App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Nextcloud Logo

Nextcloud

Collaboration, audio/video calling and file sharing software

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Nextcloud Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


436 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nathan F.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Should be standard in many organizations

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have 3 Nextcloud Apache servers, as LXC containers, mounting CephFS for the data directory and connecting to a 3-node mysql cluster. It also uses LDAP authentication as well as a few local users. Very little extra work was required to make Nextcloud work in this clustered setup.

Pros

Free and open source software, runs on standard LAMP on Ubuntu LTS with no dependencies outside the Ubuntu repos. Allows LDAP and local users to coexist easily. Running multiple nextcloud instances behind a load balancer "just works" - all long-term state is stored in the data directory or in mysql.

Cons

The automatic installer and other tooling likes to write the config.php itself, and rewrite it when upgrading, making it a little annoying to manage with CM tools like SaltStack. But that's easy to work around.

AP
AvatarImg

Andrew P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for the core of your organisation

Reviewed 4 years ago

Nextcloud is fantastic software to help provide more control over your organisation’s valuable and confidential intellectual property.

Pros

* easy to use * integrates with enterprise identity services * mobile apps available

Cons

* integration with iOS Files and Microsoft apps is not bulletproof, risking data loss when editing documents on Word for iPad, for example. * OAuth plugin for the server could be better supported and enhanced to share usernames (rather than Nextcloud use the OAuth userID as the username) * Support for multiple servers in the mobile apps would be great!

JV
AvatarImg

Jérôme V.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An open source alternative to Micrososft 365

Reviewed 9 months ago

Nextcloud offers to our employees a modern way to share and co-edit files internally or externally.

Pros

Nextcloud is open source and you can keep the control of your datas.

Cons

Mail app is not good enough yet. It is slow and lacks some essential functionalities.

JL
AvatarImg

Jackie L.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top open source collaboration tool trusted by large organizations.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

NextCloud is compatible with a variety of storage backends from local storage to NAS or object storage. It's a completely open source solution that can be deployed on-premises or in the cloud. The versatility of NextCloud means that it can be tailored to meet virtually any compliance requirement governing data protection, cybersecurity, and backups. The core developers based in Germany, have a privacy-oriented ethos that reflects the strong attitudes towards data protection in Europe.

Cons

The groupware apps such as Mail, Calendar, and Contacts that ship with NextCloud are basic in functionality. Fortunately, there are over 200+ apps to choose from in the NextCloud app store, allowing integration with more feature rich alternatives such as Afterlogic or Rainloop Webmail. The relative immaturity of the end-to-end encryption module built into NextCloud makes it preferable to use lower level alternatives such as LUKS for at-rest encryption, as opposed to application level encryption.

Vendor response

Thank you a lot for your review!

RL
AvatarImg

Rich L.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable, professional, flexible

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a single-person business it's enabled me to get access to all my important information wherever I am. I've also implemented it for an office of a dozen staff; it's enabled them to work remotely in a much easier way than using VPM (our previous solution) - e.g. user administration is now done by a non-technical staff admin with a point and click interface.

Pros

It's been rock solid and upgrades have been mostly unproblematic (at first I was updating too early, with some plugins lagging behind, but then I switched to a different release chanel). The wide variety of access methods (webdav, access over website, the desktop and phone sync clients, API) have all lent themselves to different solutions. As the files are stored as normal files it makes backing up easy (e.g. with rsync) The recently added Google-doc-like multi-simultaneous-editors functionality for text documents (MarkDown) is brilliant.

Cons

Despite Microsoft inventing WebDav, their implementation is buggy with Windows 10 users having to re-log in every session. The mobile (Android) sync client could be improved.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eduardo D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic software. A must for any company

Reviewed 5 years ago

File sharing, with internal and external users Collaborative edition Internal chat and video calls

Pros

This software is rock solid. It works as expected sharing files, but that is not the only usage. It has been extended by a thousand apps and can be customized to a great extent. We can store everyting internally in our company, so it is only limited by our resources. In our company we love it. It supports every platform we use (windows, mac, linux, ios, android).

Cons

it can be a bit difficult to prepare a HA setup.

ST
AvatarImg

Sascha T.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud is unmatched

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use Nextcloud as a convenient backup of local files and to distribute files to other devices. I use Nextcloud for easy automatic file uploads from mobile devices. I use Nextcloud for sharing folders via E-Mail-Links and between users.

Pros

Nextcloud is very easy to install and set up. The documentation is very good. It is easy to maintain and gives good security tips.

Cons

It was hard to select between Nextcloud and Owncloud.

TL
AvatarImg

Terence L.

