App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

M-Files vs PinPoint Comparison

Add to Compare

Compare similar apps

Microsoft SharePoint logo

Microsoft SharePoint

4.3

Revver logo

Revver

4.4

Brandfolder logo

Brandfolder

4.7

MasterControl Quality Excellence logo

MasterControl Quality Excellence

4.5

Claris FileMaker logo

Claris FileMaker

4.3

ddSuite logo

ddSuite

4.3

Good recommendations?

Overview

M-Files is the leading document management platform for knowledge work automation. With the M-Files platform, knowledge workers,...

PinPoint is a centralized document management system that automatically finds and files documents, controls versioning and...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

Pricing

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

Starting from

17

/user

Per month

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

4.3

182

5

4

3

2

1

92

57

24

5

4

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
91%
would recommend this app

4.5

55

5

4

3

2

1

35

16

3

0

1

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
96%
would recommend this app

Pros

I liked M-Files because of the ability to organize company files in a secure location. I used M-Files to fully store my Tax program in my previous position, and loved everything about it.
The setup for workflows is amazing and easy to do. It uses a graphical interface that is fun to experiment with but at the same time powerful and highly customizable.
It will be the best money you spend and will save you the cost is saved searching in weeks.

Pros

The support you get from the folks at LSSP is amazing. They are quick and ready to help with solutions.
I have seen some great things come out of your company. Thank you for constantly improving on what you have created, and for giving us the opportunity to have a voice in those changes.
Overall they provide good customer service and the cost for the storage size is great, they regularly make updates and work on ways to improve the product.

Cons

It creates synchronization problems in places where the internet connection is not reliable and there may be version problems.
What I dislike about the M-Files is User interface quite diffuclt to get used. They need to impove as well.
Also you does not find files sometimes because you need to put keywords but you may forgotten.

Cons

Not being able to use the "enter" button and only the magnifying glass is an annoyance and a small complaint, but annoying just the same.
When I train my staff to use Pinpoint, I hear complaints that it's difficult to navigate; to find documents, hard to figure out the Search Content page (we use this page the most).
The only "complaint" I have is that it seems really difficult to clear out cases once they are done.
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review15 days ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review10 months ago

Key features

  • Total features34
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Approval Process Control
  • Archiving & Retention
  • Audit Management
  • Audit Trail
  • CRM
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Compliance Management
  • Compliance Tracking
  • Content Management
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Digital Asset Management
  • Digital Signature
  • Document Automation
  • Document Capture
  • Document Classification
  • Document Generation
  • Document Management
  • Document Review
  • Document Storage
  • Document Templates
  • Drag & Drop
  • Electronic Signature
  • Encryption
  • File Conversion
  • File Recovery
  • File Sharing
  • Forms Management
  • Full Text Search
  • Information Governance
  • Metadata Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Offline Access
  • Optical Character Recognition
  • Real Time Synchronization
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • SSL Security
  • Search/Filter
  • Secure Data Storage
  • Tagging
  • Task Management
  • Third-Party Integrations
  • Version Control
  • Workflow Management
  • Total features44
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Approval Process Control
  • Archiving & Retention
  • Audit Management
  • Audit Trail
  • CRM
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Compliance Management
  • Compliance Tracking
  • Content Management
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Digital Asset Management
  • Digital Signature
  • Document Automation
  • Document Capture
  • Document Classification
  • Document Generation
  • Document Management
  • Document Review
  • Document Storage
  • Document Templates
  • Drag & Drop
  • Electronic Signature
  • Encryption
  • File Conversion
  • File Recovery
  • File Sharing
  • Forms Management
  • Full Text Search
  • Information Governance
  • Metadata Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Offline Access
  • Optical Character Recognition
  • Real Time Synchronization
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • SSL Security
  • Search/Filter
  • Secure Data Storage
  • Tagging
  • Task Management
  • Third-Party Integrations
  • Version Control
  • Workflow Management

Integrations

  • Total integrations21
  • Asana
  • Box
  • Dropbox Business
  • GitHub
  • Gmail
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Drive
  • Google Workspace
  • Jira
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Excel
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • Microsoft SharePoint
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Okta
  • OneDrive
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Slack
  • Trello
  • Zapier
  • Total integrations15
  • Asana
  • Box
  • Dropbox Business
  • GitHub
  • Gmail
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Drive
  • Google Workspace
  • Jira
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Excel
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • Microsoft SharePoint
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Okta
  • OneDrive
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Slack
  • Trello
  • Zapier

