DataRails Reviews

DataRails

A spreadsheet management solution that is redefining FP&A.

4.94/5 (17 reviews)

Jim Alper

CPM of choice

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-20
Review Source: GetApp

DataRails is used on a daily basis by my finance team as we perform analyses and drive insights. We chose to implement this cloud financial and analysis platform since we desperately needed a consolidation planning tool where we could continue using disparate spreadsheets and at the same time control our processes easier and better. DataRails gives us exactly this in addition to flexibility in reporting financial results.

Pros
1-We started using their Insights feature instead of our BI. Really useful. 2-Made data collection easy and organized 3-Constant access to up-to-date numbers

Cons
would be nice if it had the option of drag and drop for inputs

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Best investment for our finance team

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-14
Review Source: Capterra

With this platform finance brings in data from many sources in little time. This responsivity and accessibility has been essential to the identification of key drivers that used to be produced in 5 times the amount of time. Information is available on a global scale instantly so we can standardize analyses. A great investment if you’re looking to improve processes

Pros
Finance is pleased with the ease of use and accessibility of data

Cons
Would be happy if there were more frequent updates

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Shauli Sharazi

review

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
technology that saves time, great customer support

Cons
doesn't fully support all of the required technological demands. buggy

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Best financial tool out there, dependable and accurate

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-10
Review Source: GetApp

DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses. With DataRails we know our figures are accurate and up to date, which is precisely what we need from the numbers we base important decisions on.

Pros
-There are many ways to manipulate and look at your data -Drill downs are amazing. Can look at the smallest of variables. -Can work on both Excel and their Insights feature depending on what I want -Easy to use -Easy to connect with our ERP system

Cons
Sometimes it was buggy when logging out. Other than that I can't think of any other notable cons, it really is a great system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Product is best in the business

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-28
Review Source: GetApp

It’s an easy tool to use and train on. Very adaptable, can look at our data in many different and useful ways with the Insights feature. Integrates with our ERP flawlessly. Can make changes in real time so decision makers always know exactly what’s happening and base the organizational direction on fresh data. Model building is straightforward, visualizations are enlightening, integrations are easy.

Pros
Using DataRails I can visualize data that I previously didn't have access to, this is by far the biggest pro-you can tap into data you've always had but previously couldn't work with. Other than that it's really easy to use, implementation is not lengthy, great customer service.

Cons
Occasionally freezes but I figure that happens with any sort of system

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Theresa Schmidt, CPA

CPM tool of choice, excellent value

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-18
Review Source: GetApp

In my organization we use DataRails’ cloud financial and analysis platform for budgeting and forecasting all of our financial metrics. Each department continues to rely on Excel as usual for budgets, and then using DataRails Finance sees real-time updates and compares budgets with actuals. Useful for a variety of processes including workforce management, income statement analysis, forecasting, reporting, etc.

Pros
Seamless integration with Excel User friendly interface Has streamlined our budgeting process

Cons
Occasionally there are glitches in our templates

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Solves problems for us!

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

We use it a lot for data verification using the compare feature, do monitor data changes when we are changing our financial models. We use it to compare versions of our financial reporting decks and spreadsheets, and we use it for collaboration in collecting and prepareing (ETL) with data files for exporting from one system and into another.

Pros
The way the features are now integrated with Excel, the more "active" way it organizes files tags and compares versions.

Cons
I originally had a little trouble with the interface from excel (widget popups) but they replaced this with simple right-clicks and tighter integration with Excel and windows explorer that has not only eliminated the problems, but made it easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Mark Atkinson

Smartest FPA solution

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-23
Review Source: GetApp

Great solution for planning across a distributed organization. Can handle multiple systems and locations with ease. It’s flexible, easy to use, and allows for planning at a granular level to improve budgeting and forecasting. Staff is always nice and easy to work with. Integrates well with other systems.

Pros
Allows for the reduction of errors, improves reporting, more time for analysis

Cons
Takes a little bit of getting used to but what system doesn’t

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Great product, high ROI

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-13
Review Source: Capterra

The solution provided a high ROI for both compliance/SOX teams and the end users. As for the end users this is a fully transparent solution, the on boarding was smooth and fast.

