App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cerberus FTP Server Logo

Secure file transfer solution

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cerberus FTP Server Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


110 reviews

Recommended

CS
AvatarImg

Christopher S.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CerberusFTP: Large Scale File Sharing Solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

When you have everything configured and ready to go, it works as you would expect but are rarely given. Server crash? No problem, nothing gets corrupted or fails to start on an application level. There is minimal resource consumption and a very impressive number of features and security options that you can implement. When I do have questions the Cerberus Support team is quick to reply and unlike most businesses today, do not hide their support contact information. It is easy to go to their website and submit a request without even needing to sign in.

Pros

It is one of a kind. 99% of searches done looking for "File Sharing" are cloud based. This is not applicable for a lot of agencies that protect sensitive data that prefer or require data to remain on-premise. In addition, Cerberus FTP Server is Scalable, Clean-Cut and Simple for End Users, and Supports Multiple Sharing Protocols. My absolute favorite feature is Sharing Files via HTTPS. Employee's and recipients need only a browser to share files. A very minimalistic interface keeps things easy and smooth and requires less overhead from IT when introducing to new users.

Cons

Some recent changes to the admin interface have been in my opinion a step back. Things were moved around and the responsiveness is 20% of the previous interface. This is okay though as it has not affected the end users experience, just the administrators. The one thing i'd really like to see but doesn't exist is the ability to create a permanent share that never changes. For example: We have proprietary...

Vendor response

Thank you for giving us such a thorough review! We appreciate the suggestions as well - feedback like yours is how we improve.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best of Breed FTP server

Reviewed 4 years ago

I don't have to worry about our FTP server with Cerberus...it's always up and security patches are released in a timely manner. It is lightweight (I can serve over 1000 connections on 2 vCPUs and 6GB of RAM...I could server 700 of 3GB of RAM previously), unobtrusive, and really a pleasure to use.

Pros

Cerberus is extremely easy to setup, implement, and use. It is dead simple, reliable, user friendly, and straightforward to secure.

Cons

Not negatives, but missing features/improvable features: I'd like the option to run servers in high availability (there is a sync option, but not quite the same). I'd like to see more integration options for MFA (there are 2-3, but I'd like to see this expanded). I'd like integration with Active Directory to be more straightforward, and the option to integrate Azure Active Directory. The option to have a user account and admin account be the same. I realize there's some risk here, but that should be left to the organization to accept or avoid.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and your recommendations! We appreciate them!

RH
AvatarImg

Ronny H.

Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our experience with the product Cerberus FTP Server

Reviewed 3 years ago

Unnecessary steps for placing the important files on the servers.

Pros

For a quick start of the software, the program is easy to use even without any instructions. The program is very stable. In the upload of now over 50000 files, there has been no crash or other error. Therefore, the use in the company was immediately possible. This saves us a lot of administrative work and the users a lot of time.

Cons

I would like to have a quick search of what files have been downloaded or uploaded. Best as filtering by different criteria like date, time, folder, file, error/ok, direction (up/down), IP address.

Vendor response

Hi Ronny, thanks for your feedback! We're pleased to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and stable. If you'd like to submit your ideas for improvement of quick search on files downloaded and uploaded we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

TD
AvatarImg

Toby D.

Package/Freight Delivery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

In need of a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution? This is what you're looking for.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I wouldn't be filling this out if I didn't think this was a solid purchase for anyone in similar shoes. If you're running a small business with FTP needs, this is a worthwhile contender.

Pros

I've been handling FTP transfers for over 20 years, using a number of softwares and services in the hopes of finding an inexpensive, effective solution for our customers. Cerberus gets it right, from allowing all the usual methods of transfer to providing useful notifications of file transfer. It's simple to set up, easy to use, and the customer service has been fast and responsive even when building my own collaborative program.

Cons

I had a hard time setting up the database connection to MS SQL Server, but after I got it, it worked fine. I would like an in-app log that focuses less on "session id" (a completely useless search term) and more on "user name" or "downloads."

Vendor response

Hello Toby, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your endorsement as a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution, along with your kind words about our notifications, set up, ease of use, and our in-house support team. If you'd like, we'd love to hear about your ideas for improvements on logs here at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

AC
AvatarImg

Andrew C.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Stable and Robust Cerberus FTP

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive experience. We use this with several state and local government agencies and have no complaints.

