Microsoft OneNote Reviews

Microsoft OneNote

Collaboration and file management

Microsoft OneNote

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


616 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great way to keep track of your todo lists and smaller office projects

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Use it for a small publishing company. OneNote allows me to share my production schedule with the nessesary parties as i move a book this it's steps. It is very easy to manage, i can also run more than one book/projuect at a time and share with different copy editors, developmental editors, layout and design, marketing team.

Cons

if you are a first time user of OneNote don't expect the set up to be quick and easy The First Time. As you learn the system and the steps of setting a project up it will become easier just as it does with other programs. That was my biggest complaint, and an easy fix with some practice runs and projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great resource for collaborative note taking.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have had a great experience with OneNote so far and I would recommend it to everyone. You can set up multiple accounts and I would suggest having accounts for work and personal. Depending on the size of the company you could possibly even different divisions within your company.

Pros

Microsoft OneNote is great for organizing all your team notes in one place. The structure is very intuitive, it's easy to share access to different Notebooks with different teams, and quickly searchable. Great for Project!

Cons

I don't really have anything I dislike. This has been a solid organization tool for our team projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OneNote is One-App for all!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, this is a MUST HAVE app for everyone who is an avid note taker!

Pros

After using OneNote for both work and school purposes, I can honestly say that this is a MUCH needed app! Here's why: -Easy to use -Works on multiple devices (able to access all your notes on all devices) -Great for meetings and collaborations

Cons

There are only a few cons to using OneNote, but these should NOT be a reason not to use it! -Formatting (When trying to use different formats in OneNote, it can be a little difficult) -Syncing/downloading can also take some time and could be better

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good product with one shortcoming

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love OneNote for everything from screen clips to organization of documents. It's very functional and part of my daily-use toolset.

Cons

The one thing I do not like is that on the last major update (for Office 365 maybe?) they removed the ability to start a screen clip via keyboard shortcut. I used to be able to start one with shift-windows-S, and now that's gone. I would love to get this back.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OneNote is the Only Note App You Need

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, lots of ways to use it, integrates with Outlook, mobile app, lots of options, features. Easy to incorporate into your daily routines. Can share notes an notebooks with coworkers, friends or family.

Cons

Some of the web app features are not as good as the full hard-drive version. A subscription to Office365 is needed for the hard-drive version, but the web app is good also.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OneNote Invaluable

Reviewed 2 years ago

I loved that I could also use this for the Kids Christmas lists this year with pictures so I could find exactly what they asked for.

Pros

This is a free-form on-line book. You can use it for notes, include pictures, include links. You can set it up any way you want to and even share it for others to collaborate.

Cons

The only con I have found it that when an update came out, I had to go back to my links and re-link them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

OneNote helps me to stay organized

Reviewed 2 years ago

I recommend using OneNote to keep project notes and documents categorized and organized.

Pros

Great for getting files organized. It is like an online binder with labeled tabs and headings. I have used it for compiling my personal tax information as well as for work-related major event planning. It is useful place to store all the catering orders, AV agreements, hotel contracts, speaker details and contracts. I like that you can include pdfs, word documents, notes, etc,- information contained in different formats, within the same notebook.

Cons

I use OneNote for personal and business use but had difficulty sharing and transferring files and notes from within the application. It makes me reluctant to recommend using it for project collaboration.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everyday use

Reviewed 9 months ago

I use OneNote for school and work. It’s a great way to organize thoughts, assignments, and projects.

Pros

I use this software everyday as though it were an actual notebook. It is extremely easy to use and is perfect to organize for work or school.

Cons

It can be difficult to rearrange your back ups. Generally this is fine for personal use but be sure to check with your administration if using for a big company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

very flexible software of all

Reviewed a year ago

great product and highly recommended.

Pros

OneNote enables me to make visual cues, check records, and even team up my work with others on the task. Best of all is the entrance I have from an assortment of gadgets . OneNote does all that I need with a telephone, tablet, and PC.

Cons

I don't have any issues with matching up between gadgets utilizing OneNote. Now and then, there are clashes with it not sparing to the cloud appropriately. At the point when OneNote burdens the contrasting notes, it's not in every case simple to solidify the distinctions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product and very handy!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using OneNote for 4 years now. I absolutely love this software! It is very handy to take my iPad into meetings and make notes in the OneNote app and know that they will be waiting for me on my computer thanks to the cloud note sharing. The desktop, iPad, and iPhone apps work very well together. I have used this and other note taking software and this is by far my favorite.

Pros

Easy to use and great cloud sharing capabilities.

Cons

So far i have not found any downside to using OneNote.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Continues to shine

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've used OneNote for many years and across all different platforms. It is a great constant across these different systems and allows for a history of my notes to be kept online and accessible at all times. It is my go to app.