Security and Investigations, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using Nextcloud across boundaries

Reviewed 5 years ago

Excellent replacement for other files in the cloud software such as DropBox

Pros

1. Securely host data on our own servers and encrypted on AWS 2. Enabled us to access and backup our data on current projects and their resources across different computers/phones and across national boundaries 3. Removed the need to carry data on laptops 4. Useful software integrated into Nextcloud

Cons

Logs and deleted files can build up on the server. 'Talk' was more difficult than expected to set up

GD
AvatarImg

Georg D.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome free software with inspiring principles

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- good performance - leverage of open standards - privacy of my data - great ecosystem of app developers and other supporters - update routines working (most times) very well and stable

Cons

- Current Linux client (Linux Mint 19.3) ist not stable!!! -- not able to sync image-files with size of 15 GB -- client chrashes after some days of running with >2TB of files to sync (file change rate is few to nothing) - no admin backend to manage the rest of the infrastructure (OS, redis, Apache, MariaDB, etc)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Feature-rich Collaboration platform with great plug-in support

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Large number of available apps to extend functionality, such as Kanban Boards, web-based editing of diagrams and flowcharts, the Notes app and authentication providers, among others.

Cons

File synchronization regularly slows down or completely halts because of some error that goes away after simply stopping and restarting the synchronization process.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adam D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

take back your days

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I own my data and can retain the functionality and accessibility of cloud providers. Add-on model is incredible.

Cons

That is not as wisely used yet. No collaborative drawing designing exists on it yet. Waiting for draw.io to enable that with their add-on.

Vendor response

Thank you a lot for your review!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly useful for users like me

Reviewed 3 years ago

Been using since OwnCloud and since handed over to NextCloud, i can see lots more improvement. Very happy with this software.

Pros

1. It does what it advertises and does it well 2. Free 4. Security conscious to some extent. The software does recommended as well as let you know what needs to be fixed (Self Hosted) 5. Lots of plugins, for eg. Ability to edit excel document right through your browser or phone without additional software. 6. Documentation for installing on self hosted systems and information is quite variant and easy to understand 7. Applications for mobile devices with very nice features, for eg. When taking a video or photo with your phone, you have the ability to upload the img/vids automatically to your server

Cons

Just one issue. If your server needs an update (Self Hosted) it would be great to have the desktop software notify you rather than login with your admin account on the self-hosted system and look in there.

FW
AvatarImg

Florian W.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mr

Reviewed 7 years ago

My team can work from anywhere without the hassle of connecting to networkshares over VPN

Pros

Very easy to setup and use. Enforces / reminds you to use safe settings. Easy for users as well. Both in the client and the web based viewer. We only use the file storage system and this is very stable and reliable. The mobile app is already good and well integrated into the OSes And it's open source :)

Cons

The desktop is client sometimes slow and hogging users CPUs when transferring many files. Some other bugs in the client are the greatest problem but they improve slowly.

Vendor response

Dear Bhargavi, Thank you for the review on Capterra! We're very glad you are happy with Nextcloud! If you want to get the most out of Nextcloud, don't forget we have Nextcloud Subscriptions available. That improves much on the community help aimed at home users like you'll find on the forums and gives access to additional documentation and capabilities like our Outlook integration, Global Scale for higher scaelability, lower cost and data locality control and more. We can of course address any issues you have with the desktop client. Take care!

SJ
AvatarImg

Scott J.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Run your own Dropbox

Reviewed 6 years ago

This has been an awesome product that has given us the benefits of cloud storage without having to trust our files to an outside provider. We are able to share files now in ways that were never possible when they were simply on NFS/CIFS file shares. The automatic versioning is wonderful it has saved us more than once when someone made changes they needed to revert to a file.

Pros

All the features of Dropbox on your own server. You can run your own cloud at home with this software. No longer do you need to trust your files to computers that are under someone else's control. You can have privacy and convenience too. They have clients that work really well for Linux, Mac, Windows, Android and iOS so you can sync files all over the place and on all of your devices. They have a very active development community and a growing marketplace of add-on apps that you can install in your installation to expand functionality.

Cons

Initial setup can be a little complex at first. Support is based mostly on forums and google searches, but there is a paid subscription service for Enterprise support.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We will most certainly keep improving Nextcloud and exceeding your expectations!

KO
AvatarImg

Keith O.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use and Feature Rich

Reviewed 3 years ago

NextCloud can be deployed on a number of different platforms but the one we use exclusively at CompuWhizz is with it installed on Ubuntu Server, we have run it on 16.04, 18.04 and now we have transitioned to 20.04 and for the first time have moved over to a snap installation, we do though have the storage on an "external" device which we then rsync to an onsite Synology.

Pros

Ease of Use and the available features are he stand out pros!

Cons

The learning curve isn't particularly steep so we didn't experience any issues

WS
AvatarImg

Wolfgang S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sometimes good things just happen!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Close to prefect value for no money. A no-brainer for every small company or organisation.

