App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

KnowledgeLake Logo

KnowledgeLake

Document management and enterprise data capture software

(1)

KnowledgeLake Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

17

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.27/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The UI/UX is nice, and being able to decouple it from our on-premise infrastructure was a huge win for us operationally.
As KL was able to do this in a matter of weeks & kept us in the loop of the progress. The File queue, View options, Category customization AMAZING.
We licensed the KL Cloud subscription in September 2019 and are once again enjoying a great partnership with KnowledgeLake.
The integration with our accounting software is limited and has reduces functionality on the AP side. The method in which security is handled on the HR side is tedious and difficult to maintain.
Our complex workflows were often problems, and we did have initial performance problems.
The integration process had some hiccups in regards to duplicate files so that was a bit frustrating but really this is a small con because they were able to get it back up and running quickly.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


17 reviews

Recommended

DH
AvatarImg

Denise H.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

KnowledgeLake review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have found KnowledgeLake to be a great partner with the University since 1999 and have been. Things were a bit rocky from a responsiveness standpoint during the "Hitachi" days and were thrilled to learn that [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] reacquired the company and is continuing to invest in state-of-the-art functionality. We licensed the KL Cloud subscription in September 2019 and are once again enjoying a great partnership with KnowledgeLake. We are enthusiastic about employing all of the modern functionality and really like the option of choosing document repositories housed on either SharePoint or Azure Blob.

Pros

The capture, index, release, and retrieval functions have historically been the functions in use at all departments. Our current transition to KL cloud offers us new opportunities to 1) use alternate document repositories other than SharePoint and 2) streamline work through the use of machine learning tools.

Cons

The original capture server software required customization to integrate with our administrative systems of record. Capture Server Pro was an improvement that helped streamline these integrations. Our recent experience with KL cloud offers APIs with other known cloud-based products such as Workday. We look forward to exploring additional opportunities for integration and process automation.

TH
AvatarImg

Thomas H.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Continuous Improvement goes a long way

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were using KnowledgeLake on prem long before I started working here; the experience with KL Cloud has improved significantly as more features and reliability improvements were brought online with successive versions. I was incredibly dissatisfied with the software as delivered a few years ago, but after several releases and working directly with developers, it has improved significantly.

Pros

The UI/UX is nice, and being able to decouple it from our on-premise infrastructure was a huge win for us operationally. This coincided with a migration to SharePoint Online for most sites, so the two products do make a good pair.

Cons

Many of my complaints were resolved in successive releases, but I suppose what I liked least were some of these design quirks. For example, a long standing issue where KL Cloud would lose the auth token to Azure AD and break adding new users silently. Our complex workflows were often problems, and we did have initial performance problems. But, good customer service led most of these things to be fixed.

NN
AvatarImg

Nina N.

Textiles, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Poor Fit

Reviewed 2 years ago

I do not believe that the AP or HR product s were a good fit for our processes.

Pros

The image & data capture for our AP and the digital document storage for our HR are the most important features. Having access to digital files is great.

Cons

The AP software is more cumbersome & time consuming for the user than our previous process. It has also added to the workload of our AP team. The integration with our accounting software is limited and has reduces functionality on the AP side. The method in which security is handled on the HR side is tedious and difficult to maintain.

CS
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

KnowledgeLake with Workday

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Besides being fairly easy to use, the customer service is a huge plus. Very attentive and responsive. Excellent people to work with!

Cons

Not easy to report from. Also, RPA is very sensitive to browser changes. However, that has been addresses quickly each time it has happened.

Vendor response

Happy New Year! Thanks for your review Chris!

PM
AvatarImg

Patsy M.

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

KL Review Survey

Reviewed 2 years ago

good

Pros

The capability to integrate multiple systems to achieve our goal of creating and pre-populating each specific new hire packet which in turn increases compliance and minimizes the time spent when onboarding new hires. Being able to electronically store documents that can be shared company wide by other users, helps reduce the need to maintain paper files.

Cons

The time it takes to update the electronic file when uploading the new hires, delayed not really real-time.

AC
AvatarImg

Angela C.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ratchet-X is an invaluable tool that allows us to process orders accurately and cost-effectively!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Since the RPA tool is developer friendly, there are no limitations in terms creating sophisticated automations. It truly can integrate anything with anything.

Cons

I would prefer if the product had a real-time debugger. Although the Action Editor is quite versatile and easy to develop with, I would like to have a runtime debugger I can access in production.

TM
AvatarImg

Tony M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Developing with RatchetX for a few years now. A very robust easy-to-use integration platform.

Reviewed 7 years ago

ability to connect our software to our current and prospective customers.

Pros

- I can integrate ANY customer desktop application to our backend ECM product in minutes. Unbelievable ease-of-use. - The ability to add an "Action" button to the title bar of my customer's application to extend their business processes without touching any APIs. Very powerful. My customers are always impressed. - Absolutely love the capability to bundle my custom assembly's and the RatchetX runtime...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KF
AvatarImg

Kathrin F.

Machinery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

KnowledgeLake Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We use KL Imaging. It is easy to use and integrates well with Sharepoint

Cons

We have ran into issues with set up and integration

RG
AvatarImg

Rachel G.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

KnowledgeLake was a huge factor in our conversion of documentation.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

KnowledgeLake was a huge factor in our transfer of documentation vs. our in-house employees having to tackle this as it would be super time consuming! As KL was able to do this in a matter of weeks & kept us in the loop of the progress. The File queue, View options, Category customization AMAZING!

Cons

The integration process had some hiccups in regards to duplicate files so that was a bit frustrating but really this is a small con because they were able to get it back up and running quickly!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

the fact that we can now integrate for clients, is just wooow!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This app is so user friendly, and can be acquired at a fair prize. It also saves costs since we add new components an existing application without involving their merchants

Cons

The Application can only be installed and used in a windows operating systems and therefore limiting the catchment

AB
AvatarImg

Angela B.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Knowledge Lake review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Sales is misleading.

Pros

Ease of use. We are using an older version of KL

Cons

KL does not host require company to use SharePoint online. Does not make this clear during contractual process.

KF
AvatarImg

Kyle F.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This has helped us create integrations for customers we never could have in the past.

Reviewed 7 years ago

endless integration capabilities between our software and whatever our customers use.

Pros

The flexibility is great, there has really not ever been a situation where we couldn't get access to data in other programs, making the integration possibilities for us to design for our customers almost endless.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

QR
AvatarImg

Quaramus R.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome! It is a great product and very user friendly!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Customization

Pros

The customization. Things that it could provide to the customer seems to be endless and very fitting in any workflow process.

Cons

The fact that I have to enable force rendering for google chrome in order to work but I think that is with in application using chrome.

DC
AvatarImg

Don C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ratchet-X provides easy to use functionality to my customers that saves them revenues and resources.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Sales.

Pros

Very user friendly, competitively priced, flexibility, comprehensive logging capabilities, Customer support

Cons

Somewhat complex to configure. Requires C+ knowledge to add custom processing functionality. Can only be used with windows operating systems.

Vendor response

Just to clarify, developing Ratchet-X actions requires knowledge of C#, not C or C++.

AG
AvatarImg

Allison G.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ease of use for customers

Reviewed 2 years ago

KnowledgeLake's team has been great to work with, very engaged! They are continually working to improve the product.

Pros

The fact that KnowledgeLake is very intuitive and easy for customers to learn is its biggest plus.

Cons

There are still features of KnowledgeLake's products that are being built out - i.e. the platform is not fully mature; this is not necessarily a negative because they are regularly releasing new features and making the product more robust for their customers.

TS
AvatarImg

Timothy S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Migration to KL Cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago

Working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to migrate us from OnPrem to the cloud was a very smooth transition except for a few bumps in the road.

Pros

That it's all browser based and that i can go into the application myself and permission users, create custom searches etc.

Cons

Nothing i can mention as of yet. i would have thought that having some sort of notification system might be useful for our executive staff to know when something requires their attention or approval.

NM
AvatarImg

Nereyda M.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The product is easy to use. The interface is clean and clear.

Cons

I feel like the ability to move documents into different queues would be helpful. Or having a workflow to review documents and send them to an archive.