This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Mattermost Logo

Mattermost

Open source workplace messaging for web, PCs & phones

see alternatives

Mattermost Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


124 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Helps with the communication at work

Reviewed 3 years ago

All the employees at the company I work for use Mattermost and we are very satisfied by it.

Pros

I like it keeps all the history of the channels so when new people join they can access the previous messages. The possibility of creating personalised emojis. The fact you can flag some posts, making them easier to find whenever you need.

Cons

I think the mobile platform is a bit slow to use, it could be a bit faster.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great "behind-the-firewall" solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

Improved inter-user communication

Pros

Good solution for teams that can't use cloud-hosted chat solutions. Feature parity with many popular cloud apps. Good developer tools support for powerful features like incoming webhooks.

Cons

Some UI glitches, such as emoji-autocomplete. App sometimes doesn't reconnect after network goes down and comes back up again. No Google Auth support for native iOS client.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

We used Mattermost to communicate within our company. We are able to set up different teams for our different projects to keep in communication and share information.

Pros

This piece of software is very easy to use. There is virtually no learning curve to begin using this software.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about this software. It is easy to use which is what everyone looks for in software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Slack on prem

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were looking at replacing HipChat from Atlassian who is switching to the cloud. Since we are not allowed to move to the cloud, we were looking at a replacement and found Mattermost to be the most valuable player in this business.

Pros

What we loved with Mattermost is the easiness of deployment. In a couple of minutes you are up and running

Cons

Tons of integration you really don't know where to start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Mattermost is a great chat client and it is very easy to use.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I really like the fact that it's open source and people from the community have the option to contribute things that they would like to see in Mattermost.

Cons

Slack has a bot that shows you how to use slack, and sometimes gives you tips on what you can do. It also allows you test out different messaging features. Mattermost doesn't have a bot like this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Decent chat platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was a great experience, work well. Overall it's a great chat platform for companies to use.

Pros

Ease of use, ability to find and join group chats. I really like that every one can add a picture, it's nice to see who you are talking with.

Cons

Notifications are distracting, you can turn them off, but it would have been more convenient to have options to turn down the notifications.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not a good tool for chat

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is quite annoying to search in the history of the chats because of the scroll that is continuously moving because for the async load.

Pros

It is simple to use. It is compatible with linux.

Cons

Hard to see the history of the chats. You can not search in a concrete chat. Slow performance. Only chat available you will need another tools for meetings. Bad integration with gnome desktop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent alternative to Slack if you need on-prem or do-it-yourself deployment

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's open source, so you can tweak, audit, and customize to your heart's content. It can be deployed on-prem so you can meet whatever security requirements you have.

Cons

Doesn't feel as polished as Slack. There are a lot of little UI quirks that bother me. Aside from that, there's not much not to like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great free Chat program

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Its a free chat program that allows for a lot features. You can create private chats or group chats and lock it down to only the admin team or a company wide chat group. You can send docs and other files with it.

Cons

Its kinda blah... boring. It basic txt apps with gifs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've been testing this software as an alternative for Slack

Reviewed 4 years ago

Team communications

Pros

The pros of this software is that it's open source and that it can be integrated with other tools very easily. Although Slack has more integration options I'm sure it's just a matter of time for Mattermost to at least match Slack on this pro. Another Pro of this software is that it can be deployed on premise and not just in the cloud.

Cons

As the purpose of the software we're testing for is a little different we did find some features were missing. The most important missing feature is that the user invite function cannot be disabled.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

i have used Mattermost; admin for linux instance and a beginner contributor to the open source repo.

Reviewed 4 years ago

(already listed in previous question)

Pros

-Self hosted: This is essential for if your company needs permission to share your data with other entities. All your data stays within your own system and therefore is more secure and private. Potential for HIPPA compliance and other government regulation compliances. -Free Tier: great services in the free tier -Open source: enough said -Go and ; React Apps: Great tools -Fast -All the same functionality as Slack

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

It's alright

Reviewed 5 years ago

I get nothing. The company I work for gets to chat in create their own chat rooms. Zoom integration is good

Pros

I don't use it on a normal bases. I only admin the server and upgrade it. make sure it doesn't break

Cons

The way you login and using UID blows! You can't delete users from the GUI. Why do you have a GUI interface when you can't do stuff like completely delete a user. Why do I have to go into the backend

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Great software.

Reviewed a year ago

So amazing. Very quick as well. I will be in touch.

Pros

This is a friendly and helpful software. This is a very easy software to use it. The communication is unexampled.

Cons

Sometimes it does not show the signals, but I hope it will get better soon. Also, it works easily to get what I need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nice alternative

Reviewed 3 years ago

this application facilitates contact with other members of the foundation.

Pros

That's a nice alternative to Slack. Managing channels and using the entire product is very easy and intuitive.

Cons

Mattermost is so similar to slack that I don't even expect other functionalities. You can treat it like the same product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mostly as a contributor, with some administration and end user experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Learning to code through contributions.

Pros

Open source and flexible. I like being able to contribute to making the product and community a better place.

Cons

Sometimes it can feel unpolished. Cool little features can get added but more core functionality doesn't get implemented.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good start, not as compelling as alternatives

Reviewed 5 years ago

Internal chat that is faster than email but not as immediate as SMS.

Pros

It's free and open. We can take the code and run it ourselves and suggest changes for features and fixes in an open manner that has community involvement.

Cons

It seems slower to release updates and features and not as feature rich as alternatives. The support and community seems much smaller than slack and hipchat.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I'm just using Mattermost for communicating with the developer community, it's great so far.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's open source, so I know what's happening. When it comes to messaging & privacy, transparency is important.

Cons

If the application's startup time is fast to my expectation and slightly less buggy, I'm going to love it a lot more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I've had a pleasant experience so far with Mattermost

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm not a frequent user of this software so I have not found a way to see a list of all sent attachments in message channels.

Pros

I love the look and feel of the web application - it's really intuitive to use and the response time to the questions I've had about the product has been really prompt.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I used this as a potential slack replacement.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's free and integrates with gitlab. It has the same features as slack and doesn't have many of the limitations

Cons

It (used to at least) require your own notification service and wasn't as smooth as slack. The apps may have gotten better since I used it last (it's been about a year). Free Slack still tends to dominate the market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Simple chat platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy for chatting and fast to learn. Nothing special or out of the ordinary. If you want something fast to chat, this works.

Cons

There isn’t anything unique about the platform that makes it worth investing in over other options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Nice free solution for small teams with basic features

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great experiences

Pros

Very similar to Slack or Rocket.Chat Easy to use Open-source! Cheaper than Slack Very readable docs Docker friendly

Cons

AD/SAML/LDAP integration are not for free, unlike for Rocket.Chat I can not find many reasons why to pay, when free variants with more features are available - eg. Rocket.Chat or Zulip.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

THIS ALWAYS CRASHES!!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is a decent platform to communicate for group projects. I use this weekly for a project involving 20 members.

Cons

This software crashes very often whenever I use it. This program takes forever to open, I'm not sure if it is just my computer or not.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not the best collaboration software

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

I like that this gives you the ability to speak with people both inside and outside your organization

Cons

I have compatibility issues and am not able to use the app on my phone

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Used free version, great for the price

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Installation and setup was fairly easy. Look and feel is similar to slack. Features in the free version are about what I would expect.

Cons

The version I used was older and it had some page load issues. This could have been a configuration is.