App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Foxit PDF Reader Logo

Cloud-based and on-premise PDF reader.

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Foxit PDF Reader Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


930 reviews

Recommended

SJ
AvatarImg

Simón Jesús C.

Environmental Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lector PDF para el día a dia

Reviewed 2 years ago

La experiencia es excelente, salvo excepciones, por lo que es el software que utilizo por defecto debido a todos los pros que cuenta y al bajo impacto de los contras al menos para los requisitos con los que cuento.

Pros

Es increíblemente ligero e intuitivo, por lo que no presenta problemas para usuarios que no sepan del mismo. Además, presente múltiples funcionalidades que, en otros casos, es requerido acceder a una membrecía extra o tercerizar servicios, por lo que aumenta la productividad de forma considerable.

Cons

Considero que hay oportunidad de mejora en cuanto a la edición de texto en archivos de "baja" calidad y en la búsqueda de frases mucho más en la combinación de ambos aspectos.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Imi C.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful PDF reader- best for viewing PDF files through the windows preview method

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like it. I use it as the PDF reader because it is clear and clutter free.

Pros

This is quite the best free PDF software to view those PDF files in Windows File Explorer. While this preview feature for PDF files are available in all other PDF readers, the Foxit menu, clarity and speed of scrolling during the preview is a must have for any one working with large contracts. It has several features such as bookmarking, attachment and typewriting that is desirable and found in paid version of similar software. However,.....

Cons

The software is filled with Ads ( Advertisement) when you begin to use it in full. It sometime feel that it is memory intensive and feel heavy when you open a few larger contract. The main drawback for me... I cannot go to File... Save AS ( Optimized ) or reduced PDF.

JZ
AvatarImg

Jacopo Z.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Editor PDF estremamente pratico e facile da usare, uno dei migliori sul mercato

Reviewed a year ago

Questo software è in utilizzo da un paio d'anni in azienda per la lettura e gestione di documenti PDF e ha dato ottimi risultati, soprattutto perchè ci permette di svolgere tutte le funzionalità principali, compresa la firma elettronica, con fluidità e senza perdite di tempo.

Pros

Facilità e velocità di utilizzo, interfaccia utente semplice e intuitiva, possibilità di inserimento firma elettronica, flusso di lavoro fluido.

Cons

Niente in particolare, solo qualche difficoltà sporadica di sincronizzazione con il cloud.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

EA
AvatarImg

Eduardo A.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great alternative to Adobe Acrobat

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great. We love it. It is free and it's a breeze to set up.

Pros

It is free and easy to use. It has basic and advance tools. It is fast and lightweight. It is updated by the mozilla/firefox team. It just works.

Cons

Not as advanced as adobe acrobat, but hey the PDF format was an adobe creation so don't expect to get all the functions that the original software has.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

María Lucía S.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Foxit reader is the best option for creating pdf files

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall is a extremely powerful PDF reader. Its free version is so complete, has a lot of functionalities that other readers lack, as higlighting, screenshot options, creating PDFs from other files, sharing, and the possibility of adding notes. I would reccomend Foxit both to office employees and university students.

Pros

Foxit Reader was first reccomended to me by a friend from the university, long time ago, when we needed easy to use PDF readers that allowed highlighting the files. So, I started using it 5 years ago, If I'm not wrong. Later, I discovered that this software had other great features (apart from highlighting options), but my favourite is the possibility of converting files in any format to PDF fast and easily, just by selecting the file from your device. I had some reports made of images that I had to convert to PDF without losing quality, because some clients asked that. Foxit helped me to do that in less than a minute.

Cons

I don't have many cons to remark, but sometimes its tab system to open the files it's a little bit confusing if you're still not used to the software.

mo
AvatarImg

marco o.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Parceiro nos negócios.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Facilidade de interação com outros aplicativos e auxilio nos negócios sem prejuízo de demais aplicativos e da rotina de trabalho.

