This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

eXo Platform Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


107 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Your open source enterprise social network

Reviewed 8 years ago

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some...

Pros

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

Cons

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social...

Pros

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

Cons

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

Vendor response

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

not an open source platform as advertise in the search engine.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Your product is very good but no download option for open source platform as result in the google search engine.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

Cons

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application

Reviewed 7 years ago

eXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.

Pros

eXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.

Cons

In Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

Vendor response

Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am able to save time at work

Pros

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to install

Cons

Plugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Evaluating alternatives

Reviewed 7 years ago

eXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!

Pros

Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform

Cons

I´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Amazing Social Platform

Reviewed 8 years ago

Very well integrated social collaboration software. Easy to connect with people and contribute information. Platform is feature rich with wikis, social networking, content management and much more.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your posting of this review and for trying out eXo. looking forward to connect with you on our community site!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My pros and cons for e

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half. I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations. Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Pros

A lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Cons

maybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fantastic product and innovative collaborative tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

eXo Platform is a relatively new app, that can be helpful for corporation and communication on all different levels. I think, it is best suited for medium to large sized companies, as it has so many functions, most of which is not beneficial for small teams.

Pros

Without a doubt, eXo Platform provides everything you may need to put into action your innovative digital work base or customer experience solution. This app design in a way that it helps you to get real work done, without the platform being the part of the work. Because it is cloud-based, you can easily share any kind of data with your co-workers, which makes collaboration so much easier. If you are looking for a multifunctional social collaboration platform for the enterprise, I suggest you try eXo Platform, as it has an entirely new and sophisticated approach towards collaboration and communication between coworkers.

Cons

This platform is constantly developing, so every week you are faced with different types of updates, which can be annoying. Plus, the app is packed with different functions, some of with you may never use. As a result the interface looks cluttered and not particularly user-friendly. Also, the integration with other applications can be complicated and requires a lot of user experience as well, as blunt luck.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Your open source enterprise social network

Reviewed 8 years ago

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Your open source enterprise social network

Reviewed 8 years ago

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

social enterprise system

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've been working with eXo platform for 6 months. we use this platform as a social collaboration place for an Industrial Association. we use community edition for free with a lot of ready-to-use  features (like profile, forum,work spaces, wiki, document mng.)   documentation is useful feature for us. its a Knowledge Management system (KMS) that provide content mng., advance search, tagging and full-txt...

Pros

it's a java based opensource with great ready to use feature that could be use as a social enterprise system

Cons

it takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This platform’s got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.

Cons

It would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your open source enterprise social network

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Open Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.

Cons

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very intuitive social collaboration platform, our team familiarized with the different tools really

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Good tool to focus everything in one place. It has a good interface making it easy for users to use.

Cons

The open tool is limited. There is enough commercial exploitation. For easy implementation only by acquiring a plan.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect with your colleagues, you can organize and customize your own dashboard, choose existing gadget and add external one: essential when you need an overwall view of your work and colleagues activity!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

eXo Platform

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been exploring features of eXo Platform while trying to develop an Agriculture Based Business Portal. eXo is a great Open Source Collaborative-Social-Enterprise-Content & Knowledge-Management-Platform that offers complete Portal Life-Cycle Management facilities like: 1. Intranet & Extranet 2. BPM & Workflow Management 3. Folksonomy/Taxonomy Support 4. Cloud Ready 5. Mobile 6. IDE, Template Editing & Output 7. Easy Content Migration 8. REST services 9. Multi-Language Support In my experience, eXo does simplify the development, customization and maintenance of Business Portals. Bhoomin Pandya

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Bhoomin, Thank you for your review and good luck with your agriculture portal project. Let us know when it's live and we will happily get the word out ;) Cheers, The eXo Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Replacing many with a single solution

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.

Cons

So far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good experience

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Fairly quick roll out, takes only a few days to work out the interface and be able to do what one would want to do. Reliable and fairly quick support on tribe.

Cons

it is just a tool, you make of it what you want. could backfire if the team using it is not serious. I've seen similar software turn into memes-gifs platform at work for employees.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

An interesting and useful platform

Reviewed 7 years ago

In my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need. However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great application to build a social network in your workplace.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Using this software, the user could easily track all the motion in the company. The Android and iPhone versions are very reliable. There are many features in this application including microblogging. There is also a provision to invite others into this space by providing only limited access. Even the support team is very interactive. They try to answer all the queries of the users.

Cons

The server takes too long to respond. Since there are a lot of features included in this application, it may be difficult for the beginners to deal. There is no tutorial to guide the users through the application. Due to this, many features remain undiscovered by the users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very intuitive Platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

eXo Platform solve the information silly issue and make information easily accessible so an organisation can better control communications and information deliveries.

Cons

- open source is not very pushed forward and - more flexible pricing options through editions - Project management features are not very advanced

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

very good product !

Reviewed 7 years ago

eXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.

Pros

eXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.

Cons

i don't see anything to dislike about it.