App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Datarails Logo

The FP&A solution for Excel users.

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Datarails Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


71 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bobby H.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datarails is a great time saver

Reviewed 7 months ago

I love datarails. The implementation team was fantastic and I haven't found anything lacking. We even asked for some functionality to be added to our implementation team, and a few months later they rolled it out as a feature for all users to enjoy.

Pros

Datarails integrates into our accounting system and we upload our operational data via Excel so we can see our whole workspace in 1 place - the best part is the ad-hoc reporting ability in native Excel.

Cons

The dynamic ranges we use are massive and can bog down Excel so we had to upgrade our computers......pretty sure this is an Excel issue vs a Data Rails issue though.

JA
AvatarImg

Jason A.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DataRails - an efficient and simple tool with potential for improvement

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

I like the following items about datarails 1) its simplicity in terms of report creation and implementation 2) it is a great collaborative tool

Cons

Areas of improvement include: 1) The dashbaord functionality is very limited compared to tools such as Tableau. I would like to see more features in terms of the types of graphs and customizability 2) API connections should be alot easier to implement. We have been struggling to get a live connection to DataRails from our ERP for some time now

JA
AvatarImg

Jim A.

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CPM of choice

Reviewed 5 years ago

DataRails is used on a daily basis by my finance team as we perform analyses and drive insights. We chose to implement this cloud financial and analysis platform since we desperately needed a consolidation planning tool where we could continue using disparate spreadsheets and at the same time control our processes easier and better. DataRails gives us exactly this in addition to flexibility in reporting financial results.

Pros

1-We started using their Insights feature instead of our BI. Really useful. 2-Made data collection easy and organized 3-Constant access to up-to-date numbers

Cons

would be nice if it had the option of drag and drop for inputs

Vendor response

Glad to hear your team benefits from our platform on a daily basis. As you mentioned, Jim, data consolidation and flexible reporting are game-changing benefits that we offer our customers.

TS
AvatarImg

Theresa S.

Consumer Electronics, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CPM tool of choice, excellent value

Reviewed 5 years ago

In my organization we use DataRails’ cloud financial and analysis platform for budgeting and forecasting all of our financial metrics. Each department continues to rely on Excel as usual for budgets, and then using DataRails Finance sees real-time updates and compares budgets with actuals. Useful for a variety of processes including workforce management, income statement analysis, forecasting, reporting, etc.

Pros

Seamless integration with Excel User friendly interface Has streamlined our budgeting process

Cons

Occasionally there are glitches in our templates

Vendor response

We couldn't have said it better, Theresa! Providing our system's reporting benefits while enabling our customers to stay in excel makes using DataRails so much easier.

LB
AvatarImg

Lew B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A lifesaver

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having a dedicated Customer Success Manager has been wonderful.

Pros

This product has allowed me to maintain my existing excel worksheets while speeding the closing process and allowing me to focus on variance analysis as opposed to simply on reporting

Cons

I would like to see waterfall charts as part of the graphic offered

Vendor response

Thank you Lew. We look forward to more weekly sessions focused on productivity and finding new ways to improve the financial analysis workflows in your organization to Excel to the power of DataRails.

AR
AvatarImg

Assaf R.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product and Very quick implementation

Reviewed 6 months ago

Great product, Helped us combined several source of data into one dashboard. Very easy to use and present all the data in one place. Save us time in closing the BVA and creating the Board presentation.

Pros

Easy and quick implementation Able to connect to all file sources - Netsuite, Bizdoc etc User Friendly to all users

Cons

The price is a little bit high. I approved it before signing and enjoy the product but its still high :-)

FB
AvatarImg

Frank B.

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Product! Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Terrific experience! I highly recommend DataRails! The product is amazing, the support is industry best, and the responsiveness to customer preferences is incredible!

Pros

Drill down features in both data and graphs/charts. The integration with diverse software packages is also super convenient.

Cons

Really robust product. DataRails has a learning curve, but once the approach is learned its super intuitive.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datarails Rocks!

Reviewed 6 months ago

I've had an awesome experience with Datarails and I'm very happy with the selection of this tool.

Pros

The flexibility of reporting and acceptance that Excel is a great tool that Datarails can just make even better.

Cons

It cannot easily pivot dimensions in your hierarchy in reporting like Hyperion.

EF
AvatarImg

Elvamae F.