Pros

Todos os recursos com respostas rápidas e em perfeito funcionamento. Excelente alternativa a outros leitores pesados e caros. Visualmente leve e despoluído em comparação aos concorrentes. Sua adaptação a outros aplicativos é perfeita e aceita por todos.

Cons

Não há necessidade de outros recursos, todos os recursos disponíveis no Foxit são adequadamente necessários e funcionais.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Daily use of FoxIt

Reviewed 3 years ago

other than the mirroring of the logo as mentioned before no issues

Pros

The program is as many other pdf readers but with a lot more functionalities. You can easily add signatures in a safe and secure way to the documents and make all kinds of notes. This all can be done in the free version. Of course in the paid version you get the cloud functionality (among other things) which by the way is a very nice feature. We did not need this because we are using the Office 365 environment.

Cons

lately i noticed that when printing logo's like for example print an invoice from amazon the logo was mirrored. Not sure if that has been fixed but for me it was not a big problem because i can print to PDF using the MS OS built in PDF print option and then open the doc in Foxit.

TD
AvatarImg

Thien D.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A PDF reader that gets the job done

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very clean interface and all the tools can be easily hidden for even more reading screen estate. What Foxit does better than other PDF readers is that their shortcut keys are clearly annotated, making it very easy to look up.

Cons

The way Foxit saves my annotations, especially highlighting and commenting, can be confusing. In fact, annotations saved as highlights look identical to those with a floating notepad. Not that big of a deal but it does annoy me sometimes when I need to go through the annotations I make in the document.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Foxit reader for everything

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you have a low-end PC and struggling with other high-end PDF readers, just take a look at Foxit reader. It is lightweight and completely free to full fill all your basic PDF requirements.

Pros

I'm a kind of PRO pdf user and I have experience with almost every famous PDF reader, I can say Foxit is the best PDF reader. comparatively, it is small software with better ram management. It takes less time for the initial run & we can do all kinds of commenting works such as drawing, signing, and highlighting within the free version. It suites me very well for both my personal and professional works and its mobile version also looks impressive.

Cons

I didn't see any downside of this cool app until now. The measuring function is missing on Foxit and if it introduces in the future, it will be a great update. And mobile version needs some UI improvement for long-term survival.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jair P.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Edita tus PDF sin problemas y de forma rápida

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Foxit es mi opción preferida para editar archivos PDF, ya que es bastante ligero para lo que ofrece y es un software muy intuitivo, personalmente no tuve la necesidad de leer la ayuda ni de ver tutoriales para aprender a utilizar las herramientas que ofrece. Es un lector potente de archivos PDF.

Cons

Tiene un reconocedor de textos que se activa al instante a la hora de querer editar nuestro archivo poner una observación o rellenar y resaltar textos, aunque el problema estaría en que activar estas herramientas tarda un poco de tiempo en los que se me cruzo una herramienta con otra por tratar de editar de forma rápida.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

FA
AvatarImg

Fabruzio A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good PDF Reader

Reviewed a month ago

I start using Foxit Reader some years ago, when it was a quite small program; now it has more features and obviously it is not so small (but usually we have better PCs and a lot of space); I use mainly as PDF reader and it works really well, fast to open without slowing down. It is easy to find support and documentation on internet. If you don't want to use you browser as PDF reader and/or you need more features I recommend this product.

Pros

Foxit PDF Reader has free features that other programs don't offer, so if you are an individual and don't need the full licensed product it is a valid choice (if you run a company, choose the license plan instead). Free plugins are available (OCR, Docusign...) Plus it runs much better than another widely used product, with no errors and random hanging. You can install Foxit on Windows, Mac and Android; it supports the digital signing.

Cons

The tiny "ads" about the fact you are using a free version. First it was a very small program, now the installer is quite large

DO
AvatarImg

Damian O.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Foxit PDF Reader: Excelente visor pdf

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Consume pocos recursos en la PC, a diferencia de otros que son sumamente pesados, Foxit PDF Reader es super ligero y permite cargar los pdf de manera rápida y sin problemas. La facilidad para agregar textos o comentarios a los pdf es muy sencilla, sin tanto rollo. Además, consume poco espacio en la pc o dispositivo móvil. Lo recomiendo ampliamente, llevo varios años usándolo sin problemas.

