HipChat Reviews

HipChat Reviews

HipChat

Team communication built for business.

4.2/5 (92 reviews)
21,282     22,105

ERIC YOUNG

Easiest Collaboration Tool EVAR!!

15/03/2017

Pros

Ease of use, great for no setup video conferencing, love the emoticons! Also great for group or team chats

Cons

NONE at all, If anything it lacks in notoriety compared to competitors, and that slows customer adoption.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Hart

Good for biz

14/03/2017

Pros

Easy to use, very intuitive interface, integrates with enough services to work well for most companies

Cons

Not great for file sharing, doesn't work as well as competitions outside of organization. Integrations limited.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aurelio D'Amico

Easy to use and administer

14/03/2017

I appreciate that this product makes it easy to admin a large group and control access and data between users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jess Roll off

Great for Employee Collaboration

14/03/2017

Great for socializing with fellow coworkers.

Pros

When I started a new job at a company in Sacramento, we used HipChat to communicate. It was great for getting to know my fellow employees, and various departments used it to do things like organize sports teams.

Cons

Sometimes people would send important information via HipChat when it would've been better to send that via email.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zachary Trubow

Hipchat user

13/03/2017

Pros

This is a great chat service client. Similar to slack or any of the other instant messaging services, nothing special about it yet that i have seen. Can upload your own emojis and gifs to chat. One cool feature

Cons

None that I have seen so far. Have only used the web client so far and it works just fine. Desktop notifications are good too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Max Haimowitz

Doesn't Fare well In comparison to Slack

13/03/2017

I use both Slack and HipChat on a daily basis to communicate with different teams at my company. Hip Chat is very clearly overshadowed by Slack in functionality, usability, and general responsiveness.

Pros

Integrates with other Atlassian products

Cons

Mobile app is weak - logs me out randomly and is inconsistent with when I receive notifications (a huge problem since this is the point of the software) UI is clunky and hard to navigate, needs a huge overhaul to even begin to compete with Slack. Ability to easily create chats and group channels is clunky is not seamless. You must create a full room and invite people. Slack allows you to create group chats on the fly just by typing in names.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chandler Nunez

Not a big fan of hipchat...

13/03/2017

Pros

Being able to add custom emoticons is pretty cool. Complaints aside, the app does allow you to chat with colleagues, which accomplishes its main goal.

Cons

It seems like there are numerous server side issues because on many occasions we'll lose access to hipchat for an extended period of time. The mobile app isn't always consistent in showing which chats have new messages which can cause messages to be missed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Byrnes

Nice for internal teams

13/03/2017

We use HipChat internally for our development team. It does a great job of keeping track of conversations and reduced the amount of meetings that we have. I also like the new bots that are coming out, both for fun and productivity.

Pros

Administered by company Admin, bots and history.

Cons

Cannot connect to other organizations or invite customers

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
JAMIE GONZALEZ

EASY, INTUITIVE

12/03/2017

HIPCHAT IS EASY TO USE, AND HAS LOTS OF GREAT FEATURES. IT'S NOT QUITE AS ALL-ENCOMPASSING AS SLACK, BUT IT'S A PRETTY CLOSE SECOND. I'D DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terrence Oleary

Pretty good but hey, it's not slack.

12/03/2017

Just generally less fun and intuitive as Slack. They are clearly working hard to get there but usability is just not as effortless and enjoyable.

Pros

Does it's basic job well

Cons

Not so 'delightful' not as responsive/aware. Like the way slack sees you do something and says 'do you always want me to do it like that?'

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Liz Coufal

Hipchat is great

12/03/2017

Pros

Love the karma! Easy to use, nice emojis. So great. Truly nice. Words words words. Chat rooms are fun.

Cons

Slack is more popular and i wish it was integrated with slack and gchat and twitter and medium and snap chat. I want to snap my hip chats to twitter

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Craig Vera

It's okay

12/03/2017

We used this for a little bit at our company before switching over to Slack. Probably prefer Slack as a internal comms tool but nothing bad with this one

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Davinder Kumar

Connect with colleague.

