App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Foxit PDF Reader Logo

Cloud-based and on-premise PDF reader.

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Foxit PDF Reader Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


930 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shukurath B.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

"Good alternative to Adobe Reader."

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easy to use and has a friendly interface.

Cons

There is nothing much to complain. But It would be extremely beneficial to have the ability to resume reading a PDF from the last page read, especially for lengthy documents. Additionally, many users would appreciate being able to edit or remove text from a PDF.

GW
AvatarImg

Gary W.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great alternative to some more expensive tools

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is a good cheap alternative to adobe acrobat (with its rising costs you need to find somethign cheap and user friendly).

Pros

free or cheap. better than some of the more expensive tools you can but from the larger software companies.

Cons

it lacks a few features but its a solid software that we use and install on a daily basis. we have had no real complaints to note.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Full Featured, can easily deploy to all users through group policy Great Value and Price Allows you to create PDF's for Free without owning the full version

Cons

slower install could use a nicer color scheme

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adam B.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome alternative to Adobe

Reviewed 5 years ago

PDF viewing and basic printing. it solves our use case to the point where we are installing it on all new PCs

Pros

Fantastic choice for a PDF reader to replace Adobe bloatware. Has all of the features you would expect and more

Cons

If you are not careful, it can install toolbars and or other packaged software. just pay extra attention to what you choose during the download proces.

HS
AvatarImg

Haley S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good lightweight pdf reader and nice editor as well.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very positive. Lightwieght and the editor is much cheaper than Adobes package.

Pros

Its far more lightweight than adobes products. Takes up far less resources and doesnt suffer from bloat of useless features.

Cons

Learning curve in some instances. Nothing big, its just that most users are used to just using Adobes products.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Foxit is a light and easy to use tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Foxit is my prefered PDF reader.

Pros

In work I often need to copy/paste information from PDF documents to sheets. Foxit allows to copy certain areas, not selecting all the text on each line. It is a very important feature, that is not avaliable on most other PDF readers. It also opens the document bigger, since the side bars are hidden when you open the program.

Cons

It is a bit hard to create stamps, since only a few formats are accepted. But it's a minor problem.

KL
AvatarImg

Katie L.

Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Foxit PDF Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

It's very user friendly and easy to navigate.

Cons

Sometimes the copying and pasting formatting gets a little out of whack and pastes text without any spacing.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ashutosh M.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy pdf reader

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good pdf reader that can work well on multiple platforms.

Pros

A good pdf reader that gets the job done, and has more features that come in handy, such as annotation and signature.

Cons

The UI seems a little cluttered, the flow of elements lacks interaction. Performance hits occur when opening multiple or large documents.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Translation and Localization, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best PDF reader out there

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love this software. For work and study I need to have lots of pdfs open and I need to be able to switch between them fast. Foxit makes tabs for each of the documents so it makes navigation a breeze. I can also leave it open and do other things on my laptop as the ram it uses is minimal - unlike other pdf readers - so it doesn't really slow down my computer.

Pros

- Light software - Easy setup - Can have different pdfs open at the same time - Ability to fill out forms - Can make comments, drawings, and markings in the pdf - Ability to decide whether or not you want to print the document with your comments or not

Cons

- Can't really merge two different pdf documents together - For some functions you need to have an internet connection

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Alternativa para Adobe Reader

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

La verdad es que un software muy rapido y en ocasiones me ha resuelto la lectura de archivos PDF que Adobe tuvo problemas al abrirlo.

Cons

La interfaz es un poco engorrosa y hay funciones en las que Adobe le lleva ventaja.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Foxit Reader - First choice PDF reader for me

Reviewed 5 years ago

The best PDF reader available in the market for free of charge with the thousands of functions and highly recommended.

Pros

Since my Academic period, Foxit reader is the first choice and default reader for my personal laptop. There are plenty of reasons available for the choice of Foxit reader. Ease of use, Attractive UI, Minimum RAM consumption, hassle-free multi-tab functionality, Easy to install and Foxit cloud are some of the cons I really enjoy. Specially, thousands of features available for just free of charge in here.

Cons

when compared to the positive sides of this software, the negative side is just negligible. The additional software attempts to install during Foxit initial installation is only cons I ever noticed and sometimes Foxit get struck while switching between multiple tabs.

EB
AvatarImg

Eric B.

Judiciary, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDF is the only way to go.

Reviewed 2 years ago

When we were forced to rethink how we did our job at the beginning of the Pandemic, Foxit got us through. It's easy once we got use to using the software.

Pros

I can work more remotely, and editing is a breeze.

Cons

There were no issues once I got acclimated.

je
AvatarImg

jerome e.

Consumer Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

appréciation de foxit pdf reader

Reviewed a year ago

foxit pdf me permet de régler des problèmes d'ordre administratifs en établissant des pièces jointes conformes sous format pdf.

Pros

Foxit Reader fonctionne très bien pour la lecture des documents et même pour y prendre des notes. Je l'ai utilisé pour créer des documents PDF qui devaient être ajustés envoyer version numérique. De manière globale, c'est un logiciel très pratique et professionnel.