Cons

Todo funciona bien, la interfaz es agradable, y sus funciones prácticas

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

MP
AvatarImg

Melissa P.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Foxit PDF Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Experience has been great. The product works exactly how I need it to.

Pros

I have the version that allows you to make edits within Foxit. I love this because I can edit a pdf page just the same as in Word, but the functionality is much easier to do this in Foxit.

Cons

There really isn't anything that I like least-- I recently learned of many features that I didn't even know existed within the software. I like to use it to combine PDFs.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abdul F.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Foxit Reader is not just a PDF reader

Reviewed 3 years ago

Being in civil filed I have to make reports of project and submit to Manager in pdf form. As a result, I must double-check all of those files before giving them to my Manager. Foxit allows me to effortlessly work with numerous files at once. As a result, Foxit has become an integral part of my workflow, allowing me to be more productive, precise and I do more work in less time

Pros

It's completely free to use. Has signature and typing facilities that are simple to use. Multiple signature images can be stored using the signature image upload feature. The ability to change the colour and size of the type tool is fantastic. It's also compatible with fillable forms. I really appreciate how you may have several tabs open at once and switch between them. I use this software on a daily basis and prefer it ove Adobe as it take less space

Cons

To be Honest there is nothing to dislike as far as the foxit is concerned. Just one thing keep in mind during installation, during installation small popup window shown on your screen and will install the additional software so uncheck the box to avoid this unusual installation.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

inzé k.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lecteur de pdf foxit

Reviewed a year ago

Moi personnellement j'ai aimé utiliser pour pour convertir les documents pdf en Word, en format image, et inversement.

Pros

Son avantage première est la fluidité de navigation, l'interface est simple a comprendreLe lancement rapide de l'application, la fonction recherche est très intéressante

Cons

Foxit est un puissant lecteur de pdf mais n'est rien si c'est pas la version complète car certains onglets ne figure pas, tel que l'onglet convertir

Showing original review in French. See translation

DF
AvatarImg

Danyele F.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super recomendo

Reviewed a year ago

Muito satisfatória a minha experiência com o Foxit. Hoje considero que seja o melhor software do mercado quando se trata de PDFs.

Pros

O Foxit PDF Reader é muito prático de usar e configurar. O que mais me chamou atenção foi o fato de poder criar PDF nele, além de editar e organizar os arquivos.

Cons

Conforme o meu uso, não tem nada que eu não goste. Recomendo de olhos fechados!

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

NEEMA K.

Environmental Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Foxit Reader Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I generally enjoy writing a document and as soon as that converting it to pdf via Foxit. I also enjoy signing via this platform

Pros

-The best advantage of this platform is the fact that I can convert documents into pdf with just a single click. Therefore, I am able to convert reports and distribute them easily. - Another advantage is the fact that it has markup tools that make reviews and editing of pdf documents interesting. To make a long pdf document interesting, I usually highlight the important notes with rainbow colors just because I can.

Cons

- The fact that there is almost always something to update every now and then is my least favorite thing about Foxit reader.

RH
AvatarImg

Rafael H.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

ótima alternativa do adobe reader.

Reviewed a year ago

Ele é pelo menos para mim, a melhor alternativa do adobe reader, é mais leve e bem mais simples de se usar, além de ser gratuito.

Pros

Qualidade visual e facilidade para manusear o arquivo PDF é muito bom e bem feito, um layout muito intuitivo e fácil de se usar.

Cons

Acho que ele deveria ter menos "spam" de compras, como por exemplo notificações exageradas da avaliação gratuita ser um pouco incomodo para alguns funcionários da minha empresa que utiliza do foxit, no de mais eu não tenho muitas criticas a fazer.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alec P.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Foxit Reader is a Great Free alternative for reading PDFs

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have truly enjoyed Foxit Reader as an alternative PDF reader program which I use to quickly open PDFs on my computer. It does what I need in that it is quick and simple, and it is free, which allows me to install it on my many different computers. I am glad that Foxit has provided this great free program!

