App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cerberus FTP Server Logo

Secure file transfer solution

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cerberus FTP Server Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


110 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A great piece of software that is easy for users to operate

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

There is a lot of functionality built in to the software and it's very easy to manage. Most of the upgrades are completely automated and they come out with security patches / upgrades regularly.

Cons

There isn't much about the software that I have found to dislike. If I had to configure it over again, I would have configured it to integrate with our AD, rather than create new users in the program, but that is completely on us.

Vendor response

Hello Cerberus FTP Server User, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus functional and easy to use, as well as enjoying our automated updates and security patches as security is our top priority.

GL
AvatarImg

Gavin L.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using it for our PROD FTP Service, with two Cerberus FTP allow us to failover with HA.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Easy to use and manage.

Pros

User friendly GUI, easy to negative and setup, also many different features for security and login method. Allow IP blocking and whitelist.

Cons

No settings for log rotation period, the size of logs, or other options related to logs from the GUI. Events, Reports, and eMail alerts should enable on Professional version also.

Vendor response

Hey Gavin, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server has a user friendly GUI, is easy to navigate and setup, and are enjoying using the IP blocking and whitelisting features. We encourage you to submit your ideas for improvements regarding logs and alerts to us here at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

BO
AvatarImg

Bryan O.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Secure FTP Server

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to relativily quickly deploy a server for SFTP uploads.

Cons

I can't think of any things I didn't like about the product.

Vendor response

Hi Bryan, thanks for your feedback! We're thrilled you find the SFTP uploads fast, and that you are having no issues with the software.

SS
AvatarImg

Scott S.

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it has worked great for what we need it for.

Pros

Easy to use with no problems login in or transfering Data from the customer to us. Notifies us when we recieve files as well.

Cons

Don't really have anything we like lease about it. We use this server for one customer only. It was the easiest way to set it up for them.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Scott! We're glad you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and intuitive, and that the notifications feature is helpful.

ME
AvatarImg

Manuel E.

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best in class!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Way more functions. Way less work. Way happier workmates!

Pros

We absolutely LOVE the webclient, it's so much easier to take care of our less experienced users now. Our FTP support went down for about 70% already and those advanced functions like sharing and account request save incredible much time and money as well!

Cons

It's yet a bit tricky to customize the frontend, especially when there are updates. We're definitely looking forward to version 9, which has hopefully better (and persistant) customization features.

Vendor response

Hi Manuel, thank you for the wonderful review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're ecstatic that you find Cerberus to be the best, and that you're enjoying the web client saving you time and money. Since your review, we've released some great new versions and features, and encourage you to update to our latest version here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Priyabrata S.

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best FTP Server I have ever used.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Best software if you want to do some R&D regarding VFS. It'll provide every detail while you call the server.

Pros

I was looking for a FTP server which will support ApacheVFS. It not only supports this but gives a detail brief about how much time it takes to upload or download a file, how many hits happening in order to call the service, the size of the file..etc. All you have to do is start the server and call your service. It even won't consume much resource of the system, hence your system won't get slow if the server starts.

Cons

Feature wise it's great and simply awesome but it's a bit expensive for normal developer who is doing some personal R&D on different VFS.

Vendor response

Hi Priyabrata, thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you find Cerberus FTP Server's features great, fast, and efficiently sized.

ME
AvatarImg

Mike E.

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works incredibly well

Reviewed 7 years ago

Enhanced compliance

Pros

Granular configuration with the ability to create groups/profiles and map users to Active Directory.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Mike, thanks for the review! We're glad you find the configuration abilities to meet our exceed your expectations, and that you are very likely to recommend Cerberus FTP Server.

JG
AvatarImg

Joshua G.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and easy to manage

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use the software to securely transmit sensitive company data to our vendors and from our vendors back to us. It is very easy to update and very simple to deal with Cerberus' customer support.

Pros

Software is very simple to deploy in a very secure and compliant manner. User management is also very straightforward.

