This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Mattermost Logo

Mattermost

Open source workplace messaging for web, PCs & phones

see alternatives

Mattermost Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


124 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Alternative to Slack - opensource

Reviewed 3 years ago

Opensource alternative to Mattermost. Allows team communication on one place, especially for things that should be in chat-groups-discussions and not in countless emails that are hard to track in multi-user environment.

Pros

It is opensource, it has no limits like Slack and it allows similar experience/functions. It is not easy to set-up but once started it works with no issues on desktops/laptops.

Cons

Android app is not connecting to some servers (all I built). SSL certificate handling is a bit tricky. Default way of creating users is sending them link (creating user/pass would be a good option).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best remote workspace!

Reviewed a year ago

It's a good workspace platform for people who remote work and for me it helps communicate many work-related things easily.

Pros

a. Simple workspace platform, especially for remote workers b. Many integrations can be made and compatible with Mattermost c. Highly customizable due to its open-source based.

Cons

d. UI is not really appealing. The UI theme kind of always remembers me that I'm working. It's not necessarily a bad thing but it could be less "work-theme", so we could feel a little bit relax. e. Cannot make a thread out of a message.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Amazing Team Collaboration

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

So intuitive interface and so less clutter. The teams love mattermost for many things, integrations, easy to use interface, stability of the software.

Cons

1. The ability for anyone to delete a channel. 2. Lack of SAML support for team edition

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Open Source alternative for Slack

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

+ Open Source + Can be set up for free even for Commercial use + Can be hosted on-premise + Good community support - Apps and Integrations brings great support to exchange data with external systems for software development teams

Cons

- The interface is not as refined as Slacks's - Video and audio conferencing is not integral part of the software and requires external integrations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Communicate with in the Organization

Reviewed a year ago

Overall my experience is good. I would not prefer to chat as DM but yes for a company it is good

Pros

I like the most in it is a simple and easy-to-use platform within the company. People can make their channels and set the privacy of those channels which is a great thing

Cons

I don't like the UI of the matter most its too simple. There should be graphics like skype or discord

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A tool to consider!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Mattermost is intuitive to use and easy to implement in your company - It has a good amount of integrations

Cons

- Not as many options for building bots, automations and intgrations as competitors - Mobile app only "okay" - Most other organizations are on Slack, so if using a tool across companies is an important use case, Slack is the better option

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great open source messaging application and slack alternative

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The product is easy to use and there is lots of documentation on github updated regularly by developers and community. You control your data and security because software can be hosted on premise. Thread reply is much better than what slack did. Mattermost has short release cycle, feature vote forum, your voice matters to the company

Cons

Overall UI is not bad but in my opinion slack has much more beautiful look. Expiration time for authentication token is quite short, you would need to re-login every month or so

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool that works just the way it should, high quality, performance, and UX.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like most that it's a very unobtrusive tool that "just works" without getting in the way, be it in the browser, as a desktop app, or on mobile. It's Open Source and can be self-hosted, allowing for private communication. I also love the open, active and welcoming community.

Cons

There's really nothing in Mattermost, that I don't like at all. But if I could wish for something, I'd like to have a list of "favourite chats" (channels or direct chats) that are always visible, independent of the current team selection.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Full of great features for this chat system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Better communication between teams of our company in different locations

Pros

Frequent release with new features, and the ability to host mattermost on our own server. Ability to add our own commands for specific needs

Cons

Upgrade could be simplify. Mobile apps do not allow authentification by certificate API changes broke few commands after a matter most upgrade

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very good system, especially because you can host it for free.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Better communication on a company level.

Pros

You can host it for free. Markdown support. Gitlab Integration and updates. Easy to administrate.

Cons

There are many mature alternatives. Lacks some features or has them but you need to do way to much setup. Doesn't feel as polished as others. Mobile app is getting better, but still not up to the competition.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Self-installed internally

Reviewed 4 years ago

self-reliance is pretty key - plus the cost of licensing Slack was wildly disproportional to the value gained for 900+ person company.

Pros

We own all the data - it's not sent to 3rd party. Price is right. Ease of integrations of our own coding.

Cons

it's lagging behind slack in 'slickness' of UI, pre-canned integrations, and overall feature list (albeit pretty close)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software. Helps us a lot in our day-to-day business.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very supportive and open-minded team which helps where they can. Also open for new feature ideas. Almost en par with Slack but self-hosted which is a big bonus for companies in privacy concerned organizations.

Cons

The iOS app could be better. Complicated installation/update if you don't do it via gitlab-omnibus package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mattermost Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Chat with my peers is much easier.