Pros
Before implementing DataRails, we had no idea what is going on with our spreadsheets across our organization. Today, we have a clear overview of our EUC operations across the organization including real time alerts on any suspicious activity. Our finance users are happy with the benefits the application delivered to their day to day work.

Cons
As a SaaS solution, DataRails release a weekly versions which sometime require our teams to learn these changes on the go.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Yafit Mark

Helps track changes in Excel files

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-07
Review Source: Capterra

The software is still in the process of implementation and improvements

Pros
The software is very good. Changes between versions can be easily identified. Displays the activity in the software. Customer Support is excellent.

Cons
The tree view and viewchanges in conected files.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Izik Avidan

Finally addressing spreadsheet EUC

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

It's a solution that all financial services need but don't have. We were trying to work with our internal controls, but it was proving to be too manually intensive and costly with upkeep and designated staff. Understanding what is happening/happened to all our spreadsheet data at any given time is so useful.

Pros
Spreadsheets are inherently unstructured, and DataRails structured all my organizational data to allow for complete governance and compliance.

Cons
Have been a customer for a year and don't have any yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Capacity routing management in Teva

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-06
Review Source: Capterra

manage complicated excel templates with 16 sites in one database, by giving managerial dashboards to reflect the utilizations and UnOB per each product. production line or site levels.

Pros
Version management from several locations on the globe, when end user works in same excel template. dashboards and visually interface for users. privileges management is easy to manage

Cons
Some time the badge does not appears correctly on my computer and I cannot save into Datarails.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Eric Norton

Love this useful, insightful product

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

DataRails is really great for automating unnecessary work. Using the system has improved my work significantly since now I don't have to waste time on copying and pasting info in order to make sense of it. This used to take up so much time, and now it takes up no time at all.

Pros
-Insights feature is really useful -No more wasting time on something that can be automated -work better

Cons
-Can't think of anything atm it's a platform I love using and it does that job well

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Catherine Davison

Awesome tool for a great price

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-07
Review Source: Capterra

We've integrated DataRails within our finance department and it's just been great. For departments that rely heavily on Excel, this product is a must. All our information is in one place, it's accurate and reliable, and it boosts our confidence in the conclusions we draw from them. Really great, dependable tool.

Pros
DataRails improves the accuracy and accountability of so many processes such as reporting and budgeting. It saves my department hundreds of hours of previously unnecessarily wasted time. Amazing tool!

Cons
The platform doesn't integrate with Excel 2007 which is a bummer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Solid cloud FPA solution

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

Our finance team is incredibly satisfied with the experience with this platform. DataRails has changed the way we plan. It has enabled integrated and connected planning, enhancing our business and financial planning processes greatly in little time. A great product, we were able to take existing excel-based planning models and make them better with this FPA solution.

Pros
Well built, simple tool. Backed up data on centralized database, great support

Cons
No cons worth mentioning. Our finance team is very happy with this platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

FPA tool to beat them all

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-11
Review Source: Capterra

Before DataRails, it would take too much time to get final numbers. Excels pass through so many hands that you never really know how you ended up getting the figures you wind up with. DataRails ensures this no longer applies, without requiring my team to change how we work or requiring lengthy or complicated implementation. I'm very happy with what it has added to my team

Pros
Cloud focused, connects all data,allows for easy planning across different teams. Insights feature is fantastic for customized slicing of data. Information and changes are available instantly.

Cons
I have nothing but good things to say about this platform

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Ryan Livingston

Comprehensive planning and reporting

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-08-18
Review Source: GetApp

Employees were accustomed to working with spreadsheets, but spreadsheets are not always the most effective tool to use. That’s why we turned to DataRails. Accuracy of reports allows for accurate analyses. All our data is in one place and doesn’t require much effort for processing. With DataRails we can track budgets, labor contributions, and finances. Cumulatively this helps us make better decisions.

Pros
Very useful tool, allows for accurate analyses and planning

Cons
Customer support is great but tutorial videos would be useful

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review