This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CA Flowdock Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It was the convergence of tools and conversation, so effectively it did help. I always felt like developers could get more out of Flowdock than roles like mine, in Sales.

AP

Adam P.

It also has the ability to search across those integrations which is great when you are on support and need to find something that happened in the past really fast.

LS

Lawrence S.

I like that you can close images/gifs. I like how all threads show in the flow, and they are color coordinated to distinguish them.

RM

Rachel M.

Cons

You are constantly barraged with notifications since it does not have granular notification options. This software is horrible.

AJ

Adrian J.

I always had to use the browser version b/c the app crashed and was unreliable. The iOS app was probably worse than the Mac desktop app.

AP

Adam P.

Lack of multi-individual direct messages. All messages of all threads showing up in the flow timeline.

Trey C.

Overall rating

3.9

5

4

3

2

1

7

8

4

1

1

71%
positive reviews
89%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

next level chat tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

we use to have internal team chats + extra alerting from 3rd party services.

Pros

I like the way how Flowdock connects the team chats with external alerts that can be setup easily in the app.

Cons

it doesn't look as friendly as in slack, but again - way better than teams ;-) also the mobile app is slow sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good IM but needs a little more to compete with other IM alternatives

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good IM option, user friendly, promotes communication, just needs to include more functionality out of the box.

Pros

The threading system in flowdock is very intuitive, the thread replies are not hidden within the general chat, but instead they are color coded, so you can quickly identify what/who you are replying to, and at the same time, your reply is visible to everyone in the chat, not only to the people in the thread, which promotes communication between every contact in the chat. There is also an option to add hashtags to the messages, that is very useful when you have to search for specific things in the chat history.

Cons

A lot of functionality in flowdock comes in the form of an integration, you have to add plugins in order to do other things, like screen sharing, that could be already in the tool, like its competitors do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It worked, but wasn't competitive

Reviewed a year ago

It was the convergence of tools and conversation, so effectively it did help. I always felt like developers could get more out of Flowdock than roles like mine, in Sales. I just used it for chatting with colleagues.

Pros

It did offer instant communication and it's best feature (compared to competitors) was it's notifications - which isn't really saying much

Cons

The app was very unstable on my Mac. I always had to use the browser version b/c the app crashed and was unreliable. The iOS app was probably worse than the Mac desktop app. That was a bummer - the app is vital.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nice way to collaborate

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall pretty good at what it does. Allows conversations to happen where the whole team can see and interact with them.

Pros

It is pretty nice in terms of threading conversations and keeping multiple conversations separate so people can read an entire conversation together.

Cons

When someone screws up and doesn’t people thread they are the only one who can fix it, but only if they do it right away.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good solid product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

There is a lot to like - it is easy to streamline and organize team communication.

Cons

I personally have had quite a few issues getting logged in via my iPhone every single time there is an update. That part is a pain in the backside. Not sure why the mobile set up is not as easy as the desktop - browser or app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

The Diet Soda of Communication Apps

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's a fine option for certain companies I'm sure. I mean when mandated it's a useful communication platform where people can get work done and build relationships. I just have had a horrible mobile experience. From receiving notifications about new messages that when I go to read causes the app to freeze and crash, to being told while in the app there's a new app update and then not finding a new mobile update in my mobile app store. It's frustrating how the browser platform works well enough for me to want to consider the mobile app version, but then the mobile version makes me want to leave the software completely.

Pros

I like the ability to sync the software with Amazon S3 to keep an archive of all conversations/files. The desktop/browser version of the product is useful and dependable.

Cons

The mobile app experience is really quite painful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If Flowdock is cheaper than Slack for your organization, go with it.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's the same features and functionality as Slack with the brand recognition for a cheaper cost.

Cons

Nothing, it works well at a cheaper cost. Which is efficient and okay for most small-medium organizations. I'm not sure how well it would scale with support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good product, but not as many features as competitors

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

You could customize a lot of the features of Flowdock to allow you to make this work for your organization.

Cons

Other software does the same thing, and more easily. Plus there is no native video chat available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent Communication Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Web, desktop, and phone applications Threading of messages Rethreading when you thread fail

Cons

Lack of multi-individual direct messages All messages of all threads showing up in the flow timeline

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Interesting yet simple IM client.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is a web-based solution, so it can be accessed from anywhere. Threads are easy to follow.

Cons

Embedding web-content is not as well implemented as on other solutions (slack).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Searching is Difficult, but No Other Complaints

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that you can custom sort your Flows in the order you need. I like that you can close images/gifs. I like how all threads show in the flow, and they are color coordinated to distinguish them.

Cons

The search tool returned too many results. You had to know what key words to search for, and it didn't seem to return the specific phrase you typed, but rather returned all posts that contained any word in your query.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A very good communication tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

A very good communication tool

Pros

We are using flowdock for communicating with our onshore counter parts. It helps faster execution time without any delay in getting a reply compared to email. All team members will be on same page which is a great advantage.

Cons

Search is a bit confusing and should be better if we have more filters

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

As good as slack

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use, lots of api features to connect with other apps, just as good as slack in my opinion.

Cons

The mobile app crashes every so often, not sure why.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Everything all in one place (communication, integrations, and notifications)

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like how versatile the software is and how easy it is to use, at first you may think of it as just another chat application but in actuality it helps to make our teams more efficient by providing lots of integrations with different SaaS offerings. It also has the ability to search across those integrations which is great when you are on support and need to find something that happened in the past really fast!

Cons

I have only used it a short amount of time, but I found that it can kind of get overwhelming when you have a lot of flows in the organization. For example, we have over 200 flows setup and it is a little bit hard to know which flow to open to find what you want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Value Software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Good software and makes it easy to communicate with my team at work.

Cons

There are a few kinks which make it not as slick as Slack, but overall a good app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Value Slack

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It has a dark theme. But now other software does too. So not really worth anything.

Cons

This is the "great value" (read: Grocery store brand) of software. Its cheaply thrown together, it has none of the great developer features like slack does. All the plugins it says it has, have not been maintained in a very long time so most of them don't work. You are constantly barraged with notifications since it does not have granular notification options. This software is horrible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Flowdock

Reviewed 8 months ago

Not worthy, some tools are cool due to constant use, I prefer more user friendly tools which works more well for me

Pros

+ Instant messages, you can create groups to connect with. + Logs are also a good part of the product. But most of the stuff is offered by other products as well.

Cons

+ Definately needs a better and user friendly Interface. + Needs more interactions with other tools like ca agile within a single product so anyone don't need multiple UI's.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Too Clunky

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I enjoyed the fun little reactions like slapping someone with a fish. It was a charming feature to an otherwise very uncharging product.

Cons

There's just not enough to it. Can customize anything, including colors or icons for your different groups, the design looks very dated, the mobile app glitches constantly, and messages hardly ever load. You can't suggest Flowdock if you've ever touched Slack.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review