Cons

Export / import or an easy way to move to a new account would be great. Ability to share single pages rather than entire workbooks would be great as well.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Digital Notebook

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have been using OneNote for almost two years now. I can definitely say that OneNote is an application that I missed out on for way too long. I think many other people are also missing out on the benefits of OneNote. Taking the time to map out different notebooks for different businesses or projects is excellent in OneNote.

Cons

I can't really think of many negatives as the software tends to sync extremely quickly with my phone. At first this was not the case, however, now the syncing is instantaneous.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OneNote keeps me organized

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

OneNote is the digital version of what three-ring binders use to be for me, which is exactly what it should be. The bottom line is that it provides exactly what it needs to!

Cons

Perhaps the only downside to OneNote that I can think of right now is how it can be finicky when it is shared with multiple users, and each user is attempting to modify a page within it simultaneously.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, great for meeting notes

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's easy to create and share notes with others in a team. The sync is very nice to have. In conjunction with MS Teams, this is super helpful for us. You can access it anywhere with an Office 365 account.

Cons

We have formatting challenges. The web link is really long and crazy. The syncing broke for me on one of my notes and I'm not sure how to fix it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Idea Board Made Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I have used quite a number of note apps over the years but OneNote still remains one of my favourites. The things I love about it are many 1. Drawing my ideas as it comes to my head is a gem 2. Teamwork is also made easy so most of my remote staff have real-time access to the the things I love to work on with them. 3. I scribble and just concert to text later. Simply amazing! IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS

Cons

I only use it to capture notes, pictures and ideas and it serves me well for that. I have no complaints about it

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The King of Note-Taking Apps

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Microsoft OneNote is a must-have for school. I'm a longtime user of this application, and it is extremely easy to use. It has all the functions that paper note-taking would have, such as highlighting. It is extremely easy to get organized as well, and allows you to sort your notes by pages, subpages, and sections.

Cons

Searching on Microsoft OneNote is a bit more difficult compared to searching on PDF or Powerpoint, because search results (via Ctrl+F) come up more scattered and just overall look less organized.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Organized and accesible on all devices

Reviewed 2 years ago

Best recommended softwAre for all companies or even for personal use

Pros

One note is a very usefuk and helpful software, i can save my files easily and make it organized, i can use it in many devices without any requirements needed.

Cons

Sometimes i am having problem because of bugs. Specially when im using it on my phone or tablets, hope to have some updates for this concern,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy Docment Storage and Note Taking

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

OneNote is easy to use to take meeting minutes, organize emails and coordinate work with Outlook. the flexibility of Onenote is the perfect solution for an notebook application with the accessibility of storing email documents for future sue.

Cons

One Con would be easier ways to create sections or tabs within OneNote tabs would make this application a perfect tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One Note is awesome

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use it every day and helps me track notes and information on several subjects, which I share with my team, I love it!

Pros

Easy to use Effective way to share notes between teams members for different initiatives Simple interface which allows the tracking of information in multiple tabs

Cons

Well, I have been using it for a few years and have not found any negative aspects based on my utilization

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One stop shop for all your project notes.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

You can write text, copy image, copy a YouTube Link ( run the YouTube video ) everything from one place. This tool has become the first tool I open every day as soon as I go to my office. Cross Platform tool.

Cons

Loading for the first time takes some time, but that is quite common with Microsoft tools. Apart from it, everything seems to be good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic OneNote

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic product from Microsoft!

Pros

Fantastic application which is great for collecting ideas, notes, thoughts, plans and researches. Very useful for my daily task in my office. It's also served as my reminders and as my To Do List.

Cons

The problem in OneNote is the functionalities is different between MAC and Windows users. In that case you will find OneNote as complex

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It is good, but there are other options

Reviewed 2 years ago

There's still room for improvement. And comparing to the concorrence, this is not the best of them.

Pros

Allows you to keep track of your notes anywhere, online and offline. Syncs between all devices and it's lightweight enough to run on a not so expensive mobile phone.

Cons

It's a little bit confusing when you start using it. Sometimes it is not very straightforward to find options on the program.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Goto app for taking notes in meeting

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use, works very well with a touchscreen. I use it with my Surface: able to write, doodle, type, import documents, create binders of notes. All safely backed up in the cloud (synchs with your Office365 account).

Cons

Uses a lot more memory and processing power than anticipated, sometimes takes a while to load and can be a drag when using on Android devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Always on my desktop

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This tool has become a staple for my daily routine. It helps me keep track of meeting notes during the day and is great to go back and revisit past notes. There are many powerful features that I have yet to dive into. Cross platform functionality is also great!

Cons

There are many other products similar to this on the market. Evernote for example is really great and comes up with many new and exciting features every year. OneNote might be too boring and bland for some, although the basic features works for me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Notes in one place without syncing issues

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love having all my notes in one place on the various different projects I work on. There is no limit on the size of the file, which makes for ease of use on the long-running projects.

Cons

It does not seem to work as well when I am using a MacBook, there are things that just will not work such as adding a document made by another application.

page 5 of 25