This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Brightidea Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use innovation

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Simple, fast to start an innovation program, easy to use, some nice templates, design our own pipelines.

Cons

Translations, we need to make the platform translate 100% to other languages. More custom templates to choose.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Oscar! We intend all end user-facing features and pages to be translatable, and we actively release updates to ensure gaps are resolved. Please let us know if you're seeing gaps, and we'll do our best to address them. And thank you for the feedback on templates - as we work more in this area, we will be reaching out to customers to better understand what they are looking for. Our newest homepage template, which came out with the Fall Release 2017, was designed based one extensive customer feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust tools with lots of features.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Successful launching of Open Innovation Program. It's hard to tell the story and show proof of engagement without this tool. Thank you!

Pros

Great customer support from the BrightIdea team, from sales to technical support and training. Wonderful support on boarding new customer and tremendous value.

Cons

User interface design can be a bit more simplistic. e.g. like Apple website, or aesthetics of Apps like Slack.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Kalvin! It is part of our design process to stay abreast of the modern design landscape - not just within B2B but also for B2C products like Slack - to identify opportunities to continually evolve and update our product. We are also continuing to invest in growing our product design team. We hope you will like the UI/UX for the latest round of product updates that we've made. Over time, we will also be cascading our updated style guide to more parts of our existing platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Bright idea allowed us to launch a program with confidence.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

User friendly, easy to navigate, visually appealing, great customer service, variety of applications

Cons

some things don't make sense to us and are not customizable.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please do share with us on IdeaSpace if there a particular area where you are getting stuck, or if there is an area that does not seem intuitive to you. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good user interface on the front end, back end is a bit trickier.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is easily scalable and easily accommodates our many users. We enjoy being able to launch many different challenges fairly frequently.

Cons

We would love to have more support for 'open ideation' platforms at a large scale. It is valuable for companies to engage their employees beyond ROI of their ideas by making them feel heard and listened to.

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing, Sarah! We're glad to hear that you find the software easily scalable. We offer a few apps for engaging a broad employee base. The Discuss app allows you to create a dialogue among a large number of employees about important company topics. The Suggest app is meant to support a company-wide idea management process. Please let us know on Ideaspace if you have other opportunities that we should consider. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation Tool, constantly updating features

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use this tool as a customer portal for product enhancements. We've been very pleased overall.

Pros

Their account managers and support are very responsive and update the product with an ear to customer voice. Lots of helpful documentation to help companies learn how to use innovation across the organization.

Cons

Reporting and metrics could use a facelift.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to implement and tools are very functional. brightidea team is very helpful. glad to choose

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

easy to use, functional and customizable. mobile app is helping us to reach all workers. new features are coming to make our work easier.

Cons

doesn't support multi language and facing bugs. web storm admins need more role in the platform.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Fethi! It was great connecting with you at our user conference and learning about how your team is using Brightidea. I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered bugs. Our support team will ensure any issues are resolved as quickly as possible. The software can be configured to support a number of different languages; please reach out if you need help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great easy to use program

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

the challenges app is one of my favorites , we can use it to describe our top challenges and to easily expose it to all of our employees

Cons

to many applications can confusing the end user , i think that bright idea can help their admins with suggestions to internal communication (it will help us to extend our program and it is a share interest for us)

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Avi! We were so excited that you travelled all the way to SF for our user conference! We've worked to categorize our Apps to help you understand which Apps to use for which use cases - please check out our newly released Apps Pillar page. Also, take a look at the Knowledge Base for sample content you can leverage for internal communications, for example the Solve App Challenge Sponsors Guide.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Can't say enough about our Account Team at Brightidea - outstanding assistance, patient, and helpful

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's completely different than anything we're doing in our organization. Crowdsourcing has been difficult, and it gives us the flexibility to reach out to employees with a digital platform who wouldn't otherwise have a voice to ideate.