Pros

I like that Foxit Reader is free and is simple and easy to use. I started using Foxit Reader because other PDF reader programs I was using formerly were too slow and sluggish, and this was a lightweight alternative. I like that it is simple and does what I need simply and effectively -- it shows PDFs!

Cons

There are a few user interface design choices which I don't like very much. They use banner advertisements and other bright labels to advertise other Foxit products and upgrades to Foxit Reader. This detracts from what is otherwise a perfect, simple little program.

CS
AvatarImg

Claudiane S.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pratico e facil de usar

Reviewed 9 months ago

O programa Foxit me ajuda diariamente com a facilidade em abrir os arquivos.

Pros

O que mais gosto no Foxit é a praticidade em usa-lo, tudo fácil em suas caixinhas com nomes, facilitando até mesmo quem não conhece o programa.

Cons

A parte da edição de texto não é tão facil de usar, poderia facilitar um pouco mais nessa parte, em outras questões o programa é realmente excelente.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

MM
AvatarImg

MARIA M.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Typing PDF

Reviewed 5 years ago

Exceptional experience given the typewriter button function, granted, I'm not walking around the office as much and getting my exercise, but I am getting MORE done.

Pros

The typewriter feature is used constantly! Gone are the days of printing a PDF, taking it to the mechanical typewriter and inserting additional language that does not "fit" the PDF layout. Also, being able to see (as a different color) the items inserted is helpful.

Cons

Multiple tabs when opening multiple documents. Would work better for me if they opened in their own windows or if I had an option to choose new window versus additional tab (so I can alt-tab to each when working on multiple documents).

DV
AvatarImg

Djavan V.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Foxit

Reviewed a year ago

Gosto muito de usá-lo no dia a dia, até prefiro ele que outros mais famosos

Pros

Praticidade no uso no dia a dia, auxilia bastante no documentos que tenho que converter e enviar diariamente

Cons

Sinto falta de converter os arquivos de PDF para outros formatos, mas possa ser que isso já edita e não esteja liberado para uso na minha empresa

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

CP
AvatarImg

Claire P.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lecteur de PDF aussi performant que son concurrent plus connu

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Foxit PDF Reader permet de lire, de modifier, de sélectionner du texte très aisément. On n'est pas sollicité par de la publicité lors de l'utilisation, très appréciable. J'apprécie également le design apuré.

Cons

Je n'ai pas rencontré d'inconvénients avec ce lecteur.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Valeria S.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best alternative for me

Reviewed 2 years ago

Foxit has been with me with for nearly a decade. I have used it since I was studying at the university and since then, it is my default PDF reader.

Pros

I like that it is a great alternative and has the same functionality as other PDF readers (I am speaking about Adobe, of course) but in a much more intuitive manner. And also, what I like the most is that Foxit offers a lot of funcionalities for free that in other programs you have to pay for.

Cons

I wish Foxit would develop more software and would integrate all of its sollutions to Foxit, so we would have software as great as foxit but for other applications!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David G.

Investment Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Small Footprint but full featured

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been using Foxit for about a decade now, and it continues to perform and deliver in most aspects and features you'd expect from a PDF tool.

Pros

First of all, Foxit Reader has a very small footprint. Sure there are some with smaller installer or installation size, but compared to Acrobat, this is pretty small and feels lightweight for almost the same features. The ribbon is a welcome feature pretty similar to Microsoft Office. It has a very clean interface and the Icons, menus, and functions are easy to find and navigate. I use PDFs a lot...

Cons

A little bit subtle, but if you're not careful you might end up installing additional software (other then Foxit Reader) during the initial installation. There's this small checkbox you have to watch out for. Other than that, free of paid, Foxit is great!