App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Tungsten Power PDF Logo

Tungsten Power PDF

Tungsten Power PDF: Built on 20 years of Innovation

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Tungsten Power PDF Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

229

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.59/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The editing features are fairly simple to use and the secured signature features are wonderful.
I have been using Nuance for over 3 years now. I have liked there software and have always received great customer service.
Very cost effective and user friendly. Love this product and has drastically cut overall business costs.
It is very hard to find what you are looking for. Additionally, it was frustrating at first since the software did not seem compatible.
My only complaint about this software is that it is slow compared to Adobe and BlueBeam, especially for printing.
We now have two perpetual licenses that we can’t use and we're out $358. Ll take my business elsewhere.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


229 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nigel E.

Managing Director

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great PDF Editor, Great Value

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Nigel: My name is Nigel. I'm the managing director of the company D13 Solutions Limited. We've given...

Vendor response

Hello Nigel, Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate that you did your research against competitors and came away satisfied, and can work with PDF forms in a cost effective manner. Glad the trial process was easy and insightful for you to evaluate the product. Looking forward to see how you and your team grow with Power PDF!

AS
AvatarImg

Allison S.

administration

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

better than adobe pro

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Allison: Hi there. My name's Allison, I'm a law firm manager. I give Kofax a five. And for more reviews,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel G.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So many functions for so little money

Reviewed 3 years ago

As described already, this PDF program brings so much benefits for such a small amout of money. You can also buy a volume license instead, so you can roll it out on your terminal server, that all users can use the power of it.

Pros

First of all and that is a huge one on this >> the price!!! This costs nearly only 30% from an Acrobat Pro Version and has all almost all features you'll need for your business. You got a piece of paper which looks like a fill out form and you like to have this one as a PDF formular >> you will have it by only clicking 1 button. KOFAX Power PDF will analyse the document on it's own and creates a fill...

Cons

For designers or user in the print industry, who need pre-flight functions and color management tools Power PDF is not the right tool. These functions are not included.

CC
AvatarImg

Carla C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really Like this PDF Editor

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This program does what it promises and so far, the features are easy to find and use.

Cons

So far, I have found no cons with what I have used this software for.

KB
AvatarImg

Kali B.

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Lousy software that our company switched to for cost savings

Reviewed a year ago

See above. It crashes a lot which wastes my time.

Pros

I don't like Kofax. It's fine as a reader, but for anything else I definitely prefer other applications.

Cons

I don't like Kofax at all. It crashes all the time which wastes so much of my time. When we first got it in 2001 it crashed so much that it was totally unusable and really messed up our work flow. Our IT team spent a lot of time (like weeks) trying to get it to work. One of the people on our team spent her own money to just buy Adobe Acrobat so she wouldn't have the headache of dealing with Kofax....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Phil A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All the features of the other PDF editors at a much better price.

Reviewed a year ago

Great, it speeds up production and improves our productivity.

Pros

Overall a great product. Easy to use and great support.

Cons

The text editor. It needs to be more flexible and the text box needs to be smaller. Preferably expand as the user types instead of starting out across the whole page.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lindsey H.

Law Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nuance is a nuance

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's great, I love it and recommend it to all.

Pros

It's easy - I can make an interactive PDF, make edits, delete/add pages, etc. which the touch of a button. Anyone can do it!

Cons

I don't have a con - it does exactly what it's supposed to do and I don't even realize that it's not Adobe.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Evan K.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kofax PDF is an excellent PDF reader/writer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very well made and stable PDF application that connected with a multitude of DMS systems

Pros

Accurately creates pdf's with proper security level for courts and other attorneys to accept production

Cons

Links with DMS applications require uninstalling and reinstalling inorder to repair

SD
AvatarImg

Stephanie D.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great productivity software

Reviewed 5 months ago

I would highly recommend Kofax to anyone looking for flexibility in editing and managing documents.

Pros

Being able to easily Bates stamp documents, redact information, type in info on a PDF and delete unwanted pages.

Cons

Nothing, it's fantastic for my daily use purposes!

Vendor response

Hi there, Thank you so much for your review of Power PDF! Glad you have explored Bates Stamping and more. - Gordon

HC
AvatarImg

Hazel C.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Compact PDF software

Reviewed 9 months ago

Very intuitive software as far as regular usage is concerned.

Pros

This is a compact PDF software which has a smooth user interface. Kofax Power PDF is also easy to operate.

Cons

Obviously there is nothing to say wrong about a PDF viewer, I love the design and inbuilt tools of this software.

MS
AvatarImg

Melissa S.

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Kodfax Power PDF makes my job easier

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

I use this software to redact documents that are being filed with courts. It is super simple and quick to use

Cons

Noting.it is a great tool for the work I do.

Vendor response

Hi there, Thank you so much for your review of Power PDF! Glad it's useful for you in Legal. - Gordon

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marco F.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good overall solution for e document management and PDF editing

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Pros: - Intuitive word-processor-like user interface - advanced editing functions - convenient for e-signature templates - pretty fast start up, and lightweight

Cons

No significant flawless detected, generally easy implementation in any Window OS version.

RM
AvatarImg

Robert M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Really Good Product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use and feature rich. Price point is excellent when compared to Adobe Acrobat. We also tried Soda PDF Desktop 14 which was not as powerful.

Cons

Editing function difficult to use. There are instances where a fillable form needs editing and Koufax has trouble.

DK
AvatarImg

DJ K.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Acrobat Pro Substitute

Reviewed 3 years ago

Document conversion (both to and from PDF) is so simple with this product. It is highly accurate. Form creation is simple and the Bates numbering is fantastic!

Pros

This product is almost as good as Acrobat Pro for the normal user, but it is not quite as intuitive. Often there is a need in our business to Bates number documents, so that knocked out a lot of the competitors. For frequently used, or hard to find functions, the quick access toolbar is a must. The program integrates well with the MS programs we use. Cost is appropriate.

Cons

Power PDF Advanced crashes more than Adobe Acrobat Pro. Functions are not intuitively placed in the tabs. Help is often a waste of time and should be easier and more simple. Indexer is not as fast as Acrobat.

JS
AvatarImg

Jeffery S.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why Kofax is a valuable PDF choice

Reviewed a year ago

It is a valuable software in my arsenal that is mostly easy to use and effective.

Pros

The conversion is very integrated and seemingly automatic

Cons

Text Editing can be somewhat difficult, identifying which menu that appears to be change at times

JB
AvatarImg

Jorge B.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDF management made simple

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a great product for me in my experience

Pros

The ease of use and document management has really shown this system capacity and its impecable.

Cons

There is not something I like least about it. Only that I need to learn if more to maximize use of it

WV
AvatarImg

Wendy V.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome PDF program

Reviewed 5 years ago

Combine Documents, Optimizing the size of the documents, typing notes right on the pdf, removing information from the document, especially happy with being able to convert a pdf into word or excel. HUGE time saver.

Pros

I like everything about this program! The ability to convert a pdf into word, excel, to edit documents, move pages around, remove pages, delete info from the pdf, ability to combine separate PDFs into one PDF

Cons

I can find nothing I don't like about this product.

BW
AvatarImg

Brigid W.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Kofax is great because you can edit PDF's and sort pages.

Cons

I have never been able to get the DocuSign feature to work properly.

SQ
AvatarImg

Sean Q.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible Customer Service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Long term customer of Nuance (Dragon) and Kofax (Power PDF) due to exceptional functionality and performance.

Cons

Software is fine. The customer service - or should I say lack thereof - is atrocious. My team made the mistake of purchasing two licenses for download (rather than purchasing the discs) during the COVID-19 pandemic while our team was working remotely. The licenses were designed for use on our office PCs and were not downloaded right away due to our team working remotely. Unbeknownst to me, the licenses were only available for download two weeks. After that, the link expires and you cannot download the software. I attempted to go through Kofax for a resolution to no avail. We now have two perpetual licenses that we can’t use and we're out $358. I’ll take my business elsewhere.

RW
AvatarImg

Rachel W.

Utilities, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good substitute for the typical Adobe package

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

All functions are available in the version I have. I don't require additional add-ons to get my job done

Cons

When I pull a tab out from the main window, it opens up directly below the main window. It would be preferable if the tab was still connected to my cursor and follows it to the spot I want the tab to show up. Similar to chrome tabs

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Crashes

Reviewed 2 years ago

My business has gone full digital over the last 2 years and I need a stabile pdf program to maintain worflow daily.

Pros

In writing this review I hope the company takes note and resolves the issue that is mentioned. I began using Kofax after they purchased Nuance pdf which I found so easy to use and stabile. When I began using Kofax I found it a bit different and thought that I would get use to it. After using it for 2 years now I have come to the conclusion that it is an inferior program to the Nuance pdf program and I am disappointed.

Cons

When saving to Microsoft Cloud it always crashes so I must save to my desktop first and then transfer over to the Cloud drive which is very annoying and unproductive.

NR
AvatarImg

Nagaraj R.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good value for money

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Digital signature, adding text, flattening.

Cons

Not possible to extract pages. Saving files sometimes takes too many clicks.

WD
AvatarImg

Wes D.

Machinery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better that the original

Reviewed a year ago

Its an easier product to use that Adobe and they aren't trying to Nickle and dime me to use the most popular features

Pros

Product is very easy to use and much better price compared to the Adobe

Cons

There are no problems I have encountered

JD
AvatarImg

Jaime D.

Railroad Manufacture, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Essential Document Control tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great all around except for the error messages which are in themselves an error....

Pros

I use this every day because I process documents that are sometimes sensitive and it enables me to insert Headers/Footers along with watermarks with ease. I am sent many files for editing which are in pdf format this tool allows me to quickly and easily convert them to word, excel or powerpoint before saving them back as a pdf

Cons

A lot of the time I get an error message stating the document was unable to be converted and it had failed but in fact it had succeeded which can be an irritation but it's not the end of the world

WB
AvatarImg

Wayne B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice product

Reviewed a year ago

Love this product, does the same as Acrobat at a fraction of the cost.

Pros

We use this software for all of our PDF editing, making forms, etc.

Cons

everything functions very well. I have found nothing wrong with the product.

AF
AvatarImg

Alise F.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nuance Power PDF good for office use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Nuance makes creating forms with active form fields so easy. I would definitely recommend this software for everyday office use.

Pros

My favorite feature is being able to create form fields with the click of a button. I use this feature daily. I also love being able to drag and drop and page(s) into file folders or other files. It is a super easy software to utilize.

Cons

My only complaint about this software is that it is slow compared to Adobe and BlueBeam, especially for printing. It does open large files, like construction drawings, as quickly either.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Level All-In-One PDF

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our office was moving to go paperless and the use of Nuance has accelerated the change for admin workers.

Pros

Overall this program provides the necessary features for our legal team to create, edit, and manage PDFs. Features include - creating PDFs, in-line editing, converting, combining, and a sleek "office" style ribbon. Some great new features for Advanced 3 include - real-time collaboration and tabbed viewing.

Cons

OCR features are not as strong as Adobe Acrobat and some minor set back in the conversion of documents.