Pros

Easy to implement and is constantly being updated/improved. We've even migrated to another server a few times and the process is streamlined nicely.

Cons

Before some recent updates which fixed this issue, the user management UI was a bit clunky, though still functional.

Vendor response

Hello Andrew, thank you for your kind words! We're glad our updates are improving your FTP Server needs as we continue to improve Cerberus FTP Server. Meeting compliance requirements across industries is a priority for us.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server is a Rock-Solid FTP Server Application!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Amazing support helped us when moving from a competitors product to get up and running.

Pros

I like how the web interface can sync with a secondary server to backup your configuration and users in case of a system failure.

Cons

I feel that some of the reporting could be more customizable.

Vendor response

We're happy to be able to help! Thanks very much for providing your review. If you'd like to submit a feature request for more reporting customization, you can do so at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

JO
AvatarImg

Joshua O.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

One Stop Secure File Collaboration Service

Reviewed 9 days ago

Setting up user accounts is easy and file permission is easy to map at setup.

Pros

Active directory users are uploaded automatically when synchronized with the domain. Easily managed and basic restrictions are set for user access with secure data transfer. If the SSL certificate is not valid, the SFTP url will be down and not accessible.

Cons

Too expensive and License price is not fixed, always increasing every day. There is no File approval process before users are allowed to download files.

KB
AvatarImg

Kyle B.

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Needed to find a high feature SFTP Server application that ran within a Windows environment.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The auto blacklist feature in conjunction with the number of failed logins is a great benefit, no need to continue to verify SFTP system is save. Another benefit for the company I work for is the support for local users and LDAP users simultaneously. No need to choose between the type of users within this system. The support for multi-tier authentication is also a huge benefit, password as well as pub key, or using the password or pub key allows employees to test as our client while I client stays secure using their private key. Applying updates is very simple and very quick, have performed such updates during business hours and downtime was a matter of 2 minutes.

Cons

When users are created, a folder corresponding to the user is not automatically created so only permissions need to be assigned for the user.

Vendor response

Hey Kyle, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your detailed feedback of the features you enjoy as it helps us improve with every new version we release. Our automation capabilities in our latest version should address your folder creation issue. You can update here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server helped power the car rental industry

Reviewed 3 years ago

Stable, reliable, and trustworthy. It was nice to have a system that just worked, one that we didn't have to worry about.

Pros

Setting up Cerberus was straightforward and clear. We were able to institute the extremely high level of security that the leading US car rental brands required of their partners like us, and we were able to install, configure, test, and put into production secure FTP all in one day! I especially appreciate the configuration backup ability (which should exist in every product made).

Cons

I don't really have a beef with anything about the product. I guess if I had a wish, we could create an automated blacklist, but since we IP restricted, we didn't have the need.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback, Michael! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus straightforward and secure to meet your needs, and appreciate your recommendation for automated blacklisting.

SK
AvatarImg

Shui Kee L.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server is great and easy to setup and use, bugs free and comes with great support.

Reviewed 7 years ago

The software works well and don't encounter any issues so far.

Pros

Briefly, the sFTP function works well and easy to setup with very good documentation manual, and importantly the logging activities which are stored and segregated in daily log file which is very useful for troubleshooting with counterpart whenever there is reported issue and the log file will clearly show the login, receiving, removing and sending events. Overall the interface is very user-friendly and that translates well into ease of use and maintains. Lastly but not the least is the pricing in comparison to other ftp server vendor in terms of functionalities namely control.

Cons

No option to create SSH key pair files for customer, and thus I have to use ftp voyager to generate these files.

Vendor response

Hi Shui, thank you for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased to hear you find it easy to setup and use, as well as our in-house support team to be helpful. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us to improve with every new version we release. If you'd like to share your comments of enjoying the SFTP functionality or the interface being very user-friendly with ease of use and maintenance. You can learn more about our resolve to creating SSH key pair files here https://www.cerberusftp.com/sftp-your-complete-guide-part-2-protocol-connection-and-authentication-process/

LM
AvatarImg

László M.

