App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

iThenticate Logo

iThenticate

Plagiarism checker for institutions, researchers, publishers

see alternatives

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

iThenticate Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

15

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.13/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

IThenticate is an excellent plagiarism checker for publishers and researchers, with its robust database and seamless integration.
However, its advanced features and reliable performance make it a great option for those who need to ensure the originality of their written work.
This software had done tremendous help in plagiarism checker and paraphrasing the document in such a brilliant way.
Plagiarism is stealing and including and excluding some of the sources you can hide some of the stealing and make your paper look acceptable.
Users must review the report thoroughly to avoid incorrect accusations.
Expensive: Compared to other plagiarism checkers, iThenticate can be quite expensive, which may be a disadvantage for users who are on a tight budget.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad M.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

iThenticate Makes my Educational Life Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is quite easy to operate. It is highly recommended for the research purpose.

Cons

It is good if storage is directly connected with drive system.

SW
AvatarImg

Sharanbasappa W.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

iThenticate: Detect Plagiarism with Ease

Reviewed a year ago

iThenticate is an effective tool for researchers, editors, and publishers who require accurate plagiarism detection.

Pros

iThenticate is a popular plagiarism detection software used by researchers, publishers, and institutions worldwide. It is a reliable tool that can be used to check for plagiarism in research articles, dissertations, theses, and other types of academic documents.One of the main advantages of iThenticate is its accurate plagiarism detection capabilities. The software has a vast database of scholarly...

Cons

One of the main drawbacks of iThenticate is its cost. The software is a premium plagiarism detection software that can be expensive for individual users or small research groups. Additionally, there is a possibility that iThenticate may flag similar phrases and sentences as plagiarism, resulting in false positives. Users must review the report thoroughly to avoid incorrect accusations.

ND
AvatarImg

Naveen D.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Plagiarism Checker for Publishers and Researchers

Reviewed a year ago

iThenticate is an excellent plagiarism checker for publishers and researchers, with its robust database and seamless integration. However, the lack of a free trial and limited customer support may be a downside for some users.

Pros

1. iThenticate is specifically designed to meet the needs of publishers and researchers, making it an ideal tool for checking originality in scholarly works and academic publications.2. The platform's vast database includes millions of scholarly works and publications, allowing users to compare their work to an extensive body of research and publications.3. iThenticate integrates seamlessly with other publishing tools, such as manuscript submission systems, making it a convenient and efficient solution for publishers and researchers.

Cons

1. iThenticate does not offer a free trial, which can be a disadvantage for users who want to test the platform before committing to a subscription.2. The platform's customer support can be slow to respond, which can be frustrating for users who need immediate assistance.

PB
AvatarImg

Praveen B.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

iThenticate - A Reliable and Efficient Plagiarism Checker

Reviewed a year ago

iThenticate is an excellent tool for anyone looking for a reliable plagiarism checker. While it may be expensive for some users, the platform's accuracy and customizable settings make it worth the investment.

Pros

Some advantages of using iThenticate are-Accurate and reliable plagiarism detection: iThenticate uses advanced algorithms to compare submitted text against a vast database of scholarly works, making it an excellent tool for detecting plagiarism in academic writing.Customizable settings: The platform allows users to customize settings to match specific requirements, such as excluding certain sources, setting thresholds for matching text, and more.User-friendly interface: The user interface is easy to navigate, making it accessible to both experienced and novice users.

Cons

Expensive: Compared to other plagiarism checkers, iThenticate can be quite expensive, which may be a disadvantage for users who are on a tight budget.Limited file types: iThenticate only supports a limited number of file types, which can be frustrating for users who need to check plagiarism in formats that are not supported.

PK
AvatarImg

Prabhu K.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Uncovering the Pros and Cons of iThenticate

Reviewed a year ago

iThenticate is a powerful tool that is ideal for large organizations and academic institutions, but may not be the most practical choice for individual users or small businesses due to its high cost. However, its advanced features and reliable performance make it a great option for those who need to ensure the originality of their written work.

Pros

1. Accurate and reliable plagiarism detection that identifies even the smallest instances of similarity.2. User-friendly interface with an easy-to-use upload and analysis process.3. Integrates with several publishing platforms, making it easy to check for plagiarism before submitting work.4. Offers a detailed report that highlights similarities and provides links to the original sources.5. Provides customer support that is responsive and helpful.

Cons

1. Expensive pricing plans that may not be affordable for individual users or small businesses.2. Limited language support, as the software only analyzes documents written in English.3. May produce false positives in some cases, requiring additional manual review and analysis.

FN
AvatarImg

Ferozuddin N.

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

iThenticate has changed the scenario of copyright issues. it's remarkable

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software had done tremendous help in plagiarism checker and paraphrasing the document in such a brilliant way.

Cons

If it's working offline then this makes great revolution in offline field too.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fetiye E.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product for checking authentic student work

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent, excellent! I am so happy to learn how to use it and I almost always use it for all the assignments I give to my university students.

Pros

It works so well! It checks almost all resources to compare with student work! It gives detailed analytical feedback. It is not difficult to learn how to use the software. Whatever a professor needs is well thought by the developers.

Cons

Some functions could be a bit simpler in design.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best plagiarism check freely available software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it is a very good software when it comes to checking plagiarism and in today’s world it is very critical to take care of plagiarism before posting it on the social media platform.

Pros

Most of the time I write blogs and I have a tendency to check plagiarism to be sure about the content what I am trying to post on social media or any other platform. It’s a kind of practice which I have adopted in order to Void any further troubles. And this particular software entirely fulfil the purpose and make your life easy.

Cons

They can add more optimistic feature where different source can be added from where plagiarism values can be checked because I have seen or retested the plagiarism score across different platform and some other platforms were able to catch plagiarism even after being tested by this particular software which was a bit a surprise couple of time for me.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad M.

Accounting, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IThenticate is the software of plagiarism and paraphrasing with full authenticity

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's more importantly secure and confidential use without any privacies concerns.

Cons

It should be great if it's more familiar like grammarly had done on extension file in chrome and word.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Useful Application

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Accurate proofreading and amazing plagiarism checking

Cons

Not any cons right now. will update if found any

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yann U.

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Mon avis sur Ithenticate

Reviewed 9 months ago

En gros que du bonheur avec ce logiciel. Je le recommande vivement particulièrement au personne dans le domaine aux étudiants et au corps enseignant. Une bonne base de données et des résultats précis 👍🏾.

Pros

C'est un excellent outil pour la détection de plagiat. Je l'ai utilisé dans le cadre d'un projet académique, il m'a été d'une grande aide.On peut l'intégrer facilement à des systèmes de publication. Une autre chose que j'ai beaucoup apprécié est son importe base de données.

Cons

Au moment de l'utilisation, aucune version gratuite n'était disponible et le service client était également lent.

Showing original review in French. See translation

BB
AvatarImg

Barooj B.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review about iThenticate

Reviewed a year ago

My manuscripts have improved using this software and almost every manuscript is within the acceptable limits. I only forward my manuscripts after passing my manuscript through this

Pros

This software is very useful for checking plagiarism. As turnitin is not free and it is mandatory for manuscripts to be plagiarism free. So in order to be on safer side I proofread and check plagiarism with this software and it's great..

Cons

This software is bit lenient in case of similarity .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ahmet Fatih Y.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A must have tool for Academic Integrity

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It has proven helpful in plagiarism checking of my students papers without doubt.

Cons

Reporting is tricky. I don`t know whether it should allow tweaking the settings and lowering the plagiarism ratio or not. Plagiarism is stealing and including and excluding some of the sources you can hide some of the stealing and make your paper look acceptable.

BP
AvatarImg

Batisani P.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Turnitin

Reviewed a year ago

I liked it. Easy to use, accurate and great visuals.

Pros

Accuracy and highlighting of possible plagiarised areas.

Cons

Extraction of report process, it should be automated.

LW
AvatarImg

Llanoi W.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Turnitin - iThenticate

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software proved to be of great importance during my college years. It was helpful in checking the originality of work produced by group members in an effort to reduce the likeliness of our projects being rejected due to plagiarism. It was pretty straightforward and easy to use.

Cons

I cant think of any noteworthy issues i encountered during my time of usage.