10/02/2017

HipChat is a communications platform designed specifically for business team chatting and Customize how you get notified with updates and missed messages. Get notified with in-app, email, SMS, and mobile push notifications.HipChat also offers integrations with leading and popular business applications, enabling users to use HipChat with their existing systems and other business platforms.tech chat is aimed only at developers and discussing purely technical stuff. We don¿t want to do it the company chat for the sake of not distracting non-developers with the irrelevant content.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Van Heusen

Good team chat system

08/02/2017

Overall I have been happy with HipChat, it has facilitated keeping multiple groups within our company communicating together. The overall functionality meets our needs well.

Pros

It gets the job done, it is easy to communicate with a large number of team members.

Cons

Windows client can be flaky, doesn't handle Retina displays on windows too well. Seems like the client updates frequently.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering HipChat

You'll get the most out of this if you encourage Hipchat to be part of your standard practice.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Account Executive (Information Technology and Services company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Glitch

07/02/2017

I use this app daily to communicate with co-workers and management. There has been multiple times when it's taken 10+ minutes to load. Also when I try to enlarge the window it glitches and doesn't fully expand.

Pros

Easy to create groups and start conversations.

Cons

Glitches often, during login or in use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jidhu  Mohan

Great for Team meetings

07/02/2017

We use Hipchat for video calling and screen sharing with our virtual teams spread across the globe. Inegrated with multiple features, this is a good software for seamless and bandwidth optimized collaboration.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Pugh

Hands down better than SLACK

01/02/2017

I have been using HipChat for a number of years. It is hands down way better than Slack. It has the same or better feature sets. And it doesn't come with the cost of Slack.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Johnny Wolfenstein

Very useful team chat option!

01/02/2017

Hipchat came in very useful for my team when we were working on a project remotely. We were able to keep in touch easily with chat, video and screen sharing. I recommend this to any teams working remotely and needing to keep in close contact.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rebecca  Russell

Stay Connected with HipChat

25/01/2017

We use HipChat within my office as well as with employees who work remotely to send quick questions and messages to one another. It is very user friendly and intuitive. You can easily start a new chat with anyone in the organization by searching on their name. You can also create chat rooms. My favorite feature is that you can leave a chat accessible for people you chat with frequently and then switch from one chat to another back and forth as much as needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maurice Alexander

Great Productivity Tool

25/01/2017

HipChat is a great work IM orientated to get this done fast. It provides you flexibility to use on both desktop and mobile. Its IU is modern and compared to Slack, it's sober, yet visually friendly. Great plus is that it sends you an e-mail when you get an IM during after hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Neeraj Lakhotia

Verified Reviewer

Friendly and simple

16/01/2017

It's a pretty friendly and useful app. Simply intuitive to use. Works on Windows, Linux, Mac and Android. Has good application design.

Pros

Good UI Group chat Can upload photos. Supported on both mobile and Computer(I used it on Mac)

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shrish  T

Used Hipchat for Cross Team Collaboration

11/01/2017

In one of the Product development, we've used the Atlassian cloud offering, where along with the well known Jira & Confluence we were introduced to Hipchat a unique and useful tool used by us for cross-team collaboration. Real time sync and updates were available. Really loved its capability.

Pros

Cross Team Collaboration, Real Time Updates.

Cons

Lack of Video calling.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Priya Nara

Project Communication via Hip Chat

07/01/2017

In one of my last past project, we've used Hip Chat for inter-team communication. Our team comprised of people working from different geographical locations. We've used it in such a way that we tied to our Continuous Integration and Task tracking tool and any updated on them were reflected real time on our group chat window.

Pros

Capability to be integrated with various other tools. @mention helps to notify a particular user even in a group chat.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Larsen

Hipchat rocks for company communication

05/01/2017

Our company has used Hipchat for the last couple years. We've been impressed with the ease-of-use of the product and the attention to the product. Every week or two, we're getting updates, which are easily applied via restarting the software. It is hosted software and easily implemented and FREE! We have even added our Asian partner so that he can easily contact us in the evening (morning for him).

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering HipChat

I like this much better than google chat or aol messenger--it seems more appropriate for a corporate environment.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patrick Ubel

Verified Reviewer

HipChat Review

22/12/2016

Hip Chat is great. You are able to communicate efficiently and effectively across a large organization. It is very easy to use and is a great tool for larger companies to use.

Pros

Can send a simple instant message instead of constructing an email or picking up the phone.

Cons

Sometimes software updates caused an issue with our systems. But it got sorted out fairly quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering HipChat

It's easy to use and would recommend to any organization.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more