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Give it a try!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It can handle multiple protocols: ftp, sftp, http, https

Cons

If I set the permission of a user for a folder, cannot change it on a lower level (ie.: read permission on Level1, and want to add write permission to level1\level2\level3 only)

Vendor response

Hey László, thanks for your review! We're glad you're happy with Cerberus FTP Server's protocols. If you'd like to submit your ideas to improve permissions of a user to a folder, we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

WH
AvatarImg

William H.

Market Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great FTP Server product with https transfer

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been using the product for well over 5 years and it is a simpler solution that our parent company uses for FTP Server usage. Overall has all the features we want and need, but would be good to refine the AD integration for user management and also refine how to setup email alerts for users or groups of users in bulk to maintain them

Pros

- Easy to setup and host - Great value for price - Good logging

Cons

- Need to improve integration with Active Directory to simplify account management - Needs easier way to setup alerts to easily apply to new users or groups at once

Vendor response

Hi William, thanks for your review! We're happy you find Cerberus to be a great FTP Server and that it's easy to set up and host with good logging. We try to provide our users with the greatest value possible. We welcome feature request submissions like Active Directory integration at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

JO
AvatarImg

Justin O.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product backed with excellent support

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Product is very easy to install and setup. It does everything as advertised. It's particularly nice have one server that can handle ftp and sFTP. The product has a rich feature set which is easy to understand and easy to use. I love being able to administer the users and the perms directly from the UI as well as have full control over the directories and perms.

Cons

There is a significant price gap between professional and Enterprise. For a small business starting out the Enterprise edition is a little expensive. I'd love to see a tier between the two, or an a-la-carte offering on higher tier features. I would also like to interact with the product programmatically and while the product does have a SOAP API, it would be nice to see a more modern RESTful API introduced.

Vendor response

Hello Justin, thank you for the review! We're glad you're having a good experience so far and appreciate your suggestions regarding the API and pricing. We'll pass those along to our product team, and if you'd like to also submit a feature request you can do so here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

RB
AvatarImg

Robert B.

Think Tanks, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cerberus is a good, secure solution at a good price

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

the software allows for the creation of upload/download templates caled groups that can be applied to new users to make new account creation uniform, security permission will be identical for all users in that group. the advanced server security settings allow for disabling/enabling TLS 1.1, 1.2; as well as FIPS 140-2 cipher suites with some ease in the GUI.

Cons

The software uses a Windows .dll version of log 4j that limits the ability to set log rotation - max is 14, 30 days would be better. the ability to set this in the GUI would be a welcome addition.

Vendor response

Hey Robert, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus secure and are enjoying the features like grouping that save you time.

FG
AvatarImg

Francois G.

Maritime, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

a once great product - until management became greedy

Reviewed 14 days ago

I will be cancelling with Cerberus and will never use them again - I do not support any company that believes a 430% increase in ok.

Pros

The software was easy to use - did what it said and it was priced well in the market.

Cons

Management decided to increase the price of the software by 430% !! - from $289 to $1536 - What used to be affordable software has now become insanely priced. It clearly shows that making money is all that is important to

PL
AvatarImg

Phil L.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server Review

Reviewed a year ago

Automated File transfer to 3rd parties, works great, providing confidence in it's daily operations. Is now running well with minimal maintenance checks required.

Pros

Comparative to other products, Cerberus is fully featured but straightforward to use due to it's full GUI functionality.The scheduling of transfers to specific destinations (aka Targets) was easy to create and get up and running in minutes.

Cons

There is an internal event log with a limited window of events, but for more detailed logging a SQL based installation is required.

Vendor response

Hello Phil, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you're having a good experience. If you'd like to suggest improvements to the event logging, you can do so via a feature request at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

MK
AvatarImg

Michael K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding SFTP Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Uploading large amounts of files over the over the internet. Need it fast and secure. It does that

Pros

It is secure and continuously upgraded and patched. We need a product that keeps up with vulnerabilities and changing encryptions.

Cons

Should have more Logging settings available in UI. Had to hunt Knowledge boards to setup daily logs. Who doesn't retain logs. Overwrite should not be the default.

Vendor response

Hey Michael, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus secure and appreciate your kind words as we push out version updates consistently to continuously improve and address new vulnerabilities on the web.