Veterinary, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

VIN Product Assessment

Reviewed 3 years ago

The customer support and response is excellent

Pros

Easy to navigate and set-up the dashboards

Cons

It doesn't work well with Quickbook Desktop. It requires a lot of manual processes. It does not automatically integrate with the QB desktop version. It's too cumbersome.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solves problems for us!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use it a lot for data verification using the compare feature, do monitor data changes when we are changing our financial models. We use it to compare versions of our financial reporting decks and spreadsheets, and we use it for collaboration in collecting and prepareing (ETL) with data files for exporting from one system and into another.

Pros

The way the features are now integrated with Excel, the more "active" way it organizes files tags and compares versions.

Cons

I originally had a little trouble with the interface from excel (widget popups) but they replaced this with simple right-clicks and tighter integration with Excel and windows explorer that has not only eliminated the problems, but made it easier to use.

Vendor response

Happy to hear that our customer support was helpful. As each and every one of our happy customers knows, anything and everything that our customer support can do for you is a simple request away. Thank you for ranking us 10/10 in every aspect.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A cost effective low change management tool for planning/forecasting/reporting

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Low change mgmt if you need to stay in your Excel environment. Leverage their technology to keep your spreadsheets, formulas and financial models. Implementation was very intuitive

Cons

Double edge sword......The tool is very customizable which is awesome but this means you need a fair bit of technical savvy to really get the most use outside of the standard use cases.

MA
AvatarImg

Mark A.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smartest FPA solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great solution for planning across a distributed organization. Can handle multiple systems and locations with ease. It’s flexible, easy to use, and allows for planning at a granular level to improve budgeting and forecasting. Staff is always nice and easy to work with. Integrates well with other systems.

Pros

Allows for the reduction of errors, improves reporting, more time for analysis

Cons

Takes a little bit of getting used to but what system doesn’t

Vendor response

Mark, we are happy to help your team in reducing errors and improving the quality of their reports to Excel to the power of DataRails. You hit the nail on the head in what that enables Finance employees to do when we do the heavy lifting for them. Using DataRails enables analysts to learn what their data means when they spend less time creating manual reports.

BM
AvatarImg

Bradley M.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gives me the flexibility to make updates more frequently

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great customer support starting during the demonstration phase and going throughout implementation and use. I choose DataRails because it gave me enough flexibility to present whatever data I wanted in the format I wanted. The customer support also helped to make it easy to upload data and start creating my dashboard.

Pros

Great customer support, they do a lot of the work so I can just feed data and get the information I need in the format I want.

Cons

Sometimes the software is cumbersome. Support always helps with any issues I have but I wish it was user friendly enough that I could do more without assistance. I am still learning and do more every month on my own.

Vendor response

Thank you Bradley for the positive review! As you mentioned, using DataRails is how finance teams supercharge their Excel spreadsheets. Our great support team was thrilled to get such positive feedback on their amazing customer service.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Grant T.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datarails Review

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Great customer support and on-boarding. Easy to refresh integrations. Easy to use, excel-based formulas.

Cons

Unable to manage extremely large amounts of data and perform complex calculations.

AS
AvatarImg

Ami S.

Security and Investigations, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review on first year use.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Datarails is an exhaustive FP&A tool and great for Budgeting and variance analysis. The Report Builder is a powerful feature that helps to review results by Office, department & Cost centers. This is my first year using Datarails & it is the only FP&A software I have tried but I am very happy with it thus far. The implementation team & Customer Success Manager was very knowledgeable, smart, responsive & understood our business needs quickly to provide an ideal solutions for creating our first Budget in Datarails.

Cons

The features are awesome but some of these are too complex to use without help from Datarails team member. Once the basic reports are created by Datrails team, it is then manageable to update filters and make format changes as needed. Building a report from scratch is difficult as the data mapper is too technical & hard to comprehend.

DO
AvatarImg

David O.

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best in Customer Success!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Visualization and insights are great, but can be confusing to set up without any support

Pros

It can be confusing to manage and update new data mappers (for users not very familiar with Data), but the support I've received and the willingness of my CSM, [SENSITIVE CONTENT], truly makes Datarails shine over other competitors. His willingness and availability is extremely helpful to our organization

Cons

Small bug issues, little features to develop more (like exporting data to a ppt or new excel)

ZL
AvatarImg

Zachary L.

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, highly recommend!

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall it's been a really good experience for me and I find the product really beneficial to the work that I do.

Pros

What I like most about Datarails is the ease of creating daily, weekly and monthly reports.

Cons

The implementation and learning curve was difficult having never seen a system like this before.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, high ROI

Reviewed 5 years ago

The solution provided a high ROI for both compliance/SOX teams and the end users. As for the end users this is a fully transparent solution, the on boarding was smooth and fast.