Cons

foxit pdf reader par moment est lent lors du démarrage et lors de l'utilisation également mais ceci je pense que c'est un inconvénient assez mineur.

Showing original review in French. See translation

HU
AvatarImg

Hasmat U.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's a really good software for both personal use and business.

Pros

Comparatively light and more user friendly than Adobe. I switched from Adobe because it stopped working suddenly many times.

Cons

Can't find anything which I didn't really like. May be in future they can consider an OCR converter.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Juliet W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High Quality Reader and PDF Solution

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is an upgraded yet easy to use and more efficient pdf reader.

Pros

Save time with Foxit Reader as it has a read-out-loud option where you get to listen to your contacts being read out as if in a lecture. Have your documents protected with the document protect feature that Foxit Reader brings along. Be sure to also save your document in a cloud backup for more safety, and Foxit Reader will ensure that you can do this. The software gives the user the chance to also post documents for discussion and share documents with network as well. It is a software like no other, as it will also enable you to convert your documents between different file formats.

Cons

Foxit However may not be able to display advanced file formats such as documents with 3D models in them.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David I.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great Alternative to work with PDF documents

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I am extremely satisfied with this piece of software, it is great and really well engineered, the interface is clean and easy to understand. I use this on a daily basis so if you want to stop paying monthly fees buy this software it will itself and will save you a ton of money, time and frustration.

Pros

- It is a one time payment for the phantom version which is great. - There is also a free version. - It has all the features your adobe editor would have and even more. - When you get the phantom version you can edit anything a PDF will become like a word processor. - It is compatible with Everrnote and OneNote. - You can type, highlight post comments, sign, protect, make forms. - It is used by prestigious companies like google and amazon and supported by them. - Is fast and does not crash.

Cons

- The phantom version can be a bit pricey but counting that is a one time payment but you can start with the free version.

MM
AvatarImg

Muhammed M.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why I love FoxitReader

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love the features that are represented in the used interface, and how easily you can, for instance, edit, highlight, comment, and take snapshots.

Cons

It sometimes loads my memory, and freezes. But this is not always. it also required constant updates, which a good thing. But, it lags my computer.

TA
AvatarImg

Tarek A.

Education Management, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

einfach einwandfrei

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

ganz toll , keine Problem aufgetreten , schnell reagiert

Cons

ganz ehrlich , habe ich keine Nachteile gefunden

Showing original review in German. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

a lightweighted PDF app with many functionalities

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is a lightweighted PDF app with many functionalities: reading, commenting, editting, or even adding your digital signature... It's my choice when it comes to pdf formated files.

Cons

the commenting part just includes textbox kind. I look for some improvement.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Felipe R.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Better and lighter than Adobe

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like that is more stable, lighter and complete than Adobe PDF Reader. It does the same but quicker using less ressourses

Cons

In the last year they have started to send out updates very often and they always want to push you to install the paid version

TO
AvatarImg

Tamunomiete O.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jack of maybe a little too many trades?

Reviewed 5 years ago

Foxit is honestly great. It has an exciting color coding scheme that is pretty attractive. I started using it a few years ago when Windows discontinued my old pdf reader. I haven't had many complaints since. I would definitely recommend it

Pros

Very attractive interface which is due to great UI/UX planning. Easy to install and learn to use. Pretty lightweight all things considered. You can literally find any feature you would think of in the ribbon. Helps convert to other editable formats which is always a plus. The speech to text engine is pretty cool too

Cons

Sometimes the features can seem to get in the way. There are honestly times i just want to read that file with little or no hassle. There's also a constant popup in the top right corner that can sometimes get in the way. The other day it crashed when i tried to open a few pdfs at a time, but that might be my fault. Lastly, it updates constantly which might be annoying when i just want to read pdfs.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My Foxit Reader Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very satisfactory

Pros

Foxit Reader is very light on system resources hence faster than adobe reader

Cons

Not as feature reach as adobe acrobat reader

JO
AvatarImg

Japheth O.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Foxit Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been good working with this reader

Pros

It is affordable compared to its competitors and very easy to use

Cons

There are many crashes when using this product which always results in loss of work and valuable time

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A convenient and light-weight PDF reader with much more features

Reviewed 5 years ago

The overall experience of Foxit PDF reader is very favorable as it provides a convenient way to view PDF files with a variety of other useful features. The application is light-weight, hence can be used easily as well.

Pros

Foxit Reader is a free PDF reader which is light-weight and easy-to-use. The most favorable feature of this application is it provides the users a variety of useful features such as night mode view, Autoscroll capability etc. These features make the user experience of the application more appealing.

Cons

Inside the PDF reader, advertisements of the products of the same developers are displayed and it was somewhat troublesome to observe. It would be better, if the free version of the PDF reader is AD free for the users.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dirk v.

Individual & Family Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better and lighter than Adobe

Reviewed 5 years ago

I had no problems, but my experience is that it gives work pleasure.

Pros

This software loads a lot faster than Adobe Reader and it has all the functionalities, without annoying marketing.

Cons

Maybe it should be even more easy to add notes and remarks to a document. Also signing a document would be nice.