Pros

First: it's a private cloud which should be a serious argument for anyone placing confidental data in the cloud. Second: it just works like a charme for sharing files, calendars and addresses using some DAV-standard. Third: much effort is put into the product to enhance it with lots of collaboration features.

Cons

Search is poor in the sense that there is no integrated setup for this. Integration of Elasticsearch is described, but its way to complicated. Should be integrated as optional enhancement into regular setup procedures. A wiki may be to much to ask for, but that's what we realized by another product. Integrating mindmapping makes some progress which is a needed feature. Some whiteboard feature would be nice.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! :)

PS
AvatarImg

Peter S.

Medical Devices, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Need your own cloud server? Here it is.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Automatic update of the configured working directories on all devices. Files (and more) are accessible worldwide. Easy setup (cookbook style step by step). No particular knowledge required. Standard configuration is good for me. No need for much customisation. Using cheap hardware makes redundant servers affordable.

Pros

HTTPS is standard Open source Synchronizes with other NextCloud servers Anti-intrusion etc. make this server quite hard Automatic updates Calendar, contacts storage etc. all-in Many more plugins available Cloud transfer of large files integrated in Thunderbird via plugin.

Cons

Collabra needs an additional server One-Time-Download is not implemented

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Online Media, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud is the defacto in self-hosted cloud collaboration software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love being able to set up calendars independent of my email provider, but most importantly, Nextcloud makes it extremely easy to set up your own virtual drive. It's easy to install via docker on any device.

Cons

The user interface is fairly slow. I don't use it often, so it's not a nuisance for me.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! Kind regards, Nextcloud team

JB
AvatarImg

Jürgen B.

Pharmaceuticals, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely useful for families as well

Reviewed 4 years ago

Runs smoothly and very stable. Does not need too much resources.

Pros

We keep our contacts and calendars, as well as our photos from the mobile devices of all family members under our control. We have files online available everywhere and can share them if desired. Not only business use, Nextcloud is still one of the best Cloud-options for privacy aware home users.

Cons

Setup is still not so easy, well maintained standard Debian packages would be desired.

LE
AvatarImg

Ludovic E.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great cloud software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Nextcloud permits to share files and calendar a very efficient way. The guided upgrades and supported maintenance mode makes it really reliable on the long term.

Pros

- Great UI and UX - Multi-compatibility : Windows, Linux, macOS, iOS, Android - Easy to deploy - Upgrade process - Documentation

Cons

- Calendar feature has not a native support on Android (but its Google's fault and an additional application do the job)

EB
AvatarImg

Eric B.

Automotive, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Work every day as expected

Reviewed 4 years ago

Free, Easy and it works all the time best experience so far.

Pros

One place for the files and easy to share large ones.

Cons

When installed in service provider space, still get PHP config warning that can't be solved as the service provider do not allow some parameters changes.

Vendor response

Thank you for this great feedback, happy to hear it is the best experience!

BG
AvatarImg

Brent G.

Judiciary, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud does exactly what we need it to do

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Nextcloud to share court case appeal documents with attorneys. Our current e-filing solutions has a relatively small file size limit and many of our appeal files can be 50Mb+. Also, we host our own Nextcloud server so all data remains within our control which is imperative with legal documents.

Pros

Nextcloud is web-based and very easy to use. It required minimal training for our users upload and share files

Cons

When creating a share link, I wish it would show the URL rather than just give the option to copy it.

AA
AvatarImg

Arnaud A.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Store and share your files

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simple to use, simple to update. A tool that can make you forget yourself and you wonder how you used to work.

Pros

the best opensource software to store and share your files. Numerous add-ons, version 20 is very good ! And 100% GPDR compliant !

Cons

compatibility with other online tools is still under development, there is some improvement since version 20 but it still requires efforts.

SB
AvatarImg

Samuel B.

Internet, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Regain control on your cloud

Reviewed 5 years ago

With the cloud features, I can easy share content with my customers. I can also sync my datas between my desktop and my mobile. If I add a file to my phone or desktop or through the web interface, it will sync in the background whith my other devices. The interface is clear and easy to use.

Pros

Easy to install on very common platforms. Tons of features, mobile and desktop clients for all platforms. The software is free and open source. You can customize it to fit your needs. Free to install and much cheaper than other proprietary solutions to maintain.

Cons

Can sometimes be a little tricky to setup, especially if you want to use the contacts sync features on your mobile

RK
AvatarImg

Rami K.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My next file and groupware software

Reviewed 4 years ago

all in one software file sharing make the life of IT admin more easy (no more calls to create and share and make permission) the recycle bin in server mode is great the user restore by himself the delete files. chat and mail application are just great. the developers make other applications more usable (apporder, external link...)

Pros

easy of use the applications avaible to just download and install integration with mobile web interface open source

Cons

very hard (impossible some times) to integrate collabora office (easy install like other apps) one mobile app including all features became a dedicated DMS

Vendor response

Thank you for this great review!