer Electronics, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Unique but cumbersome

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support. I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

Pros

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support.

Cons

I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

ON
AvatarImg

Oliver N.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust and highly capable idea management platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

The service at Brightidea stands out. Throughout the sales process and more importantly, since the sales process, Brightidea have been attentive while giving us the space to explore and use the platform. There a good transparent processes for raising requests for future enhancements. In the first few months we have set up a range of challenge in the platform with very few issues - overall, it is early days, but has been a good start.

Pros

The platform is not that big on frills, but it feels highly dependable. The navigation is intuitive and we feel no need to issue user guides.

Cons

Currently, the reporting is robust and fairly extensive, but the ability to create custom reports would be a great addition to the platform.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best ideation platforms out there!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great customer service, abundance of out-of-the box features as well as a company that listens to Customer feedback.

Pros

Outside of the the great customer service the company provides, the ease of use and features are what make Brightidea stand out. Our customers have especially enjoyed the back-end idea management interface to be able to rank, sort, and group ideas that have come in from solvers. With a large company and thousands of ideas flowing in, this is a key features that other platforms have failed to address meaningfully.

Cons

The one potential disadvantage of the tool is that advanced customizations will require professional services support which add up. Out of the box, however, the platform will service 90%+ of the Customer base so that may not be a big issue.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kayla P.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I used Bright Idea to source & implement ideas from an organization of 1,200+ on an ongoing basis.

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software made it easy to collect, sort, organize, analyze, and communicate about ideas submitted by a 1200+ person organization spanning sites across the east coast (as well as an array of home workers across the country).

Pros

The software is intuitive and mirrors social media that most people are familiar with. It is easy to customize on the whole, and meets the objectives for our business goals.

Cons

I wish there were more options to support an ongoing program like the one we have. At Unum, we aren't looking for ideas in small spurts of time, but rather using the site as the foundation of an ongoing engagement and continuous improvement program spanning office locations and multiple departments/skills. Although we are using the tool in a way that it isn't necessarily intended, we have seen tremendous success. It'd be great to see BrightIdea work to tailor a version of the platform to a business goal like ours.

LS
AvatarImg

Lindsay S.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BrightIdea Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We started an internal crowdsourcing approach using BrightIdea and this has resonated very well with our business members. They are pleased that their ideas are able to be heard and the process is transparent.

Pros

The look & feel of the BrightIdea platform is very easy and engaging for users.

Cons

Functionality is limited in areas such as socialization and financials. Though the BrightIdea team is very open to hearing product enhancements and is frequently updating the software.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Platform Usage

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ease of use of the tool. The ability for the end users to collaborate and share ideas across all work streams. The platform captures all submissions and allows the end user group to tailor to their needs what the whole submission and evaluation process consist of.

Cons

When viewing submissions the ease of use can be challenging. When viewing submission within the pipeline you are not able to see the specific number attached to the submission without hovering over the specific submission. Being able to tailor the layout of the submission form to meet the end users needs.

CF
AvatarImg

Chris F.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Extremely intuitive and user friendly interface to capture creative solutions

Reviewed 7 years ago

Introduction of the software was a catalysts to changing the behaviours and culture of the business whereby challenging each other, sharing problems and solutions and constantly looking for opportunities for improvement are becoming the norm.

Pros

Ease of use and flexibility. The breadth of scope of the platform from initial challenge submission, to idea generation, screening and review through to tracking of results makes it an invaluable tool for generating and managing large numbers of quality ideas and innovations.

Cons

Back end statistical representation could be more effective, the ability to slice and dice data and determine which areas of the business are heavily engaged and also to track commercial benefit of specific challenges, ideas or groups of ideas.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Toni D.

Insurance,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use talent sharing functionality giving us the ability to strengthen our cross functional skills

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Brightidea gives my organization the ability to collaborate more cross functionally and strengthen skills and experiences across the board. We love the ability to post opportunities for others to volunteer for. We also leverage the functionality to be able to solve challenging questions and source for opportunities to simplify and be more efficient at what we do. We connect these opportunities to our performance and coaching sessions for our organization to measure the success that we are gaining using Brightidea. Overall, we are very satisfied with Brightidea and look forward to use it in other creative ways to support growth and experience within our organization!

Cons

The only thing that challenges us is the pricing and limited Admin seats we have. This makes us have to rely on our IT partners for support and administration.

MM
AvatarImg

Mike M.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Leader In Innovation Challenge Software

Reviewed 8 years ago

Using BrightIdea to help run our innovation challenge program has been a wonderful experience. The software is easy to use for both admin's and most importantly users. Their features cover all aspects of the innovation life-cycle allowing for everything to be completed and tracked in one place. And their customer support has exceed our expectations, they have done a fantastic job and helping us scale our program in the right ways.

Pros

It's extremely easy for users to understand and use it, thereby making engagement an easy sell. The features they support are also extensive and they continue to add new ones to support a growing program.

Cons

A few bugs have made setup from an admin standpoint more time consuming then they should be, but work around are available and they are quick to respond to our needs.

RM
AvatarImg

Ray M.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Brightidea has been the key to organising our innovation initiatives

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has been a great way to get everyone involved in idea sharing. We have tried this without using Brightidea but it became too complicated to manage. This software makes managing the workflow super easy!

Pros

Very easy to adapt the software to the needs of the initiative, as well to the colors and theme of our company

Cons

I have not found anything negative, and I continue to try to find things that could be improved, but to date have not found any!

SC
AvatarImg

Serafettin Cemil S.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is very flexible and has a lot of great apps for your specific challenge needs.

Reviewed 7 years ago

A lot of profit' cost saving and innovative thinking.