Cons

Would like some additional flexibility in customization without needing to engage BI developers as needed.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Leslie! We love that you're giving a voice to employees whose ideas wouldn't have otherwise been heard. Once you've achieved the custom style that you're looking for, you can leverage the "Duplicate" utility on the Apps Pillar page to carry that style over when creating new initiatives. You can also select "Copy Design from an Existing Initiative" from any App Setup Wizard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

new user have run two pilots

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

platform is easy to use, team is open to new ideas. The over all graphic support is nice and we can make challenge look good with out much effort.

Cons

Would like to see a user community supported by the Bright idea team to allow users to collaborate on lessons learned and best practices across industries to reduce learning curve and make sure we are getting the most out of our investment in the solution.

Vendor response

Hi Laurie, We appreciate your review! We're so glad that your pilot is working out well. You're not alone on your request for a user community. We're looking into how to best implement this for you guys! Any thoughts or suggestions on that just let us know, otherwise stay posted for updates on it. Thanks, Daniel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Practical software helps corporate innovators do their jobs best

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

A lot of useful and plug and play options in it. It helps corporate innovators easily start idea competitions and gives opportunity to practically managing idea pipeline

Cons

Not much customizable for specifical needs. Customer support can be much creative in solving problems.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Fatih! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please reach out to us on Ideaspace if there is particular area where you are getting stuck. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

In the infancy stages of learning!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I appreciate the feel and look of the sight. When you are in the application, it does not feel like "work"...like you are completing a task that you have to do...that you are told you must complete. The collaborative feel and functionalities that are available make the innovation process easier to manage.

Cons

At times, there are limitation to the admin adjustments that we can create on our end (i.e. color schemes, pixel adjustments, hiding of functionality, etc)

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! You can likely make the adjustments you need by leveraging our "Custom CSS" functionality. Please reach out if this does not address your needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and administration. Templates for different applications

Cons

Limited out of the box (non-code) flexibility of campaign pages. Something like 3 column and footer layout, or two column layout. The ability to switch these after a campaign is created.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Even though it's a challenge, I do like to use this platform because it's been great so far

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm getting to know more about my company and being able to come up with ideas to make them more creative and collaborative

Pros

When it comes to organization the webstorms are helpful The platform is relatively easy to use, customize and collect data And I do like setting things on my own and being able to come up with new strategies from data analysis

Cons

Truth be told: I do hate it's chat mechanism All the users, the team and I just can't get it, so we communicate via email Other than that, I'm having struggle to set up customized and independent pages and I would love to have a way to merge categories and pipeline stages

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightidea for tracking new product introduction

Reviewed 2 years ago

Having a real time, up-to-date tracking system for projects in the NPI pipeline has allowed us to better manage our initiatives both internally and externally. Grouping projects depending on their particular stage helps us to prioritize better and use our time efficiently, This keeps projects from being forgotten along the way. Brightidea has always made reporting to the OCC much easier because all of our NPI projects are being stored in one place and only authorized users can make changes. This prevents errors and duplication.

Pros

We love that Brightidea logs status changes as projects move through our new product pipeline. The approval dependencies and historical data have been incredibly useful for tracking changes and reporting to our regulatory agencies. Being able to view all of our project inputs in different ways is also very useful. We can sort projects by stage and export them into spreadsheets according to various criteria. The pipeline view also helps us to visualize where attention is needed.

Cons

One issue we ran into was the inability to backdate projects. We are able to adjust dates when we export the data from the Brightidea site, but it would be useful if projects could be backdated, since we cannot always upload new products the day that they start. Otherwise, the Brightidea team has been able to solve any other problems that came up!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Enjoyable, though having to learn tips and tricks to operate w/out error.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Fundamental function of the software and ease of use for the end use. Easy to set up challenges and import users.