Pros

Before implementing DataRails, we had no idea what is going on with our spreadsheets across our organization. Today, we have a clear overview of our EUC operations across the organization including real time alerts on any suspicious activity. Our finance users are happy with the benefits the application delivered to their day to day work.

Cons

As a SaaS solution, DataRails release a weekly versions which sometime require our teams to learn these changes on the go.

Vendor response

Thank you for pointing out the real time reporting. As many people learn the hard way, learning too late of suspicious activity is devastating to many organizations. Using DataRails, these activities can be detected instantly and handled accordingly.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Medical Devices, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Reporting!

Reviewed 6 months ago

Working with [sensitive content hidden] throughout the implementation process has been great. Whoever gets him during the implementation will not be disappointed.

Pros

Once you learn how to use the system, you won't look at reporting the same way. The reports take time to build out the first time, but can then be refreshed within seconds to have data available. No more creating pivot tables over and over.

Cons

The system takes some time to get used to and understand the powerful features available. There are a lot of how to links to teach yourself how to use the system.

YM
AvatarImg

Yafit M.

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helps track changes in Excel files

Reviewed 5 years ago

The software is still in the process of implementation and improvements

Pros

The software is very good. Changes between versions can be easily identified. Displays the activity in the software. Customer Support is excellent.

Cons

The tree view and viewchanges in conected files.

Vendor response

Thank you for highlighting such an important benefit that DataRails users gain from our tool. Not only do we help with data consolidation and automating reports and budgeting, we also provide the option to track changes on excel.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eran B.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tool for financial planning

Reviewed 3 years ago

Wow. Such a great tool to bring logic from Excel to the web. I love it. It's also nice having tables from different files accessible from their cloud to other files - very useful when working with financial models that are composed from several files.

Pros

Easy Publish To Web makes is easy to make complex excel files accessible for C-level executives. Realtime sync with SharePoint Scenario analysis over the web with custom Inputs

Cons

Mapping tables for later use could be more friendly Have the add-in in Excel online so other users don't need to install the add-in.

Vendor response

Thank you Eran. We love working with such an advanced and knowledgeable user who comes up with creative ideas during our calls. We look forward to continuously provide benefits to your organization's financial reporting activities and to turn your Excel into a lean, mean FP&A machine.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Catherine D.

Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool for a great price

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've integrated DataRails within our finance department and it's just been great. For departments that rely heavily on Excel, this product is a must. All our information is in one place, it's accurate and reliable, and it boosts our confidence in the conclusions we draw from them. Really great, dependable tool.

Pros

DataRails improves the accuracy and accountability of so many processes such as reporting and budgeting. It saves my department hundreds of hours of previously unnecessarily wasted time. Amazing tool!

Cons

The platform doesn't integrate with Excel 2007 which is a bummer.

Vendor response

Thank you Catherine :) Saving hundreds of hours of people's work time is what drove us to develop this industry changing tool. We are on a mission to turn every finance department's Excel into a lean, mean FP&A machine. Regarding Excel 2007, please contact your account manager, they will provide a solution for that.

IA
AvatarImg

Izik A.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally addressing spreadsheet EUC

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's a solution that all financial services need but don't have. We were trying to work with our internal controls, but it was proving to be too manually intensive and costly with upkeep and designated staff. Understanding what is happening/happened to all our spreadsheet data at any given time is so useful.

Pros

Spreadsheets are inherently unstructured, and DataRails structured all my organizational data to allow for complete governance and compliance.

Cons

Have been a customer for a year and don't have any yet.

Vendor response

Couldn't agree more, Izik. Here at DataRails, we are working hard to help more financial organizations like yours enjoy these wonderful benefits that our system can provide.

UG
AvatarImg

Uru G.

Defense & Space, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excelent product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Datarails helped us to make better decisions. Our experience is excellent.

Pros

The product is very easy to use. The implementation process was very good, first understanding the company needs, and then using the relevant tools of the product. Very good implementation and support team.

Cons

Some features were missing but already developed recently.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eric N.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love this useful, insightful product

Reviewed 5 years ago

DataRails is really great for automating unnecessary work. Using the system has improved my work significantly since now I don't have to waste time on copying and pasting info in order to make sense of it. This used to take up so much time, and now it takes up no time at all.

Pros

-Insights feature is really useful -No more wasting time on something that can be automated -work better

Cons

-Can't think of anything atm it's a platform I love using and it does that job well

Vendor response

Couldn't agree more, Eric. Automating processes and financial reports is key to increasing efficiency and saving valuable time. Now you can use your time to learn more insights from your data :)