IdeaScale Reviews

IdeaScale Reviews

IdeaScale

Crowd-based innovation management

4.56/5 (16 reviews)
1,524     4,555

Ritvij Gautam

Ideascale actually helps innovation

03/11/2016

This tool is fantastic for fostering internal and external innovation. I think that the top down innovation model is outmoded and Ideascale is the best way to shatter it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zaheera Laher

Crowdsourcing platform

03/11/2016

Great crowdsourcing platform .. people voting and commenting . Great collaboration between teams . Used the platform as a place to share stories as well as logged ideas and innovations.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Asked for more than 100 words

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering IdeaScale

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Suresh Khadakbhavi

"Beautiful" is the only word that I can sum up this Software platform!

21/04/2016

We were on this platform in minutes and we started populating our ideas instantly. Addition of members in free version is child's play. We have voting, comments, sharing of links, editing the Landing page, logo addition, moderation, reports, automatic mail alerts etc. (Attachment of files is not possible in Free Version, but this is still OK for us at this stage of evaluation) We are able to test fully all the features like Leaderboard, We can run multiple campaigns, we have still to start using the other features, but we hope to mature soon and start using these and many other features. This platform is already a big hit within our core team of Innovation. So far amongst all the platforms that we have seen adopting this seemed to be a cake walk!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Caroline  Bruister

First ever Crowdsourced Challenge to improve Government!

04/01/2016

After a thorough review of all crowdsourcing challenge platforms (and contemplating building our own) we selected IdeaScale to run the Fix California Challenge (http://www.innovateyourstate.org/final_fix_california_challenge_winners_announced) which resulted in over 450 ideas submitted through the online platform and privately as well as thousands of votes and comments. We set a low bar to entry since the design of the project was to encourage public participation and were overwhelmed by the quality, quantity and nature of the discourse of the community. IdeaScale staff were instrumental in the success of the Challenge - working with us closely prior to the launch, during the Challenge to advance stages and address any issues we had, and even after close of the Challenge listening to our experience in order to continue to improve their product. We heartily recommend them to work with!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kim Taylor

Great product with even better customer service

22/12/2015

If executed thoughtfully, crowdsourcing can be a great way for leaders of a bureacratic organization (or any organization) to hear (interactively) from the people doing the actual work, whether they are seeking new ideas or specific information. Ideascale is a great first step to building a strong crowdsourcing program. It's incredibly user-friendly, the site is easy to design, and it's a one-step process for new members to join. The best feature, however, is the customer service. Everyone is incredibly friendly, responsive and helpful (and IT help is literally 24/7!). Our IdeaScale reps went above and well beyond to help us get our program off the ground - they became true partners. IdeaScale is also constantly evolving to provide an even better user experience. You can't go wrong!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Interdisciplinary Scientist (Government Administration company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great App, Great Service

21/12/2015

Within our center, we use IdeaScale as a way to engage staff in brainstorming like discussions that they otherwise would not be able to participate in. Topics range from internal office improvements to new policy implementation and the tool has been incredibly valuable for both senior leadership and the rest of the staff! Service with the IdeaScale time has always been top notch from getting quick responses to technical questions, discussions on campaign strategy, all the way to full program discussion within the office, IdeaScale has been great to work with every step of the way.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Ascione

Great product and great service

21/12/2015

Within our center, we use IdeaScale as a way to engage staff in brainstorming like discussions that they otherwise would not be able to participate in. Topics range from internal office improvements to new policy implementation and the tool has been incredibly valuable for both senior leadership and the rest of the staff! Service with the IdeaScale time has always been top notch from getting quick responses to technical questions, discussions on campaign strategy, all the way to full program discussion within the office, IdeaScale has been great to work with every step of the way.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Preston III

Verified Reviewer

Cool Product for Ideation

17/12/2015

Working for the Social Security Administration we use IdeaScale to engage discussion with advocacy groups in the vast Disability area. Understanding that some are hesitant to try “new things,” my team had to be diligent in our quest to use this platform for ideation. Now, after the initial angst and the anonymity feature, we run 3 to 4 concurrent campaigns a month. This product is awesome

Pros

Export to Microsoft Excel Feature Privacy settings Assign Moderator Settings Easy to code

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lori Snetsinger

Simple to use, great for any organization

16/12/2015

As an organization that has team members that don't sit in front of a computer all day, IdeaScale has been great. Team members can access the site from their home computer or mobile device and send us ideas any time of the day. It is easy for us to interact with members on the site and let them know the status of their suggestions. Reporting on this site could be more robust, but the data is available in raw form. All the folks that work for IdeaScale are great; they are always available to help and are open to suggestions. I highly recommend IdeaScale as an innovation management and team member engagement platform.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Librarian (Libraries company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great for crowd-sourcing input on big projects

10/12/2015

Our library system has used IdeaScale to source feedback from both staff and the public on renovation projects, and it's proved to be a useful and easy-to-manage system for gathering and organizing that input.

Pros

Very easy and intuitive to use, even for non-tech-savvy users, and allows for input to be built through conversations rather than just filling in forms. Wonderful, attentive support from IdeaScale staff. Helpful, easy-to-use metrics and a very cool, customizable infographic generator.

Cons

The number of options for community moderation can be a bit overwhelming, and the function of each isn't always clear. Attached images show up very small, and attached links or documents could be placed or shown more prominently.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leeca Blaine

Intuitive for front end user with ability to customise look and feel

10/12/2015

IdeaScale is easy to use and intuitive for users even if they have not used it before so caters to all levels of ability to use technology. The web based platform enables staff to use it pretty much anywhere, anytime and different devices. The IdeaScale team are very helpful and assist with queries and suggestions for enhancement or improvement. You do need IT staff to code different aspects of the look and feel but the IdeaScale team can also assist if required.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Director of Special Projects (Computer & Network Security company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Effective, Easy, Reliable

09/12/2015

IdeaScale worked for us "out of the box'. We launched it and were up and running almost immediately. With zero prior experience, I was able to customize the interface to meet some very specific needs. When I had a question, one-on-one technical support was available on a moment's notice. Our account rep is equally helpful. He stays in touch enough to maintain a great relationship, but has never become a pest like some vendors.

Pros

Easy to set up and launch. Very intuitive user interface both from an administrator's perspective and for the people in the field who log on simply to vote on ideas. Technical support is knowledgeable and always available. The system is reliable, too - zero down time the entire time we've used it (2 years+). Good value for the money. We have the least expensive option and it does everything we need.

Cons

Nothing major - Some of the customization processes seemed a little 'clunky' at first but once you get in sync with their way of doing things it isn't a problem. As stated above, I believe this is a good value for the money, but if you want to go beyond the basic features there is a pretty steep jump in price. Might be nice to have a 'mid-range' option as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Greg Gorski

Look no further than IdeaScale for Outstanding Collaborative Software - Outstanding

09/12/2015

Working as a Federal Employee for decades, I have had the opportunity to participate in a host of application development. Consequently, you would think that I wouldn't be impressed by IdeaScale's offerings, but I was in for a very pleasant experience. I was tasked by my Agency's Leadership to develop a Leading Practices Community for the purpose of sharing efficient and effective ideas organizational wide. I thought, I have no experience with this new software, how can I pull this off? Well all that stress could have been avoided had I talked to my IdeaScale SME, Mr. Matt Paulson, prior to my assignment. To make a long story short, Matt showed incredible product knowledge and was essential in having a fully, functional community available in a matter of weeks. Additionally, Matt was readily accessible and eager to provide his expert knowledge in the event of requested changes. As a result we have a great tool, which I see as providing an outstanding ROI. The Leading Practices Community will serve 30,000 employees and has the capacity to serve far more. How better could we share effectiveness and efficiency than through this tool? In my opinion IdeaScale offers unequaled product value and impressive customer support. If there are any cons to this program, they haven't surfaced so I have nothing to report.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Delraine Franklin

Superior Customer Service and Support!

01/10/2015

The IdeaScale team has awesome customer service and support, it is always timely, accurate and courteous! IdeaScale continues to be a great supplement to our continuous improvement program allowing us to really capture the VOA (Voice of the Associate) it is such an engaging tool for us. Customers love it to, they say that IdeaScale differentiates us from our competitors. They have some nice reporting tools, and an excel data export which allows me to manipulate the data any way i need to. Would be nice to have more options to run the data export already manipulated. Have already discussed with the IdeaScale team and as always, they are looking into satisfying my needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Watson

Share Ideas Simply and Effectively

11/03/2013

Aside from the cloud-based application that can be accessed anywhere, you also get access to many popular features. This includes having custom user fields, single sign-on, CSS customization, Facebook application, private communities, Ideascale app, 99.99% availability, campaigns, forums, comment voting, contract, community forums, custom URLs, custom development, email based access restrictions, file attachment, polling tool, profanity filter, and more.

Pros

You get a cloud-based system making the idea creation and feedback method easier than ever. It also includes: widgets, IP-based access restrictions, customizing status tabs, badges, leaderboard, Google Analytics and being mobile optimize

Cons

The disadvantage is that for access to more features, you need to choose a membership plan for a higher cost each month. In other-words, some features are not available in the less expensive memberships.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Caroline Bruister

Verified Reviewer

04/01/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more