Cons

Some of the new GUI menus are a little weird. I prefer the old GUI menus.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

KT
AvatarImg

Kavin T.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to use and secure

Reviewed 7 years ago

easy to use

Pros

multiple user and directory management, ssh secure, stable, can use public key and private key authentication

Cons

price is a little bit high but overall is good

Vendor response

Hey Kavin, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're glad you find Cerberus easy to use, stable and secure, as well as enjoying multiple user and directory management, ssh secure, and public key and private key authentication.

PH
AvatarImg

Phillip H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very reliable. Product update notifications through email and application notification allows us to maintain a current version.

Pros

Fairly easy to implement. Customer support always helps resolve issues.

Cons

It can be a bit overwhelming to get the initial setup right. 0p

Vendor response

Hey Phillip, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus easy to implement, and that our support team is able to help you along the way!

PF
AvatarImg

Philip F.

Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This is not for posting

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Cerberus software seems to be able to manage the folder structure that I like.

Cons

the tracking of the uploads in a specific time for a specific folder or group of folders

Vendor response

Hi Philip, thanks for your feedback! We're glad our folder structure management is to your liking, and are working to improve tracking uploads details. Make sure you're up to date on the latest version as we constantly make these improvements.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent application

Reviewed 5 years ago

File transfer issue resolved using Cerberus sftp

Pros

Feature and flexibility with easy of use

Cons

Everything found to be very good in case of sftp and logging

Vendor response

Hello Cerberus FTP Server user, thank you for sharing your review of us! We're glad to hear you find Cerberus features flexible and easy to use!

CS
AvatarImg

Coenie S.

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy to use feature rich app addressing all needs

Reviewed 7 years ago

Well our users have access to their own online storage being internal to our organization,

Pros

The ease of setup, maintain and administration. The user interface is also easy to use so I don't need to train my users on how it works. They figure it self.

Cons

Well, not really sure. So far all seems nice. There are free tools on the market, so perhaps you can drop the price a little. But still not too bad value for money

Vendor response

Hi Coenie, thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear you find our features helpful and easy to use. It's pleasing to know that setup, maintenance and administration has been easy for you as well as your users. If you do ever find ways we can improve, please contact us!

JH
AvatarImg

Jerry H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Peasy, FTP

Reviewed 7 years ago

Sharing large files with customers and team members.

Pros

My clients love the easy to use web client, rather than using an FTP client. I like how easy it was to set up on a server hosted in Microsoft Azure. It was the perfect solution for us.

Cons

It's a bit pricey.

Vendor response

Hello Jerry, we appreciate your review! We're pleased you find the web client easy to use, as well as the set up on a server hosted in Microsoft Azure. As for pricing, Cerberus FTP Server prides itself on its transparent, competitive pricing that remains on par if not more affordable than the market for all the features we provide in our three editions of Standard, Professional, and Enterprise. Each varied to meet the feature needs and budget of the consumer.

KG
AvatarImg

Kailash G.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy & Convenient

Reviewed 4 years ago

It serves our needs to the client.

Pros

Super easy to configure and use as we do on a daily basis

Cons

Not sure how we're to get updates to the purchased software. The issue is we've purchased it and there hasn't been any follow-up from CSR about enhancements/bug fixes or updates.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We're happy you found the set-up so convenient! Someone will be in touch shortly to explain how updates are handled - sorry for the confusion.

DR
AvatarImg

Donald R.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product Great Features

Reviewed 7 years ago

Web Portal, Ease for end users, Easy to manage.

Pros

Secure FTP, Auto Blocking IP, Secure File Portal. Ease of setup. Quickly migrated my users from our old software.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Donald, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're happy you find Cerberus secure, easy to setup and transition over to!

JB
AvatarImg

Jiří B.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

FTP Server review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good experience with the software, but the support of it is questionable. For an ask of Invoice without VAT details, I was pointed to some of their partner to solve it myself.