AA
AvatarImg

Armando A.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very stable and easy to use FTP server

Reviewed 7 years ago

Stable, easy to use, fair price and several prices/configurations for different needs. Secure. Easy to by over the WEB.

Pros

I have used several FTP servers but the best solution, for my needs, is Cerberus by far. I use Cerberus for only 30 users and with low traffic. I never used the server for a big number of user and high demand, so I can not comments about that profile. But I can say that for my goals is perfect and with fair price.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Armando, thank you for your review! We're thrilled that Cerberus FTP Server is the best solution for your FTP needs, as we prioritize providing our three separate editions - Standard, Professional, and Enterprise, can meet every individual and company's needs and budgets.

JS
AvatarImg

Josh S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product for SFTP

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use the product to move large files daily between our EMRs and our data warehouse with no issue.

Pros

Overall setup and use of Cerberus is easy and quick to learn. Once it is setup and running it is mainly just checking logs to make sure valid IPs do not get added to the block list.

Cons

The only negative for me was I found it a little tricky to get the SSL cert installed. That may not be an issue for admins with more knowledge than me, it was just more difficult than IIS.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We're happy the product has been working so well for you.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raphael G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Usage of an SFTP solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good product on a number of level: administration, security, reliability and possible setup for bridges between internal setups and other clients not in our environment.

Pros

THe number of options when it comes to security and possible setups gives Cerberus an edge on how implement and administer all FTP solutions in any Company's environment.

Cons

The update options and informations are not always very clear and some direct references to articles would be welcome when major changes are done.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and your feedback!

DV
AvatarImg

Dat V.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server

Reviewed 3 years ago

Feature rich with functionality & security conscious vendor.

Pros

Very intuitive and customizable to operate, the system is feature rich and easy to update.

Cons

Is not fully web management interface. Adding ssl certificate to secure the system isn't easy.

Vendor response

Hi Dat, thanks for your review! We're glad you find Cerberus FTP Server intuitive, easy, and customizable to your needs. We welcome you to submit your recommendations for improvement here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

SR
AvatarImg

Sai R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great overall SFTP Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great product with reasonable pricing.

Pros

A sophisticated file transfer system with SFTP, https, and logging features for standard compliance. A FIPS-validated secure file transfer server that integrates with AD and LDAP. Runs on Windows, easy setup, meets HIPAA requirements.

Cons

Permissions and customization of the product.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the review Sai! We're pleased to hear that you're happy with Cerberus. If you have any suggestions for improving permissions and customization options, we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

NY
AvatarImg

Norbert Y.

Airlines/Aviation, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

So far so good, no complaint.

Reviewed 7 years ago

SFTP as stated. As we are slowly migrated from traditional FTP to SFTP

Pros

The pricing, easy of understanding the pricing structures and what each different tier provides. Performance is on par with products we have tested previously, the pricing of Cerberus made an easy decision for choosing the product.

Cons

the management once installed is a little tricky and takes a little time to get used to, however, once familiar, it's straight forward to use.

Vendor response

Hello Norbert, thank you for your review of Cerberus FTP Server. We're pleased you find the pricing easy of understanding with the structures and what each different tier provides as Cerberus prides itself on its transparency. Also happy to see you finding performance to be on par with products you have tested previously. As for your issues with management, we work hard to ensure Cerberus remains intuitive for all, and should you have any questions or issues, to be able to easily reach our award winning in-house support at: https://www.cerberusftp.com/support/

JG
AvatarImg

John G.

Museums and Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, fully functional FTP server

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

this was an easy to use and manage product, and has great security features, such as IP blocking and permabanning based on easy to define rules

Cons

It would be nice to have geo location for IP addresses again, I recall an older version had this

Vendor response

Hey John, thanks for your thoughts of Cerberus FTP Server! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus easy to use and manage, while meeting your security needs.

SS
AvatarImg

Stephan S.

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best FTP server

Reviewed 3 years ago

It did its job and is a very versatile software packet

Pros

Ease of installation and it contains all monitoring and security tools and is well maintained

Cons

some of the documents are only community supported

Vendor response

Hi Stephan, thanks for your feedback! We're glad you find Cerberus FTP Server management interface good and easy to set up and maintain! We welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests