App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Tungsten Power PDF Logo

Tungsten Power PDF

Tungsten Power PDF: Built on 20 years of Innovation

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Tungsten Power PDF Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


229 reviews

Recommended

AL
AvatarImg

Ana-Liza D.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Works like adobe acrobat dc

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Has the same functionality as adobe acrobat dc, where you can edit the formatting of a converted pdf document. Easy to use.

Cons

That it doesn’t have the ability to do more modifications to a document. Unable to link references within the document which is what I need to do for most of my documents.

Vendor response

Hi Ana-Liza, Thank you for the review and feedback! If you're trying to create links/bookmarks to specific locations within your PDF documents, you can do so with the Bookmark feature which is found on the left sidebar menu (the icon is a page with a ribbon/bookmark on it). After you've created your bookmarks, you can also choose to create a Table of Contents page from them.

AC
AvatarImg

Aaron C.

Hospitality, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nuance Power PDF - A Great Choice for PDF Solutions

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a lower-priced competitor to Adobe's Acrobat software, Nuance Power PDF does offer a lot of value for a user's dollar. While it may not completely match Acrobat, feature for feature, the level of convenience is equal for everyday use. I strongly recommend any companies seeking an alternative to the Adobe suite to give Nuance a change, you may find yourselves impressed with the features included for the asking price!

Pros

I appreciated the amount of options that Nuance offered compared to a variety of freeware or online PDF tools. We had lots of flexibility in editing PDF files down to the smallest details; like advanced cropping and scaling on construction blueprints, or rotating specific pages of a scanned document. Automatic conversion of PDF files to Word Docs is an awesome feature too, and it generally works very well for most user's needs.

Cons

Text editing and overlay within existing documents was a little difficult at times to match with documents made in Adobe or Microsoft Word. I ran into a series of bugs related to large documents that would not collate when printed from Nuance; I had to instead use Chrome or a competing PDF software to fix the issue.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals,

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Not as great

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Got to accept, quality comes with a price. We switch from Acrobat PDF to Nuance PDF to save cost. Good for the price paid.

Cons

Not as great as Adobe PDF. Slow and some features are taken away. Loads slow and quality is not as great as Acrobat PDF.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Adobe replacement

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy to deploy, mostly easy to use, and affordable. Can't ask for more than that.

Pros

Integrates with iManage Worksite very well.

Cons

Doesn't do great with the MS Surface Pen. It's ok, but not great. A lot of our users keep Adobe Reader around just for the Pen.

SS
AvatarImg

Sarah S.

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Love the setup, hate the lack of processing power

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I have no complaints except the lack of processing power, which is sad because I love how this is set up over Adobe (much less wasted space and more intuitive tabs) but it just can't handle what I need it to.

Pros

Love the page tab feature where you can preview the page thumbnails in a column off to the side of the viewing pane. I use it all the time to quickly navigate. Compared to other softwares, this is actually the best I've seen; the thumbnails aren't too big where they take up most of the viewing pane or too small where I can't see what's on the page. The thumbnails are also spaced closely together so we aren't wasting valuable reading pane space. Overall incredibly well designed thumbnails.

Cons

I think this was supposed to be the new and improved Nuance, but it just changed the color scheme but didn't increase any functionality of the product. All of the controls are the same (which is nice), but it doesn't have enough computing power to handle large documents well (50+ pages) which is primarily what I deal with. It takes a long time to load and often freezes.

MR
AvatarImg

Michael R.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Very hard to navigate

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ultimately I am able to get the things done that I need to but the software has definitely given me headaches along the way.

Pros

I like that I am able to combine PDFs easily and edit them in a very specific way. It has helped in preparation of several final documents.

Cons

It is very hard to find what you are looking for. Additionally, it was frustrating at first since the software did not seem compatible.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Barbara C.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

È stata una scoperta

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

In passato ho usato molte app o software pef convertire in pdf e c’era sempre qualche problema: risoluzione, in alcune non mi faceva salvare i documenti ecc.. qui non ho avuto nessun tipo di problema, oltre al fatto che le conversioni posso farle da Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Corel WordPerfect

Cons

Ad ora non ho trovato proprio nulla che non va, non ho ancora esplorato tutto na fino ad ora è tutto fantastico e semplice

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

Al
AvatarImg

Alicia l.

Luxury Goods & Jewelry, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Advanced PDF Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it provides powerful functionality with all the features of text editing, redacting, combining, digital signatures, etc. Definitely made my work life easier, you just have to price compare and determine what your needs are. It is a solid competitor.

Pros

While it has all the features of most competitors, I appreciated that the optical character recognition was more accurate and smooth compared to other editors I have used.

Cons

I find this software a bit pricey compared to other market alternatives. It was also slightly challenging to find certain features at times.

TS
AvatarImg

Timberlyn S.

Environmental Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Productivity Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Solves integration of different documents into one report. Creating a table of contents is a challenge once the different documents are combined.

Pros

Fairly easy to use and allows for creative flexibilty

Cons

Creating sub bookmarks is very confusing and never works as i think it will, so it takes time because I have to repeat typing- cut; paste after or paste under, neither seem to work as I expected

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kofax : a complete pdf tool kit

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very easy to use and understanding, overall fantastic

Cons

Tables with the hard coloured background are difficult to edit

EC
AvatarImg

Emmerson C.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kofax Power PDF

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The product is extremely easy to use and very powerful

Cons

It takes a little time to figure out how to perform certain tasks

CF
AvatarImg

Camila F.

Entertainment, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Kofax PDF is very useful software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Kofax PDF is a very practical software, I always use it to compile or convert my files to pdf. It saves me on a daily basis, as I need the documents urgently.

Cons

My experience with Kofax has been great, I can resolve my documents with ease. So far I have nothing to complain about.

BO
AvatarImg

Bolanle O.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best PDF converter

Reviewed a year ago

Kofax Power PDF has improved my productivity at work, it also makes my work very easy.

Pros

Kofax Power PDF has been really helpful in converting all my word documents to PDF. It makes my work so easy.

Cons

The software has been nothing but such an amazing software

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yosimar M.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent software for PDF conversion

Reviewed 6 years ago

I really love how easy it is to transform documents, I would love for them to fix the watermark/sign problem though.

Pros

What I like the most about this software is how easy it is to convert the PDFs to other formats such as doc and xls, it is such a helpful software that has so many of adobe features and is so much cheaper.

Cons

It has the same issue as other pdf converters: if the pdf has been signed or have a watermark it messes up the conversion in the word document, I would love if you could select an area to skip.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great alternative for Adobe

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The best thing about Nuance is the price point, it is much cheaper than Adobe products

Cons

It's not quite as user friendly as Acrobat

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Peter M.

Legal Services,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

An excellent replacement for Adobe Acrobat

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I was able to purchase it outright without having to subscribe and it has all of the features I am used to in a PDF creator.

Cons

Having to resize the viewing panel to view pages in a single list, but this is really no big deal in light of the advantages of having switched to this product.

Rv
AvatarImg

Ronald v.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid PDF Editor/Creator/Converter

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is one app I keep handy.

Pros

A strong app to tackle all your pdf document needs.

Cons

This is a software that delivers what it says.

DC
AvatarImg

Deborah C.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great experience

Pros

It is easy to use, affordable, flexible.

Cons

I liked everything. I cannot say a bad thing about this software.

BL
AvatarImg

Bre L.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nuance Power PDF Advanced was not as great as I thought it would be

Reviewed 6 years ago

I wouldn't really recommend it unless you get a crash course for this software program, it needed more instructions that were self explanatory.

Pros

What I liked about this software is the ability to actually change the pdf after its been sent

Cons

What I liked least is the difficulty to use, we purchased this and ended up going back to our regular Adobe software.

Vendor response

Hello Bre, sorry to hear that you experienced trouble getting to know the capabilities in Power PDF. In case you or others at your company are re-considering Power PDF Advanced, we have a video training series on our Nuance YouTube channel that shows tasks in Acrobat and how they're done in Power PDF. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLKz6kLaiM7-JACIY_WWdyfRQ9d6Alke59

Ks
AvatarImg

Karoly s.

Government Relations, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

this is a useful software.

Reviewed a year ago

I use it as a good pdf editor, or pdf converter.

Pros

Generally, it is a reliable product, but the friendliness can be improved.

Cons

I think, the simples of use can be improved.

AS
AvatarImg

Ana S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

hidden features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

i like this product for the most part a sit is easy to navigate most of the time

Cons

it kind of like hunting around for features that are not easily displayed, like redact i have to type it in teh search to find it and it is not on any menu, it's frustrating

FG
AvatarImg

Fernanda G.

Executive Office, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avaliação do Kofax Pdf

Reviewed 6 months ago

Tem sido uma excelente experiência utilizar o kofax.

Pros

Gosto muito desse programa é um excelente leitor/editor de pdf, todos os recursos são bem fáceis de utilizar.

Cons

Gostaria de ter mais opções para trabalhar com esse programa, como uma integração melhor com outros.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

Vendor response

Hi there, Thank you so much for your review of Power PDF! What are you looking to integrate with? We integrate with most common apps. - Gordon

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sofia Ana C.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Un buen software para editar PDFs

Reviewed 10 months ago

La edición de PDFs es indispensable para trabajar y Kofax es perfecto para eso.

Pros

Me gusta que se puedan agregar y quitar paginas a voluntad.

Cons

Por ahora no tengo negativos. Estoy muy conforme.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

JS
AvatarImg

Julissa S.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Functionality is top notch

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

In my role, being able to merge multiple files into one PDF is critical and this software enables me to create and manage documents in a seamless manner.

Cons

This software would be even better if I had the ability to take a photo document and make it fit to the page without much manipulation so that it looked as if it belonged with the other documents in terms of size and dimensions.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I like this product

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Adobe is not the only program out there. I like the ease of this program. It is so easy to do the tasks that I want and is less expensive than Adobe.

Cons

Honestly, at the time of this review, I can not think of a con that I have come across.