User reviews that mention these apps

JS
AvatarImg

Jennie S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

Customer satisfaction

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great way to store your data

Pros

Easy to search for files in latest version

Cons

I can not think of anything major, instruction manual could use more detail

DM
AvatarImg

Donna M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

PinPoint Operation

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are storing client files primarily on the system. We also have from time to time auditors come in from the State or we turn files into the court. We are able to provide a thumb drive with the requested information.

Pros

Ability to look for a file once already in the system. It is good and bad to have options on how to do the same thing multiple ways. It makes the system definitely flexible but makes it difficult to train. We have to pick a process and train others. Once you know the options it is easier We like the video training. Needs to be updated to new version

Cons

Support documentation is too wordy. It is difficult to follow. Need hierarchically step by step instructions with pictures. You can tell the person that writes it definitely knows the system but there are assumptions. Would prefer to not have to go through DropBox for the pick up the file feature. When viewing pages have to scroll up and down and across to see the pages. If on the screen there was a way to minimize the Group Programs section on the left to extend the screen.

SG
AvatarImg

Susy G.

Security and Investigations, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

Pin Point User

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It works great as a filing cabinet. I was able to find the files needed. Once I knew how to use it could go back and forth between types of files.

Cons

Not easy to use, It does not have an easy flow, from signing in to retrieving the files. a bit cumbersome.

NP
AvatarImg

Nicole P.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

helps with Document revisions

Reviewed 7 years ago

helps with document management and online backups of important data files. 3rd party integrations are inbuilt and helps with adding more functionality and features.

Pros

PinPoint let us manage documents online and keep revisions. Versioning has been the great feature since we can recover to previous revisions easily. The documents can be shared and sync'd with various devices.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LO
AvatarImg

Laura O.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

We use this program for document storage and it has made finding our documents much easier

Reviewed 8 years ago

I don't find the setup/admin tasks intuitive, and find we don't use many of the features because it's too time consuming for us to learn to implement. Having our 12,000 plus files reachable instantly is a huge time saver for us-no more paper files! Not being able to use the "enter" button and only the magnifying glass is an annoyance and a small complaint, but annoying just the same. Our sales rep Errick was a huge help in helping us implement our program and his ongoing support is almost immediate and very helpful.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

thank you for your review.

GD
AvatarImg

Gina D.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

easy to use once implemented

Reviewed 8 years ago

i got the software mid-tax season because i realized i needed to be able to share files easier with my staff. implementation was a bit more difficult than it needed to be because the interface is not that user friendly. this could definitely be improved upon. other than that, support was great and after everything was in place, use is fairly simple.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your review.

BM
AvatarImg

Barbara M.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

Unhappy customer

Reviewed 4 years ago

Finally, the terms and conditions state "LSSP Corporation reserves the right to prorate any refund that is requested for professional services rendered to the client in an effort to resolve any client issue(s).", but if you request a cancellation and prorated refund, they will not give you a refund. Look elsewhere for a document management software solution, there are many better alternatives out there.

Pros

The LSSP (Pinpoint) product used to be cost effective, simple and usable. Unfortunately that is no longer the case.

Cons

The LSSP (Pinpoint) product has become clunkier and more difficult to use with each "upgrade". The large price tag does not correlate with the functionality of the product. The text search function is virtually unusable. The automatic character recognition and file sorting function does not work, as a large percentage of files are rejected. There is no way to integrate the document management software with my accounting program.

DS
AvatarImg

Diane S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PinPoint logo

PinPoint

Still learning the best ways to maximize this software.

Reviewed 8 years ago

We are still learning to use this and find it better than E-Drawer in many ways. We are frustrated at finding documents that are not able to be viewed. When we have contacted customer service they want a full list of those documents. We don't know that something is not able to be viewed until we are looking for something and find that message. That is very frustrating. We have also encountered several times when Pinpoint has not moved items from our copyscan which has lead to more work on our side as we had to determine what needed to be rescanned (we had been deleting the copyscan folder once we moved the files over).

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, and we will make note and improve on this.