Pros

Nice options and functionality useful for everyday use

Cons

Inability to turn off popup notifications

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Replace your old chat server

Reviewed 3 years ago

We replaced our aged Openfire and Spark server/client. Mattermost has much more functionality with less resource usage. Recommended for in house installations.

Pros

Mattermost was really easy to setup, the additonal https configurations are also well documented. As for the user side,it is similar to slack

Cons

Single Sign On functionality is based on plugin, which sometimes doesn't work that well. Other than that,no problems performance or functionality-wise.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product, recommend it to everyone, and best of all

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The use of web sockets and consistency between platforms and ability to self host the software. Open source is also a high point.

Cons

Lack of asymmetric end-to-end encryption. Would like to see server side ability to enable/disable this feature, as well as seeing it as either mandatory or opt-in for each chat session. Would be best if each client would generate a key-pair and give public cert to the server and each other client signed/encrypted it with the public key.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good, free Slack alternative

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Mattermost has made communication feasible for our distributed team. Direct messages, private and public channels provide everything we need for different types of messaging.

Cons

The UI isn't as smooth as the one you'll find on Slack, but general features and functionality are all there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick communication

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

My coworkers and I are able to message each other individually or in channels with multiple coworkers. Pretty much just does what I would expect out of any quality messaging app.

Cons

I used to get notifications on my phone, but now I don't and I can't figure out how to get them back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

So far Mattermost as delivered what it has promised. It's a fast evolving product you can trust.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is free and opensource, so you know what you are running and you can contribute to it whenever you think there's something that can be improved. It has all the necessary tools to be the organization's chat platform and whenever you find and odd problem, the support is there to help you.

Cons

It is not yet as intuitive to use integrations as it is with slack. The UI although has improved greatly over time, it still has room to improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great alternative to Slack, especially for the price

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's very simple to use and much much cheaper than its competition. Persistent chat is beneficial when working with teams across multiple time zones -- email notifications when I'm not signed in is great.

Cons

There is something that's somewhat intangible but for some reason Slack feels better. Slack seems more elegant, but overall, this is the only negative thing I could find about the software. Overall it meets and exceeds my team's needs for a fraction of the price.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mattermost helps connect my team.

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Mattermost is positive.

Pros

Mattermost is my main software for communication within our company. The software works perfectly and allows groups and private messaging between individuals. Most importantly Mattermost is HIPAA complaint.

Cons

The only downfall of the Mattermost software is that it is not always obvious when there is a message waiting. They could improve their notification system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MatterMost for Open Source Project Communications

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience has been with my participation in the open source project Civicrm, which maintains its own instance of MatterMost. It appears to be probably a donated or free instance of their Enterprise version of the product. It has served to keep me in touch with other project members and helped me research questions that might be answered by prior posts.

Pros

The software is easy to use, similar to the commercial app Slack. It provides good thread tracking and the interface is clean and easy to understand.

Cons

For its purpose, I have found nothing about the software that I can find to complain about. It does exactly what I expected. I suppose there have been times when searching for older posts has been difficult due to the search returning a lot of matches and having to scroll through the matches.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Almost really good.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Slack with AD integration at half the cost. But I still wish I could afford Slack.

Pros

Slack integrations just work on Mattermost. The theme choices are very nice. The ability to host my own on-premises server is very nice. Technical support staff is very knowledgeable and competent. I'm not made to feel like an idiot if there is some specialized knowledge that I don't have.

Cons

The Android client is extremely buggy and fairly slow still. Selecting a push notice to open Mattermost to view and respond in the thread does not always open the right thread and is always slow (even on LAN, with the latest gen of Android phone!)). The client MUST be snappy and it just.. isn't. The Windows client becomes slower and slower the longer you have it open, so it must be restarted every day or two. It's a little buggy; sometimes new messages make your view scroll up instead of down. But it works well enough most of the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you want to have a hosted solution this is one of the best ones!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- open source - you can customize - support to several languages - have slack support to import the data and reuse the webhooks

Cons

- The tech stack may be hard for people that dont know Go or Javascript - missing features in the open source option

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

simple and fun

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

it is very well designed, it allows usage of emojis and gifs, so communication within platform is fun after hard working day

Cons

i cant find contacts easily, it's a little bit hard to join server if 8t is not allready joined.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good value

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Feature set is growing with each release. Application upgrades are fairly simple. Team is responsive.

Cons

Still light on some features that competitors offer. Mobile performance has been a challenge. No auto-update feature on desktop app.