Pros

This Platform has and easy to use interface and customizability just great for tweaking it for your specific needs.

Cons

It would be great to give out some minor admin permissions like dashboard view access and reporting to ordinary users for limited times. This would allow the people learn more about the system and get involved even more while making life a little bit easier for the system and web storm admins.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Serafettin! Many customers leverage our Moderator role to assign light administrative permissions to users. This role is restricted to viewing reporting and light submission management. I hope this will be helpful to you!

KM
AvatarImg

Kalvin M.

Sporting Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust tools with lots of features.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Successful launching of Open Innovation Program. It's hard to tell the story and show proof of engagement without this tool. Thank you!

Pros

Great customer support from the BrightIdea team, from sales to technical support and training. Wonderful support on boarding new customer and tremendous value.

Cons

User interface design can be a bit more simplistic. e.g. like Apple website, or aesthetics of Apps like Slack.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Kalvin! It is part of our design process to stay abreast of the modern design landscape - not just within B2B but also for B2C products like Slack - to identify opportunities to continually evolve and update our product. We are also continuing to invest in growing our product design team. We hope you will like the UI/UX for the latest round of product updates that we've made. Over time, we will also be cascading our updated style guide to more parts of our existing platform.

ld
AvatarImg

lisa d.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Bright idea allowed us to launch a program with confidence.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

User friendly, easy to navigate, visually appealing, great customer service, variety of applications

Cons

some things don't make sense to us and are not customizable.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please do share with us on IdeaSpace if there a particular area where you are getting stuck, or if there is an area that does not seem intuitive to you. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

MT
AvatarImg

Melanie T.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightidea's customer service makes the difference

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Working with the Brightidea team is always a good experience. They're client-driven, and have continuously worked to improve their product to suit our needs.

Cons

As with many providers of this type of software, getting it set up to track the metrics we need continues to be a bit of a struggle.

MA
AvatarImg

Marti A.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation Tool, constantly updating features

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use this tool as a customer portal for product enhancements. We've been very pleased overall.

Pros

Their account managers and support are very responsive and update the product with an ear to customer voice. Lots of helpful documentation to help companies learn how to use innovation across the organization.

Cons

Reporting and metrics could use a facelift.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Giorgi G.

Tobacco, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

Reviewed 6 years ago

It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

AZ
AvatarImg

Avi Z.

Printing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great easy to use program

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

the challenges app is one of my favorites , we can use it to describe our top challenges and to easily expose it to all of our employees

Cons

to many applications can confusing the end user , i think that bright idea can help their admins with suggestions to internal communication (it will help us to extend our program and it is a share interest for us)

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Avi! We were so excited that you travelled all the way to SF for our user conference! We've worked to categorize our Apps to help you understand which Apps to use for which use cases - please check out our newly released Apps Pillar page. Also, take a look at the Knowledge Base for sample content you can leverage for internal communications, for example the Solve App Challenge Sponsors Guide.

fy
AvatarImg

fethi yasir n.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to implement and tools are very functional. brightidea team is very helpful. glad to choose

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

easy to use, functional and customizable. mobile app is helping us to reach all workers. new features are coming to make our work easier.

Cons

doesn't support multi language and facing bugs. web storm admins need more role in the platform.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Fethi! It was great connecting with you at our user conference and learning about how your team is using Brightidea. I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered bugs. Our support team will ensure any issues are resolved as quickly as possible. The software can be configured to support a number of different languages; please reach out if you need help.

FK
AvatarImg

Fatih K.

Airlines/Aviation,

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Practical software helps corporate innovators do their jobs best

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

A lot of useful and plug and play options in it. It helps corporate innovators easily start idea competitions and gives opportunity to practically managing idea pipeline

Cons

Not much customizable for specifical needs. Customer support can be much creative in solving problems.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Fatih! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please reach out to us on Ideaspace if there is particular area where you are getting stuck. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

MC
AvatarImg

Michael C.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great software

Reviewed 4 years ago

their onboarding team was great in explaining how everything worked. plus the ability to save the webexes for future use helped a lot.

Pros

bright idea is extremely intuitive and easy to setup. We use it for multiple use cases.

Cons

The inability for Boolean logic in the rules engine is somewhat annoying but manageable.

LL
AvatarImg

Lisa L.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

In the infancy stages of learning!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I appreciate the feel and look of the sight. When you are in the application, it does not feel like "work"...like you are completing a task that you have to do...that you are told you must complete. The collaborative feel and functionalities that are available make the innovation process easier to manage.

Cons

At times, there are limitation to the admin adjustments that we can create on our end (i.e. color schemes, pixel adjustments, hiding of functionality, etc)

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! You can likely make the adjustments you need by leveraging our "Custom CSS" functionality. Please reach out if this does not address your needs!

CS
AvatarImg

Chase S.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Enjoyable, though having to learn tips and tricks to operate w/out error.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Fundamental function of the software and ease of use for the end use. Easy to set up challenges and import users.

Cons

Multiple options/settings menus, and multiple areas to extract participation data:Pipeline, webstorm, enterprise, etc.. It can be challenging to remember which setup menu specific items reside, ex: scorecard is in the pipeline setup, and newsletters in the enterprise setup. There's a few different ways to do common tasks, and the end result isn't always the same, such as importing users (pillar v enterprise), reporting, extending step timelines.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Chase! Many customers leverage our extensive support portal to discover how to best take advantage of all of the configuration settings and functionality that Brightidea has to offer. I hope this can be helpful to you. At the same time, we are committed to continuing to simplify and streamline the software, to make it easier for users to perform key tasks. If you have other product suggestions, feel free to submit them in IdeaSpace - https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas