App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Datarails Logo

The FP&A solution for Excel users.

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Datarails Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

70

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.23/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

netsuite
intacct

Pros and cons

Wonderful, they have been there for us from the beginning, and are still there when we need assistance. SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been amazing to work with.
DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses.
It has been smooth and will be an easy transition for us. Above all else, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been super helpful.
We have been struggling to get a live connection to DataRails from our ERP for some time now.
We were trying to work with our internal controls, but it was proving to be too manually intensive and costly with upkeep and designated staff.
The platform doesn't integrate with Excel 2007 which is a bummer.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


70 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Craig M.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DataRails Review by Craig Morrow

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience with DataRails has been first class. I have assisted with a seamless integration for Budgeting purposes and have now rolled out the solution for month end reporting. In both scenario's I have been able to reduce the time required for completion by around 40%. I particularly like the approach of having the Customer Success Manager driving the implementation and having the single point of contact through the customer journey.

Pros

The ease in which the product was to learn and become and expert in. The functionality within the solution is exactly what any FP&A professional should be looking for in a solution. The implementation was extremely efficient as you start to build out real life business processes from the outset which mean you get a return on investment from day 1.

Cons

When deciding to partner with DataRails I was fully aware that they are at the beginning of solution development journey. However, DataRails are always keen to receive feedback on possible suggestions for improvement and are continuously developing and releasing improved functionality.

NR
AvatarImg

Nicholas R.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic and Flexible Reporting Software

Reviewed 5 months ago

Our setup and integration was extremely easy and fast. I was the dedicated builder and PM for the implementation for a 200+ store retails company and we were able to sync, validate and build out of data in just under 7 weeks. We've only had a few system hiccups along the way that Datarails has fixed or addressed with reasonably speed. We've been very happy with the decision to work with Datarails and foresee that that feeling will remain for a long time to come.

Pros

Datarails' direct integration with Excel has allowed our team to pick up using the system very quickly. It gives us the flexibility of Excel without having to worry about massive data tables or SQL pulls to get the data to represent in a proper manner. Datarails is constantly improving and they continue to work with their customers to advance their software and address needs. The sky is the limit for cuts of data that Datarails can provide, and with nearly constant improvement over our now two years of use, our satisfaction with the software grows with each passing month.

Cons

It's strength with Excel is also it's weakness. Reports are only as good as the logic that is layered into Excel, so it necessitates numerous data checks to ensure that our numbers are accurate. Fortunately, Datarails makes those overall checks simple. I really want to love the Dashboards and Storybook functions, but the overall functionality of their graphing does need some improvement. Their dashboard have a really amazing variance analysis tool, but it needs updating and resources to be fully fleshed out and used as intended.

MB
AvatarImg

Madison B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Datarails Review

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I like the ability to create and store multiple different reports in one platform that is easily accessible. With the number of reports our team produces it is beneficial to report out of one place.

Cons

There are limitations to the types of dashboards we need to create in the system. Some files we are unable to aggregate because of the data type which is crucial to a number of our reports. The file mapping can sometimes get confusing when there are additional columns that have been added and we need to reconfigure the mapping, but our historical data does not have the exact same data, it has caused issues in the past.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datarails has become an integral part of our management reporting framework

Reviewed 4 months ago

The Datarails product and support team have been very good to work with. The product has automated several very manual processes that save us time and deliver actionable information more quickly.

Pros

Seamless integration with key business applications; strong reporting and dashboarding capabilities; integrates well with Excel to allow for next-level data manipulation and analysis.

Cons

Early in the implementation we discovered a limitation on the volume of data we could effectively pull into and analyze with Datarails. The implementation team helped us reconfigure some workflows, limit the data we needed to expose to Datarails, and we got to a good, workable solution.

JH
AvatarImg

Jesse H.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DR Review

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Being able to pull disaggregated data together has been a big plus. But what I am really finding value in is the dashboarding and storyboard capabilities.

Cons

There are a few hiccups w/ the capabilities of the charts within the dashboards but we are working w/ the product team to fix those.

dh
AvatarImg

daniel h.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best FPA Tool on the market

Reviewed a month ago

great. Ari was amazing in implementation

Pros

flexibility with excel is key, i find it easy to use and scalable

Cons

integtration with sage is not perfect, requiring workaround

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dustin V.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good, but training could be better

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The Excel implementation is great, but the ability to get efficient is labored.

Cons

The inability to know what type of user you are and what access you have. You may be trying to accomplish a task and looking for an option that you may not even have access to. Also, the confusion of File Boxes and Data Mapping and integrations and configurations is all jumbled. More concise direction would be appreciated.

QS
AvatarImg

Quentin S.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Experience with Datarail

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I like the flexibility and how intuitive the platform is Datarail. I only had great experience working with their support team and they answered in a timely manner every time I had questions.

Cons

I would love a datarail team who could recreate our financial package from our excel version into Datarail because that part can be very time consuming.

MR
AvatarImg

MATTHEW R.

Security and Investigations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 months ago

Really good, would recommend............

Pros

Ease of implementation, cost effective, great support, new features added

Cons

getting used to DR formulae as a typical Excel user. Would be great if i could copy paste excel formulae into DR and it could translate to DR formulae.

GV
AvatarImg

Garry V.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datarails Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

the support we Receive. [sensitive content hidden] is the best

Cons

the Storyboards do not work well with Powerpoint

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Experience with DataRails

Reviewed 5 months ago

The overall experience with DataRails has been positive, but the company seems more interested with automating as much as possible rather than in teaching and empowering customers to become super users of the software.

Pros

Once set up, DataRails is an effective tool to manage our regular as well as ad hoc financial reporting. It has saved time in constructing standard reports, thus freeing up time for deeper analysis.

Cons

The process of setting up the environment can be tedious and confusing. Troubleshooting errors can be time consuming, particularly if your inputs are larger files (Any change to the Data Mapper needs to process to all files within a File Box) or if you have multiple inputs with different mappers (When input files are not uniform in structure, attempting to construct uniform mappers across inputs can be maddening). There is no readily available resource that can thoroughly or effectively explain the flow of data or how to construct a Data Mapper to specific needs.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CEO-friendly FP&A tool

Reviewed a year ago

The company's support and new feature rollout cadence is fantastic. They are very much innovating and doing all the right things. Very bullish on them!

Pros

The dashboard and visualizations are the best part of Datarails. Our finance team can readily create the visualizations on our data that I can benefit the most from. Deltas and variances jump out at you, trendlines are clear, and the data reporting capabilities really are in a class by themselves.

Cons

Like any FP&A tool, it starts out slow. Your team has to learn how to leverage the tool and work with data that is originating outside of financial systems. It's taken us well over a year to get to the point where we're getting results and answers faster through Datarails than by manually creating a one-off report in Excel. The work has been worth it though, and it's just one of those inevitable aspects of leveling up your reporting and forecasting capabilities: it's not going to happen overnight or without a lot of training and validation work.

LP
AvatarImg

LeeAnn P.

Sporting Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product that exceeds expectations

Reviewed 2 years ago

In one word - "unbelievable" - I expected the software would be good, but once the software was up and running it exceeded expectations. The product drove down the manual time consuming data collection from 4 business days to a couple of hours. This was essential during the pandemic as more frequent turns of the forecast was required and without this software we would not have managed. The company used the product for other use cases we did not envision when we made the initial purchase.

Pros

Value for money, ease of use and accuracy. Because the program is excel based it did not take long for the team to master. Created an efficient process and removed the manual work from the department by automating the vast amounts of data in a matter of minutes. As the work load grew the product became more valuable to the company.

Cons

One difficulty was when a Microsoft patch was released it caused some issues with a formula, but the support desk was able to help correct when we brought it to their attention.

CF
AvatarImg

Christine F.

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great forecasting/budgeting software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great customer service, very quick to respond and very helpful walking me thru different ways to show my data that would be easiest to maintain. Easy to use product that adapts to your company, rather than having to adapt to the product.

Pros

This software was very easy to implement as we transitioned from a different software. what sold us on DataRails was the ability to continue to use our current reports. Dashboard views are also great, it gave us the ability to report on operations metrics , versus some software's that only focus on financial reporting. We also really liked the idea of having a dedicated customer rep , this has been extremely helpful thru the implementation, but also in creation of all our reports

Cons

Would like to see more development in consolidation/conversion, as well as adding to dashboard reporting.

JC
AvatarImg

Joseph C.

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Holding Company in the Real Estate Industry

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, DataRails has been great for our business. We are moving from using manual spreadsheets for financial reporting into automating this process in order to save time and look forward for trends, instead of always looking back in time at our data. It has been smooth and will be an easy transition for us. Above all else, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been super helpful. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is simply the best. In addition, the Dashboard views are something that will be a great value add as we continue to introduce our portfolio companies to this software, as we are trying to sophisticate some of these businesses and force our business leaders to be continually on top of their financials, business, operations, and more.

Pros

My favorite part about this software is how easy it is to understand the logic that is going on behind the scenes. We are a holding company of 18 different operating companies using DataRails to automate our financial reporting process, as well as house all of our financial data in one system. Knowing how it works behind the scenes in critical and using the backend mapping is easy in order to make changes, fix errors, etc.... It makes it pretty easy to understand for the average user.

Cons

There is always room for improvement, like with anything. I think the biggest challenge for our company is not having all our accounting systems integrated into the system due to some industry specific accounting softwares not being able to integrate into DR. I think one thing that would be great would be more training videos or education in order to not rely on the customer success manager as much, just to improve efficiency and time.

Vendor response

Thanks Joseph for the amazing review. We couldn't be happier to work with you and the team. We look forward to improving the global scorecard, the various performance reports and dashboarding capabilities.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best investment for our finance team

Reviewed 5 years ago

With this platform finance brings in data from many sources in little time. This responsivity and accessibility has been essential to the identification of key drivers that used to be produced in 5 times the amount of time. Information is available on a global scale instantly so we can standardize analyses. A great investment if you’re looking to improve processes

Pros

Finance is pleased with the ease of use and accessibility of data

Cons

Would be happy if there were more frequent updates

Vendor response

Well said! Providing a reporting solution that works on excel is what separates us from our competitors. Please get in touch with your account manager to hear about our most recent updates, they are pretty exciting!

MM
AvatarImg

Mark M.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best FP&A Software

Reviewed 6 months ago

Fantastic! It has streamlined my workdays allowing me to focus on analysis instead of creating new reports.

Pros

Datarails has massively cut down on the time we spend assembling reports, updating our KPI's and financial reporting package is streamlined with the ability to refresh data in Excel, in addition version control is a thing of the past as we are easily able to keep track of what data we upload and when files were changed. The dashboards and widgets allow for quick and easy visualization of our data that we distribute across our locations for managers to use. Datarails continues to develop the software adding new features at a regular cadence.

Cons

There is not much I have run into that I dislike about the software, in the beginning some of the formula writing in setting up custom columns was difficult but the release of Datarails University with all the tutorials solved many of the issues of needing a refresher on how to do certain things in the software.

MM
AvatarImg

Massimo M.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DataRails used as an FP&A solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Prior to DataRails our FP&A was run exclusively through maintaining numerous excel files which resulted in a much longer monthly close process. Through DataRails, we were able to automate the generation of our allocation based segment/product P&Ls, and monthly variance reporting to Budget/prior forecast. DataRails also reduced the probability of human error.

Pros

The overall flexibility of the platform. DataRails was able to create exactly what I wanted using our existing data structure and financial models. DataRails was able to replicate all of the benefits of other more well known Planning Solutions at a much lower investment cost - both financial and human capital.

Cons

Certain aspects of our monthly forecasting process require more manual intervention than other more mature planning applications.

TS
AvatarImg

Trevor S.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Product - Takes Time

Reviewed 10 months ago

It has been a phenomenal value add for our organization. Our team finds it incredibly helpful to use in thinking through multiple scenarios.

Pros

The flexibility of Datarails is fantastic. We’ve been able to draw in multiple data sources to present a clear picture of our financial situation with the additional context.

Cons

The onboarding process can take a few months. You are told upfront that it takes about 3 months. In our case, it took us about 6 months of working daily with their team to be ready to go. They were very supportive, but it does take time.

RB
AvatarImg

Rus B.

Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing system with amazing support

Reviewed a year ago

DataRails has allowed us to monitor the performance of our business in ways we simply could not before. We have also been able to simplify a number of our reporting processes. These two things have allowed us to share information with a wider pool of stakeholders within our company and monitor the performance of our business much more closely.

Pros

DataRails provides us with version control, data transformation, and visualization tools that we did not have before. We have streamlined many of our reporting processes, and we also use DataRails to feed a number of Excel and PowerPoint-based reports. DataRails support is very responsive.

Cons

Some features don't work as expected, and it can be hard to tell if it because of a bug or user error.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best financial tool out there, dependable and accurate

Reviewed 5 years ago

DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses. With DataRails we know our figures are accurate and up to date, which is precisely what we need from the numbers we base important decisions on.

Pros

-There are many ways to manipulate and look at your data -Drill downs are amazing. Can look at the smallest of variables. -Can work on both Excel and their Insights feature depending on what I want -Easy to use -Easy to connect with our ERP system

Cons

Sometimes it was buggy when logging out. Other than that I can't think of any other notable cons, it really is a great system.

Vendor response

Companies that use DataRails don't need to migrate from excel, which is why choosing DataRails doesn't require making any changes to internal workflows. As you pointed out, noticing the smallest variables is what we believe is key to accurate, flexible and efficient reporting.

DV
AvatarImg

Daniel V.

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

New User of Datarails

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Visually stunning. Easy to manipulate reports and tables to fit the needs of the business unit leaders and executives.

Cons

Some of the reporting and visualizations need to be built out further. The company has done a GREAT job at listening to our needs and putting in efforts to customize and add some of our request along the way.

JD
AvatarImg

Jorge D.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Implement and Superb Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have had an excellent experience with the DataRails implementation Team. The person assigned to our account [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is very responsive to our questions and he has been able to trouble shoot all challenges that we have found during our configuration and implementation process. This Excellent Customer service is the primary reason why we stayed with DataRails.

Pros

We found the software very easy to implement as we were able to quickly interface our current Excel Spreadsheets with DataRails.

Cons

We are currently using DataRails primarily for Budgeting and we are using a significant number of spreadsheets/Budget Schedules to feed into the budget. The more sheets you add, the more DataRails slows down in order to update the budget when you revised one of these spreadsheets. If different people are updating various spreadsheets at the same time, it takes more time for DataRails to update all budget figures.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product is best in the business

Reviewed 5 years ago

It’s an easy tool to use and train on. Very adaptable, can look at our data in many different and useful ways with the Insights feature. Integrates with our ERP flawlessly. Can make changes in real time so decision makers always know exactly what’s happening and base the organizational direction on fresh data. Model building is straightforward, visualizations are enlightening, integrations are easy.

Pros

Using DataRails I can visualize data that I previously didn't have access to, this is by far the biggest pro-you can tap into data you've always had but previously couldn't work with. Other than that it's really easy to use, implementation is not lengthy, great customer service.

Cons

Occasionally freezes but I figure that happens with any sort of system

Vendor response

Helping decision makers make data driven decisions by tapping into hidden data is what DataRails was created for. Thank you for highlighting these advantages!

DF
AvatarImg

Daniel F.

Program Development, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datarails is THE easiest Data reporting software

Reviewed 5 months ago

From implementation, to connecting with our existing ERP, it's been a piece of cake to use. Learning more of the complex formulas and data comparison's now and really if you have a tiny bit of formula usage background, like even just excel formula's, then it isn't hard to use at all. And that's for the complex, multi-table data combining type of reporting.

Pros

We've utilized other softwares for our clients, NSAW, Quickbooks, Custom Spreadsheets - nothing has been easier to implement and use AND then share with colleagues than Datarails

Cons

Honestly, it's been about 4 months and I haven't had a bad experience with Datarails yet.