Cons

Multiple options/settings menus, and multiple areas to extract participation data:Pipeline, webstorm, enterprise, etc.. It can be challenging to remember which setup menu specific items reside, ex: scorecard is in the pipeline setup, and newsletters in the enterprise setup. There's a few different ways to do common tasks, and the end result isn't always the same, such as importing users (pillar v enterprise), reporting, extending step timelines.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Chase! Many customers leverage our extensive support portal to discover how to best take advantage of all of the configuration settings and functionality that Brightidea has to offer. I hope this can be helpful to you. At the same time, we are committed to continuing to simplify and streamline the software, to make it easier for users to perform key tasks. If you have other product suggestions, feel free to submit them in IdeaSpace - https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enjoyable and rewarding

Reviewed 3 years ago

Employee engagement. Critical in fostering a culture of innovation, and sourcing sustaining and disruptive ideas to our product line, services, operations, and industry.

Pros

Ease of use for end-users and administrators. The program is fun to use. Employees in our company enjoy having a platform to share their ideas and collaborate with their peers.

Cons

Setup menus can be consolidated. Different types and managing communications is confusing: Enterprise Set-up > Site > Newsletters; Enterprise Setup > Site > System Email Messages; Communications pillar; Setup pillar > Rules Engine > Email Templates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our overall experience with Bright Idea has been excellent. We have been able to name programs through associate engagement. We have also been able to manage our large pipeline of pilots that we are testing all over our portfolio.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and administer. This tool is highly customizable, which allows us to cater to our brand and make the tool work for us. It provides us with an organized platform to crowd source answers to some of our challenges by engaging our associates! We have been using BI for two years and the number of enhancements and improvements they continue to make is impressive.

Cons

The system has so many applications and I struggle to figure out a way to use them all! I wish that there were some better real world examples of each.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

BrightIdea will positively wow you.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The best and easiest way to tap into business improvements from the people who know best...employees. Helps with EE engagement and provides the means for collaboration with everyone involved.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the glowing review! -Daniel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Market leading innovation management platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

Improved safety, increase quality, cost reduction initiatives.

Pros

The ability to create multiple environments, to customise workflows, to duplicate workflows (for rapid deployment), the dedicated mobile app and customer success support.

Cons

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best innovation mangement software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Intuitive, easy to customize and lots of ready to use apps

Cons

The onboarding process is really good but maybe too slow when you have already technical knowledge. Should be adapted to the skills of the administrator

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I use BI daily to schedule appointments and to track project activity.

Reviewed 3 years ago

See survey!

Pros

Keeps me on point with where projects are in the pipeline. Helps me to make decisions on what projects will move forward and which projects will be exited. Gives me the opportunity to make email contact with constituents from BI.

Cons

I can't determine who used the system last and may have moved things around. Needs a tracking mechanism.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Positive experience with Brightidea software and support.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

intuitive, easy to use user interface - no end user training required. full function, end-to-end idea management tool. Crowd sourcing, collaboration and built-in social media capabilities. Scorecarding, reports. Configurable, cloud implementation. Automated feedback mechanisms to update submitters and others on progress. Good support. Good value for money.

Cons

Back-end administration not as intuitive to me as the front end. Needs a knowledgeable administrator to take full advantage of all the tool has to offer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This tool is a life saver for innovation teams.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the pipeline management tool and back-end reporting. I think that the user interface is also incredible. They also update with cool new features often. The support team is very quick.

Cons

The cost is very high for a nonprofit. The tool can get pretty technical at some times and a little difficult but the Support team is very quick to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We have been using this tool in our project to put forth improvement ideas for our team.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This has become a part of our team activity where we log our ideas, comment on other's ideas and track the ideas to closure thus improving the overall functioning of the team.

Pros

One of our track leads introduced this tool to our team around one year back. Since then, team has raised around 56 ideas and it has led to many process improvements in the team. Team is very happy with the tool because of its ease of use. Email notifications to the wider team audience helps get useful review comments on the ideas. Bright Idea moderators help to move the ideas forward to closure. Overall, the team is happy to use the tool and make a difference to their routine work.

Cons

The email notification feature is very good, however, if it is feasible to include the whole comment in the email, it will help save time to login to the bright idea site just to see the comments.

page 2 of 5

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

Ā© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetAppĀ® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.