Pros

Easy to deploy, administer, stability, over all very good software

Cons

no point to add here. everything you need for a FTP/SFTP deployment it fullfill.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review! We're thrilled that you love the software but we're sorry about the issue getting an adjusted invoice; our webstore merchant of record for VAT issues is FastSpring, and we can help communicate with them if you're not hearing back. Please let us know at sales@cerberusftp.com or +1-703-372-9750.

CB
AvatarImg

Cindy B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works but wish for more

Reviewed 10 months ago

NIST / CMMC compliance

Pros

Ease of installation. We moved from a web based FTP server to an on-site secure FTP server with Cerberus.

Cons

The only way for us to use this with our customer base is to require them to use an FTP client. I would like the ability to make our secure FTP server a secure portal for outside vendors and customers to share data.

Vendor response

Hello Cindy, Thanks very much for your review! We're glad installation was easy for you. Cerberus's Enterprise Edition does offer an on-premise managed web transfer portal that would let outside vendors and customers share data with you (the HTTPS web client). If you'd like to explore this option, please contact us at sales@cerberusftp.com and we can upgrade you to this edition.

JM
AvatarImg

Jeffrey M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good securte encrypted FTP file sharing

Reviewed 6 years ago

Experience would be as any other FTP server. Company was looking for reliability, security and access control . Fancy having the same name as our integration system therefore the software was chosen .

Pros

Allows encryption with file sharing. Company required external software to drop files on a location to be picked up by teams on the other side of the country. Better alternative to cron jobs.

Cons

Just another server with options configurable and security features customizable.

Vendor response

Hey Jeffrey, thank you for leaving us a review! We're glad to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server reliable, secure, and has the access control you need!

CV
AvatarImg

Charlie V.

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feature rich, customizable,

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy Implementation, Great pricing, Packed with Features, excellent logging, FTPS/FTPES & SFTP on one server software

Cons

Little bit of a learning curve with the cipher suites, but probably not because of the UI, more just trying to understand best practice

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Charlie, we're glad to hear you're having a good experience! Please do reach out if there's ever anything our support team can help with: cerberusftp.com/contact.

PT
AvatarImg

Peter T.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to implement and setup

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and full functionality is what I like a lot about this product. Phone support is great as well and reassured me that I won't be left stranded if I need help.

Cons

Not much of CONS at this moment of time. As I scale up the utilization of this product, I may update my CONS accordingly here.

Vendor response

Thank you Peter! We're glad to hear Cerberus is working well for you, and are just a phone call away if you ever need us.

Ad
AvatarImg

Antonio de Jesus O.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best SFTP server

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What I like the most about this software is that it is very easy and intuitive to use, so all the configuration is very fast.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that it just doesn't have the option to switch to the Spanish language

Vendor response

Hi Antonio, thanks for your review! We're glad you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and configure. We do have the option to switch to Spanish and other languages using the Localization Tool, you can learn more about it here https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000057599-Localization-Tool

BW
AvatarImg

Bert W.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

User friendly and good overview with auhorization

Cons

I don't not what's functionality is missing, or I don't need it.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate it!

DP
AvatarImg

Derek P.

Oil & Energy, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cerberus Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and administer accounts. Keep up the good work

Cons

Having to pay a lot extra to enable the web interface. Would be nice to be able to just add web interface at a standard price vs having to upgrade to enterprise version. End users dont really care for having to use something like filezilla to access. And no feature to turn on MFA only if we upgrade to web version.

Vendor response

Hi Derek, thank you for your feedback! We're pleased to hear that you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and administer accounts.

AS
AvatarImg

Arkadiusz S.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is a very good product. He contributed to increasing the efficiency and security of my company.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

GUI - Very good user interface .

Cons

Only one session of Application via RDP. We could use at least more. email notification

Vendor response

Hey Arkadiusz, thanks for your review! We're glad to hear you find Cerberus increasing the efficiency and security of your company, and that you enjoy the GUI. Since your comment, we have made numerous improvements to Cerberus FTP Server, including email notifications, which you can get by updating to our latest version here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/